Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Sonne This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Marktplatz 3, 77761 Schiltach, Germany

#3 of 4 hotels in Schiltach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 307 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, good food and lovely staff - what more could you want
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor criticism that the bed was a bit firm for my taste (my lovely wife felt it was great though). Would have liked more time in the area to explore more

    Lovely accommodation reflecting the town beautifully and great staff who were very helpful. We'd love to come and stay again, sharing with some. of our friends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Very quiet and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking - they should explain this better as it takes time to figure out where and when you can park, in particular if all spaces in front of the hotel are taken. One of our rooms was quite dark and had a view to a wall.

    Very quiet and clean. Amazing lcation in the heart of Schiltach which is a very pretty village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little unsure just picking up the key but it was fine.

    Everything was great about my stay! The location is amazing, the village is so quaint. Dining hall is good as well, and the breakfast has a nice variety of choice. If you stay in the village be sure to check out the hiking trails around down. There are some cool ruins very close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    like a dream to stay at this wonderful hotel in its story book setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is nothing I didn't like.

    this is a very historic hotel in the heart of a very historic black forest town. the Grimm brothers wrote all the children fairytale story books and one believes how snow white and the dwarfs or hansel and gretal stories happened here. the hotel is very clean and comfortable and exceptionally quiet at night. the breakfast is delicious and filling. the owners are kind welcoming and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    We loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The difficulty in finding where to check in. We walked from the train station and had difficulty finding the front. We thought it was facing the River. When we found the door and walked into the hall we thought we’d come in the back. Of course we didn’t read German and were getting the translator out when we tried the door to the restaurant again and were able to open it at this time. We still didn’t realize that was check in. The young man that greeted us took care of us at that point.

    The ambience. The waiter in the restaurant at night. The food, wine and beer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel could not have been better, an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel could not have been better, an easy walk from the train station with lovely views of the old town square. The room was spacious and yet cozy. The breakfast was nothing short of extraordinary and the management was amazingly generous and helpful. I was traveling with my brother, who has celiac disease, and the hotel proprietor went to the grocery store and bought gluten-free bread just for him. I would absolutely stay in this hotel again if I am ever in Schiltach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Picturesque, superb, friendly hotel in a lovely Schwartzwald village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The town is picturesque and the hotel is part of this aesthetic. Hotel building is a few hundred years old yet is warm and very comfy. Staff were nothing short of excellent and the evening meal I had (smoked trout) was superb. After visiting Alsace, and the breakfasts we had there, this hotel provided a good German style breakfast. Very clean and tidy hotel. I will hopefully return to this hotel one day as I do wish to return to Schiltac.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Deutsch Urlaub im Schwarzwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 5-10 stairs but it was manageable for my in laws. It is hardly an inconvenience

    The courtsey extended by the hosts was beyond our expectation and imagination. We went with my in-laws and they eat only Indian food. Since we were in the heart of blackforest,it was difficult to find food to satisfy their taste. Our host made rice and lentils as per our specifications,which was comendable. The look on my father-in-laws face after eating home cooked Indian food was priceless.Vielen Dank!! We thank you once again for your hospitality and if we get an opportunity will visit again. The hotel is 3-5 mins from the train station and they offer the Konus card with which you can travel in black forest free of charge during the stay. Treiberg is nearby(30-40 mins) and once buy Cukoo clock from there. The hotel is a heritage building and makes your stay truely satisfying!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for exploring the black forest. Good restaurant food and pricing. Staff were excellent and even decorated our table as it was my birthday

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great - right in the middle of the square. It's also really close to the train station, so it's a great base to explore the area. The restaurant was great too - reasonably priced with huge portions!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Loved our stay at Gasthof Sonne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. All was fabulous :)

    Wonderful host! Lovely old authentic place. perfect location. host was easy to reach when our arrival was delayed until after hours...left us our keys. Great relief! Yummy breakfast in the morning!! We absolutely loved our time there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful old hotel in the heart of Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some trouble with wi-fi.

    Versatile breakfast. The restaurant serves good food. Central location in the heart of the Old Town and as a starting point for walking routes. Beautiful old half-timbered building.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, the location was perfect in the old town square, the breakfast was fresh and tasty and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The food in the restaurant in the evening was really good too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Best holiday in Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking,very confusing where you could or could not park.

    Very friendly,they treated you as a member of their. family,excellent food,all freshly prepared .tasty breakfast.Ideal location to explore the area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice old house with a good atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Things we didn't mind but which you should know: Parking in front of the house is a little bit restricted; there's noch elevator in the house.

    The location of the hotel is very central aside a romantic market place. The host and the service personal was communicative and very friendly and helpful. Our room was somewhat old-fashioned (pure wood), but we thought that it fits to the house.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    Black Forest must see hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the bed frame was made of wicker, but it was comfortable nonetheless.

    Everyone was very nice. They were able to accommodate our vegan diets for dinner, which was greatly appreciated! Nice spatious bathrooms, wardrobe, and sleeping area. Amazing views of the mountains!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.8
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, no air condtion, stairs would be hard for older people. Need to boost wifi. We had to stand near door to our room to get internet.

    Great staff. Excellent food. Historic building in an historic town. Loved the way all the buildings apeared to be well maintined. Enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Amazing view of the market place, very helpful and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view of the market place, very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic location right in the centre of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    The place was very nice and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was very nice and quite. The reception was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Would return for the hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark and outdated

    The staff couldn't be better. The location was perfect. The old building had plenty of charm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    A must stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hosts were absolutely delightful and welcoming. The location was great, in one of the most beautiful towns I saw in the black forest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    Room was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and generally a little shabby.

    Room was quiet. Bed comfortable Parking could be an issue except at weekend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.8
    Never again on a carnival day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible parking

    Town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Perfect!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good! The overall atmosphere is nice and cozy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful central location in the beautiful town in Black.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful central location in the beautiful town in Black. Forest Hills

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    recommended stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, great breakfast, staffs are very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With baby crib in the room, almost no place left

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    One of the most beautiful towns in the Black Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most beautiful towns in the Black Forest

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Specially the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Specially the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    It's wonderful to walk in the cute village. Breakfast is also good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wonderful restaurant is in the hotel,good food and good breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not convineint.

    Breakfast and dinner are very delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    In hearth of a peaceful town of black forrest, Sunday market Very lovely staff Very clean room Nice forrest view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    8.3
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception should be available even during the lunch time of weekends

    people are nice, good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    9.6
    Location, Room Clean,Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, Room Clean,Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous location with easy access to beautiful walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location with easy access to beautiful walks. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent breakfast and a happy place to drink and eat in the evening.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.1
    easy place to stay, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    easy place to stay, good food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location, good facilities for the price. Hope to come back again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Perfect location in this very pretty town Outdoor restaurant facing market place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    6.3
    Look out your window into the 16th century could use some touching up and a little more cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness & Condition

    Breakfast & Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    8.8
    Friendly people, typical old (beautiful) German building in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly people, typical old (beautiful) German building in the centre of the old part. Good atmosphere in the bar restaurant, and close to the railway station (Mitte)

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    10
    I like the location of the historic guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They changed their menu no goulash soup! Which was delish!

    I like the location of the historic guesthouse. The staff was very hospitable and friendly even though there were stairs they helped carry my luggage to my room. The views overlooking the town and the Black Forest was real beautiful! They have a nice restaurant and serve a good meal! The twin room I slept in was very clean and comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    9.6
    This was a perfect place to stay for the real Schwarzwald...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is an old house, so you do have to climb a few stairs. This was fine for us, but something good to know.

    This was a perfect place to stay for the real Schwarzwald experience. Shiltach is such a beautiful city. The staff were so nice and generous. We stayed in the Schwarzwald Room and Sonne Room and enjoyed the uniqueness of each room. Dinner in the restaurant (The cherry liquor/ice-cream dessert was WUNDERBAR) and the breakfast buffet were lovely. We would definitely recommend this place for those seeking to experience the more local flavor of The Black Forest.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.6
    All the people that work there are very nice, especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    All the people that work there are very nice, especially the owner who tries his best to make you feel good. Great breakfast, he cooks eggs and bacon at the moment. Right in the center of the lovely village

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast and food in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast and food in the restaurant. Clean and cosy traditional hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location in a beautiful square.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    Food in the restaurant is nice, not too salty and oily.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bath tower should replace daily automatically not until I requested on it.

    Food in the restaurant is nice, not too salty and oily. Room is in clean condition.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    Fabulous location, very friendly hosts, great breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences possible here!

    Fabulous location, very friendly hosts, great breakfast, lovingly maintained hotel. If parking is full at the hotel, free parking available two minutes away

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    The location within the town and the building itself were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaraunt service was bad and the wifi was terrible

    The location within the town and the building itself were lovely. Great view from the room. The food at the restaraunt was very good as well.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    The Gastof is in the centre of the lovely medieval village...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Gastof is in the centre of the lovely medieval village of Schiltach. The last time we stayed here on an outward journey a few years ago, this time we were on the route homeward. Without realising, our visit coincided with a major village festival to commemorate the logging history of the village apparently dating back to the 1300’s. The village square was fully occupied with stage and stalls. A band of lederhosen clad musicians were giving their all on the stag and the crowd was singing lustily. Our room was overlooking the square and we thought we might be in for a rowdy noisy night but in fact the noise faded before midnight. We had not been able to park in the square outside the hotel as would have been usual so we had found a parking space around the corner that was signed that we would be ok there until 10am the following day. As we turned the corner the following morning we were stopped in our tracks with the sight of a street market all down the street with our car in the middle of it. We had to do some careful negotiation with a very cross stall holder to avoid being trapped there for the day instead of continuing our journey into France. Apparently the officials who put up the market signs must have been late posting them over the sign we had checked. Eventually diplomacy prevailed and racks etc were carefully shifted to allow us to get our Range Rover out and weave its way between the rest of the stalls. Phew. Last time we called here a few years ago we lost the car keys. We rarely go back to the same place but I’m almost tempted to do an unprecedented third visit just to see what will happen next.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location right in the middle of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having to re sign into internet regularly. High cost of extra bed for a 3 year old.

    Excellent location right in the middle of old town. Friendly staff who were helpful when needing to find a baby sitter. Parking close by. Very good breakfast. I can't remember the name of the breakfast lady who was amazing with the kids. Children were left with baby sitter while we did zip lining close by - highly recommended and they were very accommodating. Beautiful rooms.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    The whole atmosphere was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Limited parking, even to unload. That said, there was ample safe parking near the hotel.

    The whole atmosphere was wonderful. Great location on a cobbled street.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Excellent location in the town center, clean rooms, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The water took a little while for it to warm up, but once it was warm there was plenty of it for a nice shower. Overall, it was a great place.

    Excellent location in the town center, clean rooms, good Wi-Fi, friendly owners, and good restaurant. I thought the schnitzel with pommes was delicious. Everything was perfect for my needs.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Friendly welcome and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly welcome and great breakfast. Schiltach is such a beautiful town

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Absolutely lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absolutely lovely stay. Friendly staff, delicious food and beer. Ideal village within the Black Forest. Higly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.9
    Friendly staff and old world ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find parking.

    Friendly staff and old world ambiance.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, nice rooms but the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathrooms and dark in hallways

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, nice rooms but the bathrooms could be improofed

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly and help full staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cobbled stones on a slope .not easy to manoeuvre motorbike.

    Very friendly and help full staff.nice location.garage to park motorbike.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.3
    Amazing building in an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing building in an amazing location. Loved Shiltach, great walks, lots of history and friendly people

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    7.5
    Very cozy & comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It may be difficult communicating in English with some staffs.

    Very cozy & comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Clean, friendly, lovely old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clean, friendly, lovely old hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location in the heart of Schiltach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast not as extensive as other places I've stayed.

    Excellent location in the heart of Schiltach. Small but comfortable room very clean.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Wonderfully atmospheric location and decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderfully atmospheric location and decor. Outside dining area on the ancient square. Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi is a bit slow

    Excellent hotel. The staff were lovely. The breakfast and dinner was fantastic. The hotel is very neat and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Location, breakfast and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was unreliable and half the time connection would wait forever.

    Location, breakfast and staff

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    6.7
    Modern bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room very small. Small TV.

    Modern bathroom. Location in centre of town. Breakfast good.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.8
    Staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit too hot in the rooms, Internet is quite unstable.

    Staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    7.1
    Old world village style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old world village style

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Horrible bed, old and uncomfortable matraces, pillows awful.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    10
    An amazing experience in this hotel, staffs are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    An amazing experience in this hotel, staffs are very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    8.3
    The view, location, breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Our bed was quite squeaky.

    The view, location, breakfast.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Gasthof Sonne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: