Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen

Obere Schmiedgasse 5, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 1461 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful old building in a terrific location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was too weak in the back section of the hotel. The tv remote was missing and staff tried hard but was unable to program a new one.

    Beautiful old building in a terrific location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Well located and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift or air conditioning.

    Excellent value accommodation. Room furnishings basic but comfortable. Up scale bathroom. A stone throw from the old town centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c or even a fan. We don’t expect a/c when we select “old town” type hotels. However, during summer months the afternoon heat makes the room uncomfortable. Providing fans is a cheap and easy fix.

    Location! Perfect for exploring the delightful town of Rothenburg. The staff is welcoming and helpful with the restaurant is quite good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    A very comfortable place right in the center of town with delicious food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are on a bicycling trip and the hotel had a secure place to store our bicycles. The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant and the food was delicious. The breakfast was also good. Our room had a view over the street so we could watch people on the square.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable beds, and a very good breakfast at a reasonable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture in the rooms was basic (but functional). The bathroom in #16 was quite small. The bathroom in #11 had a bathtub only (with a showerhead, but the slanted ceiling makes standing impossible).

    The public areas were full of impressive furniture/décor reflecting the history of the building (650 years old!). Parking was free on site (in the back of the hotel—tight for our minivan, but doable and very convenient). Breakfast was very good and included dry cereals, yogurt, fruit, rolls, sliced meats and cheeses, eggs to order, coffee, tea, and juices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Central location with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central hotel located with nice staff. The hotel has parking which is very difficult in this city. The rooms are old but give a good atmosphere of the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beds were uncomfortable. Also outside noise prevented sleep No elevator!

    PARKING WAS DIFFICULT TO LEAVE PARKING AREA. ROOM WAS TO SMALL BEDS WERE UNCOMFORTABLE. STAFF WAS VERY FRIENLY.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Can’t find a better location for visiting Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fans! One should recognize if you want to stay at an “old town” or historical hotel in Europe, there will be NO a/c. Typically, I select these hotels for location. However, most hotels today DO provide fans for the rooms.

    Location, the history and ambiance of the hotel. Staff is very helpful from the owner to the women who care for the rooms. The breakfast is ample with a nice variety of goods including a choice of cooked eggs. An added benefit is parking on the premises. And without an extra charge. I’ve stayed here twice in last two years and if I return, this will be my hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had both a restaurant and beer garden, which were two of the main things we were looking for when booking. The restaurant was open only one of the 2 nights we were there. The beer garden was not open for our entire stay. They told us it was due to weather, but there was no inclement weather at all the first day, and only a couple of hours of sprinkling rain the second day. It appeared they did not have enough staff to cover all areas.

    The staff was very friendly. The facilities were very clean and comfortable. It was great having onsite parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    good for a single guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's not the best location in Rothenburg if you want picturesque romance (which I would say is the most western edge of the walled town that overlooks the hills and valley). But if you want to stay in a charming timber frame house, then this is a fine choice. It would have been nice to have a water in the room.

    Very good service that exceeds Bavarian standards. I made last minute plans to meet up with vacationing family members and this was conveniently located near their hotel and the town square. Its parking lot is conveniently located right beside the property and thankfully NOT on the old Jewish cemetery. I arrived by train and it was easy walking distance. The single room is in the very back of the hotel, on the 1st floor (2nd floor for Americans). I was able to sleep peacefully with the window entirely open. The breakfast was good, even for me, a lactose free vegetarian who eats eggs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    This inn was so old and had so much character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This inn was so old and had so much character. It was very cool to stay there for a night. The room was very quaint and offered everything we needed. The location is perfect and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    A great place to stay to experience Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location was amazing right in the middle of town. The room was very comfortable and the staff were brilliant. The restaurant and beer garden was very busy and the food was very nice. Breakfast was also very good. On arrival we were shown around to the back of the hotel and we parked our motorcycle in a locked, secure garage, free of charge. Free wifi is provided by the town which was an excellent bonus. The room was very large and comfortable with a great view out onto the street and main square We thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would have loved to have stayed longer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    The location and character of this 650 year old hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would describe the waiters as some of the rudest people we have come across in our trip. Very abrupt, curt and unfriendly. Wifi was hopeless in our room.

    The location and character of this 650 year old hotel was perfect. I would definitely recommend staying here. Restaurant on site served lovely food and drinks. The night tour by the watchman at night was fun to do.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    comfortable historic hotel in the centre of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor if any WiFi signal in the room at the back of the building

    it is very good hotel located in old medieval/renaissance building at the very middle of the old town. Our rooms were maybe not too big but enough, comfortable and fully equipped with all necessary devices. Breakfast is tasty and quite various and staff is very helpful and friendly. We would surely stay there if will be back at Rothenburg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a Rothenburg stay over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't stay longer!

    The service was really good. Even at dinner they tried hard even though the place was quite busy. Food was great and I don't think as a country there is such a thing as bad beer. The location was perfect for us, just off the main square and literally minutes to Plonlein. We were right in the middle of peace and serenity... especially when the tourist crowd were not around. And the placewas from hundred of years ago, filled with antiquities and charm. loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, overall can still be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room / corridors can be quite dim, tiny toilet, limited parking space, room door locks don't look secure, warm during summer

    Great location, reasonably sized rooms, clean, friendly staff, good breakfast, free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    to walk in the town in the evening once tourist had gone was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the schnitzel we had in the evening was delicious. location you could not have got one any better out of front door onto centre. good parking quiet location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Loved it. Can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was small but has everything you need. Toilet was in a separate space, but very small and no sink.

    We had a family suite. The view from our front window was amazing! Beautiful old world charm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Always helpful and smiling. Location right in the heart of the action, restaurants and historic sites. Ate at their restaurant twice and both times the food and the service were great. Nice room. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous! Just off the main square, very helpful staff, showed us where to park our motorbikes in their garage. Nice single room, dinner on the terrace was lovely & so was breakfast. Excellent value for money, wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has so much charm and history - its simply amazing ! The location scores top marks as does the fantastic shower, we loved staying here and the breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Location! Location! Love Rothenburg~
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are a little hard for us, but that is a personal thing- could be fine for someone else. Can be lots of stairs, depending on where your room is. No air co, but we didn't need it, just opened the windows.

    Location! Location! Right on the main square. Good breakfast. Parking right in back. Large comfy rooms. Owners are nice and the girls working breakfast were very sweet. Everything you came to see and experience is right at your front door!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Charming old traditional hotel with awesome location in the center of Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room No. 5 toilet and shower room are separated and it's kind of awkward since you have to go past the bedroom to another room to wash your hands after using the toilet. Toilet faces the balcony above the beer garden so it also presents possible awkward situations. Breakfast is more limited than other breakfasts we had in other German hotels, mainly because it doesn't have a proper buffet line, but items were put on one table with coffee, cheese/meat platter and a bread basket put on your reserved table.

    You can't get any better location as the hotel is right in front of the main square of Rothenburg. Free private parking was a nice bonus. Hotel has a lot charm as it is an old 17th century traditional house. Restaurant below has good Franconian cuisine for reasonable prices. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel has a fabulous location and free parking right near the center of the medieval town. Hearty breakfast. Our room overlooked the Biergarten but it was closed by 10pm and very quiet. Furnishings in the rooms were simple but the halls were decorated with antique furniture. Spoke English

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was difficult. One of the staff had to get my rental car out of their parking area for us to leave, otherwise we would probably still be waiting for other cars to move. Very tight parking.

    The facility was very beautiful. The staff was great. Eating in the beautiful courtyard was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit warm at night so maybe a fan would help. But we still slept well. We loved the hotel. Breakfast was a nice touch.

    Excellent owners. Beautiful historical property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    This is a 650 year old property as most of the properties in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a 650 year old property as most of the properties in the town are. The staff were very helpful and helped us with our luggage. The hotel is right in the center of this beautiful enchanting, romantic, fairy tale town. We have traveled a lot around the world, but we have never come across such a beautiful town. When we drove through the towns city walls we knew this was going to be very special and it was. We will certainly come back and stay in the same gasthof. Just a fantastic experience all round.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Ideal spot to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very old building with a nice courtyard garden. Inside our room was modern clean and fresh. Perfectly located just off the main square. They have a small car park so get there early to ensure a space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    An excellent hotel with a lot of historical charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room amenities are a little basic. No coffee/tea making facilities in the room but this appears to be the norm in many parts of Europe in the smaller hotels.

    An excellent hotel with a lot of historical charm. Excellent location just off the town square and in very close proximity to all restaurants and sightseeing opportunities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    clean, efficient and spacious stay inside the wall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat complicated to drive into. Stairs to the room, lots of stairs to muscle the luggage

    In the center of everything. Old world traditional experience; very clean and relatively spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    The staff was very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful! Breakfast was included and it was a delicious Traditional German breakfast. The location was awesome! Parking was excellent it was at the back of the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is parking in the back that is locked at night. It is tiny and cars all blocking each other. It is a nightmare to get to. Understandable in a medieval village but not an experience I would repeat. There are parking lots outside the walls that may be less secure but also less prone to damage by other cars.

    The location is superb. The property was once a medieval Mayor's residence. The restaurant and courtyard are both very good. The food was regional and tasty. Spectacular views, shops and walks in all directions. Seems to be family run. I suspect they like you best if you are staying in one of their better rooms. I was in a small but comfortable budget room booked through a booking service....not top drawer. Oh, well. They were very polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.3
    This hotel provided the best breakfast by far of our trip,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building itself was obviously old, probably several centuries old and as such it had a quantness that some might like. However, the room was tiny, the bath was no bigger than a postage stamp, the water pressure in the shower was nonexistent and there was no telephone in the room.

    This hotel provided the best breakfast by far of our trip, which included five much nicer, more expensive hotels. That and the location were the only things I could say to recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Incredible location and building, medieval atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a medieval building, so it doesn't have the modern things one expects like an elevator, the room I had was also on the small side.

    Incredible location, not only is the hotel right on the main square of the city. It actually was the house of one of it's most famous residents. It totally has a medieval atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Wish we had more time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Plenty of space in the room, great location, comfy bed, great breakfast options, friendly and efficient staff, delicious food in the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Cute hotel in a small medieval town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were professional and welcoming (and gave excellent directions to the parking lot). Location was perfect as it is steps away from Marketplatz. The rooms were impecabbly clean and a good size for 2 people. Bed was comfortable albeit a bit soft for our tastes. Breakfast was also good. We appreciated that the staff told us that wifi wasn't great (which we were expecting in a hotel this old)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    At the Main Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance door to room No. 5 was really historic, at least 200 years old, with side holes and a hole in the middle where (I suppose) the old lock used to be.

    Historic building with fantastic location, almost at the main square; Free private parking directly at hotel's yard; Good, polite, helpful staff; Clean, spacious room; Good breakfast, not the free choice, but still very suitable. Good choice to visit Rothenburg old town and good value for money considering quality/price ratio.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Really friendly staff and you can't beat the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The matresses were great, and the bedlinen lovely, but when it sits on a bed which squeeks constantly then there is no chance of a good nights sleep.

    Really friendly staff and you can't beat the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    A jewel in the heart of the Middle Age
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no wi-fi connection in the rooms.

    The position in the very heart of the city center, with availability of parking. A delicious biergarten, with good selection of beers. Very appreciated restaurant, at reasonable price. Spacious rooms and cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff was EXTREMELY helpful and pleasant;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was EXTREMELY helpful and pleasant; parking was tight but they made room for us so it was quite convenient; great location; EXCELLENT breakfast (included in the price of the room). Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    The staff was great, and breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed wasn't comfortable, and wifi never worked in my room.

    The staff was great, and breakfast was good. The room was bigger than it looked in the pictures.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    European breakfast was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    European breakfast was wonderful Location couldn't be beat Parking convenient Slept a family of 4 together Loved the outdoor courtyard for dinner and drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, in the center of town just off the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were the only ones we slept on in Germany that were uncomfortable. It’s probably time for the mattresses to be replaced.

    Great location, in the center of town just off the square. Helpful staff, the shower was very large with good hot water. Breakfast was table service in a charming room with choices of cold cuts, cereal, yogurt and eggs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were really out of date. Ours didn’t have a TV or a shower (just a bath).

    Definitely eat at the restaurant! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is really tight at the back of the hotel so be aware of that. Other then that we had a great stay.

    This was really a great find. The location couldn't have been better and if you are looking for a place to make you feel like you're staying in a fairytale then this is the place. You use a skeleton key to gain access to your room. Listening to the church bells start my morning was a great way to start the day. This is yet another place I would stay if I get a chance to come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to have Wifi connexion No Wifi in the room Dinner in the restaurant, even asking just for a salad, 3 tables occupied after me and with several people, they have been served much earlier than me. Not only here, but the feeling is that only German tourists are welcome in German. Also other bad experiences in other places.

    Breakfast was ok. Nice location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Do yourself a favor and just book here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very charming hotel. Lots of character. Staff was fantastic, helped us find parking and were great to work with. Couldn’t ask for a better location, right in the middle of everything. The included breakfast was incredible. Great value and would definitely stay again. Onsite parking was great. Make sure to eat on site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    650 year old antique building located in the near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great free parking lot but a little bit tricky to find out the entrance. No fridge.

    650 year old antique building located in the near the Marktplatz. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to enjoy a fabuloys historical t I wnship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No secure wifi. Would have liked a kettle and fridge in our room.

    Lovely historical building in the centre of Rothenberg ob der Tauber, fabulous breakfast, nice beer garden and great food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have sleepers and a bathrobe.

    The location is 10 out of 10. The parking is provided. The breakfast is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. Bedroom and bathroom were super clean and bed was very comfy especially the pillow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great deal, friendly staff, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location with free private parking. Great staff at (delicious) morning breakfast. We also had dinner in the restaurant and really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Right in the middle of old town
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn’t have much vegan options

    Location was excellent, especially cos we had little time to see the place. I loved the old charm of the hotel. My room had the cutest medieval door :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Rocation is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room was not good at all... just the wall and the window of the other building. Sad especially because this hotel is located in a-few-second-walk distance from that beautiful square!

    Rocation is the best! Literary located in the center of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Best value in Rothenburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing--this is an ideal place to stay in Rothenburg!

    This hotel has it all: comfort, gracious staff, good food, and a sense of stepping back in time with its history and style.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Have you ever wanted to stay in a 650 year old building? Then this is your chance for it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing.

    It is an awesome 650 year old building right in the center of the town. The staff is very kind, the foods were delicious, the breakfast is tasty and a good portion. The atmosphere is awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Great location in an historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a shower.. just a tub with a hand held spray nozzle. No curtain or enclosure to keep the water from splashing all over.

    Great location in an historic building. Even found a ceramic knickknack of the building that we purchased as a souvenir. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Loved the old town of Rothenburg and staying in a 1340s inn was just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit patchy

    Rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was excellent with lots of variety as well as providing gluten free options. Right in the middle of the old town, the hotels location was perfect and just a short 10 minute walk to the train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    Great experience in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from main train station to the hotel. If you take the fastest route, it takes 10-15 minutes. It may take up to 30minutes if you choose the longer route. Be mindful that cobble stones are everywhere, especially in the town itself, so dragging your luggage may be proven to be quite a challenge. We would suggest a taxi trip if you have quite a sizeable luggage. Hotel entrance is through a restaurant door.

    Location This hotel is smack in the middle of Christmas market. So for those travellers with desire to optimise their chrisymassy experience, you have come to the right place. Room is very clean and cater for traditional experience. You will feel part of the historical experience of the place. You will be given a huge key (like mid-evil days) to access your room. Restaurant The hotel provide a comprehensive breakfast, from bread and jam, yogurt, salami and ham. The home made bread is the best. There are restaurants within the town centre, like Italian, Chinese, etc

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No conditioner supplied in the bathroom. Hairdryer could have been a bit more powerful.

    Great location and very authentic historic building. Very warm and cosy room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location right off the main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound carried from the other rooms as is probably expected in such an old establishment. Fortunately a noisy group quieted down before we settled down for the evening.

    Perfect location right off the main square. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Marvelous time, Beautiful village, and top notch hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cons

    Included breakfast was the best on our 3 week trip. That Staff was outstanding with their assistance in parking, and were always there to open the doors, which is sometimes a challenge with my walker!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Love everything about this property...definitely recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved this property. Nice, modern, comfy, clean room. The room is very spacious compared to the average size at other hotels in Europe. The location is excellent.......short walk to all the places in Rothenburg. If you come to Rothenburg by car, they have free parking on site. :) The building itself was built hundreds years ago and it has lots of characters. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. They also has a really nice restaurant downstairs and food was great. Last but not least, their breakfast was excellent and it was table service. Definitely will stay here again if I come to Rothenburg.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    Best stay of our entire European trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is exactly as described. Parking was more than adequate, food was phenomenal, and the beds and rooms were incredibly comfortable and accomadating. It’s a centuries old building passed down through one family so don’t expect Hilton style rooms. It’s offers a great deal of comfort with reasonable modern rooms. Internet was available in the room and you’d only have trouble parking if you’ve never been to an older preserves German city. If we ever come back to Rothenburg this is where we will be staying... so long as they keep it going!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small but practical bathroom. Pillows.

    Perfect location with parking. Staff friendly with nice restaurant down stairs. Nice breakfast. In lovely old building. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay and eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had did not have a shower, only a tub.

    Great location, fantastic staff, excellent food. We had a very large, 9 person passenger van, and they went above and beyond to help park it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Rothenburg Orb De Tauber
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Restaurant food and breakfast were great. The location is the best you can get in regard to being close to the Christmas markets. We would definitely stay here again and encourage others to do the same.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Stay here for the Christmas Markets
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negatives were the lack of a lift, even a tiny one for the suitcases and Wifi only in the dining room. Both of these can be overlooked for the fantastic location.

    Location, location, location. Could not be better. Loved the old family charm this hotel had.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel with soo much charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel with soo much charm!! Like a little gingerbread house!! We loved our stay!! Great location. Restaurant on site with good food!! Great breakfast!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Charming historical hotel in the center of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful

    A charming place in the center of the town with lots of character and super helpful staff. The breakfast was super good and our stay was very comfortable. Especially appreciate the personal help we received in getting to the car parking which is right behind the property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    Location is perfect! Direct on the marketplace! Going down forward on the street is the pönlein point. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff! Bountiful breakfasts! Clean and spacious room! Location! Location! Location! We were so comfortable, we extended our stay another night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location and a very good deal for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very noisy.

    Our economy room was pretty simple, but clean and nice. All public rooms of the hotel are really stylish and nicely decorated and gave the feeling of spending a night in a museum. You can really see that everithing is done and protected with love. There is a nice and convenient parking lot. Beer in the restaurant is very delicious. And location is absolutely exellent: directly at the Market place! Personell is very friendly. Breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    In the heart of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were a little hard and it's weird having it as two mattresses pushed together (not common in the US). Otherwise the room was fantastic and the location can't be beat! Would definitely recommend the hotel if you can handle a firmer bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Fine value stay. Not fancy but perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had temperature controls outside of unit. Tricky driving up what appears to be pedestrian only street (Main Street). People were yelling at me even though I was driving incredibly slowly... I finally stopped to ask if I was legally allowed to drive up the road, which I was... Breakfast was not really a buffet. You get a prearranged plate of meat and cheee, basket of bread and a dish of yogurt. Fruit and cereal are available as well. They do make you fresh eggs!

    Best scrambled eggs I had on my trip. Very central. Parking is on location though tricky.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    in the central of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi in public area only, but connection is fast, very fast,

    in the central of the town. breakfast is very good. staff is nice do not bring large luggage, I enjoyed the stay, thank you!!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: