Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Prinzregent Superior This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Loitshauser Str. 5, 83250 Marquartstein, Germany

#3 of 7 hotels in Marquartstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 908 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast works first come/ first serve basis- if you come after 9am, lots of intems are not anymore

    Very good location Spacious room Great price/quality ratio Easy check in and check out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to write :-).

    Gasthof Prinzregent Superior is wonderful place to stay for the relax. Staff is very friendly and rooms are nice. We loved to look old photograps of Marquartstein on the hotel walls. Good Bavarian breakfast. Nice trails and places for hiking and cyckling are in the walking distance. What a beautiful view over the Marquartstein and rounded mountains are from vantage points!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have booked bigger family room, but got smaller double room with 2 extra beds.

    Good location to visit Chiemsee, acceptable price. Good food, both breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money. Staff was very friendly and helpful The room was spacious and clean Good wifi Free parking space Restaurant traditional German regional style. Excellent evening meal, traditional kitchen, large portions and not expensive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was served from 7:30 till 10. We arrived on 9:20 or so and most of the food was finished. We thought that the staff was going to refill the products that had finished, but they didn't. For example, there was no bread left, however, there were some of cheese,jams etc left.We were offered coffee and there was (unlimited) orange juice and tea available.

    Staff was very friendly and flexible when handling the keys! The room was spacious, clean and very sunny! The heating was excellent. The bathroom was very spacious and clean! There is a free parking space. There is also a restaurant on the ground floor which we tried and the food was very tasty (e.g. roast pork). It is a very quite hotel located at a beautiful village on the south of Germany. We also had breakfast. We would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    none

    Hotel good situated for walking and visiting the region until Salzburg. Very quiet, good traditional kitchen, not expensive. People very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Outstanding guest house. Staff was absolutely the best to include the wait staff. Very nice place with a great ambiance and rooms. The food was outstanding the views from this area are breath taking. Close to more stuff to do than we could fit in, in one trip. Wi-fi was excellent and the price was great. We will be back and stay here again. I cannot recommend enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, clean and cosy hotel. We stayed over for one night. It was good food. Friendly staff. Very helpful when we needed a childcrib in our room. Good parking facilities right in front of the hotel entrance. Recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The servers were working very hard and had to serve many people. Therefore we often waited long to get their attention.

    Really nice traditional Bavarian Gasthof with good kitchen. Large rooms which were recently renovated. Nice Biergarten with shadow.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant has an old fashioned interior.

    Nice hotel not far from the highway between Munchen and Salzburg. We used it as a stop for the night to travel the next day to Croatia. The staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean. Nice mountain view. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for 1 night to bridge our drive from the Netherlands to Slovenia. Very good value for money. Friendly staff and nice food. Several restaurants and bars on walking distance too. As a bonus we walked in the little village up hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and the pillows were a bit too soft to my liking.

    Great location for a very convenient Guesthouse. Everybody working at Gasthof Prinzregent Superior is super friendly and welcoming. The owner / manager speaks great English and is extremely helpful. The room and bathroom were extremely clean and were well appointed. I loved everything about my stay and I will return for sure when in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing during our stay.

    This is a very nice accommodation with very hospitable hosts. The room for four was clean and big. The breakfast was very good also. The accommodation also has a restaurant with excellent Bavarian meals that we enjoyed a lot. The place is quiet and has a very good view thanks to the location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff first of all is very welcoming and kindly spoke french with us. The gasthof has a charming touch of vintage bayern with really modern rooms. The location is wonderful at 15 minutes of the Prien pier, the port to hop on the boat to Herreninsel, the island of Herrenchiemsee castle. The restaurant provides a good set of local specialties: the Apfelstrudel with its cinnamon chantilly cream is outstanding! We had a lovely stay here and we will surely come again. Many Thanks

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was much more than you normally expect from a continental breakfast. In the evening the restaurant was so good that we never ate anywhere else. I wanted authentic, delicious Bavarian food, and they have it! The rooms are clean, and they have more electrical outlets than most rooms. We slept like babies under the traditional feather blankets! This gasthaus is centrally located between *three* banks, the town hall, and many shops. Just a short, 10 minute drive to other villages, as well as skiing. The Prinzregent is everything you would want from a family-owned gasthaus! You will love it!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - slightly outdated furniture and interiors of the room.

    - location is close to the lake and the village is pictoresque - good value for money, breakfast was included - friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you have a car it is abkt out of the way but close enough to the chiemsee area.

    This guesthouse deserves to be rated higher... Two star superior is a jome... Must be at least 3 star. Service, comfort, room breakfast. All wow. Location is OK if you're driving.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a noisy road with some trucks passing by during the night

    The spacious family room (appartment 17) under the roof was excellent. Location is convenient for going to lake Chiemsee (by car) Very friendly staff, especially because they are ready to go the extra mile

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Salad bar was rather booring.

    Big room. Good mattresses. Excelent cuisine. Parking space. Nice surroundings. Good place to stay if you plan to visit lake Chiemsee.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location. Includes breakfast! We found the a good little restaurant nearby. We used this as an inexpensive option for then visiting Herrenchiemsee and lake Chiemsee.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent but the weather was poor, but the hotel staff cannot be made responsible for this

    Staff were very friendly and professional. Excellent menu choices and the food was first class. Extremely good value for money. Excellent location. We will return soon.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive, but perhaps it is the case for that area.

    In comfortable village with nice view of the mountains. Good home cooking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely stunning Hotel. Comfortable room. Super location. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is good. Will definitely be staying here again next year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was stupidly high

    The people working there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Smiley people

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has great large rooms and multiple occupation rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy kitchen sounds

    good breakfast, free wifi, free parking, very nice surrounding (a 1700m tall mountain opposite the hotel)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family of four were able to comfortably fit into their group room. The staff was especially friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing views from room window. Great central location for Chiemsee, Salzburg and mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too small bathroom in the familyroom

    Very good breakfast and the beds was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good and clean to take a night over.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Last Minute Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and lights from the road traffic, church bells at 7am.

    Pleasent staff, clean room, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did climb two flights of stairs with luggage but that's pretty normal for Europe.

    Barry the hotel dog was a special friend for my kids.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff. Good value for price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - very friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not far way from the highway and easy accessible. Has own good restaurant and parking. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really liked this place. Comfortable and clean room, perfect for our family of four. Friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not confortable.

    Nice hotel and location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Last Minute Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat outdated bathroom

    Clean and regional style

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean. The breakfast was excellent and so was the dinner in the evening. Good choice of meals and therw was a menu for the kinder too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great service!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in the attic space and the roof was very low, banged our heads a few times!

    Good, central location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, lovely atmospheric restaurant and friendly staff. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would recommend that in rooms should be a small kettle for tee or coffee.

    NIce place, really nice view from the windows and helpfull stuff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service and food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All in all, a superb hotel!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All was ok. It is good choice for the 5 people. Rooms are clean and the hotel is well situated with a good access to the center of the town. Agim Republic of Kosovo

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast quality and variety could be slightly upgraded at no huge costs for the owners. We missed 2 things in the room: safe, minibar.

    A very warm welcome by the man in charge (can't tell if he is owner or manager). He was always helpful and keen to please. All is clean. We were 3 and we got a large size room, to the back side (with reduced main road noise). Plenty of parking space. Supermarket and café less than 300m away. This hotel is well reputed for his German cuisine, and deserves this reputation.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food! I order Sauerbraten it turned to be very salty and the potato balls didn't cook through and so salty that cannot eat, I have to leave it, I told the waiter but nothing happening just like he had not heard what I have said, breakfast are very basics German style.

    As we were with our teenagers kids so wifi is the best fast and stay connected without doubt, staff are friendly nice location and only 16 minutes away from Reit I'm Winkl where we were skiing every years.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Worst experience - they accused us of stealing the TV remote control after we left! They didn't even bother to look if it fell under the bed when they were cleaning. Also, the floor was squeeling all the time and you could hear the upstairs guests moving around. Furthermore, we have dietary needs and even though we informed the hotel, they did not provide anything extra for us.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady at the reception wanted us to pay at the very moment of our arrival, which was not very polite. The room was tiny and the price did not correspond to its size. The pillows were very uncomfortable.

    The room was clean and relatively quiet. The bathroom was spacious and comfortable. The cusine and the service at the restaurant were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was hoping for a better spread for a vegetarian breakfast.

    The hotel was comfortable with very friendly staff. Unfortunately I could not interact with the owner enough but he was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We find this place when searching for hotel near Chimesee. It is so much better than expectation, room is facing mountain and quiet at night. Great staff!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Almost none...

    It is in a lovely area. If you like walking, you may have a lot of options. The tourist attractions in the south of Bavaria is within couple of hours away. Certainly you need a car to stay at this hotel. The Wi-Fi is working perfectly. The breakfast is good enough for the variety.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences at all - the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I'd go back there again and would strongly recommend this hotel to others.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. It's far enough away from the city to enjoy the piece and quiet of the Alps. Yet, you're close enough to both Munich and Salzburg to be there within an hour.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was spotty in our room.

    Very Clean and modern large rooms. Excellent restaurant. Breakfast was the best of all 5 places we stayed in Germany. Staff was friendly and spoke very good english. Would stay here again if we visit Germany.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our room was a bit small but for us it was enough for a good sleep at the end of a long day

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast, restaurant in the hotel, very clean room, nice area (hotel near by the montains)

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent overall experience. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was noisy although after 9 pm traffic noise ended. Breakfast ok but nothing special.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator.

    Staff was nice and helpful, though not all spoke english. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great food, good price, friendly staff, great place to stop off if your passing through as we were.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nice local food for dinners! big room and nothing to complain!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no airconditioning

    staffe was Great. Kids could play. kitchenette Great.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The happiness and friendliness of the staff ll the time.And the surrounding of the whole hotel was very cosy and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Early evening road noise.

    Ease of finding. The recently refurbished bedroom. The staff and service. The quality of the food.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds were very comfortable and location was about 15 minutes from the Chiemsee. Quiet little burg but the people were so nice

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nice, quiet surrounding. 30 min drive from thermal spa. Breakfast buffet is ok.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice meals and very friendly staff as well as a clean and comfortable stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing, everything was fine.

    Service was great, friendly staff help us with all our requests, even when we couldn't speak their language.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was very lively with a lots of families and kids. Very friendly staff.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: