Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Engel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Dorfstrasse 43, 77767 Appenweier, Germany

#2 of 3 hotels in Appenweier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 134 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice place to stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - We didn't get the room we had booked on Booking - The internet wifi was not good

    - The staff was nice and helpful - The room was clean and well equipped - The restaurant is a good place to eat

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    good under the circumstances.. my heart goes out to the owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel probably was built on a country lane many years ago.. would have been a wonderful place then, now its on the edge of an industrial area and the is the sound of traffic (trucks) pretty much at all hours, in summer we had windows open so our sleep was a little disturbed.. we had a front facing room maybe at the back would have been better. I would see this as a good hotel for working people who need a place to stay in the area or on way through

    family run hotel and under the circumstances they are doing all they can to make you feel welcome, good breakfast too..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    The location was great and the food and service was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great and the food and service was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Simple to find, good parking, lovely peaceful location, not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great. Some noise from the room next door when they were going to bed.

    Simple to find, good parking, lovely peaceful location, not far off the autobahn. Big wholesome breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is placed in a beautiful and calm village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is placed in a beautiful and calm village. Staff is super kind an helpful. Best of all is the excellent restaurant with great dishes!!! I would certainly go back to the hotel and to have dinner there! I absolutely recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything! It is a very clean and beautiful ! Go for the cottage suite, honest price for a good size bedroom , living room and toilet with toiletries and bath tub ! Food portion at restaurant were huge! Staff out of the world friendly!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    Service !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heat - should have had fan i room for days with more than 30 degrees. Noise from garden in the evening No meny in English - should be easy to fix if the want non Germans staying Bad wifi connection (came and went)

    Service ! (fantastic young girls - not all engllish speeking) Location Great terrassed garden with eating areas Dinner (too much though) Surprisingly nice rural village near motorway Free parking just outside

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.9
    The dinner was superb - not cheap but excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfortunately there was a wedding party on that didn't finish until 4.00 am the next morning so we didn't get any sleep at all after a long day driving, and a 10hour drive ahead the following day. We feel we should have been advised by email and we would have had the opportunity to cancel.

    The dinner was superb - not cheap but excellent. The staff were lovely and helpful in finding something our son, a vegan, could eat.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    10
    I am a regular customer of this pension for 10 years now.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    I am a regular customer of this pension for 10 years now. It is a great place with very friendly staff, magnificent food (huge portions), good and comfortable rooms, big garden with a playground for kids. The owners make you really feel like at home.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.8
    Clean and well organized typical family run guesthouse in a...
    • Solo traveller

    No negative points

    Clean and well organized typical family run guesthouse in a small German village. Handy for an overnight stop off the A5 motorway.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.9
    Nice room with a great comfotable bed.
    • Couple

    Nice room with a great comfotable bed. Good restaurant with great (local) dishes. Breakfast was simple but sufficient.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.5
    Everybody wants to help and is friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everybody wants to help and is friendly. The restaurant is OK with good value for money and and good service. Booked again for travel back home.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Browse Gasthof Engel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: