Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gasthof Ziegler This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bodenseestraße 32, 88131 Lindau, Germany

#13 of 43 hotels in Lindau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 463 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice room but no extra charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite far from everything. You can not checking between 2 and 5 pm, very inconvenient given there is nothing around the hotel. They make you pay extra for some items at breakfast. You can not put aircon during the day if you are in your room. I really don't like that there is nothing extra done for the client.

    Very nice terrace in the room, all very clean and also very nice breakfast, in a quiet room. The room is rather comfortable and updated

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in quiet area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel and very friendly staff - both in reception and restaurant. Excellent regional food served in restaurant. Newly renovated rooms. Good and free parking. Quiet area. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stop over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcoming and accommodating staff. The freshly cooked egg was knackig and delicious. Room and bathroom trendy, with a lot of light and fresh air. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Good value, modern room, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Small
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit cumbersome as you had to park behind the Gasthaus and close spaces were limited, but it was ok -not that big a deal for us.

    Super Frühstück! Herzförmig Brötchen die schmecken so gut wie die aussehen. Total modern, schön, saubere Zimmer. We chose the super small room for the cheaper price. It was thoughtfully and well laid-out and for the price-savings well worth it for just 1-2 nights stay. For a longer stay I’d recommend reserving one of the bigger rooms. We would happily stay here again -especially for the breakfast with extra special touches!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Cozy, comfortable, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous service. When they didnt have a room available on the last night of my stay, they scoured the area to find another place to accommodate me, which was no small feat. The area was fully booked up until they made some personal calls. I really appreciate them going the extra mile. Besides that the breakfast was nice and the rooms lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Great location outside of Lindau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location outside of main town. Restaurant downstairs served great food and was busy with locals. Easy access to towns along the Bodensee. Rooms very modern and clean. Nice terrace to relax after a day of site seeing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    The best kept secret in Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has been run by the same family for over 100 years and they take a pride in it. The attached restaurant is superb and when we were visiting, a large amount of game was on the menu. We will return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    The staff was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We have no negative comments!

    The staff was fantastic. We were pampered for the 5 days we were there!! Would recommend this hotel to anyone without any hesitation!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Small
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small and lacked character. No fridge or safe. The hotel is located between a railroad and a busy road so noise was an issue.

    Good breakfast. Clean. Not too far from the island.Getting there can be a challenge as there is lots of traffic during the high season.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Great village location just outside Lindau
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Small
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast (included) was excellent. But do not order any meals at dinner time. I had to wait an hour each time before any food arrived.

    The room was modern and well furnished. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were way to soft for any support.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    Did the job.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Small
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car Park behind the Hotel

    Very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The environment created by the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Small
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The environment created by the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed location, good access to Lindau by free bus. Fantastic hotel staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. Free bus service to Lindau centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    Cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No room ventilation. room too businesslike, unpersonal style.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    Very satisfying.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a bigger single blanket on my bed.

    Nice staff, great location, simple but good breakfast, room clean, comfortable and quit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Super friendly staff and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small and bathroom was awkwardly configured.

    Wonderful staff, great restaurant on site with delicious dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Very clean and modern room with a very good German...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Small
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and modern room with a very good German restaurant. The breakfast was terrific, don't miss that. We had a really wonderful stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Convenient for Lindau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Small
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaking air con in the room - dripping water.

    Location and staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.9
    Poor wi fi during our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Small
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wi fi during our stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    8.3
    Good breakfast and staff attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negative issues.

    Good breakfast and staff attention. Localization is not a problem with car. Very nice surroundings. Parking available at the Hotel. Reception staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    7.5
    Rooms were recently renovated, clean and well organised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was noone there, and the door was locked (presumably because it was Dec 25, although we did have a booking). There was a button to press to communicate, but the sound dropped out almost completely. Fortunately we could hear just enough to discover that someone would come to the hotel to check us in within a few minutes. A note on the door would have been helpful.

    Rooms were recently renovated, clean and well organised.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.6
    beautifully appointed quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    arrived on staff closure day and the "Key Boy" box did not work and failed to drop our room keys,so had a problem contacting and understanding the owner in German.....he finally arrive after 30 mins and agreed the drop box key system failed but was very friendly and gave us our keys personally. Very comfortable stay after that and a good breakfast.

    beautifully appointed quality hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    New and modern room and bathroom facilities, with an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was noisy - I had to shut the window for reducing it. The ceiling in the bed area was low, keeping me constantly on alert for not bumping my head. There was no elevator, so people with bad knees should consider that.

    New and modern room and bathroom facilities, with an excellent bed and mattress. Friendly staff, most of whom speaks passable English. Everything is spotless clean. Very nice breakfast with fresh vegetables. Telephone in the room, wi-fi acceptable and parking available.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    Nice location, perfect for road trips around Bodensee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "small room" we had selected was actually small -- but we didn't care.

    Nice location, perfect for road trips around Bodensee. Wonderful breakfast (unfortunately we didn't try the dinner). The family was very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    5.0
    The hotel is clean and well-run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First we were given a very small room on the second floor up 40 steps with heavy suitcases (know this is not uncommon). In the room we could barely move and had to take turns opening our suitcases. Ridiculous to squeeze 2 beds in that room. We asked for a bigger room but were told they were all the same. Second, there was no breeze at all, no AC, and the heat wave was on. We had the worst sleep of our holiday.

    The hotel is clean and well-run. Food was good. Location 5 km from the busy town of Lindau itself was not a problem

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant staff, very good breakfest, especially boiled egg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant staff, very good breakfest, especially boiled egg. Very clean. Good free parkingplace.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    8.3
    Really good breakfest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We eat steak for dinner which was great but comes with can mushrooms and that ruined it.

    Really good breakfest.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    Modern comfortable rooms, super breakfast, delightful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Modern comfortable rooms, super breakfast, delightful personnel

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    9.2
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is a good 3-5 miles away from the city center/tourist hangout places.

    Very nice staff. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    8.8
    the room was fantastic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was fantastic ! I arrived 02.00 o clock in the night and that was not a problem. Verry nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff. Family owned business that is just super! Great food. Great facility! Will recommend to everyone!

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    8.3
    Hotel is very clean, restaurant is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is too small.

    Hotel is very clean, restaurant is very good.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    6.7
    Friendly stAff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel said that the hotel was smoking free zone . I had another patron smoking outside my window on the deck till 2am.

    Friendly stAff

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    The staff were wonderful as was the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were wonderful as was the food.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff and immaculately clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and immaculately clean room

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    10
    Exceptionally clean and well kept!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite a task hauling luggage up three flights.

    Exceptionally clean and well kept!

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: