Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gästehaus Obsthof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bergstr. 24, 79288 Gottenheim, Germany

#2 of 2 hotels in Gottenheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 375 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Calm and quietness in the black forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was fine!

    The breakfast was complete and nice. Our room had enough space for the 3 of us. We were travelling with a baby and the hotel supplied us with a baby bed that was perfect. The balcony was big. Beds were confortable and we were happy overall. The famiily that runs the hotel are very nice and attentive. They also run a restaurant in town where you can eat delicious and for a very fair price. We went there 2 nights and they were really reallly nice with us. The hotel has an area if you have kids where you can play outside , we appreciate that because our son was very happy. They do not have a fridge in the room but anyway they provide cusstomers with a fridge in the basement where you can place your stuff there. We recommend the place for sure!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We were driving down through Germany and stayed one night at Gastehaus Obsthof it's a very pleasant B&B or small hotel in Gottenheim with it's own off street parking , we arrived early evening and received a very warm welcome from the owner who spoke perfect English. We had booked two rooms one on the second floor and the other on the top floor both spacious with ensuite bathrooms and comfy beds. The area is mostly residential so there is no back ground noise at night. We wished to go into Freiburg that evening and the owner very kindly gave us a free pass to travel on the train there ( 14 Kms away ) as we were unable to take the car as we didn't have an environmental city pass, the station is a short walk down the road in the village and the train run into the centre of Freiburg regularly, the pass also covers trams and buses. Breakfast is served down stairs and was excellent , freshly made scrambled eggs , cold meats & cheeses , croissant bread & pastries , fruit & fruit juices. We would thoroughly recommend staying here and its a great alternative to staying in the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice house nice location, restaurant worth a meal out in.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can’t think of anything.

    Nice house, nice location, owner owns a restaurant and we had an amazing meal. As vegetarians it can be hard to find good food abroad. His was some of the best I have tasted.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Excellent Guesthouse just 20 minutes away from Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 7 and it had a beautiful balcony overlooking Gottenheim. The room was big and cozy and well heated. The owners were very accommodating, informative and kind. The breakfast was excellent plus the train station is just an 8 minute walk away. Would book here again next time we are in Gottenheim.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Great place for visiting Black Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, old fashioned bathroom in one of the rooms.

    Clean, comfortable, separate seating for relaxation inside and outside the facilities, nice breakfast with good variety, friendly staff, free pass for public transport and discounts at various places, allowed to take our dog (in 1 specific room)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Best place myself and my sister have stayed in. And we have stayed in a lot of places
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    perfect location for traveling to other towns. Rooms loads of towels and blankets. Breakfast was beautiful with loads of choice. Fantastic staff so friendly and helpful. Brilliant shower in our room. Plenty of space in our room could have slept 5 easily. They make there own jam😀 Will definitely stay here again and recommend to my family and friends. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    A super choice for 2 day stop, during a German road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the bed.

    The room was on the garden. It made you feel like home. The whole neighborhood was fantastic. It seemed like living in an expensive area , outside Freiburg. Beautiful garden, spacious room, big bathroom, very nice breakfast. In a very quiet neighborhood, 10km outside Freiburg,best choice for travellers that have a car. Very very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.3
    Nice but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money is poor - almost 90 EUR per Night for a Double - bathroom from the 70ies/80ies - old furniture - breakfast OK for a B&B but not for that price

    Location is nice and quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Hidden Jewel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location in countryside, friendly and cooperative staff, spacious room, cozy environment, good breakfast, fast and free wifi, free parking. Totally recommended!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location. The owners are really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guests have access to a fridge too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect basic comfort, and the extras make this place a big big recommendation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely garden, perfect mix of shadow and sun. Very hot day, so the trees made a huge difference. The place to be if you enjoy peace and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good breakfast with a big choice of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast with a big choice of food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    It was pleasant stay in nice location with very friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet is little bit slow but overall perfect.

    Feel like a home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Been going there for years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything

    Been going there for years. Great people and they make you feel at home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.6
    Lovely room - comfortable & spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing worth commenting

    Lovely room - comfortable & spacious. Great views of the fruit orchard from our balcony. Excellent breakfast with a personal touch. Lovely, family-produced full-bodied red wine for sale on premises. Good location near town & railway station. Very kind & considerate staff- we left our passports behind by accident, returning an hour later. The owner rushed back from her tasks to attend to us, thus averting a near-disaster! We hope to return, for sure...

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.3
    Lovely quiet position just 5 minute walk to the station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decoration in rooms could do with a little renovation and the entrance through the garden is not to the same standard as the lovely gardens in the local other properties

    Lovely quiet position just 5 minute walk to the station where you can make good use of the free travel card supplied when you book in to the hotel. Friendly family run hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    A beautiful and comfortable house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very disappointing.had to get our own coffee from a machine.poor quality coffee and the bread was stale Wifi did not work properly

    A beautiful and comfortable house

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    Very nice accommodations, view of apple orchards in yard and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was only a one hour check in and we had to go to the local restaurant to get the key.

    Very nice accommodations, view of apple orchards in yard and great porch.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.2
    We stayed over for a night to break the journey between the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed over for a night to break the journey between the Alps and Heidelberg, perfect location with friendly and helpful staff. Easy to find with plenty of parking, there are supermarkets and a couple of restaurants within a 15 min walk. They couldn't have done enough to accommodate our young daughter, including a proper toddler bed!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    10
    Just about everything was first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a "bad" experience at all. But there was one thing that slightly perturbed me: There is a stairwell leading to the cellar in the breakfast buffet area and on a couple of occasions I found myself stepping back from the buffet and being a bit close to the stair head. Perhaps some sort of barrier could be placed there during breakfast? (a stair rope?)

    Just about everything was first class.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Very nice environment, quiet, friendly owner and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice environment, quiet, friendly owner and good breakfast, close to Freiburg

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: