Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Der Löwen in Staufen mit Haus Goethe This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Rathausgasse 8, 79219 Staufen im Breisgau, Germany

#3 of 7 hotels in Staufen im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the quiet; my room was in the back at the top of the stair cases and I slept solidly. The breakfast was wonderful. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hard to find gps takes you to the old building which is somewhat confusing in your ads as we thought we might be staying in the older rooms not the annex

    very clean and comfortable location good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no warm water in the morning for the shower and the access to the room implies climbing up quite some steps.

    The breakfast was fabulous. The staff very friendly. The situation in Staufen is super centrical.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative was that there was nowhere in the hotel ( eg a lounge ) , where we and our friends could just take a few moments to plan our time.We needed to go outside to a cafe to do that.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit tricky to get to the hotel, since it is in the old town, with narrow streets.

    The hotel is nice, and they also have a restaurant that we used both for dinner and for breakfast. Very good. The town is small but has a beautiful old core and a few nice restaurants. The staff was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs

    The location of the hotel was excellent and our stay was made all the more pleasurable thanks to Mira who went out of her way with local tips and information.....thanks Mira

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking location was very difficult to find as there are many pedestrian zones and construction. Clearer directions could've been helpful. Also, there was never any staff at the front desk, no matter the time of day. We had several questions about the hotel (WiFi, breakfast time, etc), but no one to ask. Calling from the room didn't help either. When trying to checkout we waited 10 minutes before finally just going to the restaurant to ask for help.

    Excellent location, really great breakfast. The rooms were standard, but comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annex Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely confusing check in. There is actually a hotel and Guest House with this establishment (not at all near each other).Used Bookings.com,which lists main hotel address. Upon arrival showed them our confirmation and they said they couldn't find our reservation. They were accommodating and set us up with rooms in the guest house. The manager was very rushed as it was dinner time and she was running the restaurant (which is excellent). She quickly told us the name of the street that the guest house was on but gave us no map. A simple solution is to have a map printed with directions or even just the name and address printed on your card.From previous reviews it seems like this happens frequently.

    Very clean with parking on site.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

    Breakfast area was really cute and tons of options. Yum! Room was gorgeous, bathroom stunning, all the staff I met was so friendly and helpful. The view from my room was of the castle ruins so it doesn't get any better than that. Location was perfect! Halfway between the train station and the main square.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit of a problem ; we were directed by staff to park in a spot that clearly said "private"...the next day we received an unhappy note on our car (I'd taken pains to park as perfectly as possible) because the private spot was NOT the hotels (at least per the Wine Shop/Vineyard staff next door). I apologized and we became quick friends, but I encouraged them to talk to the hotel since we shouldn't have been directed to the space we were in. The logical thing is to park in the town paid lot, which I heard isn't too far away. So, yes, you can bring your car here (you can also get here by train pretty easily) but be careful that you're not parking incorrectly!

    Okay, so you know The Dr. Faust lived/stayed in Room 5, right? That was why we stayed here - and that room did not disapoint! It's only a few euros more than other rooms. The ambiance in the restaurant is great - the sleeping rooms are accessed by asking waitstaff for your key. Access is by stairs, so be fit. The location of the Gasthaus is great and Staufen is great. Staff were very good. The restaurant was great, but not cheap. We enjoyed walking around the old town and climbing up to the old castle ruins.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To charge 1 euro for a sachet of instant coffee is petty and insulting

    Good location but confusing to find. Parking about 200m away. Good breakfast. Efficient staff but mixed between the hotel and the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I got there they said they hd not been paid so I gave them a credit card to pay. but I thought I I had paid you. what's with that?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, cheep IKEA like furniture

    The location close to the town centre,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast excellent...parking free in front of the hotel...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms, good kitchen, friendly staff and a picturesque village

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cookies at the reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Le parking

    Le calme et village sympa

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find but a very nice location right in the heart of the old city. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quieter bathroom fans!

    Comfy beds, quiet location, generous breakfast and close to the local weinstube!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel more of a side business ... hidden in the back part of the building. Expensive compared to other Hotels in area.

    Excellent restaurant connected to Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only -little- problem had been, that I had been booked in the annex, which was not my choice; but could easily be solved thanks to the friendly and caring staff (including the owner of the place)

    Fabulous location in heart of historic town, cosy restaurant with excellent food. I liked the atmosphere in the old building conmected to the history of Dr. Faust

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a nice hotel in the heart of the pretty town of Staufen. Our room was clean and comfortable but the hotel had an off-season feel during our stay. Their restaurant had a very nice look to it which may have created a breakfast expectation that was disappointed. It was good but underwhelming. There is limited free parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner and staff were amazingly rude. We are hard pressed to recall anywhere in U.S. - Europe where we have experienced such arrogant rudeness.

    The breakfast was nice and the place was clean

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was difficult if not impossible to obtain

    The bed, the room and the breakfast were well up to expectations, and the staff were friendly and not intrusive. We had dined at the restaurant many years previously, and it was well worth coming back to stay over and see some of the surrounding countryside,

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no Wifi, although it said there was and staff did not care or want to help.

    Location was great and comfortable.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: