Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gasteiner Hof 2 stars

Gasteiner Str. 8, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10717 Berlin, Germany

#441 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no elevator. Creaking floors. We could hear the tap of the neighbours bathroom. As in most German places, there are no blinds.

    Staff are very nice and helpful. Very close to a metro station (2 minute walk). Breakfast worthy for the price. Two big supermarkets and places to eat nearby. Vintage furniture in good conditions that gave the room a special touch. Good shower. We were able to leave our luggage there after checking out. We didn´t use it, but they have some private parking places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somewhat weird behavior of reception personnel. Check-in claims to be open till 10 pm - got there 15 mins to 10 pm - the reception person was already locking the door. Later claimed to have called me multiple times on the phone - no calls were received with a correct phone number provided for booking. On another day asked for some hot water from reception woman - the answer was "breakfast is over, I'm busy with vacuuming". Short and rude. Quite Soviet-times-like approach (the owners seem to be native russian-speakers).

    Within 2 mins walk from U-bahn and grocery shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing that could have been improved on were the pillows were a little thin and the hallway is a bit creaky so I could hear other guests coming and going. But an excellent hotel.

    The hotel, and especially the bathroom, was exceptionally clean. The armchair in the bedroom was a very comfortable addition, and the heating was easy to control. I liked having the desk to work from. The staff at reception and the cleaning staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like flat pillow but bed was big and comfortable. As it was cold outside I missed some small tea and coffee set with hot water in the room.

    Location is good, easy access to public transport. Room was very clean and cleaning service came every day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The smell of mold in the room and in the hotel is a big drawback. It may be because of the old carpet in the room or because the building is old.

    Good value for money. The room was clean and warm. The breakfast was also good. The personnel was friendly and helpful. They let us store our luggage, the last day, after the checkout, for a couple of hours until our flight.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra pillows as only had one each and was very soft . Tea and coffee facilities would of been a nice touch in the room. Not suitable for people with walking difficulties as no lift.

    The location was good. Close to the u bahn and plenty of shops and restaurants. Beds were comfy nice size room. Like that the maids service came in every day. Breakfast was reasonable buffet style. No full English though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were my only complaint, too soft for my preference but we used the spare blankets too

    Very basic room, clean, good location, 2 mins walk to underground, 20 mins on tube to city centre, we never used any facilities and you hand your room key back after stay. Exactly what we were looking for

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Locks are difficult to use. At least in the outside door, there should be a lock that closes down automatically, and you would not have to try to find the right position of the lock. Also the light in the lobby, which would have helped to use the lock, turned off in a few seconds. Wifi was not working properly, only once and a while. This information was also given in reception, when checked in.

    Location was easy to reach with a clear bus + train connection. Personnel were friendly. Price was reasonable. There was plenty of space in the room and balcony was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi was a bit wanting. Very unstable.

    The staff were very accommodating. It was a very clean hotel. The breakfast was good but I would have wanted to see more of fry ups :-)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-fi was virtually non-existent in the room but was okay in the reception/breakfast restaurant.

    Nice hotel, very clean room, fine breakfast and friendly staff. Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't get the internet to work from my room on the second floor. Neither my computer or my phone got a strong enough signal from the hotel's internet from my room. I ended up going down into the public lobby where I made Skype calls until late in the evening--I would have preferred to do that in privacy. And the front desk offered no solution except to do my internet work from the lobby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt like you need to be careful in neighbourhood at night, but it is cheap and clean. Best to be tucked up in the room by 10:30pm. If you need to use the internet cafe across road, the owner of that place doesn't speak English, and even if you use your small high school German vocab he is a complete nasty jerk, the woman during the day is better.

    Close to undergound rail, staff very friendly & helpful, very clean. A few stops from Zoologische Garten station, get out there for yummy Currywurst ( a Berlin favourite) at Curry 36 stall, packed with locals and dirt cheap. There is a warning about noise from renovations but I didn't notice it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so comfortable staying at Hotel Gasteine Hof eventhough at booking it was mentioned that there will be some noise as for reconstruction or something..and most of great things was the lady at reciption was so kind and polite

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was OK but if you look for luxury it is not the hotel for you.

    Hotel staff (Nathalia) was really helpful! I had lost my luggage and she called many times Lost & Found service for me. The location of the hotel was good. Price / performance was good enough for this period with IFA. Thanks again Nathalia for your help!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proof leaves much to be desired

    Close vicinity to the public transportation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking lot

    very friendly staff, clean rooms, nice view, nice location regarding public transport late night grocery shopping restaurants and cafes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could use a little redesign.

    Location, staff, price, cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bad smell

    good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit smell in the room

    Very friendly staff, hotel close to metro

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good sound isolation

    Nice room, not new but convinient, all nessesary things are included - towels, shampoo, soap, clean bed linens

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and have to take suit case all the way to 2nd floor and no lights in the stair case

    Location & staffs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic

    Well located for the meeting I had ii n Berlin

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was no elevator which made us carry luggage upstairs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    problem with parking, I was very lucky.

    nice staff. excellent location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi internet signal, and old building.

    Near U7 Blissestr, big private room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort of bed and no lift

    Location and helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive compared to the location.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing to like, the hotel is very similar to a prison cell outlay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff are friendly, rooms are very clean, wifi is not problem anymore.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facility in the bedroom.

    That there was a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Simple rooms in an older building. Clean, comfortable, relatively quiet given the urban location. Close to public transport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room, comfortable bed, convenient sink and shower. Very clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    In 2017 have not a internet conex....its not normal... Uncomfortable beds. Rude personal

    ?

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    ample continental brekky. v close to 2 u bahn lines. very pleasant staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor quality of wi-fi signal, unusable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the center if you want to walk

    Quiet and good neighboroud, many shops and restaurants, metro next door Clean, good beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are really helpful

    I like

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a strong smell of cigarette smoke, very squeaky floor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    a bit far from the center. internet really slow and bad

    the size of the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some WiFi connection problems

    Great localization, easy to park (as for Berlin), nearby local stores, restaurants, u-bahn

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we wanted a double bed but got 2 beds next to each other, with a gap

    good location, the room with shared bathroom had a shower (just no WC)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have had wifi in all rooms instead of just some

    It was clean. The breakfast was alright. Nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy street

    Big clean room and comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The room smelled smoke. No toilet. You can hear all talk, noises from other rooms. Untill 24 a clock.

    Economically.Quiet during the night. Okay breakfast for 5e.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception is not open during the night and it only opens after 08:00. I didn't check in normally but my key was left at the nearby Internet cafe. The biggest problem was that I had to leave early too, at 7:00 and in a great hurry, and I couldn't check out. There was only a lady that was preparing the breakfast, who did not speak English, that asked me to pay although she could not give me a receip. Now I am still waiting to receive my receipt by email... By the way, the rooms are just small flats in an old condominium building without lift and the "reception" and breakfast space are situated in the business unit of the building, on the ground floor. No lobby of course...

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The signal of wi-if was very poor in our room... Absence of air conditioner was big issue as the days were extremely hot

    good location, near the hotel there are subway and supermarket. The staff was nice and room was very clean

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a small fridge in the room would have been very useful-it was 37 degrees while we were there.

    the breakfast was magnificent and the staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location isn't bad, but the last day I had to pick up suitcases in hotel before going to main train station. The trip from the Brandenburger Tor, to the hotel, and then back again to the train station, via u-bahn took slightly over 1 hour. So if you only have 2 days to see Berlin and are in a rush the last day, take a cab. Otherwise no location complaints.

    Clean room. High ceilings. Quiet- even though the room was facing the street.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room too poor; no elevator; reception only from 8:00 am to 10 pm; no fridge in the room; limited channels on tv; towels and sheet never changed (three days)

    Position, very close to the tube (Blissestrasse)

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    it is not accessible. no elevator and there are stairs for everything

    the hotel us conveniently located on a bus and metro line. very easy to move around. the staff were very supportive

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is quite cheep but also quite poor

    It's a realy quiet place

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast is not included in the room price.

    location

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast for only 5€..Great value for money

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were very hospitable.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You could hear the neighbours from the other rooms,not always pleasant.

    Very nice location,central and near to the metro! The room was big and clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No WiFi on second floor.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Position,very friendly staff,clean rooms. Near by underground and busses. Definitely a good choice.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The facilities and cleanness seemed not at 'German standard'.

    Location, very convenient for eating. staffs a were nice as well.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel Gasteiner Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: