Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthaus zum Ochsen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstraße 70, 68259 Mannheim, Germany

#4 of 6 B&Bs and Inns in Mannheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 227 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Access to sofa/ tv room on second floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of A/C & small room facing full West for three 80 degree nights was uncomfortably hot. Language barrier perhaps, but desk attendant wouldn’t switch our room.

    Access to sofa/ tv room on second floor. Sons came by to watch World Cup! Enjoyed shady patio with lovely plants & flowers and bakeries & shops down the street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Think of it as a German Gastro Pub with rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think they prioritise their restaurant business over their accommodation - no local maps available, although near a tram stop no info on tram services nor even a route map. In a largely residential area - very downmarket local food - apart from the ice cream parlour - and no other bar you would want to go into alone. A convenient overnight stop but not a destination,

    They have an excellent restaurant so anyone who likes good German food should ensure they reserve a table before arriving,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely guesthouse, lovely staff, lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything that was bad.

    Parking was easy just outside the guesthouse and the staff were welcoming and happy to answer any of our questions. The room was very clean and tidy and had everything we needed. We were on the front side so above the restaurant and outside seating area but it wasn't noisy. We ate at the restaurant on one of our nights and the staff were great and the food was too. We asked about where to take our child and were given helpful advice about nearby playgrounds and which pool to go to. Transport is very good from the guesthouse in to Mannheim and the local shops are nice too. The village is also lovely if you don't want to stay in the hustle and bustle of Mannheim.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.3
    Hotel with carm for a touristic stay- Not convenient for business people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connexion unexistant

    The charm of a typical GASTHAUS from 1632 with a traditional restaurant with atmosphere. Ideal for a short stay on a touristic tour.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    A hotel with a lot of flair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since the very first minute this has been the best surprise of my business trip: I do not like the city of Mannheim very much, but this beautiful Gasthaus lies in an old village which is now connected to Mannheim and has a lot of personality: the old buildings, this Restaurant, the bookstore, etc. The building dates from 1632 and is an absolute beauty, rooms are small (as you would expect from such a building) but cozy and comfortable. It's like getting a bit of that time spirit: it has history and it has flair, a real, deep one. And you HAVE to spend at least an evening in the restaurant: it absolutely deserves it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    The smell of smoking coming form the other rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell of smoking coming form the other rooms...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At that price internet should be free. Charging by the hour is last century.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.6
    Close to SAP arena for conerts and games, very easy route
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Possibly the parking but hey it is free!

    Close to SAP arena for conerts and games, very easy route Spick and span, modern Fantastic restaurant and best breakfast across Germany so far Kind staff, speaks english and knows of booking.com reservations Everything!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    10
    I visited Gasthaus zum Ochsen in May with my husband and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I visited Gasthaus zum Ochsen in May with my husband and parents. The place is fabulous, as are the rooms. I love the location in town--there is plenty to do/eat around. *There is a wonderful icecream place about a 4 minute walk from the guesthouse. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    8.8
    The bed is fine, and that's special, since we are both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The church bells. Every day, every 15 minutes, every hour, it makes me crazy. Church across the street. The boss of this church is a complete nutcase.

    The bed is fine, and that's special, since we are both 1m90+.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.9
    Staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room can be quite loud since the Tram is outside the door.

    Staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, good restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, good restaurant. Cosy place to stay for a friendly price.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: