Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthaus Zur Sonne

Hochdorferstr.1, 79108 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#11 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 363 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located not in Freiburg really, but in a village 8 km from the center, on rather bad roads, also they were very very dark, I got lost in the middle of the night, no one to ask around, so it took me an hour, at least, to find it. I was by bicycle, cars or motorbikes won't have that problem, of course.

    Surprising large choice at the breakfast buffet, and of good enough quality, the black forest ham was more than I expected. I could have done with more coffee, but maybe, if I had asked, it would have been served.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV in room far to small, shower room needs a door not curtain. One of the person serving very unfriendly at all times. Would not book again

    Beergarden, parking, and most importent excellent chef and very friendly, food excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew that we had to share a bathroom. But it was totally unacceptable that you had to go down the hallway to use the bathroom.

    The staff was super and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners (I think they were the owners) not the friendliest of all ... maybe was the language barrier (they speak English but not very well) but to get annoyed because I am telling you something is not working I the room does not send the right message to the customer Given coffee and cream, but expired and when 'complained' and asked for another one, the lady got offended (as if it was my fault the cream she gave me was expired ... lol)

    Warm room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Female member of staff was very rude as we could not speak German also when coming to pay for stay in the morning she snatched my credit card out of my had

    Meals were good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very beautiful simple family runned Guesthause. Me and my wife enjoyed our one night stay there a lot. View from balcony was awesome, You see the city church, a nice calm street and lovely sky. Breakfast was limited and simple. And warm coffee served in tea pot is something we liked. As we don't need to get up again and again to fill our coffee cups. All in all a nice and lovely stay with a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outside of the property and entrance look as if they now needs some attention - but neither affected us. Parking can be a little awkward. It is about 10 kms. from the city centre so probably more suitable as an overnight stop in the area than for visiting the city.

    The room and bathroom look as if they have been fairly recently updated and were OK. Breakfast was also OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were experiencing internet outages in the community.

    We got this hotel because it was any easy stopover. I liked the restaurant downstairs. Good prices and good beer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought there was a restaurant attached to the property as in the photos unfortunately it had closed down. This turned out to be a plus as the staff directed us to a local restaurant and we had one of the best dinners on our trip.

    The hotel is set in a nice village and was friendly and clean the beds were comfy and the breakfast was wonderful lots of choice parking was free and the hotel was easy to find. Overall it was great value and very reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room seems quite old and little expensive, but in rhe average, for service offered. However towel and sheets are clean and quite new.

    10 min by car to Freiburg city center (price lower than other solutions in Freiburg), big and rich breakfast served.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was extremely hot over the time we stayed I would have liked the option of a fan in the room.

    Motorbike friendly, staff were so helpful. My bike was placed in safe storage. The evening meal was of a very good quality. The breakfast just as good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A noisy German couple arguing in the room opposite ours at 4am in the morning!

    Mostly booked this guest house for an overnight stop on our car journey from Rotterdam to Lake Garda via Switzerland, perfect location for a few a couple of hours relaxation after 8 hours travelling. Very friendly owner and family, comfortable rooms, lovely evening meal, great beer and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place, a lot of space, very nice quiet rooms, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Owners

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very nice place in a quiet german village very near Freiburg Center. Nice german host, not exactly warm to a latin american guest, but kind enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    just a little far out if no car.

    Very pleasant staff, great breakfast, location fair. Had dinner here also lovely! Would reccommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the hot weather, air conditioning would have been nice, but it didn't spoil our stay

    Good location (for our journey) and good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A warm welcome from owner , came out as we arrived on motorcycles and open a barn door for to park in .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old accommodation

    Rate quality/price is good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude unhelpful staff

    Nothing worth mentioning

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were late checking in, but the staff stayed open until we arrived at the property.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good parking facilities for motorbike. Helpful owner

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good for touring. Less good as a Freiburg base

    God value basic accommodation. Helpful owners

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was far away, staff was not available regularly.. Its not value for money at all..

    Cleanliness was ok...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit off from the motorway.

    The owner was very kind and the room had lots of space.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed

    Great food available from the restaurant. Friendly staff, good undercover parking for our motorcycles.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast was good! It's a OK place just for a stop-over going south or north!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was spotty, as is cell service - for my carrier at least.

    No nonsense accommodation. Good value for the money. Reasonable breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked everything so this is a hard one to answer. An extra that would have been nice would be a map of the immediate area showing fun things like the bike path, where the grocery store was, etc.

    The staff we interacted with were all very friendly, the food was good and the location was nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast was very basic, room had some strange smell in it

    in a peaceful location just at the outskirts of the city, value for money, private parking, good shower

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - too far from the city, but with a car - no problem

    Breakfast - all inclusive - you could eat everything you want (eggs, toasts, musli etc.), very nice staff and everything vas clean and fresh. Recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a major problem, but wanted to put evening meal(which was very good by the way) on room tab & pay all by credit card & not able to do that. First credit card would not run on credit card machine & later found nothing wrong with my card, so must have been his machine.

    An Excellent Value for the money! Very comfortable Gasthas to stay in & an excellent breakfast in the morning. This place still has some of the Old World charm left that I miss in most places is Germany, since I lived there in the 70's Highly recommend for the Freiburg area!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The two women (I suppose mother and daughter) always looked grumpy, almost angry, as though our presence bothered them. In the end it didn't really matter to us, but still unpleasant.

    Nice countryside atmosphere, very clean and parking spot right in the structure.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No access to internet.

    A nice little Hotel in a nice and quiet village with a friendly staff. Nice German food in the restaurant and a good breakfast. Easy to find near the motorway. Lot of space in our room.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experience, but they do not offer internet.

    The room was delightful with a desk that meant I could get to work immediately. It is in an old farmhouse that belonged to the family. The building is wonderful, as are the other 3 attached buildings. Right next to the bus stop from Freiburg, which made it very easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean comfortable room with good breakfast esp for the money

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    rooms are basic and beds are very old

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No wifi, come on it isn't the dark ages.

    Nice setting with free parking. Room was very spacious.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Out of date

    Our bikes stalled in the shed

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: