Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthaus Weingut Stahl This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Talblick 6, 55430 Oberwesel, Germany

#3 of 13 hotels in Oberwesel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 193 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay near the Rhine River
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Gasthaus Stahl is set in a family owned winery. The family run it themselves and are wonderfully inviting. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The house and rooms are beautiful. The food is amazing! The breakfast is huge and will keep you full until dinner. And make sure you have dinner at Gasthaus Stahl- they prepare delicious German specialties! They allow access to part of their wine cellar with open bottles of their excellent wine to sample.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Favorite place we stayed during our 13 days of exploring Europe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wash cloths in bathroom and thin towels. Must ask for drinking water, not readily available. However, this was not unique of this facility. This seems to be a European custom. Also, when we asked for still (no bubbles) water we were always given a bottle with a smile. Just ask and you shall receive.

    By far our favorite stay in Europe. The hospitality was over the top! Paul was the face of Gausthaus Weingut Stahl. He took orders, answered questions, played piano, and made sure we were happy. This is definately a family business and they have genuine joy and the gift of hospitaltiy. Krista makes a killer breakfast! Quiche, Waffles, Bakery treats, eggs, coffee, fresh fruit and MUCH more. She is always smiling and eager to please the guests. I would go back again in a heartbeat! Beds were comfortable. The wine tasting cellar was exceptional and exceeded our expectations! We bought several bottles! Loved #4,5, and 10!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful, comfortable, very spacious rooms.
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful, comfortable, very spacious rooms. Right next to a walking path through some vines. Incredible breakfast. Above and beyond in every way. Paul an was absolutely fantastic host! We will definitely be back!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head wouldn't stay fixed in place. That's our only criticism

    Friendly staff, excellent food and wines, lovely room and I'm sure the view from the balcony would have been fantastic, had it not been a dreary November day!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    You can't go wrong with the Gasthaus. In fact, it should be on the top of your itenarary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The Stahls will go the extra mile to make sure the guests are there for a wonderful experience and Are treated as thought every guest is an old time friend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Exceptionally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike

    Wonderful breakfasts and food in the evenings, exceptionally genuinely friendly staff ( family members I think) nice and quiet, comfortable spacious room, this has to be the nicest place I've ever stayed in, and will stay here whenever visiting the Rhine in future , plus is good value for money. Dogs are also allowed. It's just 5 minutes down the hill by car to Oberwessel station and KD boat stop. On the way down look out for a view point on the right on a sharp bend which gives an amazing view of the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator, but this is typical for small European hotels. Mobility-impaired persons should inquire if ground floor rooms are available (I don't know).

    What not to like? You are greeted by family and immediately feel welcome. The room was great, the location is excellent (10 minutes to the Rhine, 15 minutes the other way to the A61), and the breakfast is exceptional. Service, variety, and home-cooked goodness! The most noteworthy thing about this hotel is the hospitality that includes open access to the family wine cellar beneath the hotel. (The wines are GREAT)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Amazing 2-night stay Gasthaus Weingut Stahl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing negative to say.

    We are a family of five (with three kids - aged 14, 12 & 9) and stayed at Gasthaus Weingut Stahl for two nights (April 4th & 5th, 2017), which represented the last two nights of a week-long trip to Germany & Austria, as we worked our way back to the UK. I had high expectations for this stay (given the very positive reviews) and I can honestly say this place is amazing, better than my (high) expectations and with not a single negative comment to say. Where to start: location - superb, 5 mins drive from the Rhine, 10 mins from the autobahn - so very convenient to access. The Gasthaus - immaculate, very tasteful (period furnishings, beautifully decorated throughout)...the hosts have excellent taste. The public rooms are exquisite. The bedrooms were superb (we had two rooms - one for myself and my wife and one for our three kids). Plenty of space, light, airy and convenient (Wifi everywhere - which unfortunately appear to be very high on my kids' agenda at the moment...) The food - simply amazing. Dinner is wonderful, varied, delightful. Breakfast is beyond description...it is ridiculously superb. I have stayed all over the world in 5* hotels and none of them compare to Gasthaus Weingut Stahl for breakfast (local, fresh, unique). And obviously the wine selection and expertise: a stunning collection to choose from and available to taste in the wine cellar. For anyone wishing to visit this beautiful region, then staying at Gasthaus Stahl is a must. We will be be back for sure and quite frankly, I cannot wait. Thank you to Herr Stahl and family for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    The best breakfast you will ever eat in your life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It got a little hot at night sometimes so a fan would have been wonderful.

    The most amazing breakfasts we have ever had. Dinners were special too and we looked forward to them all day! A highlight of our whole European trip. Beautiful friendly and helpful staff. Very warm and made us feel like we were having a home stay. Couldn't be more helpful. Lovely clean and comfortable rooms with a balcony and gorgeous outlook. The most amazing value for money. Would recommend to anyone visiting this stunning area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Excellent place to stay value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The people running the gausthaus very efficient food excellent could not fault anything . The owners could not do enough for you and would go back to stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    10
    Relaxing stay at beautiful gastehaus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we were there it was a little bit noisy going to sleep because our window opened up to the restaurant veranda and there were people there eating until about 10:30 or so.

    The staff was extremely welcoming and friendly. The location and guesthouse were both beautiful. The breakfast was especially delicious - homemade ricotta cheesecake, waffles, smoothies, made to order eggs.... Delicious! There was even a park for the kids in the neighborhood around the corner. The staff makes you feel like family.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The breakfasts were excellent, I loved the cheesecake,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were excellent, I loved the cheesecake, sponge cake with cream and the daily quiches were all delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good room, good diner and good breakfast

    Good stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great hospitality, and the breakfast was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hospitality, and the breakfast was superb! Next time we will eat in their restaurant for dinner. We will definitely be back for another stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Great value for beautiful location and wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Warm and professional staff. Family owned and operated so every detail was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Everything was excellent, the breakfast was amazing, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent, the breakfast was amazing, and the wine cellar was such a treat!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful welcome & wonderful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a long way out of the town

    The welcoming family atmosphere & amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very accommodating and the food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very accommodating and the food was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful breakfast...helpful staff...excellent restaurant...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Accommodation, service and food were top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bigger garden

    Excellent breakfast: choice, quality and freshness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Lovely building and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely building and staff. Restaurant is top notch! Beds were comfortable. Wine cellar was added bonus!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Cleanliness and Quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shops or restaurants close to the hotel.

    Cleanliness and Quite. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Warm-hearted hosts make you feel like staying with family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family who runs this business is amazing! They are very warm-hearted people, always trying to comfort you.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very nice and welcoming staff comfortable room excellent breakfast very good food and wines highly recommend staying and dining here

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    This is a family run business and they are wonderful people..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great! The wine cellar was awesome! The staff were so friendly!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Definitely coming again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really good and filling. The staff took care of us well. All in all, a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    10
    Breakfast was heavenly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was heavenly! Wish we had stayed twice as long.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.6
    See you again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    That i couldn't stay longer

    Friendly family run place, nothing is too much for Paul, Adele, Christa and all the others

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    9.2
    The gasthaus itself was wonderful - pretty, welcoming,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location not good if you haven't got a car (although see point about taxi). It's a long steep walk out of the main bit of Oberwesel.

    The gasthaus itself was wonderful - pretty, welcoming, comfortable and great food (the breakfast was exceptional). The fact that it was family run over several generations made it particularly special. The location is tranquil and fine if you've got a car. In fact, if you want somewhere quiet and away from the inevitable train noise by the river it would be worth taking a taxi for, although you'd need to check that the restaurant was open while you were staying there.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    10
    When we arrived at the Gasthaus, the person that helped us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really have nothing to complain as the great friendly service and the good food more than made up for everything. From bookings.com, we actually booked a room with a balcony but we didn't get a room with a balcony. Not a big deal at all.

    When we arrived at the Gasthaus, the person that helped us was a member of the Family Stahl and he was very nice. He immediately gave us the key to our room without even doing a real 'check-in' since we arrived at dinner time and he was busy helping out in the restaurant. We spoke German but we overheard the fluent English he spoke to some other guests. The room we had was huge. It was more of a suite than a room including both a living room with sofa and flatscreen TV to lounge and a bedroom with a big bed. Everything in the room including the bathroom seemed new or recently renovated where there's even a USB plug in the wall socket to charge your devices. The dinner we had at the Gasthaus was good. After dinner, we easily paid all together for the room, the meal, and a bottle of their own wine to go. The inclusive breakfast buffet the next morning was also fully loaded with many freshly prepared items, baked goods, and cold cut meats from the Stahl family farm. You will eat well at this place! The location of the Gasthaus was prefect with plenty to do and see in the immediate area such as hiking trails in the vineyards/hills and castles. A 5 minute drive gets you to the St Goar ferry to travel to the east side of the Rhein where you can find well-marked hiking trails to wander around along the Rhein or hike up to the top of the Loreley rock. The Gasthaus also provided a thick booklet in the room helpfully describing a variety of local attractions in both German and English. I will not hesitate to book a room at the Gasthaus Stahl.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Absolutely stunning property with its own wine cellar where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing whatsoever.

    Absolutely stunning property with its own wine cellar where wine can be tasted (and purchased). The hosts were fantastically welcoming and friendly. The evening meal was excellent - very tasty, large portions and not expensive. Breakfast was spectacular. Quite simply the best B&B we have stayed in, amongst many we have visited over more than 30 years!

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    We only had two nights along the Rhine on our way down to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only had two nights along the Rhine on our way down to Alsace and after staying at Gasthaus Stahl, we wish we had at least a week. Situated a few km from Oberwesel, this is the place we are still talking about to our friends after a wonderful few weeks in Europe. This family run establishment is an absolute classic. The grandmother showed us to our room, which was large and very clean. The Gasthaus provided our home base for exploration along the Rhine. The food in the restaurant is WONDERFUL. We took both dinners at the restaurant, and I am still remembering the breakfasts. One morning there was a fresh light warm cheesecake made at 5 AM in house (among MANY other options) and the other morning, the best quiche I have ever tasted in my life. The place is also essentially a winery, with VERY affordable, excellent German wines. In the evenings we were encouraged to head down to their wine cellar and sample the many open wines for free tastings. We played music and danced in the romantic setting, as we had it all to ourselves. I wish we could have shipped back cases of wine home (we left on a Sunday and the private shipping places were not open), because their delightful, refreshing wines are priced from 6-10 Euro, more or less. We bought quite a few and drank them along the way. Two precious bottles made their way back to the states in our luggage. This is an absolute must if you are looking for a central place to explore the region. We were provided with daytime itineraries which were both spot on (encouraged to bring a bottle of their wine with us, and was even provided a corkscrew - which then became a gift as I tried to return it), and a lovely castle is just down the road where we grabbed a beer in the late afternoon on the terrace. I loved the Gasthaus Stahl so much, I look forward to returning with my mother someday who once lived in Germany many years ago. There is not enough praise for this wonderful Gasthaus. 5 stars.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    It was outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    It was outstanding!! Great and will definitely come back! Thank you Paul and staff from Gasthaus Stahl,for your hostility and good service! Kind regards, Maarten & Carmen Zwienenberg

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful, large rooms, delicious food, wonderful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful, large rooms, delicious food, wonderful staff, excellent price. We've been staying at b&b's for 20 years and this was the best!

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    The hosting family is absolute amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi couldn't reach at the lovely terrace.

    The hosting family is absolute amazing! The energy, spirits, presence and the food - especially the breakfast was fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    9.6
    The personal touch from both the owner, his family and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The free WiFi is not available in the whole building

    The personal touch from both the owner, his family and staff. The food, rooms are more than excellent. Free wine tasting made me feel like a kid in a candy store...

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    10
    Rooms were adorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None~This was the best

    Rooms were adorable. Beds were great. Wifi worked. Dinner was excellent. They have a wonderful family winery in the basement and the BEST breakfast of our trip. The homemade breakfast pasties were wonderful. The entire family were terrific hosts. They will be a for sure stop if we get a chance to return to Germany again!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    9.6
    We arrived late in the day after a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We arrived late in the day after a long drive. Surprised by the taste of the interior which combines recent renovation with touches of history; family management extremely friendly with wonderful dinner and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Dinner was excellent, breakfast was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was excellent, breakfast was superb. Loved our stay and we will definetly visit again.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    Everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Had a problem finding the hotel but the owner guided us through the phone.

    Everything was excellent

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    10
    Very friendly people, good restaurant, super breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly people, good restaurant, super breakfast and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Atmosphere, staff, food all lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pillows and early morning church bells!

    Atmosphere, staff, food all lovely. Lots to see and do in the area.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    real sample of the hospitality .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    real sample of the hospitality . great location for river Rhine trips.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Salad rather drowned in dressing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    been three times always consistently excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    been three times always consistently excellent.Food wine owners and staff very friendly.breakfast is the best anywhere

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    10
    Breakfast and a warm atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast and a warm atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    Been here before just love ❤ it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Been here before just love ❤ it.lovely staff,comfortable room and the food is the best anywhere.have booked again.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    The staff, rooms and breakfast are all amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff, rooms and breakfast are all amazing.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: