Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Gasthof-Schiff

Fährweg 14, 97286 Winterhausen, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Winterhausen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 208 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not get the room with bathtube, as requested at booking. Staff was not flexible, beds were not comfortable,

    breakfast and location at the riverside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow! The rooms were wonderful and charming, the location was perfect and right on the water. The breakfast was excellent and staff was friendly, smiling, and helpful. We would return anytime and have already recommended it to our friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are rather dated. The restaurant serves traditional German dishes, which I am not a fan of. Food was also very salted.

    It was convenient to use on the way to Austria, but I wouldn't have stayed there longer. Breakfast was surprisingly good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food for dinner was very good, but was a limited menu. The low ceiling in our room might be a problem for anyone over 6 ft.

    Liked the character, style, and atmosphere of the old building located on the river. It was an easy drive into Wuerzburg. Large, well appointed room with desk, table and chairs, and the bathroom was spacious. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in our room wasn't working, owners made us aware of this at check in.

    The inn has a fabulous homemade local food restaurant with outdoor patio across from the river Main.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After getting settled in after a 10 drive I went to the restaurant and asked of food was still available bearing in mind it was only 8pm I was told I had just missed it. I was unable to eat and there was no other facilities in the town

    Great with pets

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen closed at 8pm and there was nowhere to have dinner the night we arrived and they offered no help in providing anything or telling us where we could find somewhere to eat. We walked down the road and found a local football club open and we were very warmly welcomed in and have wonderful memories of the evening, just not at the hotel. Our door lock was difficult and we could not use it for fear of locking ourselves in, which was dangerous. Even the staff struggled with it.

    A lovely little town and a nice view of the river from our large sized room. A nice breakfast. And the lady serving it was a non-English speaker but tried very hard to communicate with us. The kitchen closed at 8pm and there was nowhere to have dinner the night we arrived and they offered no help in providing anything or telling us where we could find somewhere to eat. We walked down the road and found a local football club open and we were very warmly welcomed in and have wonderful memories of the evening.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely place in the Bavarian countryside, with beautiful surroundings and staff willing to do that little extra for their guests! The food was terrific and could compete with any five-star restaurant! We are hoping to return soon!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    More dinner options menu was little small

    Breakfast was nice and the rooms where clean and big enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy german cottage feeling

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good home cooked local fare. Excellent steak cooked to perfection

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place, clean and tidy, hopefull i will come again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Family-friendly. Nice room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location on the edge of the river, easy parking and good food Good access to motorway

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a really pleasant stay. The hostess was friendly, the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, the host.

    Breakfast not fresh, not much to choose from.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great atmosphere, friendly staff, family room, good breakfast. Lovely small towns nearby (try to visit Sommerhausen). Great food in the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay it was a bit chilly in rooms over night.

    Very friendly staff always trying to help. Nice location. Good location for vine tasters.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent building and location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very old bread for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Even though some of the stuff were quite pleasant, some were too stiff (but I guess it is a German thing) The restaurant is too expensive.

    Quite pleasant setting along river Main, overlooking Sommerhausen. Place full of atmosphere, lovely building. Excelent, rich & fresh breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small, intimate, friendly, quaint, riverside guest house with a chef who cooks the most exquisite food. The first night's lamb ribs ensured we came back for the next night's veal steak with truffle sauce. Outstanding. Not cheap, but well worth it.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom no water pressure so taking a shower was useless.

    Nice for dog walking

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Musty smell of the building. Nice room but somewhat dingy.

    Super location. Great atmosphere, good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice location, wonderful style.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff and food in restaurant was excellent quality and not too expensive

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    expensive menu for evening meal

    Wonderfull old building on river bank. only had room at back so no view.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Triple room had one poor bed

    Good location by the river Large room Excellent local food Breakfast was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Couple

    Restaurant on site. Traditional German property in lovely village/location.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was clean, but restaurants or breakfast room were plenty of bugs...

    Famous restaurant in the hotel. Nice view from the river.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Relaxing hotel, a the kids lovede swimming in the river!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, service, excellent restaurant

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Hotel-Gasthof-Schiff traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: