Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zum Breiterle This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rödergasse 30, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 1314 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was in a great location - walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was in a great location - walking distance to everything including the train station. Very friendly staff who went out of their way to make me feel welcome and gave me some tips about what to do/where to eat. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Be careful which room you get!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was at the side of the hotel facing the side street-- which is cobblestones and very busy. There was no air conditioning and so you had to leave the windows open and sleeping was impossible because it was SO noisy.

    The hotel is right in the old town and the parking is very convenient. Staff was very pleasant and breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel inside the wall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed (as are most European beds) was a little hard. We were on 3rd floor and there is no lift. Breakfast was nice, but a little light.

    Hotel was inside the famous wall and easy to walk to most locations. Room was clean and nice. Glad they offered parking (at 5euro a night).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    A very good choice overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no elevator but this was not a major problem.

    The breakfast was very good. The hotel was inside the city walls but easily accessible. The staff spoke perfect English.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Cute hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no fan. They should provide us for some fan in the summer. No lift...if you have lots of stuff .. u should think carefully

    Cute hotel Breakfast is ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    The location was fantastic - in the old city walls with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There we're flies in the breakfast room, swimming in the yogurt and milk for coffee.

    The location was fantastic - in the old city walls with a parking lot across the street. The staff was very friendly, and the woman there in the morning made fresh eggs to order.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    A perfectly decent choice in the center of Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a healthy amount of stairs to walk to the upper rooms so a bit of work to get heavier suitcases dragged there.

    Fantastic location right after entering the gates to the town. Parking place right across the street is a plus. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location,right by one of the city gates,friendly and helpful staff, good secure parking for our motorbikes (and cars if you have one), good breakfast in the morning,rooms very comfortable, all restaraunts, bars and sightseeing attractions within easy walking distance. Rothenburg is one of the most picturesque cities to visit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Just inside the beautiful town gate, 10 minute walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just inside the beautiful town gate, 10 minute walk from the train station, historic old building but modernized enough inside. Everything was clean, comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    I had a wonderful time there, they people were fantastic and the place was adorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    I love this place. I have stayed there twice and loved it each time. The staff is fantastic. The breakfast is delicious. The location is perfect. My permanent place to stay now when in Rothenburg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    I loved the location, right inside the gates of the old city. The breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employee who checked us in was a bit rude. She said “take it easy” when we asked a few questions. Also, stairs are never fun but fine.

    The location is incredible. Just steps inside the old part of town and you’re at the doorstep!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Rustic charm and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little cramped for my tall partner, but otherwise everything was lovely, comfortable and simple.

    Gorgeous rustic charm, nice old building, lovely staff, great breakfast spread with fresh eggs made to order.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pretty warm and we had a west facing room and of course no air conditioning in Germany. It took a while for the room to cool.

    The owners and staff are great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great location in the center of the city, great staff and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the center of the city, great staff and a hearty breakfast. Really enjoyed my stay here. One of the few places that will have parking for you in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Short stay in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hot in the room, but it is an old building. Noise from the street was somewhat bad, but didn't really effect my sleep.

    The location just inside the walls was good also close to the train station which is why I chose it. The included breakfast was the best we had in Germany, complete with freshly cooked eggs. Liked the history of the building and its charm. The room was a decent size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable. Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit small, and there was not enough shampoo and good soap - however, these things were minor - all in all the staff did a wonderful job, very friendly and kind.

    The room was clean, quaint. The pillows and bed were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Very clean, comfy bed, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean, comfy bed, friendly staff. A convenient short walk from the main square. Good restaurant recommendations from staff. Beautiful city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Our party required a late arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 400 year old build is beautiful. A modern lift would be nice for elder patrons. Two persons in our party were 70+ years old. The three flights of stairs was a challenge for them.

    Our party required a late arrival. The staff was accommodating. Easy after hour access.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location for visitors, friendly staff, parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cars driving on cobblestone is loud and with the windows open, it was noisy. It was quiet while sleeping though.

    Great location for visitors, friendly staff, parking, excellent breakfast. Rave reviews!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    One night in Rothenberg ODT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, altgough to be licky we prefer liquid soap to bar soap as it's nicer to use and less wasteful

    Fantastic location inside the old city walls but just a few minutes walk from train station. Friendly and welcoming staff, choice of eggs for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows, that's all.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Gorgeous location. Bed was comfortable, but pillows too soft. We had a great time and recommend this hotel highly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    One last goodbye trip to Rothenburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came in after 6pm, and although we called first and were given instructions for how to get the key to get into our room, there was no way to have access to the free internet advertised until the following morning when we came down for breakfast. We needed a code-per device, per 24 hours, which could have easily been put in our room for us. This is a suggestion to the staff for future guests. Please put one or two internet codes in the room for your late arrivals. Also, our room (#3) was very small-especially the bathroom! We have stayed here 3-4 times before and have never had such cramped facilities. If the motel had been sold out, we would have understood, but it wasn’t so it would have been nice to have been given a room and a bathroom with a bit more space. Seriously, it was awkward even trying to put my contacts in and out In the very tiny bathroom!

    Nice breakfast that comes with the price of the room. Staff offered fried or scrambled eggs along with the traditional cold German breakfast. Great location right inside the wall with available parking for our car. We have stayed here several times before and it’s a nice, family run hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    We stayed overnight on our anniversary and were pleasantly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed overnight on our anniversary and were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the hotel and great location. Only quick (at least not what we are accustomed to coming from North America) were twin beds for a double occupancy - which more experienced travelers would probably have anticipated. A great, comfortable place over all!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.6
    I think there are far better accommodations to choose from in the surrounding area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel really needs an upgrade! Carpets in bedrooms were really dirty and stained! Breakfast was just OK! Other guest were offered scrambled eggs while we looked on! We were apparently not egg worthy :)

    Great neighborhood, easy to walk to many restaurants and the beautiful walls that surrounds the city! Good location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Good place to stay within city walls and park your car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place within City Walls with parking space at reasonable price. Single room (No 25) was good size. Breakfast good as well with excellent service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.4
    very old bulding,nice atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the game to find the treasure .. in the first box put the code ,open the safe ,take the key, open the first door , the second..If I was teenager I 'd love to play this game

    very old bulding,nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious! And the staff was very friendly, especially with our son. The room size was great for us and the location was wonderful — right next to the city wall!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Location and character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room however they kindly let me fill our little thermos each morning at breakfast. Walls are thin as babies and children crying on our floor woke us up a few times one night.

    Location! charm, breakfast included, WiFi, small but functional new bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Good location, nice old house, private parking provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uninspired breakfast buffet, smallish room, freaky old stairs, voucher-based WiFi. But I’m just nitpicking. On the whole a very nice hotel.

    Good location, nice old house, private parking provided

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel. It snowed when we were there. Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was a little small when you have two adults with suitcases in them.

    Great breakfasts. Very friendly staff. Location of hotel is walking distance to the train station. Close to main square, and all attractions, the wall etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    A lovely old and charming old......a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were the only guests but the hotel still provided a full breakfast. There was cereal, yogurt, cold meats, cheeses, buns, bread, fruit salad, fruit, jams, tea/coffee, milk, juice and scrambled or fried eggs. It was too much for two people but very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice Hotel for a short visit to Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy at night as all cars have to pass by he hotel. So if you get a room towards the main street and the street where the night entrance is expect noise.

    Good parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Family with kid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin was allowed only after 2pm even though in booking.com its mentioned check-in is from 12:00. I didn't got the WiFi passcode even after asking as the receptionist didn't know or aware about the WiFi passcode. Rest all good.

    Location is excellent. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. The breakfast was excellent. Staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    The location is great and rooms were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator so it isn't ADA accessible. It's an old hotel and not quite what you come to expect in the USA. However, it's charms outweigh the basic rooms.

    The location inside the wall of the city was great. It's close to walk through the very picturesque town, shops and restaurants. The hotel has two parking areas close by. Breakfast was great and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that I didn't like.

    This is our "must stay out" hotel when we travel to Rothenburg ob der Tauber! It's run by an amazing staff who are friendly and offer many suggestions of things to visit. I love the interior of the hotel. Our room was very clean, spacious, comfortable. The breakfast never disappoints! It's in a great location and has onsite parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Días de ensueño
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is great, the personal very kind and helpful and is a blocks near the Marktplatz. Breakfast was also excellent with coffee, milk, apple and orange juice, yogurt, cereals, bread, cheese, jam, and a lot of things to choose.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Friendly place, nice room (not too noisy as it was on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly place, nice room (not too noisy as it was on the side street, the same is certainly not true of those on the front overlooking one the main entrance points in the old town), nice breakfast buffet. A private parking is available on the other side of the street, highly practical and free (public parkings are nearby also... but not free). Recommended !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic service, great location and clean comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed a great 2 nights here. Room was clean, management were extra helpful especially going out of his way to provide us with an early breakfast as we had a early morning train departure. Checkin was very quick and friendly. Would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    A delightful hotel in a delightful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most European hotels have pillows that are uncomfortable, as were these. But this is just a personal preference.

    The staff were friendly and the location excellent. Car parking was just across the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Lovely stay, good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The code on the Wifi changed every day and had a 24 hr. time limit per device. More than one device needed more than one code. Had to remember to get new code everyday. There was no soap or shampoo provided with the room, but we had our own.

    The hotel was located within the city wall. Our room was very pleasant, bright, cheery. The staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfast provided with the room was good. Eggs were cooked to order and the rolls were yummy. The parking was across the street and enclosed by a fence. 5 euro extra per night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    The location is very central! The hotel is in the old town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is difficult..if you come after 6 pm! We arrived to a locked hotel!I sent 2 emails letting the hotel,advising of arrival time! We had to call the innkeeper to get advise of the key lock box! I think it would nice to have the code prior to arrival!

    The breakfast was wonderful! I really enjoyed the variety of the many offerings!Cheese, cold cuts,bread, yogurt, and juice were all there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Very good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the old town - perfect for wandering around the old streets at night and winding up where we were staying so easily. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Excellent value and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was more then we expected- the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The building was old but had been lovingly updated without losing it's charm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    This is a real gem, just inside the old town wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small. That was an understatement. The bathroom is the size of a large closet, with very little room to maneuver. Of course, we understand that this is an old building in the old part of town, so the room size might be expected.

    Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast, including eggs to order, prepared by a gracious hostess. Exclusive parking directly across the street was a huge bonus. The entire old town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber is within a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    Won't be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been and stayed at this place 5 maybe 6 times. It's cheap (for Rothenburg) it's cheerful and clean but this last stay was nothing short of a disaster. I took my husband for our honeymoon . We got a dark room with a shower that didn't work. I complained on the first evening that we couldn't shower and were told the next day that everything was fine. The next day they said they had a person in to fix it, but the following night I went to have a shower again and it still was not working. I went back the following morning and complained again and they said the shower was fine. I videoed the shower overflowing as it was blocked and they then got in another plumber to fix it. Finally our last night there we were able to shower. I asked for some sort of refund on our room due to the inconvenience of not being able to shower and was made to feel so uncomfortable in asking but I stuck to my guns and after much umming and ahhhhing she agreed to give me 10% discount $17 euros. Then she told me I have to pay for the car park which I had already been told at the beginning of my stay that I didn't have to pay for it and the car park would be five euros a night so in fact she was giving me a two euro discount for not being able to shower for two days. I'm so disappointed and I'm sad to say that I won't be going back.

    The place is situated very close to the main town so walking from the hotel is lovely because you get to walk up to the street to the city centre. The whole place is just beautiful it's like you stepped into a Grimm's fairytale. So many beautiful places to see lots of lovely things today. You must walk around the city wall it's just stunning and go into Jacobs church. Just opposite the church is a great restaurant I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Value family accommodation in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a terrific family room that had separate kids room, sitting area and modern bathroom. Also great parking available over the street and a good breakfast provided. The location is also great, just inside the old city walls but not too far towardghe very busy centre. A great place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Location very good, price quite reasonable, would use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea making facilities in the room but we were given a thermos jug of hot water and two mugs to make our cuppa.

    The hotel is just inside of the old city walls which are mostly intact and very pleasing to walk around. It is within easy reach of the centre of the old town and has a yard oposite to park our motorbikes in. The hotel is a lovely old building but restored to a high level internally. The staff were excellent and very helpfull, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    A must to experience the delights of the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are rather uncomfortable.

    The lady on reception is one of the niceat people we met on our travels. She always had a smile for us and happily gave us ideas of where to have dinner etc. Great location, easy to drive to and good parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    An ob=vernight stop in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a nice place to stay with friendly staff that also spoke English. Breakfast was standard German fair. I would call this a quirky hotel which doesn't mean it's bad, it just means there are things that are different and will remind you what fun you had.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    A hotel in a great position and easy walking into the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor maintenance to the bathroom facilities would have completed our great impressions of the hotel. Our room was at the rear of the property and adjacent to the side cobbled road which was noisy especially in the very early morning 530am with the service vehicles. The road also avoids the pedestrian area of the centre so was busy with through traffic. However the double glazed Windows did keeps most noise at a low level.

    The location to the town centre is excellent. Breakfast selection was first class and the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The hotel is a notable old building to the extent that ceramic models of the hotel are available to those who collect such artefacts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A stronger, more powerful fan in the room.it was hot and stuffy and the fan too small and weak.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fresh and nice. Coffee was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room location, needs and elevator if having to go up four floors with luggage. Way too many places to stay in Rothenburg to pick this one.

    Breakfast and coffee was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Cute hotel, but unstaffed after 8pm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a communication problem due to long train delays and no wifi/phone. Info was left for us to get in after hours but we could not access it and had to stay down the street where someone is on site late. Just make sure you know how to get in before your journey in case you are delayed unexpectedly :)

    A very cute hotel. The included breakfast was lovely. Easy walk to and from sites, so we could go back and take breaks. We walked from train station--no problem.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    This was a wonderful location for exploring Rothenberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a wonderful location for exploring Rothenberg. The city is beautifully medieval and this hotel felt medieval while providing modern conveniences. We had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    The hotel was just beyond the busy commercial zone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was just beyond the busy commercial zone. Perfect for walking back and forth. Very friendly, helpful staff. Great breakfast included. The best pillows! I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    A truly exceptional stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We like a 'standard' double bed in lieu of the European adjacent twin bed-double bed.

    A lovely, large room which is very quiet and very conveniently located to our needs. Easy access from the autobahn. Exquisite decor and a gorgeous breakfast room with a large variety of choices. Immaculately clean all over. Parking is plentiful and secure. We would highly recommend a stay at this hotel to any and all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Welcome to history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Located in town with ease access to shops, cafes, restaurants, museums landmarks. Great place for picture taking. Been there on several occasions never dissappointed. Will be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    7.1
    The reception closed too early to let us in and give us the code of wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception closed too early to let us in and give us the code of wifi. When me and my friend arrived there around 7 o'clock, but the reception had already closed at 6 o'clock and there is no hint on website! Besides we couldn't store our luggages in the hotel after we checked out! That is really terrible for travellers.

    The capacity of the room and private bathroom is large. It's really clean,quiet and cozy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.1
    Good location just inside the city wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worn-out pillows provided zero neck support. Very basic furnishings and amenities.

    Good location just inside the city wall. On-site parking for a minimal fee.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    Great location. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception closed around 6pm during our stay (New Year).

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great location (close to centre of town and railway station - easy walk). Good breakfast included. Highly recommend Backerei Striffler for bakery delights and coffee. Also recommend the Friese-Shop for souvenirs.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was free but very very slow. Even at 2:00 in the morning, it took forever to connect to the router and was slow to lad web pages. Not very usable.

    Breakfast was okay, typical selection. It was served in a crowded area and started fairly late. Staff worked hard to keep the buffet stocked. Room was basic but good size. Great location close to train station but still inside town walls. Short walk to center market area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.8
    We felt as though we were with family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing worth criticizing!

    Central location. Quintessentially family-run Hotel. Always comfortable and clean. Loved the squeeky staircase - real old world charm!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.3
    Great location just inside the old town walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small - not enough space to put 2 cases on the floor in our room.

    Great location just inside the old town walls. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice stay in quaint room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location just inside the city wall was great for access to sights around town, walking the wall, visit the Christmas market and Christmas museum. Private parking was available and across the street was convenient. Breakfast was simple, but tasty. Fresh eggs made to order was available and delicious! Clean room, perfect for overnight stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Nice little Rothenburg o.d. T. hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a big deal but they have a fancy coffee machine that brews almost any kind of coffee you might want. But it creates a bottleneck at breakfast. Minor issue, though. Should not detract from positive review - we found this in another hotel on our trip. No elevator, though, so be prepared if you have bags to lug to room.

    This is a very nice little hotel near the city walls, convenient to walking the ramparts. Just a few blocks walk to the town center. Friendly staff. Eggs cooked to order, not common in German hotels and pensions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.8
    We should have asked for "fluffier pillows".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very flat. We didn't mention it at the time so don't know what the hotels reaction would have been.

    The location was ideal close to town centre and close to train station. The old historic building is very picturesque. The young lady at breakfast was very polite and attentive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are really squeaky when you walk down them, thankfully we could not hear that from my room

    The hotel was very comfortable and the staff was great. While we ate breakfast, our rooms were cleaned each morning. The location is perfect right inside the city walls, and just a few minutes walk from the train station. The market Square is only a few minutes walk from the hotel. The breakfast was delicious and we were offered fresh scrambled or fried eggs each morning

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.1
    Location good. Good for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. Bathroom was small not enough room for two people. The drain in the shower was clogged. Bed was hard . Would have been nice to have a water kettle in room. And if you have valuables there isn't no safe. Good for one night stay.

    Location was great. Right inside the walls of the old town. Parking was right across the steet. Once you arrive you don't have to drive anymore. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was the usually European breakfast. Room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could be a bit more cozy–the decor was very basic.

    The hotel is basic, clean, and in a great location. The staff was very helpful securing our rental car in one of their parking lots. I especially appreciated the hotel sending my raincoat, that I left in the closet, to my home in California!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    Suitable, acceptable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was like a sauna! It was super hot and by opening the windows the street below was super noisy.

    Location. Comfy room. Simple but filling breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    We were right in the middle of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were right in the middle of everything. Everyone treated us great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Nice hotel clean good breakfast lots of road noise if back rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Location close to train 10 minute walk clean and friendly location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location and nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the third floor.

    Absolutely a wonderful location with convenient parking. Very nice owner/operators.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    fLOor with no
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allocation on the 3: floor. No elevator.no restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast and nice hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was missing a refrigerator.

    Good breakfast and nice hosts. Beds were alright. Great location with parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: