Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gästehaus Mezcalero

Königsbrücker Straße 64, 1. HH, 01099 Dresden, Germany

#20 of 52 B&Bs and Inns in Dresden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 533 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I only realised there is a cat living in the hostel upon arrival. I'm allergic to cats and this could have turned out quite terribly. Luckily the rooms and common areas are so clean that I didn't notice anything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy and clean rooms, very colourful and well equipped (we had a double which was provided with shelves, table, chairs, sink). Comfy bed. The shared bathroom was very clean and convenient to use. The staff is super friendly. Great coffee. The location is very good: quiet, as it is a rear house but still nearby many cafés, restaurants and pubs. I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near bars and restaurants, easy to reach from the station. My room and the shared bathroom were spotless. There is a lively courtyard too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Instead of a quadruple room with two double beds we've got a room for six with three bunk-beds. Felt a bit like a dormitory, but an expensive one - 170 euro for two nights. The breakfast could have a better choice of food as well.

    Staff was very friendly, good location in Neustadt.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice between two double beds and four single beds in a quadruple room is apparently not really a choice, but rather a not obligatory wish. The initial denial of the receptionist to provide us with the chosen option led to an argument, as this option was a strong decision factor in favour of this residence in the first place.

    All disputes were satisfactory resolved, adding to the great impression of the place. The breakfast in particular was exceptionally good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and the pillow were not comfortable. The heater was right next to the bed-- if I turn it down the room would be too cold, if I turn it up the bed will be too warm. The rooms are not too sound-proof. I was woken up many times during the night by loud neighbors.

    Very clean. The sink in the room is very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls were a little thin, so that noise could be heard through the walls. However, little distracted us on the top floor, we just had a little difficulty keeping our kids quiet on the top floor.

    Breakfast was very good. The Beds were very comfortable, and the upstairs room that could hold our entire Family of 6 was great for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unbelievable focus on details, clean and beautifully furnished. We felt like coming into a different world. With a family of 5, we were skeptical as to how comfortable we would feel in one room, but this place had it all. Only 10 minutes by bus to the middle of downtown, parking in the back, everything was very convenient. Would come back anytime!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent !! Near to visit the old town. Good location with plenty of places to eat and drink. Comfortable beds and a lovely patio for relaxing after the long hours wandering on the streets. Friendly personnel! Recommend for visit Dresden as a small group.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't read the fine print, so I didn't realize that I had to share the bathroom with three other rooms-but it wasn't a problem for one night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were a little thin, so I could hear someone snoring loudly in the room next to me. It was not too bad though.

    I really enjoyed my stay at the Gästehaus Mezcalero. Everything was clean and the wifi was great. My bed was really comfortable and even though there was a shared bathroom between four rooms, I had no problems accessing it to shower/etc. It was also in a great location to get downtown or go to bars and experience the nightlife.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - It was expensive - The closet was shared - There was not a hot water device to prepare coffe or tea

    - The desk was excellent - There was the possibility to work with a laptop in the room - The place was very silent - There is access to the room without going through reception

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    when we checked out, there was a smoke smell coming from the staff area, perhaps we were the last ones to leave the hotel so it wasn't a big problem at all but none of us really liked the smell.

    very helpful staff, sometimes stern faces but always friendly, helpful and polite. They answered all of our touristy questions and lend us some spoons and such. Next to that, the location is quite nice, right next to the tram and nearby a very tasty restaurant (Recommended by staff) Beds are soft, but not too soft. bunk beds are very spacious and we got a free upgrade for the married couple travelling with us for their honey moon. their double room was almost the same size as our 6 person room. Shower was very comfortable and everything was clean. Breakfast was amazing, as always, definitely worth the money!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was next to the staircase so I could hear people walking up and down at night however it wasn't too disturbing and did not ruin my stay.

    Very helpful staff upon arrival, safe parking place, comfy room. The decor is really cool too! Good location and due to the situation of the building it is very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shared bathroom always had a wet and dirty floor... not pleasant to use the toilet. Noisy other guests: bring earplugs!

    Very friendly staff. Liked the bright paint colors and overall style of the hostel a lot. Great breakfast! Location convenient for going to bars and cafes in the new town. We did not mind the 20 minute walk to the old town, pretty views when crossing the bridge :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    15 min away from the old center that is now dominated by luxury groups and hotels but still the place why you come to dresden in the first place.

    great location, spacious rooms and a funky decoration. The true heart of Dresden is in the Neustadt and Mezcalero is a nice stay to live it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I literally liked everything

    The staff is really friendly, from the atmosphere u can tell they ve put a lot of work into making customers feel cozy. The location, spot on.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal was really polite and helpful! They even helped us to carry our superheavy bags :) Our room was spottless as well as the hotel itself was very clean. We decided to eat breakfast in the morning which seemed a good idea since it was very delicious. I can highly recommend this hotel to everybody!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite noisy at night (because of the nearby resto :), extra charge for bed-linen and towels, not very comfortable beds

    There are a lot of nice restaurants nearby, the decorations are cool, stuff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one electrical socket for the whole room seemed not enough for me and the current abundance of electronics the average traveler has. The hostel needs a bigger sign to be seen from the street: the current bed with a 64 (house number) underneath doesn't do it. I almost walked past as the entrance is in the inner yard.

    The room was clean and spacious for a single room. Staff were able to give me good recommendations about places to go. The "going out" district is just a five minute walk away. Very good area for student solo travelers to meet people at.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a bit far from old town, about a 30 minute walk. Staff member on duty when I checked in was not overly helpful with information about the city.

    The whole place, including the rooms, are colorfully decorated. Single room was a good size and included a small sink. Bathroom was only shared between 4 rooms so never had to wait long. Very good security to enter guesthouse and rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the design, nice interior and comfy beds. Good localisation, nice personel, what can I say more, we will be going back and I think that's the best recommendation. ;-)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late checkout, breakfast is served until 12PM, great location, clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very fair price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast. There is a supermarket right next door, though.

    Great location. Very comfortable, nice decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is really cute. nice staff and yummy breakfast also heaps of nice food downstairs in the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    place to hang out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off-putting staff.

    The room was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite simple, small room

    Perfect location, nice interior, you can get free parking if you are lucky

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the shower - very clean and new

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in fantastic Neustadt . Area has loads of bars and restaurants. Quiet as set back from road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peace and quiet in the middle of the town!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Located in the trendy artsy Neustadt but only a stroll from the Altstadt Helpful and accommodating staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi wasn't great.

    There was a kitchen and I like this area of Dresden. Staff is really nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the cat of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fees to be paid at the end

    Perfect location, nice staff, clean and spacious rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very kind staff. Cosy room. Delicious and various breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast Good location Fun Mexican theme

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are very thin and anyone walking in the stairs or hallways wakes you up in the middle of the night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Very quiet (great for a good nights rest), and nice breakfast. Staff were great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too short, I'm 188 cm

    Great design, not far from Goethe Institut

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more silence from the park yard during the night.

    The breakfast was really delicious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet! Not many people in the area

    Great atmosphere! Very clean, comfortable and unique

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location Interesting and well-kept rooms Friendly and knowledgeable staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The parking was very small and very tight, quite difficult to get in and out of comfortably with a Ford Galaxy.

    Cute, quaint place in a great location - staff was very polite and helpful!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable, cheerful bed and breakfast in hipsterish Neustadt. Easy walk to any city centre attractions you want to get to, or the streetcar runs right along the street.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, nice room, the private room has its own sink so you don't need to do everything on the shared bathroom, which is very clean. Quiet, fresh, my choice for Dresden for sure.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed here before as I liked the location. You are right in the middle of Neustadt and the tram on your doorstep takes you to the old part of the city in less than 15 min. You also could walk there in 30 min. The accommodation is clean, quiet and good value for money. The staff is always very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dresden in December! Brilliant. We were well looked after at this hostel, including a parking spot for our van, helpful staff on the front desk, and a spacious and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I didn't like that there was limited parking availability at the hotel. In order to park at the hotel parking lot you had to first go upstairs to the reception to get a special key to enter with your car. The hotel is located on a busy street with no free parking spaces that we noticed. No WIFI at all. "Squeaky" floors.

    Breakfast was really good and for a good price. Strassenbahn right across the street. The staff, very nice people!

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nice and helpful staff, good breakfast, cat :)

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The dust under the bed.

    Decoration & atmosphare

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    quietly situated, even though it's in a very active part of town!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking, breakfast, cleanliness

    Decoration

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Intermittent wifi signal, very slow some times.

    Clean and quiet place.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Spacious rooms!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    unreadiness of the room at my arrival on 14:00

    Much cheaper than another hotels of this level

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Helpful staff. Large room with seating area.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room is a bit small, but very comfortable, design takes advantage of every small place

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was really good - healthy choices and good taste.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast are not included

    Big rooms, close to city center

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super friendly people, cool design, we stayed in an apartment which was roomy and had a decently stocked kitchen, no oven. Great Neustadt location

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi came and went frequentlt

    Grocery store next door, tram stop on corner

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would be nice if breakfast was included in the price.

    Everything was perfect! We even got a free parking space in front of the house.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Gästehaus Mezcalero traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: