Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Altes Rathaus 3 stars

Am alten Rathaus 3, 77977 Rust, Germany

#11 of 17 hotels in Rust

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 462 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly boss and staff. The wonderful restaurant that is located in the hotel. The best breakfast you can find that comes with a hotel stay. It was a great experience and lastly it is close to Europa park for our family to walk there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff are super friendly , The room and bathroom super clean , the breakfast is delicious and perfict . It was so close to the park and the smell of the house made food was so good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no guy available at check in, we had to look around for a person!

    Breakfast was decent. Room was clean. Location is very close to Europa park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in room and WiFi was non existent in our room despite being told that all bedrooms had WiFi.

    Super breakfast with lots of things to eat other than bread and croissants. Air conditioner in bedroom which was very effective. Close to Europe Park , a huge amusement park in Southern Germany, for children and adults younger than us!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The same towels are used for both nights, the ones thrown on the floor are just removed from the room without replacement. Air conditioning unit is probably too small for a 4-person room (we opened the windows instead, but I can only guess what it's like during hot days).

    Nice small hotel just a few minutes away from EP entrance. On-site parking, free parking coupon at the EP parking on the departure day. Simple, but adequate breakfast. Very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor sound isolation (a part of the experience was a neighbour's snoring); no Internet in the room; limited selection for breakfast; the room looked a bit schabby. If you happen to need something at night, reception is closed. In this case, it would be useful at least to have a kettle in the room. Overall, extremely overpriced for what you get.

    The staff was friendly and helpful, and the bathroom was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wi-Fi didn't work at all on the evening we slept there. For a business trip it was a bit annoying. It was somehow restored late in the morning before breakfast. This didn't look like a busy antenna but more like it needed a reboot. Too bad. Breakfast was nice (with hard-boiled egg available) it would have enjoyed scrambled eggs with bacon to get full marks, but I enjoyed it anyway. How to close the shutters of the big windows maybe needed a little explanation, I found out how to use it, but not my colleage who slept in another room.

    Very calm and clean and for someone like me who does not like other's people cigarette I was happy. The staff was efficient and always nice. Hotel very close to Europa Park it was very convenient to attend to the WorldHostingDay event. Will certainly try it again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm stuf, good and tasty meal at the restaurant, clean rooms, every day clean towels, comfortable beds, very nice wiew, quiet place, just 3 minutes walk from Europapark entrance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are small Reception is not available all times Room Keys are old No Elevator for second floor No phone on our room

    Beds are comfortable Quiet room Air-condition Car Parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and breakfast was great. Lovely bar and patio next to the river. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the food looked great and was good value. We wished we had eaten in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one thing didn't go right here. I had asked for a room with two separate normal beds (as I was traveling with my adult son). They agreed in writing to provide two separate beds. But when we got there we saw that the room they wanted to give us had just one double bed, and the second bed was actually a pull-out chair that opened up to a tiny bed that was almost on the floor. This chair-bed was really only appropriate for a young child, definitely not for an adult. They should have known this chair-bed was NOT appropriate for an adult and should have warned us about it! If we had known the second bed was only a chair-bed, we would not have booked a room here, as we specifically requested and needed two separate normal beds, both beds suitable for adults. The manager came and said that the chair-bed was fine. I asked her if SHE would sleep in that makeshift bed, and she admitted she would not. We wasted an hour and a half of our night arguing with her that this was not acceptable for an adult. Instead of being apologetic, she was flippant about it, and said, "If we didn't like it, we should go somewhere else." Really? At 9:30 p.m. she gives us an ultimatum like that? Where are we going to find another place that late? The whole thing was infuriating and upsetting. Fortunately, the customer service representative Tatjiana intervened on our behalf, and 90 minutes later we were given a room that actually had two separate real beds in it. We were pretty worked up and upset, so we couldn't fall asleep until later, which made us get up later and go to Europa Park the next morning later than we had planned. I guess in summary, I would like to warn people that if you are expecting a room with two separate beds that are both suitable for adults, the only way you will get it here is to book a triple room.

    Our two-night stay at the Hotel Gasthof Altes Rathaus June 10-12 was an interesting one. Pros: Very clean, cold a/c in the room, great free breakfast, only five minute walk to front gate of Europa Park. Good restaurant with great salad bar downstairs. Good free wi-fi. Incredible customer service staff named Tatjiana who took care of all of our needs. She went above and beyond the call of duty, and we are grateful for her help.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Con: Just one con, really. I had asked for a room with two separate normal beds, which they agreed to in writing. But it turns out that the room they wanted to give us had one double bed, and the second bed was actually a pull-out chair that opened up to a tiny bed that was almost on the floor. This chair-bed was really only appropriate for a young child, definitely not for an adult. We asked for a room with two separate normal beds like they had confirmed, but the manager came and said that the chair-bed was fine. I asked her if she would in it, and she admitted she would not. We wasted an hour and a half of our night arguing with her that this was not acceptable for an adult. Instead of being apologetic, she was flippant about it, and said, "If we didn't like it, we should go somewhere else." Really? At 9:30 p.m. she gives us an ultimatum like that? Where are we going to find another place that late? The whole thing was infuriating and upsetting. Fortunately, the customer service representative Tatjiana intervened on our behalf, and 90 minutes later we were given a room that actually had two beds in it. We were pretty worked on and upset, so we couldn't fall asleep until later, which made us get up later and go to Europa Park the next morning later than we had planned. I guess in summary, I would like to warn people that if you are expecting a room with two separate beds that are both suitable for adults, you probably won't get it without a long hassle. But if all you need is a room with one double bed, then I would recommend this place, as the location, cleanliness, and breakfast were all good. It's just a shame the manager was so disrespectful of us and started our vacation with a stressful episode.

    Out two-night stay at the Hotel Gasthof Altes Rathaus June 10-12 was an interesting one. Pros: Very clean, cold a/c in room, great free breakfast, only five minute walk to front gate of Europa Park. Good restaurant with great salad bar downstairs. Good free wi-fi. Incredible customer service staff named Tatjiana who took care of all of our needs. She went above and beyond the call of duty, and we are grateful for her help.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no elevator, not really for the family with many stuff. The room was very old but clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately none of the staff I came across spoke very good English but with the help of google translate it was fine!

    I liked the location the most

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were no blackout curtains with effect to wake up early enough in the morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect distance to Europapark, just a 5 min walk away. Good restaurant with a nice view over the small river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast selection was very small.

    If one is attending the Europa Park the location is excellent, only 4 min walk from the main entrance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English language was missing

    Staff was great and trying to help

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was boring.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don't speak English.

    Very good breakfast, very close to Europapark

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to Europa Park, with a great location on the River Elz.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift

    Within walking distance of Europapark - nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the footbal result, we lost :)

    cold beer by the river :), hospitality when arriving after 21 hrs and still serving food until 21:30

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was just perfect. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. When I was late for my breakfast the even waited and served the breakfast with a smile. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A great location for Europa Park, just four minutes walk from the entrance. Rust is a beautiful little village. We had a family room. Clean and very comfortable in a very typical little German guest house. One of our party is gluten free and the staff made a really good effort for her for breakfast. For three people it was great value for money. In the warmer weather you could sit by the stream and enjoy a beer.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Gasthof Altes Rathaus is very close to Europapark, backing onto the river. It has spacious rooms with character, friendly staff, plenty of parking and a superb restaurant (we have eaten here many times). It was a treat to stay here for the night.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No safe in the room. Rough sheets on the bed. Old (but clean) towels. The decor and facilities need updating but we weren't staying there for the hotel facilities - we just needed a room, car park and breakfast.

    Fiendly helpful staff. 5 minute walk to gates of Europa Park. On-site parking. Restaurant. Air conditioning. Breakfast was adequate but limited choice.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was up to standard. Great location, 4 minuts from Europa park. Flat TV, air conditioner, great breakfast, super staff. Will chose the same hotel next time.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - great stay! We were very happy.

    The staff were super friendly and it was such a good location of visiting Europa Park! Great restaurant for enjoying a nice meal at the end of the day also. Rooms aren't massive but cosy if you are just a couple wanting somewhere to relax.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Can't fault this place, we stayed for 5 nights, a lovely, very well ran hotel. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast may be a bit late for some people - 8:00am till 10:00am, but for us this wasn't a problem. Wi-Fi is a bit patchy sometimes in the rooms, but not a deal breaker when you have the amazing Europa Park a few minutes walk away, you shouldn't be spending too much time in your room anyway! Would have liked to have eaten in the restaurant, but we simply didn't have time. We would seriously consider staying here again on our next trip to EP, which will hopefully be sooner rather than later. If you can't stay in the EP resort hotels, this place is highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Clean rooms Simple but good breakfast Quiet atmosphere (note that our visit was outside opening hours of the park and there where only business people in the hotel).

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No elevator

    Perfect hotel for holiday in Europe park 😄

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location and friendly people

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast starts late (8.30)

    staff very attentive and friendly value for money basic and quiet rooms

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The cleaning charges were very high.

    Excellent appartment for family, excellent location

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    5 min walk to Europapark (that's all we asked for)

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi inside room weak

    every thing exept wifi inside room not good , all around exellent

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location, nice clean hotel, helpful staff

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Gasthof Altes Rathaus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: