Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gasthof Grüner Wald

Johann-Philipp-Schleicher-Straße 2, 65719 Hofheim am Taunus, Germany

#3 of 9 hotels in Hofheim am Taunus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 266 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    We fly in and out of FRA frequently, and from now on this hotel will be "our place."
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super location. Charming patio. Free parking. Excellent breakfast buffet. We arrived very late and the staff helped us find an onsite parking spot, We were only here for one night on our way out of FRA, but we will definitely come back here now every time we fly via Frankfurt. Loved the patio especially.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Nice little private hotel in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice little private hotel in a convenient location. The staff was awesome, they even provided free bottled sparkling water every day. Will definitely stay again when the time comes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Mom and two teens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Gasthof was a stop-over for an early flight out of Frankfurt. The room was small, but adequate and spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast was very adequate and opened at 0600, which worked well for our early flight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Relaxed nice hotel close to Frankfurt airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place to stay with lovely staff. Comfortable beds, lovely breakfast, cute garden area and very convenient location, close to the motorway. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value for the money just outside of Frankfurt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows deserve to be replaced

    Nice bed and breakfast Gasthof, staff was very friendly and guest focused. As I was visiting a trade fair on the egde of Frankfurt, the position of this place was ideal. Quiet neighborhood with a walking distance from Decathlon :-) The rooms are not furnished trendy, nevertheless contain all that is needed and cleanliness is on a good level.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable quiet stay for little money.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no water bottles complimentary :)

    Nice little comfort place, nothing swanky or over stylish.. Just a simple little gasthof. I loved the area, not much to eat around but quiet and away from Frankfurt's hustle bustle. Not advisable if one is not having a car as there is not much public transport in the area. (A bus and train connection to Frankfurt is possible but not the easiest thing and then you are better off staying in Frankfurt.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very basic "Spartan" room in the attic. A not transparent curtain could be very helpful. WiFi on the 2nd floor doesn't function at all. Disproportion between the stantard of the accommodation and its rate (62 Euro).

    Only the parking and the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast (included with the room) was very nice and...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room smelled faintly of cigarettes and my son said his comforter wasn't clean. We were unable to connect to the Wifi at any time on any of our devices.

    The breakfast (included with the room) was very nice and filling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Quiet, good value for money and all clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the room is a bit on the small side for 3 people. That's all!

    We liked the location, there was almost no noise in the area so it was very good for a good night of sleep. It was clean, breakfast was very good and parking place was all OK as well. The owner had a very good recommendation about a restaurant and we liked the food there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    arrived late evening had a meal & good friendly night in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    arrived late evening had a meal & good friendly night in restaurant bar before a good nights sleep didn't have time to check out area or other facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    A great small hotel with good staff and facilities. Not the easiest to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very easy to find, beds a little bit small (Short)! I booked a triple room for 3 adults and my son ended-up on a put-you-up bed

    Great staff, good breakfast shower good parking secure and easy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    5.0
    Different
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in A pillow and quilt would have been nice! Somewhere to eat No wifi code in room Taking some ID of who is staying would be a good idea too

    Car park

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice small hotel, we stayed here in 2017 and 2018.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing kettle

    Nice small hotel, we stayed here in 2017 and 2018.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent overnight stopover. Would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The meal at the restaurant was the best we have had for a very long time. Excellent food and generous portions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    The doors are not that good, all the noises can be heared...
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors are not that good, all the noises can be heared inside the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, quiet place, good breakfast and close to highway A3.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, comfortable and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, comfortable and clean. The staff were really nice and helpful. Definitely recommend the place!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Would recommend
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a bit diy, missing kettle in room

    Area, great for family

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Unexpected gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxed. Great breakfast. Courtyard to eat/drink in. Nice town with good road connections.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.8
    Stuff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff and food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not exciting

    Very comfortable hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    A village near the ariport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra-freiendly staff, finished at stammtisch drinking home made Apfelwein :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    Great sleepover on the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were arriving much later than agreed, but the staff welcomed us very nicely and promptly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast including freshly made boiled eggs.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice, cosy restaurant/pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Might have appreciated a water/tea boiler/kettle in the room.

    Nice, cosy restaurant/pub

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    The restaurant provided a small menu but very good, the food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant provided a small menu but very good, the food and apple wine was outstanding. Prices for dinner were the best I had on my vacation. Hop, skip and a jump to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.2
    The room was everything we needed,clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weak wifi in our room, but okay in other areas.

    The room was everything we needed,clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and easygoing. The area is a neighborhood so there isn't a lot closeby, but the staff directed us to a good place to eat. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    Close to motorway but no road noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing.

    Close to motorway but no road noise. Easy to find, Good parking, friendly family run and English spoken. good traditional wholesome food served in oasis courtyard. Spotlessly clean. Free wifi that worked. A great find. We will stay here again

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    7.9
    This hotel is located in a very quiet residential village.
    • Couple

    If you are sensitive to cigarette smoke beware that there are smoking and nonsmoking rooms co-located in the same wing. This means that if your neighbor is a heavy smoker you WILL perceive and be disturbed by the second hand smoke.

    This hotel is located in a very quiet residential village.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.6
    Third time visiting and always pleased with service.
    • Solo traveller

    Third time visiting and always pleased with service.Fabolous value for money and kind and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    10
    We will most definitely use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We will most definitely use this hotel again. Can't fault the staff or facilities. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    Overall autmosephere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to report

    Overall autmosephere

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    7.9
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great value. Gd food clean and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.2
    Like being a part of the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Like being a part of the family.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: