Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof zum Biber This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstr. 15-19, 97786 Motten, Germany

#1 of 2 hotels in Motten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 564 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Amazing little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't eat the cherries from my terrace, the branches were well cut :D

    The place was amazing. Excellent location, marvelous rooms, captivating scenery. Will stay there again if chance leads my through that part of Germany.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Never gets disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is not the best, but you survive 😉

    Clean room, comfortable beds, staff is fantastic nice, food in the restaurant never disappoints. We have slept over here many times and this is not the last time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    A lovely little old inn, cosy and comfortable, food excellant , staff very helpful and speak English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds in the bedroom didn't draw across fully , need repairing. Room very cold when we arrived but the owner very quickly took air out of the radiators and eventually got very hot.

    We had a very large room, very modern bedroom. Beds were very large and comfortable. The staff very helpful and friendly. The resturant very cosy.Food very good. Loved the carved wood very German. They make their own wine, and have a little shop selling their own produce.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To hard beds for my taste, WIFI..

    This is 5th time I stay over here, and this is an perfect place to sleep over. 4 km from autobahn and easy to find, the resturant serving an typical German food who taste fantastic. Serving breakfast from 07.00 in the morning and the standard of this is more than OK. I coming back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Was okay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well we had 2 dogs, so they put us in a far room separately from other guests and also for breakfast we were i a separated room. Wich was nice for us but a bit awkward.... Well lack of cleaning in the toilet, mold in the shower area specially in the shower doors inside. Toilet sit was also dirty.

    Beautiful landscape, quiet room, pet friendly in a certain way, the landscape near very beautiful specially to long walks in the nature between the farms is a way to go. My dogs love it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a double bed in my room but I was happy to book a single.

    Fantastic friendly staff. We arrived late due to bad weather but they kept the kitchen open so we could order food. Breakfast was also superb. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    lovely stay in traditional local place
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing :)

    Lovely place. Beautiful surroundings and the Inn is as you would dream of for a local family owned place where they take pride in their establishment. Make sure to try their own wines and liqueurs!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    The food was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was wonderful. Our first room was very small. They moved us to a very nice larger room when we asked. The homemade Rose wine was great, like a port.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Great service and large new builded Family Room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seen from Street the Guesthouse looked a little pour. But we get surprised... The guesthouse seamed to be much better and renovated.

    Great service and large new builded Family Room. Great food...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    This is our second time we stay over here, and this is an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is not the best in the annex.

    This is our second time we stay over here, and this is an perfect place to sleep over. 4 km from autobahn and easy to find, the resturant serving an typical German food who taste fantastic. Serving breakfast from 07.00 in the morning and the standard of this is more than OK. We are going to return here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.3
    Good spot for an overnight stay when travelling south
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is allright with cooked / baked eggs, yoghurt, cereal. A larger choice of bread, cheese, maybe fruit would have been nice, but I guess for a one night stay it was OK. Noise from the motorway is audible in the room (it crosses a high bridge very close to the town). Pillows are floppy and thin as usual in Germany, if you like big and fluffy you might want to take your own.

    Spotlessly clean room. Lots of storage, flat screen tv. Nice firm mattress (though some might prefer softer), only about 1.95m long but without a footboard so my tall partner could still stretch his legs.. Convenient location close to the motorway 7, easy parking right opposite the hotel. Nice little tidy sleepy town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Very nice room at good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The charged price was a little higher than announced in app.

    Very nice room at good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    I'll come back for sure!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi could be better....

    Everything. The hotel is really very friendly. Good restaurant. Free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice people, perfect location, grate view, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice people, perfect location, grate view, very good breakfast with some local products, very tasty, close to the highway,.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    we arrived late and had too leave before breakfast started...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived late and had too leave before breakfast started but hotel manager arranged for staff to come in earlier for us to enjoy breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Close to highway exit, welcoming staff, restaurant on site...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to highway exit, welcoming staff, restaurant on site with great food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    menu in english would have been nice

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Thank you! We are very happy to stay at your hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some more glutenfree alternetiv in the breakfast!

    Amazing horseradishcream and really nice staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    food in the restaurant was very nice, did not expect this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food in the restaurant was very nice, did not expect this

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfsast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfsast. Tidy rooms. Ordnung :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    For families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familienzimmer mit 2 Schlafzimmern (2 Erwachsene + 2 Kinder)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very calm and comfortable place for a family with young children.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    This was the third time we stayed there this year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This was the third time we stayed there this year.....and not the last stay :-)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice biergarten!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncunfortable sofabed

    Nice biergarten!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.2
    Close to Autobahn, easy to find and the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brekfast cloud they improve if I should complain little.

    Close to Autobahn, easy to find and the best.. we have the luck to have a complet new room, fantastic nice. Restaurant was serving nice dinner in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.3
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Internet was a bit limited. It would only work for about 10-15 minutes and then you had to sign back in.

    Staff was very helpful. English was spoken. The restaurant on site served delicious food.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    9.2
    Warm and kind atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room looked cosier in the photo than it really was. But the terrace and the view were beautiful.

    Warm and kind atmosphere. Great food. The breakfast which is included in the price is made with high quality products. The owner of the place is extremely attentive. Besides the landscape is beautiful and if you are fond of nature, there are some very comfortable routes to walk in the countryside.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    Close to our visit to Kloster Kreuzberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Close to our visit to Kloster Kreuzberg. Great dinner and fun tasting the local brandies and wines. Very nice owner and staff. Fun to see the family weinkellar on site. Great for our family of four and for our friends who traveled with us. We'll come back here. Very enjoyable place to visit. Thankful for the Ziegler family sharing their home with us.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    10
    Food, Bed, atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would be better if staff at Booking.com would state this place is actually in Speicherz, not Motten. I know Motten is the larger township, but the GPS doesn't know that so it kept turning me around.

    Food, Bed, atmosphere!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    10
    Bed and room were perfect - the bathroom top clean -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing - everything was just perfect

    Bed and room were perfect - the bathroom top clean - everything was really great!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff. We felt very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Clean, friendly & welcoming, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, friendly & welcoming, great value

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.0
    Wonderful place with very good personal !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful place with very good personal !!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly staff Good food Small shop with local specialities

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: