Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthaus Zur Erle This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Obertalstraße 36, 79263 Simonswald, Germany

#6 of 12 hotels in Simonswald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 157 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    All told a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was not very friendly.

    The breakfast included boiled egg, cold-cuts, brotchen, tea, butter, cheese, and jam. You could also have cereal and other things from a small buffet table.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    A peaceful stay in a beautiful environment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware that this place can be a little isolated if you're only planning on using public transportation. The bus runs every hour, but it takes more than an hour to get anywhere other than Furtwangen, Simonswald, and Waldkirch. The hotel and restaurant is closed on Tuesday and Wednesday so plan accordingly! If you are a light sleeper, there is a lot of road noise. These aren't necessarily negatives, but things I wish I had known before booking!

    We had a very nice stay at Gasthaus Zur Erle, and I would not hesitate to stay here again if I had a car! The breakfast was lovely, the WiFi was wonderful, and the beds were very comfortable. It was nice to be able to eat lunch in the hotel restaurant right after checking in. The KONUS card was great to have to use local bus and train transportation for free, especially on our return journey to Freiburg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Thank you for our two day stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our mattress was a bit hard - I suffer with a weak back so it was a bit uncomfortable. Tea/ coffee making facilities in the room were not available.

    Great location on the edge of the forest. Hosts very accommodating for one of our party's mobility issues. Very clean room. Excellent breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice stay and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and pleasant looking, traditional hotel with very friendly staff. We arrived at 21:45 on a thursday in the after-season and there was no problem to serve us a very good dinner in the restaurant. Nice room and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Perfect!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Very beautiful place and a great location, clean big and nice family with superb breakfast. We really loved the place and will surely recommend to our friends!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Awesome, relaxed stay at heart of black forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heart of Black forest, very nice spacious and clean room. Hearing the water flow sound from balcony, one can relish the nature coming out of the hotel room. Staff was so friendly and stay was awesome. I would recommend, as it is also value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise

    Service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Restaurant war ein Traum.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant war ein Traum. Food Excellent.!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Great area, awesome breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little awkward walking through the restaurant every time (there is no separate entrance for rooms)

    Great area, awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly owner/stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly owner/stuff. Comfortable room. Good breakfast. All in all - nice and quiet stay,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closes at 9pm. We missed dinner due to our late arrival.

    Nice breakfast. Kind staffs with hospitality mind. Close to nature

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location, so nice to wake up with the noise of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Perfect location, so nice to wake up with the noise of the river and that amazing green views. Excelent breakfast and dinner. I really recomend to eat in the restaurant. Very nice owner. Comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    9.2
    It was a charming guesthouse in the middle of the black...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It rained but that was not the fault of the hotel

    It was a charming guesthouse in the middle of the black forest with a lovely hostess and the most amazing evening meal you could imagine. We were not expecting haut cuisine but that is what we got. Wonderful

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Spacious rooms around in a very well situated for visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Spacious rooms around in a very well situated for visiting the Black Forest . Beautiful surroundings . Friendly service, excellent food. From Spain

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.2
    Almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was facing the street which was quite noisy. If I was the owner of the place , soundproof windows in those rooms would be on top of my list.

    Almost everything. Great valley, nice house, warm atmosphere, carpets on the floor (clean !) - overall one of those places typical for Germany and Austria - where equipment like showers etc even if it's old, it's impeccably clean and well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    The location was perfect with beautiful scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location was perfect with beautiful scenery. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. The food was fantastic (breakfast and dinner). The kids loved the location of the trails and play area.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    Central location to the Schwartz Wald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location to the Schwartz Wald. Value for money. Pleasant service. Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    Wonderful location for Black forest lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful location for Black forest lovers. A rich and tasty breakfast, warm hosts, the sounds of the stream nearby the house are very pleasant.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: