Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Ochsenwirt This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Carl-Hagen-Strasse 14, 83080 Oberaudorf, Germany

#11 of 14 hotels in Oberaudorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 710 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful surroundings and furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I went down to get a cup of coffee, admittedly 10 mins before breakfast opened. The lady serving was extremely rude. I sat and waited when she then served other people who came in after me. She did ask the manager, neither of whom were accommodating. Their manner spoilt our stay here.

    Beautiful surroundings and furniture. Staff at reception very polite and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reservation via booking com was not confirmed despite of being booked 2h before the arrival. First time happened to me.

    Excellent location just in front of the local ski resort, also very close to the highway. Very good food, michellin nominated restaurant, good breakfast. Very nice staff, booked us the room despite of reservation problem - my booking via booking com was not confirmed and the staff were not able to find the reservation. We also arrived late - 20min after closing the reception (22.20)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel amongst stunning mountain scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and friendly hotel surrounded by beautiful mountain scenery. Easy to find and has free parking (OK for motorcycles). Restaurant with nice food and good breakfast. Minutes walk to the small town, hiking routes and cable car rides; also whirly mountain slide good fun.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    A comfortable stay in the German Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children's dishes were all too good and too much for them to finish. They just wanted the usual stuff like "Knödel/Spätzle mit Bratsoße" or " Spaghetti Bolognese". Otherwise very tasty.

    Very comfortable and clean accomodation. Nice, vintage bavarian bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed the very short stay but one incident has happened.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were traveling the day of arrival hence came late, at 23:00. Although according to booking.com the reception should have been open till midnight there was nobody. We spent 30 minutes ringing the door bell or calling the phone without any response. Luckily there was one hotel still open in the town where we managed to speak to someone. The nice man from the hotel called an alternative number of the guesthouse and in 20 minutes a lady from the reception arrived. She was sorry trying to explain the reception stayed usually open till 21:00. So either she wasn't quite right or the information in booking was misleading. Anyway she was very helpful, offered us supper, free beer and even cooked milk for our 15 months son. If that incident hadn't happened our rating would have been higher.

    I liked the location, spacious room, quiet location although not far from the highway, breakfast was on a very good level.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Ideal for an overnight stay in the area: everything you need...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the building of the guesthouse is located in a sort of cul-de-sac, the splendid view of the mountains that are all around is hidden by surrounding rooftops.

    Ideal for an overnight stay in the area: everything you need, including a restaurant, is in one place, and if you don't mind walking 50 to 300 m you will find several other friendly eateries and drinking holes in nice local settings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Pleasant place to stay in a beautiful area convenient for train
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful room, pleasant and helpful staff, good breakfast buffet, cozy restaurant for dinner ... Easy 10-15 minute walk from railway station. Close to chairlift.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.8
    Serene Stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room on the top floor. If the beds were on the other side of the room, I wouldn't have hit my head on the ceiling.

    The location at the base of the mountain near the ski lift is perfect. It was quiet with the only sound being the goat bells. The restaurant and beer garden are lovely, with music in the evening. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable inn in pleasant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous rooms, busy beer garden, excellent food. 15 mins. walk from railway station (about an hour from Munich), 200 metres from chair lift, nice hikes

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    Traditional & cosy place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Relatively old, but clean (!) carpet in the room, which could be renewed, and soothing music for good breakfast vibes would be in order according to my personal taste. Apart from those minor things, really worth a stay!!! :)

    Large traditional room, cosy atmosphere, spacious parking area (gravel!!!) and very friendly staff who gave us a call beforehand to assure we knew that their restaurant was closed for that evening and gave suggestions for alternatives in the surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful large rooms, good location convenient for cycling,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful large rooms, good location convenient for cycling, hiking and railway station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Super stay - highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was great

    Excellent location next to the skiing slope, very nice staff, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Ok ,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good brekfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    "
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    " uriges Hotel "

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Delight in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting of was superb breakfast excellent...well placed to visit surronding areas and activities on the different mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-con, our baby was not able to sleep because it was too warm.

    Beautiful place and clean and lovely rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.3
    Would not recommend -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff was not very friendly. Breakfast was mediocre and was not restocked well before time it was to end.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food superb, comfortable and great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Food is excellent & service first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is excellent & service first class

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    Very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    problem with WiFi

    Very nice location. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.1
    The breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant wasn't open on the night we stayed and we had to find somewhere else in the village for our evening meal Despite having over 50 channels on the TV there was none in English

    The breakfast was very good

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    2.9
    First of all, we came at the Gasthof around 18:00, but no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    First of all, we came at the Gasthof around 18:00, but no one was on the reception to check us in. We had to wait for thirty minutes. Then, in our room there was no light in the toilet (imagine me while make-uping). On the day of our departure, the staff was very impolite, first while taking breakfast they reminded us every 5 min that the kitchen is open until 10:00 (it was 8:30 when we had breakfast), and maybe 5 times telling us that the check-out has to be done until 10:30. When we were bringing our stuff to the car, the receptionist did not allowed us to go even to the car until all has been paid (of course we would not just leave without paying). Comfort is very low, madrasses not comfortable at all. all in all, very bad experience and for sure we wont return there.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff is very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is good server, with options of local culinary. The hotel restaurant food is delicious. The hotel's location is excellent, near the center of the small town.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Great family hotel, spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great family hotel, spotlessly clean. We enjoyed going up the mountain in the chairlift which was walkable from the hotel, likewise the nearby lake which was a really nice spot to sit and have a picnic

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    8.5
    + Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No soundproofing whatsoever in the door of the hotel room

    + Breakfast + Nice room

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Lovely bedrooms and layout for a family of four.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely bedrooms and layout for a family of four. Excellent clean spacious bathroom. Welcoming atmosphere and tasty food.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    5.8
    Very calm location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price of the room sold for one person

    Very calm location

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.5
    cozy place ,excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    we asked for a omelet and they told us that is they kitchen off day!no dinner as well !

    cozy place ,excellent food

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: