Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gasthof Zum Löwen

Stadtplatz 11, 92355 Velburg, Germany

#1 of 2 hotels in Velburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 550 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Greta location and good value. Family friendly and easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath towels could use upgrading and the pillows, while fluffy, basically flatted out to absolutely nothing.

    Wonderful location and friendly service. Breakfast is very nice with good selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice village. We stayed here for only one night, still had a nice walk thru the village and the burg (ruin) on top of the hill. Pleasant hotel with friendly staff and good food in the restaurant. Close to the highway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Best location for a bussiness trip!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wi-fi login system permits only one device to be logged in at a time. Kind of difficult to switch it...

    Everything was great. The breakfast was complete. The room was clean... spotless. I totally recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old towels, no amenities in the bathroom (at least a shower gel or napkins). Access code was not provided at our arrival, had to ask for it later, unfortunately Wi-Fi did not work in the room anyway. Triple room does not have a real 3rd bed, but the staff was in the end helpful to make us all happy (very much appreciated) and this is what is taken into account.

    Hands on staff. Clean room. Breakfast tasteful, fair, nothing to complaint about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Leave the Romantic Road for a couple of days and enjoy, the small town (village) experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Alright, had a great stay, but if I have to come up with something negative - I didn't like the french fries.

    Gosh, when my wife says there is nothing wrong with this location and this hotel that tells you it is a 10.0. We had a wonderful stay. The room was large; the bath good. The breakfast excellent. The staff great. The lady who tended bar in the evening, spoke excellent english, as did the owner. The hotel was the local pub, with regulars, who were friendly. The area is loaded with small towns which are lovely, all within a 29 - 30 mile drive. I recommend this town and hotel to anyone wanting to see rural and peaceful Germany at it's best. Also not much of a detour off the Romantic Road!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    Worth a visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is located in a charming little town on a beautiful historical market square, it is a family run hotel. Clean comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast, very friendly staff and a good restaurant with regional food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Very close to the highway, right in the middle of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is on the street in front, wasn't a problem for us as we came Saturday evening. But could be more problematic on a working day.

    Very close to the highway, right in the middle of the town. Comfortable room for a family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Fridge in the room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hairdryer in the room. Hard to find parking place, but it was friday night.

    Fridge in the room. Very good breakfast (inc. fruit-salad). Good heating-system.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Guesthouse and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We arrived very late after being stuck in traffic but still with a warm welcome. The room was spatious, clean, and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good with enough choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    Not recommended to anyone who has kids !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff treat us unfairly!!No communication between the waitress and us we were the only family which they did not ask us if we want eggs cooked differently.They charged us for kids breakfast without any explanation !!!Not friendly with us!!

    Room was good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Clean, friendly staff, and excellent food and beverages...all at a reasonable price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of a thing that I did not like while staying here.

    Excellent traditional German breakfast...great dining room...and excellent choices in German beers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautifully located on the square in a small village is this wonderful Hotel Gasthof
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was not working well everywhere in the hotel; in the end it worked fine in our own room.

    Beautifully located on the square in a small village is a wonderful Hotel Gasthof. The rooms are at the back of the property and ours was spacy and had good facilities such as a small fridge. It also had a small balcony with a beautiful view on the ruins on the hill. The front of the hotel was the (public) cozy bar and restaurant where we had a great German meal. The breakfast was plentiful and varied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Nice, small town family feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could accommodate different numbers in the rooms. It had a family atmosphere. Breakfast was very good. There was even castle ruins we could walk to that were nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value, lovely location,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was nice but menu could be better.

    Lovely area, saw a lot of hikers, lovely scenery very nice old square, nice pub, clean, cheap, Plenty of parking on street outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed in over 50 hotels in Europe. I have yet to sleep in a comfortable bed.

    A great deal for the money. Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly. Internet was fast for hotel standards. Basic accommodations but very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.5
    Sweet German guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant served only pre made food (frozen) French fries, and very basic food.

    Cozy kitch German stopover ,room was nice,bathroom excellent,well kept and perfectly clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    If i would be a Jedi knight and Lili a wookie, I would return here, with no hesitation. :-)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    As usual, a nice and comfortable place to return. Friendly owners, helpful staff, nice and quiet surroundings, very convenient for my needs.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    A very warm welcome, we were looked after very well even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcome, we were looked after very well even after arriving late and rather wet. The fact we were all on motorbikes and had much faffing to do to organise ourselves was no problem at all for them.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.9
    nice, supporting staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    simple continental breakfast

    nice, supporting staff simple but clean rooms late check-in opportunity good location- close to the highway but still in the center of a small village

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.1
    We've booked a 4bed room.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've booked a 4bed room.upon arrival the room was very cold, the heating turned off.with 2 children after a long drive it was not what i expected.it took a great while to heat the room.i sugest that in winter months you should preheat your rooms prior to guest arrival, for an enhanced level of comfort.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Perfect hotel in a quiet village
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    This was my second time at this hotel. Just as the first time, it was a stop-over for me during a long journey. It is still a great place to stay. Can't specify. It's perfect. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great, the meals were 5 star! There were great choice for breakfast. The eggs always tasted fresh and cooked to order. I would highly recommend a stay here. Then we lives on site and the family are very nice and speak really good English!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent for overnight stopover on the long drive through Europe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is sometimes too slow and often disconnects, so one has to re-fill the details in order to re-connect. Otherwise nice restaurant / bar isn't open on Saturdays and Sundays.

    Very dog friendly. Family atmosphere. Nice hike in the hills just several minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Great stay outside of Hohenfels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was excellent. Breakfast in the morning was a good mix of American breakfast and traditional Germany breakfast. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent Germany food!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.2
    The right choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no complaints.

    A nice, quiet and friendly location. Friendly owners and supportive staff. An honest and well managed family enterprise and definitively a place to return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.8
    great place in Velburg, really close to the autobahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    great place in Velburg, really close to the autobahn.we had a large quadruple room.the place was clean,great for 1night stay.the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.Clean room's , food very good and great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Late check in and breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was perfect

    Late check in and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is small for family of 4

    Friendly. Really felt as if you were staying at someone‘s house

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    It is homey, the rooms are clean and suitable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is homey, the rooms are clean and suitable. The staff is polite and courteous. Thanks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was very nice. Thanks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Love this property !
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this property !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Great for a short business stay. Had everything we needed.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice town and the hotel is excellent. Had drinks and dinner outside. Friendly, clean and comfortable. The beds were fine. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, very happy and nice staff, nice bed, good WiFi, good food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Perfect for a business trip near Nurnberg
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No reason to complain at all.

    Nice and confortable, like home. Great beer, good food, and kind people. Also the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    A family affair.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A family affair. Everyone was friendly and engaging. We felt very much at home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Great small hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent, hotel in a lovely small village, very quiet and about 35 minutes from Nuremberg.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Great one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place.good food.friendly staff.good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Clean room, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Sweet place, cozy and with a great breakfast.
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sweet place, cozy and with a great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice being, I will allways come back.Thank You.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Everything good
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.0
    the property was fair but could get nothing to eat or drink...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to eat or drink on a sunday

    the property was fair but could get nothing to eat or drink on a sunday

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Friendly, clean, excellent Greek restaurant suggested as...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, clean, excellent Greek restaurant suggested as hotel restaurant was closed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.2
    Always a pleasant return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    Nice surroundings, nice staff, supportive owners, a comfortable and intimate location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Felt like being at home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like being at home! Will continue to stay here every time we visit.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Friendly, clean, great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillow were a little on the thin side.

    Friendly, clean, great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    Ok for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff "welcome"...

    Great location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Little hotel gem in Velburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little gem in a beautiful small village. Clean, most friendly and professional owners.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent German Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little hard.

    Excellent food and beer. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Meals were delicious and well portioned.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Only one device per WiFi certificate. I did not ask if additional tokens would be available at no cost, and simply worked around it.

    Meals were delicious and well portioned. The breakfast (complimentary) was extremely fortifying and offered a wide variety to complement any taste. Parking (though limited) was FREE. WiFi was fast and free as well.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    10
    This village and the hotel was a stop-over for me along my...
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was perfect. One remark: though I did not need it during my stay but a fridge could be handy in the room. During summer it is just a must.

    This village and the hotel was a stop-over for me along my long journey. It is nice neat village and an even neater hotel. It is just nice, cosy and charming. The rooms are big and clean, the beds are comfortable. The personnel were friendly and helpful. I would specially like to mention the blond girl who worked on the eve of my arrival. Her kindness and approach made me know right away that I was at a good place. Hope you read this: thank you for your service and above all your smile. I loved it. :) The breakfast was abundant. I loved the cold cut assortiment, and the fact that I could order espresso without having to pay extra. It was a huge plus. I can only recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.6
    A refreshing breath a fresh air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The parking.

    A refreshing breath a fresh air. A little peek into small german town. Was an absolute pleasure can't wait to visit again.And the internet was absolutely great.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.8
    Staff was extremely accomodating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could only connect one wifi device at a time which made business work difficult being that my cell calls were wifi as I don't have an international plan.

    Staff was extremely accomodating. Continental breakfast with eggs made to order and they adjust times to accommodate my schedule. Very friendly atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    Great place for as old as it is, Breakfast always good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed creaked, small ants snuck in the window. limited TV no English need at least one channel News or National Geographic. The old man that always complained when I walked in!

    Great place for as old as it is, Breakfast always good. Wi-Fi is a plus! The hearts of the folks that run the Guest Hof are with God. Neat little village plenty of fresh air. Might come back on the 9th of May hope you have room! Dinners are delicious too!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    7.1
    Clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Reception don`t work on afternoons and night. Strong smell (old oil) on kitchen at entrance. Too old guests. Rooms don`t have hair fans and on a TV you can find only 7 Germans chanels.

    Clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    10
    lovely villlage with its colored houses and beautiful church...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    lovely villlage with its colored houses and beautiful church from 11 st we walked on the top of the hill where the remails of the medieval castle are and got a fantastic view!

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    5.4
    The heat in room was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff unhospitible. Turn me away initially until I showed my confirmation. Doors are locked until check in time. Entrance is through a small restaurant making entrance with even the smallest luggage challenging. Wifi unavailable. Food is practically inedible with limited menu options. I actually shortened my stay as I felt most unwelcome.

    The heat in room was good.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.9
    The front of the hotel is cute and on the small town main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The front of the hotel is cute and on the small town main street. A small sitting area is in front of the hotel by a nice water fountain. Parking is free but on the street or in parking space in front of hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    3.8
    The dinner was good, nothing special but adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was horrible. The mattress was so uncomfortable that it took a long time to fall asleep and I woke up with a sore neck. The mattress was a wood box with about three inches of uncovered foam covered by a sheet. It was the worst night's sleep I have had, it felt like sleeping on a hard, uneven table. Some of the staff were not very pleasant or accommodating. The hotel advertises that they have a sauna for use, but the staff refused to allow the use of the facilities which were included in the room rate. I decided to check out after one night and the hotel's credit card reader was broken. The parking in the area of the hotel was not good. When you stay at a hotel you expect to be treated like a welcome guest and the staff should try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. But this was not the case here. I have stayed at several dozen hotels and hostels in Germany and several dozen in the States as well as all throughout Europe and this was the worst stay by far.

    The dinner was good, nothing special but adequate.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    - Located in a beautiful, peaceful village just off the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!

    - Located in a beautiful, peaceful village just off the motorway. - Very friendly staff, speaking excellent English - Fantastic traditional German meal served in restaurant (schnitzel, spaetzle, sauerkraut) - Very cute hotel dogs (including shih tzu puppy!) kept the children entertained - Substantial breakfast included in price - Large, spotlessly clean 4-bed family room

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    This hotel is excellent for the disabled traveller that are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is excellent for the disabled traveller that are not wheelchair bound as it has lift to most floors , convenient for all local facilities and close to the A3 autobahn. Food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Near the highway, very clean, friendly staff (we arrived at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    none

    Near the highway, very clean, friendly staff (we arrived at 10 pm) and were still able to order dinner, even though the kitchen officially closes at 9 pm, baby friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    Felt like we were staying in the upstairs of one of our...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    I'm a little spoiled when it comes to ironing boards and irons. Those were not readily available and it kind of took me back. It was good for me though because I had to do a little scrambling. Taught me a lesson to be more prepared for that type of situation. Still didn't take away from me staying there again next time I'm in town.

    Felt like we were staying in the upstairs of one of our families homes, yet, had more privacy than you would expect.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, I had a huge room with a queen bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slightly dated décor.

    Very nice hotel, I had a huge room with a queen bed. Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate, and the staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable bed, large room and delicious beer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was very nice, but the Mr owner next morning was unable use my VISA card and was quite nervous. I had to pay cash.

    Comfortable bed, large room and delicious beer.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.5
    * The owners speak English very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    * The room was quite basic. Everything of wood, hardly any decoration or attempt to make it look a littlebit nicer. * When you book a room at booking.com, you have the option of choosing a two person bed. However, this two person bed is only two single beds that are put against eachother. * When you book a room at booking.com, you can ask for room at ground floor or higher level. We choose for higher level, because we don't like people above us with all the noise. Sadly, we were only placed at 1st level and had lots of noice above us from other visitors. * The hotel has a lot of noise from other visitors. We had a family with two children above us, they were jumping on the floor and crying till 23.00 in the evening. You can hear everything next to you, above you and in the hallway. * Check-out time is 10.30, but at 9.20 we had already cleaners knocking on our door to clean our room. Check-in time is 17.00, so it should not be problem to start cleaning a bit later at 10.30 when every visitor is gone. Right?

    * The owners speak English very well. * The owners were very friendly * The breakfast was good. * The evening dinner was payable (<10 euro per person) and tasted really excellent. Compliments to the cook! * The hotel is located in a really nice street/town. We had a great and enjoyable one hour walk after dinner. * It must not be easy to run a hotel like this as a family, day in day out. Compliments to the family for doing so.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.6
    The family oriented atmosphere, and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location of our room

    The family oriented atmosphere, and great staff

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    8.3
    Good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast buffet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast buffet. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    8.3
    great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    great location

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.2
    Very nice, clean and calm place.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very nice, clean and calm place.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.8
    Great food, great beer, pleasant people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free internet, relatively hard bed.

    Great food, great beer, pleasant people

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.8
    A real family enterprise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A real family enterprise. Nice, intimate and quiet location. The hosts are friendly and very supporting.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Gasthof Zum Löwen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: