Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof-Hotel-Löwen

Dorfstraße 11, 72379 Hechingen, Germany

#3 of 6 hotels in Hechingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 131 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    I liked this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town is small, what you can do there is to take a walk and see the beautiful view

    People in the hotel was kind. It is relax and beautiful. Nice view of the castle. Small rooms but comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Very nice guest house, location is perfrect for visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, had to climb the stairs with heavy luggage. Staff does not speak English.

    Very nice guest house, location is perfrect for visiting Hogerzollern castle, just a 5 min drive. The view from our room was gorgeous. The hotel was empty due to a non-active season for tourists. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    We loved the size of the rooms and the view of the castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the size of the rooms and the view of the castle was spectacular! The host was fabulous! We were incredibly happy to learn that breakfast was included. All in all, we loved it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    A good choice to explore the local area, the Hohenzollern Castles, the university town of Tübingen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. WiFi is fine but IMHO could be better 2. Breakfast was OK but croissant and sweeties were missing... 3. Rooms are on the first and second floor and a lift was not provided. To us was not a problem, but to PRM guests or if you have heavy luggage it would have been. No information on this issue was provided by booking.com either when booking the room or with the actual confirmation. IMHO, if a property does not provide a lift, booking.com should provide this information across its booking platform

    Location, location, location. Extremely quiet, perfect to visit the nearby Hohenzollern Castle, free parking and easy access to everything, Hechingen, the Castle, the motorway, etc. no more than 5 minutes away

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Amazing Place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really don't have anything bad to say about this hotel at all. It was amazing.

    The parking was directly onsite and free. We had an amazing view of Hohenzollern Castle. The hotel is family run. The owner was incredibly nice and spoke very good English. We arrived around 8 pm and the restaurant was still open. We ordered drinks, coffee, wine, and ice cream and was able to take it all to the room. There was plenty of air flow when we opened the windows to cool off the rooms as well. We traveled on a VERY hot day so this was a nice relief.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great stay for Hohenzollern adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine!

    The hostess was very warm and welcoming, despite our language differences. Dinner and breakfast were delicious. Very friendly staff. Water pressure and temperature in the shower were outstanding. Beautiful view of the castle with close and easy access!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    We liked the convenience of having an on site restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the convenience of having an on site restaurant available for dinner (which was delicious!). The castle view was amazing and they had plenty of parking. Our room was huge! Breakfast options were great too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    Good clean basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had tea making facilities in the room. Not very close to amenities

    Very clean, excellent power shower with a good hairdryer . Lovely view of the castle from our room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Awesome views to the Hohenzollern Castle, and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome views to the Hohenzollern Castle, and great Breakfast buffet. We didn't get the chance to taste the deer (which was famous in the area), but everybody talked about it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes there was noise from outside (people listening to music)

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Church tower nearby which rings the bells every 15 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church tower nearby which rings the bells every 15 min. Lots of noise. Not happy with that. Room was big and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Family inn for visiting Hohenzollern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iffy internet connection.

    Excellent restaurant and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.3
    Clean and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hot in the room and had no AC or fans. No one spoke english, but I was in Germany and that can be expected.

    Clean and quite.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    We loved Gasthof-Hotel-Löwen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved Gasthof-Hotel-Löwen. Our room offered a wonderful view of the gorgeous castle, Burg Hohenzollern. The food was as good as others have said. An unexpected surprise was the discovery of the Roman Open Air Museum. Be sure to check it out. On the night the restaurant was closed at the Hotel we found a great restaurant in town, Poseidon Zollerblick. The food was fantastic, priced very reasonably. Service and atmosphere were very good as well.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    Location was great - real close to Hohenzollern Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Loads of strairs to our rooms Played old music in the restaurant like Mixed Emotions (no biggie) :)

    Location was great - real close to Hohenzollern Castle Great views of the castle from our rooms Rooms was good size and clean Good parking place Almost everwhere the housses around the place had gardens with beautifull flowers Staff was real friendly and helpfull Food was not bad Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    5.4
    The room was large and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Head of bed was up against a sloping wall so couldn't really sit up and read in bed. Staff were brusque. Felt only adequate, not like they were very interested in their guests.

    The room was large and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    7.9
    The location is great if you fancy sleeping near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I find it a bit pricey

    The location is great if you fancy sleeping near Hohenzollern castle. The rooms are big and reasonably comfortable. Breakfast is alright

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.6
    Cracking little hotel with a great restaurant underneath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cracking little hotel with a great restaurant underneath. Lots of locals eating which we took as a good sign and the hostess reserved us a table as we were staying which was useful as it was quite busy for low season. Food was great, rooms were spacious and with a view of the castle. Lovely stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    9.2
    Clean and cosy room, with a great view to the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so strong wi-fi signal, but one do not come here to stay indoor and excessively use the internet :).

    Clean and cosy room, with a great view to the castle. Good breakfast, nice restaurant (frequented by locals, therefore a good traditional offer).

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    8.8
    Wonderful accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gasthof was actually not in Hechingen but in an isolated subdivision. There was only one other restaurant in walking distance. Our friends were locked out of Löwen restaurant despite arriving 15 minutes before the listed closing time. No other options for the evenings the other restaurant was also closed.

    Wonderful accommodations. Restaurant was excellent with many wild game selections. Breakfast was very good also.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.8
    Location (close to Hohenzollern Castle).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not really an issue about the hotel, but the city (Hechingen) apparently has no options for lunch after 10pm, as it is a very small town.

    Location (close to Hohenzollern Castle). The owners are very friendly. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    Friendly & warm atmosphere, clean and comfortable rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly & warm atmosphere, clean and comfortable rooms, but with no drink making facilities. A small kettle, fridge & cups would have been great, but it's not the end of the world. All other aspects were absolutely great - No issues at all.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    the view from balcony, you can see the castle uphill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fan in our bathroom turned on everytime someone is in there, no matter if warm water was used. Might be a infra red fan: D

    the view from balcony, you can see the castle uphill. The restaurant downstairs serves nice local cuisines. Yummy

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    Very pleasantly surprised by this small, quiet hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very pleasantly surprised by this small, quiet hotel. Had everything I needed, very reliable wifi with good speed, better than most big business hotels I have stayed at. 5-10 minutes to business area by taxi. Perfect for business as it is a quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.3
    The main reason I stayed here was because it was very close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The town is very small, so there wasn't much else to do, but very pretty and relaxing.

    The main reason I stayed here was because it was very close to Burg Hohenzollern, which was about an hour long hike around the mountain from the hotel (beautiful!).

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    4.2
    There was birthday party in the day when we stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was birthday party in the day when we stay. We stay in second floor. Party is at 1st floor in hotel's restaurant. So noise we can't sleep until even after midnight. Owner is nice old lady but she doesn't speak English at all.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    Room was a large size with private balcony, modern on sweet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a large size with private balcony, modern on sweet with full facilities. Wonderful Breakfast in stylish surroundings. Full bar and meal facility. This is a genuine Country style Hotel with great service and hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    7.5
    Clean hotel, good position to visit the castle, restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast should be better, hotel has no reception

    Clean hotel, good position to visit the castle, restaurant within the premises, good and fast internet

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Very near the castle and the restaurant food was excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very near the castle and the restaurant food was excellent as well.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    8.8
    Room with view of Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nil

    Room with view of Castle. Wild boar and wine.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    7.9
    Have the restaurant at the ground floor of gasthof
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have the restaurant at the ground floor of gasthof

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    We can see Hohenzollern on the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We can see Hohenzollern on the balcony. The restrant of the guest house offer very delcious dishes.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    Excellent for Hohenzollern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent for Hohenzollern

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    6.7
    Was a transit stop for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was unfortunately closed that night.

    Was a transit stop for us.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    comfort room, very close to hohenzollern castle (and a view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    lots of stairs without elivator

    comfort room, very close to hohenzollern castle (and a view from the room),friendlly stuff

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    The rooms are spacious, clean and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are spacious, clean and cosy. The view is amazing. The hosts are very helpful. There is plenty of parking place.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    the food, the view from my room and the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was excellent.

    the food, the view from my room and the owners. all was excellent. Do try their local dishes and the beer garden.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.6
    Proximity of the castle and easy to find.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Proximity of the castle and easy to find. Helpful and nice people. Great breakfast.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Gasthof-Hotel-Löwen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: