Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel und Gasthaus Berghof

Lehrhohl 38, Asterstein, 56077 Koblenz, Germany

Review score

Based on 392 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Donot attempt to walk to this hotel. Take a taxi (€12). Or catch a bus up...theres a bus stop right outside the hotel. Its 3 kms fom HBF . Of which half is up a very steep hill. It near killed me!l. But on arrival the staff were so comforting.

    Room was quaint and cosy. The beer was cold. The evening meal was delicious and exceptioally good value. Breakfast was ample. Staff booked a morning taxi for me....it was on time. I will stay there again.....Dont walk to hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of English speaking . dusty restaurant and carpets in bedroom need cleaning, needs updating and love

    excellent coffee, and staff did their best to be helpful.great if you have a car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no-one to check us in, and we weren't given the room we expected (however, the room we were given was satisfactory and we were charged less). The bins were emptied and the local drains noisily cleaned very early in the morning but that's not the hotel's fault.

    This is a comfortable hotel in a quiet location. The restaurant was wonderful as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was PERFECT.

    This is the PERFECT place to stay. It's romantic, clean, cozy, comfy. The staff is amazing and the owner is the sweetest human being! He gave us tips and recommened great places and restaurants to go. I just loved it! I wish I could have stayed longer. Don't hesitate. If you ever go to Koblenz or even Cologne, save some time to go to this city and stay at Berghof. It's worth it. Fantastic little city in the Rhine Valley. So many castles. So many things to see. And the food is amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On Mondays there was some noise issues with his neighbour properties.

    The proprietor was very helpful and friendly. As his restaurant was closed he recommended a very good alternative. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Christian, the owner, speaks very good English and is extremely helpful and friendly. We have stopped here a few times, as it is easy to get to, has an outside patio serving tasty beer and a very good restaurant which serves excellent steaks. The breakfast is up to the same standard, and we find this an ideal first stopover when travelling to Italy from Calais. The rooms are a good size and fully furnished.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view but we only stayed one night.

    It was on top of a mounten but we did not have a view . We only stayed one night. Bus stop was around the corner. People were nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was nice but slightly far a way from the downtown. The way back was hard :).

    Excellent breakfast, very nice staff, you can feel like at family home

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As far as I can see on the booking or on line there was no mention that the hotel was closed on Mondays.. though we noted on this trip that this is often a norm in Germany ....shops too. So we had to ring the owner to come and let us in as the "hotel" was locked! One of the two rooms we had was furnished with three single beds and a table with chairs and a bedside table with lamp. This left no room to move about in. Two of the beds were end to end and this was the total length of the room, the third bed was parallel to them with about 500mm of space between. The table was parallel to the other bed. This left a small area to access the toilet/shower room but that space also contained a wardrobe about 1000mm wide. The Robe was poorly constructed and the doors would not open properly and it looked as though it may collapse if you hung any weight of clothes in it. The panels were crudely cut down with no top and bottom trim a sort of kit wardrobe hacked about and reconstructed in the garden shed. The bedside light did not work and on investigation the wire ran back to a wall socket that was loose in its wall cavity and therefore dangerous ...so I did not touch that further. So after switching off the main light it was a slow grope back to the bed for fear of stubbing a toe. This room really ought to have been half the price of the other room. Parking is tight but is off the road up a steep drive.

    The one small redeeming factor at the hotel was the provision of requested lactose free milk and and unasked for lactose free yoghurt at breakfast but not the gluten free bread. As Germany is a major producer of Lactose free products that are freely available in the UK and many outlets in Germany I am surprised at the difficulty that hotels seem to have providing such items. Koblenz was not a town we warmed to. I suppose that it was badly hit during the war but the Aldtstadt seemed to have very little that was old except St Kastor church but perhaps there were places that we did not find in our short stay. However what Koblenz did have in a modern building in the Altstadt was Ristorante la Gondola..family Pavone, on Rheinstr. Dinner was SUPERB, exceptional service in at least three languages and equally. Exceptional food and no problem in catering for the lactose and dairy free diet of my wife. Nice ambiance with the typical buzz that denotes any good Italian restaurant. The best meal we had on our 15 day motor tour and probably one of those evenings on our all time meals to remember list.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The biggest minus was that even though we had asked for non-smoking rooms, they were definitely used by smokers. The breakfast provided was not very good. We would definitely not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needed a fan due to warm weather, need hair dryer in room, room completely renovated, but need to replace carpet

    owner & staff were fantastic & very accommodating, lovely breakfast room and good breakfast, close to bus station, on-site parking, several english speaking tv channels

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please do not reserve anymore any room at this hotel at least for a period of time !!! This is a very serious threaten because of bed bugs. Saturday evening me and my wife stayed there in room number 2 and during the night both of us were bitten by bedbugs (Bettwanzen). My wife couldn't sleep because of them. In the evening I drank a few beers and I was just 2 times bitten. But my wife has 21 wounds, 3 of them on the face. The problem is that my wife is allergic to these bites her face is swollen. At 3 o'clock at night we caught around 30 of these bugs. Then we called the property owner and he came in 15 minutes. He said he was surprised that this thing happened. He said he never had problems with them before but he told us to wash our clothes at 60 degrees Celsius. So somehow he knew that the they die at 60 degrees which I afterwards read on the internet. I also read that they spread very fast from one room to the other, from one hotel room to the other, from neighbor to neighbor. We drove home starting at 3.30 in the morning, around 200 km. The problem is that even though we were very precautious when unpacking our luggage (lots of them are packed in plastic bags with no place whatsoever for the bugs to exit and we washed directly our wearing clothes) we were bitten last night few times. That means we took at least one of these bugs with us in our bedroom :( Better be safe than sorry by not booking at least for a period of time any room at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice Gasthaus. Quite far from the centre if you are travelling without a car, but buses are working for all the day from there to city centre. Delicious packed breakfast made with sandwiches and boiled egg.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is possibly ready for updating.

    The staff were extra friendly. Chris who was the chef and possibly the owner greeted us and gave us a welcoming drink in the bar.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug in shower room for using hair dryer. Small room, Ok for one night, but not for longer.

    Friendly owner. Good food and good wifi. New shower room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't realise it was quite so far from Koblenz itself, when we booked, however there is a bus to the city centre which was easy to find. Alternatively drive to the top of the cable car at the castle and use it as a park and ride.

    Value for money. Local atmosphere but friendly helpful proprietor speaking perfect English. Parking.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room, with TV, no internet in the room but it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged 3.80 euros for a beer menu price 3.00 euros ?

    Generally ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed room waS very old in decor. Old carpet. Smells like dirty old socks.the staff and food was very good.down stairs waS nice. Up stairs wasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road getting to the location was very narrow and a little dangerous. No good value restaurants in the area.

    nice view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds worn out mattresses synthetic old pillows and heavy synthetic quilts Internet broken and weak signal

    Location Bathroom Free Parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's a long walk into town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quaint property. Excellent host. People of Koblenz very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from cit center

    Good wifi, OK for paid price, free parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is not heated.

    Full breakfast, and a functional room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated facilities

    Quiet countryside. Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedstead is unstable.

    That's ok to stay one night.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very welcoming. Very comfortable good value B & B. Perfect for a stopover en route between Austria and Rotterdam.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all ok for the price.

    good food+beer in restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Chris the host extremely welcoming and helpful. Would return. Breakfast lovely. Bed very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was located on an uphill, so for older people is harder to return from visiting the city

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is well out of town, a steep and c. 40 minute walk from the town centre. There is a very efficient bus service but only Once an hour at night.

    Owner very friendly and helpful. Clean and comfortable. Well used by locals.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower towel I got was dirty or stained. I would have threw it away. The wife of the owner is not really friendly as she knocked on my door in the morning (9.15) cause she wanted me to have breakfast to then go away with her friends(was the only guest to have breakfast).

    Price is ok. The owner(was really nice and willing to help). The single room I got is newly furnished with nice tv. Wi-Fi was working quite well too.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no wifi in the downstairs bedroom (one of my needs when booking) , Nothing much around the area .

    Had on site parking , spacious rooms , very nice helpful owner .

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent dinner in their restaurant (the proprietor is the chef); great breakfast buffet; small but adequate and cozy room with private bathroom; cleanliness of the establishment; hospitable staff; private on-site parking; surprisingly quiet location up on the hillside above Koblenz on the other side of the Rhine and only a short drive down to the city.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    If you arrive walking from the city center you have to walk a lot in a very high steep slope

    The people who works there, are extremaly kind. The room was so comfortable too.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Berghof is not in the city center of Koblenz. However, an easy, punctual, twice hourly bus service stops in front of it. Catch the No. 27 bus from across the street from the Lohr Center in Koblenz. The Burghof is worth this slight hassle.

    I've traveled for 40 years in Europe and never met a more helpful hotelier than Christian, the owner of this hotel/restaurant. Many German hotel owners fail to understand they are in the HOSPITALITY industry, not the "We have rules" industry. Christian bends over backwards to make his guests' stays enjoyable, and productive, and I believe his growing legion of returning guests are a testament to his great attitude and wonderful hotel. He serves a good breakfast too, for only 3.50euro!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor point, but a very creaky bed !! In our room.

    The owner chris was very friendly and most helpful the other staff equally as helpful. The food was wonderful, the evening dinner was the best in the city in my view. I will be going back !! If only for the food. Plenty of parking available outside and as I went with a mothjorbike that was important. The location to town was ideal approx 20 minute walk, with a local bus running twice an hour, as this hotel is on a hill it's worth remembering the bus.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's on a very steep hill/ mountain

    Very friendly owner and staff. Small hotel - so you individually matter as a guest. Very fast wifi A great amount of channels on the tv. Ideal if you want to explore Koblenz and surroundings: many castles

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As the owner admitted, it was a bit tired. Smell in the social areas wasn't good, like stale cooking and toilets. Breakfast was very limited.

    Good welcome with free town map and explanations. Comfy bed. Very quiet area just out of town.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great breakfast, nice staff and quiet. WIFI was excellent. Good location with Bus 27 just across the road. Look into the Koblenz card if you are there for a couple of days.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very friendly not clean the owner/chef (hope he washed hands after smoking outside!!) Could not book in until 5pm

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Couple

    simple but cosy and warm, bed was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Wi-Fi was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Owner Chris and staff were very pleasant to deal with and eager to assist where possible.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owner was particularly friendly, always willing to give us orientation. There is a bus station a few meters away from the main door.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner was very helpful and provided all the information we required.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent dinner at restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff who went out of their way to accommodate us

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was not highly clean. None of the staff speaks English.

    The restaurant is quite good.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At dinner staff was a little slow.

    Friendly welcome, free wifi, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff very friendly and breakfast was good. Good parking area and in a quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall a bit dated and isolated but has restaurant and was clean.

    Value accomodations

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly, helpful owner.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Location, and cost is too high for this place 48 euro!!!!

    Free Waoter

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi good, breakfast had a good choice of breads, cheese, ham, jam, boiled eggs, smoked salmon. Parking on-site.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Especially the friendly owners were really great!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, huge portions in restaurant , great food, beautiful area

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    whole place smelt of cigarette smoke

    very friendly host

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: