Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Butz

Kapellenplatz 4, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 674 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a little lacking. It had all your basic stuff but I just wish there were more varieties and hot items like sausages. On the plus side, boiled egg is available upon request.

    The location of this property is excellent...just steps from the market square but is hidden away so it's nice and quiet. I stayed for two nights and even though it was hot, the hotel provided a fan in the room so it was still comfortable to sleep even with the window closed. The restaurant on the property is reasonably priced and food tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    A lovely and cosy hotel in an ideal location in the centre of town :)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff didn't appear to be very attentive to our needs and parking costs being included in the hotel price would have been nice.

    The location of the hotel is ideal and right in the centre of town. The breakfast was also very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    The staffs are friendly & the hotel is clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance staircase to go up to the room is inside the restaurant which full of people were having a dinner. We were go up & down with our luggages might be disturbing them.

    The room is clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value, excellent location, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floors and bed were very creaky so I hope there wasn't anyone staying below me. It's an old place so that's to be expected. Not a big deal.

    Excellent location, very cute place - especially from the outside. Breakfast was very affordable and better than expected. Well worth the price. There's a parking lot directly in front of the place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.5
    High value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect option in town, central and very clean, especially the bathroom. Good creditaste, especially the bread rolls. Who comes by bike can leave them in the backyard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    3.8
    Extremely rude people - very bad customer attendance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is extremely bad. People were extremely rude and not worried at all about customer satisfaction. We had a very bad experience in the restaurant at dinner. We were sit down there for more than 10min then I asked the man if the waiter could go there and his answer was: don’t you see that we are busy? Do you think that you are the only customer here? Food was good

    Very near to the main attractions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel just at the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if it has a good black-out curtain to make the room darker in the morning. it should have some kind of vending machine for water/drinks/snacks for us to buy in late hours.

    Its very close to the town hall and there is a public parking lot just in front of the hotel. At this parking lot it seems to not have a time limit for car to stay, as long as you put enough money for that.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Rothenburg is a lovely place to go on a walk and to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rothenburg is a lovely place to go on a walk and to explore. We had dinner at Gasthof Butz once and the food was very good. The staff was very nice and did not hesitate to help us. We asked for an extra bed in our room and it was just as comfortable as the other beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    great location in the centre of downtown area, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    great location in the centre of downtown area, friendly staff, clean and well-equipped rooms and good breakfast with many choices. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Love this old house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator but the male staff was really nice helping me carry my heavy suitcase at check-in and check-out time. The room is really small (I generally dont like small rooms like that) but I am out most of the time. overall it is good value for money.

    Very well located in the middle of the own town and it is an incredibly nice town. This is an old house and I do like its character and the wood stair. Breakfast and dinner were generous and delicious. Staff were really nice. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel. Very strange, rigid and potentially scam owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They will find ways to charge you extra fees. Expect that. The owner also threatened to calls the police if everyone in our party did not show our passports. I didn’t know what to do about that and simply complied. Definitely an odd experience.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    In the heart of Rothenburg ob der Tauber!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was outstanding!

    The staff was extremely nice and courteous. The bed was comfortable, the room spacious, and very quiet. The breakfast was pretty good too. The location is PERFECT!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    All about the location but don’t expect a warm greeting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking just outside but be careful you need to pay and display 0900-1800. Was met by owner who was quite cold and unwelcoming. No real greeting or info provided. Wasn’t even told where my room was. Room up two flights of old stairs. Fell down bottom stair this morning. I was okay but an older person need to be careful. Restaurant close on a Thursday so can’t comment. Bed narrow, single bed, really soft and unsupportive mattress. Squeaked when I made any small movement.

    Location location location. Middle of town and ideal for anyone. Lovely building and if you want traditional you get it. Parking easy. Quite quiet. Breakfast hostess very nice and breakfast choice typical but good quality. Bathroom good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Breakfast was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very nice

    Breakfast was really nice. We even tried dinner in the restaurant, it was very good. Rooms are nice and clean. Staff people are very nice and helpful. Location is superb, you can just walk 2mins to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    Great location but in need of an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired and dated furnishings, beds not very comfortable. Very hot room in the attic and fan provided caused power to trip out.

    Lots of character in the building. Handy location for centre. Host helpful with local parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay with excellent location and friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility was very nice and clean. Nice character. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great for the center of the town and breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Most convenient location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is really fantastic as it is walking distant from the town center. There is a parking area in front of the hotel, which is free at night but hourly charges apply from 9am. Our rooms are on the 3rd floor so it is a bit of a climb if you have lots of luggage. The single room that I got was small, just like the photo listed on the site. But my friends had a bigger single room so guess it all depends on what is available. Not a fancy but comfortable place to stay for 1-2 nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Stairs are super creaky and a little cumbersome if you have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs are super creaky and a little cumbersome if you have any sort of trouble but that’s common in Europe and old facilities. The charm and history more than made up for it. Parking was way easier than it was made out to be. There is paid parking directly outside the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Good place for a short stay in Rothenburg ob der Tauber.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a bit uncomfortable and the cushions were too soft. This resulted in a less than ideal sleep.

    Great location, good breakfast and friendly staff. The check-in was smooth and hassle free. The room was quiet and clean. Parking is right next to the hotel and is free from 1800 - 0900. Good place for a short stay in Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Will definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is not really big but you can expect this in the old buildings so no claims.

    Location in the heart of the old town, but in the quite area, spacious public parking on the small square in front of the hotel (at reasonable price at working hours, free at nights), cozy old-style interior of public areas within the building, restaurant downstairs is really good and not too expensive. Wifi worked much better that couple of years ago when we stayed here last time. Room was basic but clean and neat - this is exactly what we needed for the short stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location from which to explore Rothenburg ob der Tauber.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only challenges were driving into the old town of Rothenburg at night, trying to find the hotel, and then finding parking. The parking lot in front of the inn was full, as was the one just inside the wall. So we ended up parking just outside the wall and walking about 10 minutes back to the hotel. However, I suspect parking would be a challenge for just about any hotel in the old city. And the staff was helpful in suggesting places to look for parking. Even if you can't find a spot to park right in front, we were able to drive up to the hotel to unload and load our luggage without any problems. Also, the Wi-Fi, which was provided by the city, was fairly poor.

    Excellent location from which to explore Rothenburg ob der Tauber. The hotel is on a square, just one block away from the main Marktplatz. Our triple room was decent-sized, and while the third bed looked like a converted sofa (it was a little bit short), it was comfortable enough. We also had a very generously sized bathroom with a full tub. You walk right through the restaurant to get to your room upstairs, so it definitely has a charming guesthouse feel. Breakfast was very well-stocked with the traditional assortment of meat, cheese, yogurt, bread and various spreads. Hard or soft boiled eggs were also prepared to order.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Christmas magic close to main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit rough since it is just a few spots on the street and very hard to get a spot at Christmas time, but only 7 Euros for the day.

    Super helpful staff met us and made everything nice. Good, clean rooms, nice breakfast, and right off the main square. Close as can be.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, so close to the market but away from the crowds. It was comfortable, clean and the staff were very accommodating. Breakfast and facilities were good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not good with stairs and our room was on the second floor. Understandable as it's an old building and has no lift. Peter carried our bags up to the room, very kind of him.

    Great location in the old town. Staff were very helpful. Night watchman tour was terrific.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Great central accommodation with very nice room and hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy alpine lodge just off the main square. Lovely breakfast and very nice room. Arrived on the "Romantic Road" bus which stops very close by too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Quaint hotel clean with good service and food. Love the squeaky old wooden stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it just the way is is. I had no complaints.

    Been here 5 times over the years. Prefect location to visit the town 3 minute walk to the center plaza. Limited parking in front of hotel but always got a space. The hotel has lots of character. The staff was friendly and helpful. Dinner menu was more than adequate and food was good. They say it has been family owned since 1894 so if you want to stay with a place that has personality this is it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Loved the location and the comfort and clean stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The included breakfast in the price was rather sad, no eggs or toast or even the good german bread

    Great location, there are some parking spots right outside the hotel and we were lucky to find one! @7 euros for 24hrs by the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Very short walk to the market square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A reservation was needed to eat for lunch or breakfast. Once we got a table, the food and service was excellent.

    Very short walk to the market square. Very friendly, attentive staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Rothenberg is a great destination. We have visited here four times in the past two years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was that we could only stay one night.

    The location was perfect, only 100 meters to the town square. A good restaurant on-site. Friendly staff. Parking was just outside the hotel but required payment overnight and during the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in a fairy-tale town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good.

    Wonderful location - near the main square on a quiet little square. I liked the building, beautiful interior design, even the squeaky stairs! They have a good restaurant on site with traditional German food, that was very handy and nice. Overall impression - it was very cozy, with home-like atmosphere. Would come there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    My favorite town and the place was a nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was nice but “standoffish” (not warm) and there was not a language barrier. When I made a mistake about the checkout time (11:00 not 12:00) by 1 hour, he was very cross even though I apologized. I went to grab some last minute items at the store and had all my things packed at the door... when I got back I literally went upstairs to get my already packed bags... saw that the room was already cleaned. Yes my honest mistake.... but really? Off season!

    Location is in the heart of town and eating at the restaurant is good and reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    Really good location, a very short walk downtown, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with good locations, others think so too, so parking was a little tricky to find in the parking lot just outside the hotel. My room had an extra pump to help the ageing pipes, got really scared first time I flushed. Am not used to "very active" church bells; 6 tolls +current time, and 3min of tolling every half past the hour, but at least it is quiet during the nights.

    Really good location, a very short walk downtown, nice breakfast buffet, quaint hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel with a good location.
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with a good location. Room is clean and comfortable. Delicious breakfast especially the boiled egg. The hotel's restaurant is very famous locally.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed my stay and would recommend it, but not rave about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amenities were a little thin. No bar of soap or washcloth, just a single packet of soap/shampoo gel.

    The room was spotless. We didn't eat at the restaurant because it was fully booked. It looked like it was great. Location is suburb. Close to the square, very quiet at night. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    The location was excellent, in the centre of the town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath/shower combination was a little tricky and could be difficult for people with limited mobility to get into

    The location was excellent, in the centre of the town and just a short walk from the main square. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was good especially with tea being offered. We would definitely recommend this lovely guest house to anyone visiting this beautiful place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Right in the heart of Rothenburg old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tourists have to keep in mind that this is an old building so there are no lifts available.

    A lovely place to stay. Close to everything. A doctor located across the plaza, if in need of one. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. A lovely old historical building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room that had a regular bed and then a bed for our granddaughter. The bed for our granddaughter was not made up and hard to find someone to get the bedding. No one was around most of the time. When we got there we were handed a key and told where to park and then he disappeared.

    The location was perfect. Very cute property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    great location and authentic atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we didn't mind but rooms can only be reached by stairs which might be difficult with heavy luggage and toddlers

    great location and authentic atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the third floor and had to carry our luggage up and down the stairs.

    Right in the heart of Rothenburg, we walked everywhere. There is a public parking area immediately in front of the hotel and we had great parking, just luck really.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location!!! comfortable and nostalgic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Creaking floors and stairs - nostalgic creaking noises :) part of the GREAT atmosphere!

    1. Great location in old city!!! 2. Pleasant staff 3. Good breakfast 4. Coffee was very good! 5. Comfy and clean rooms 6. Very quiet outside at night 7. Comfortable beds We were really happy to stay in great house.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.8
    Traditional German Gasthaus in old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial room was above restaurant garden - and had smoker's smoke through window. Hotel changed my room to one at rear - much better.

    Old property with lots of wood panelleing - very traditional. In centre of town, but not on main street. Very convenient for wandering around old town. Food is traditional German.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift. No air conditioning or English language TV stations. Floor boards creaked (although this might be expected as the property is a traditional inn). Restaurant and bar close at 10 (although to be fair so does the rest of the town) and both are closed all day on Thursday.

    Location is excellent, with it being just a block away from the main square. Spacious and airy room. Some nice customer friendly touches e.g. a basket of spare chargers left for guests to use. The hotel's own restaurant is ok, and priced competitively with others in the town. Staff are friendly and helpful (especially Andrea, whose English is excellent). Wifi very good. Breakfast ok (although no pastries) with a decent choice of meats and cheeses. Nice additional choices included watermelon, redcurrants and radishes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Very helpful staff location was easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff location was easy to find. It is very close to the city center (<5 minute walk). I didn't realize breakfast was included in the total cost until I asked the front desk. Extra food is always appreciated!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and nostalgic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They seemed a bit understaffed, or prepared for the amount of people who came for drinks and supper.

    Very close to the main area without the constant tourist traffic. I also enjoyed learning the history of the Gasthof. Very nice breakfast selection; better than many. Eggs were included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay with minor drawbacks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dark in the bathroom, especially over the shower/tub. Stairs were very creaky and you can hear noise from the hallway clearly - I was lucky the place wasn't too occupied or it would've been rather noisy.

    A bit dated, but very clean and comfortable rooms and bathroom. Room was of a good size and had a table, chairs, and drawers as well as a closet with hangers. Extremely close to town center. Wifi generally good. Nice staff who speak good English. Convenient restaurant on-site with good food for decent prices. Breakfast included (bread with jams, cold meats and cheese, yogurt, cereal, boiled egg, beverages). Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Stay and enjoy pure German hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfadt fantastic and eggs cooked to offer, our triple room was huge, comfortable beds and soft bed linens, and bathroom clean and full of nice towels and amenities. We had dinner in the bier garden and the German food was the best we had on our entire trip. Parking in lot right outside was easy. You get ticket to place on the car windshield-price 7 euros for 24 hours

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    This town is a MUST see!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do offer smoking rooms, so make sure you specify your preference.

    They were extremely nice and quickly resolved a minor issue. Most spoke/understood English very well, much better than my German. Enjoyed our breakfasts there and a dinner there as well as staying for 2 nights. FYI - Guest rooms are up stairs, no elevators.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    Great room in superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were only given two sachets of shower gel/shampoo. There is a bottle of shower gel/shampoo/soap dispenser next to the sink, but it's fixed to the wall and you can't reach it from the shower with your arms.

    Cosy, amazing location. Friendly staff and the room is very neat and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs (wooden stairs) to upper floors are creeky and make noise when people go up and down.

    The guest house was really good. Centrally located within the old town. This is a typical guesthouse and feels warm. Rooms were quite large and comfortable. Breakfast was ok. Good value for money. I would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    7.9
    Functional yet somewhat charmless rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacks charm, the decor is quite ugly and kind of depressing... if you are in Rithenburg for charm and romance, not your choice. If you just need a clean room to sleep in - then go ahead.

    all works, no frills, clean bathroom, central

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Charming Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful guesthouse with attached restaurant. Very old world European. The locations was perfect, as it was right in the heart of Rothenburg. The Christmas Market was a mere block away. Breakfast was ideal and just what we'd expect of a German spread. Would come back again and again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.8
    Great location near the market square in the old city -this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Creaking floors and stairs - hey that's part of the atmosphere! Smokers outside the main door.

    Great location near the market square in the old city -this did mean a 20 minute walk on cobblestones from the train station though. Atmospheric old wooden building with restaurant on the ground floor selling good value traditional food. Good breakfast included.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    6.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for a lower floor as we are a snior couple and we were placed on the third floor with no elevator and rather steep stairways to cimb ( I have seen, however, much steeper ones arond the World). Advertised parking but it wasn't available, at first.

    Fantastic location!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    It was really cozy house and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really cozy house and restaurant. Foods were really nice for dinner and even the breakfast. We were really happy to stay in legendary house in this trip

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Recommend to anyone staying in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I thought everything was fantastic.

    Gasthof Butz was just a block from the square. It had very convenient parking just across the street. The food was outstanding. I would recommend it to anyone unless you have trouble climbing stairs.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Superb location, very clean guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a double bed and it wasn't really a double bed. It was two twin beds put together and in the night you'd fall in between.

    Very clean rooms, good breakfast, in the heart of the center

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Center of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can;t think of a negative comment!

    Center of old town. Easy walk to everything. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Liked the outdoor patio for sipping on wine and beer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Close to main areas such as Plonlein, Medieval Crime Museum,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to main areas such as Plonlein, Medieval Crime Museum,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Very nice place. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note.

    All was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Gasthof in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Localization Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Charming historic family run house, central located with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming historic family run house, central located with a lot of bavarian flair.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, good dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy stairs in old hotel

    Friendly staff great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were very skimpy.

    Wonderful location. Friendly staff. East to communicate in English.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Environment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Environment! Staffs!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice traditional hotel in a fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC

    Location and the value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    I would really recommend the position and everything that went along with this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice for my friend gluten free but staff helped to manage this

    Really happy with venue and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking area may be a problem

    Location is great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Cozy comfortable and near centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Clean rooms, breakfast is excellent, location near centre and park 4. Restaurant was super good and famous in area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C. and no elevator.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.1
    Outside, near main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Outside, near main square

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Attention to detail was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail was fantastic. Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Very nice place, clean and comfortable, close to the town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place, clean and comfortable, close to the town center, facilities also quite good. Nice stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: