Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof zum Rassen

Ludwigstraße 45, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

#12 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 614 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    Good location & comfortable bed with hot shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager unsympathetic to my not spotting the check-in hours due to poor layout of Booking.com page. Cost me a nights accommodation after slow communications.

    Good location & comfortable bed with hot shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant was already closed by 9.30 pm in the night I arrived.

    Breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is located in the prettiest street of Garmisch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Traditional house-hotel at a very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not cleaned daily as promised, and the shared toilet did not have a washbasin or even soap. The room did not have a mirror.

    The location was in the beautiful historic part of the old town. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Where not to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church bells directly across the street.....1 ring at every 15, 2 at every 30 min, 3 at 45, 4 every hour with the hour, example 4 midnite plus the 12.(16 total). Every day, every night. No sleep. Staff at day were nice, cooperative while night shift was giving us the impression we were a bother. Had to buy a fan because we closed windows to reduce the noise from church bells across the street. I do not recommend this place if your looking for a quiet meditative alpine retreat.

    Scenery and leaving the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff were great, really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great, really friendly. Plenty of towels & bath soap were provided daily by housekeeping. Good breakfast, no problem with the shared bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    The Gasthof sits directly across the street from a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Gasthof sits directly across the street from a large church that chimes loudly on the hour, half hour and quarter hours. Not at all convenient for a good nights sleep. There was no fan in the room and being on the 3rd floor is was too warm for sleeping. There were plenty of windows to open creating an occassional breeze but did nothing for sleeping. I also felt the food was expensive for the quality. We ate there the first night but not the second. I would not go back, nor would I recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Garmish-Partenkirchen - heart of Bavarian Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price a little bit to high, but as I said location is perfect, so quid pro quo. Room without any view (a wall from another building). But man, why would you travel to such a neighborhood and sit in hotel. It´s also no big deal.

    Staff was really friendly and helpful, everyone who I spoke to, knew English. Restaurant in hotel is also a big advantage, regional dishes, maybe prices a little expensive, but it is by one of the main walking streets in Garmish-Partenkirchen, so what could you expect (I recommend to take 'meal of the day' or sth like this. It was always tasty). Rooms were clean, cleaning every day, we´ve booked room without bathroom, but the shared bathroom was also clean, new towels everyday or even few times a day. For me rooms and beds were comfortable enough. Location primaaaa. Underground garage in the back of hotel (2 minutes by foot), extra cost 15€ pro week or so.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location with not so great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only person in the gasthof was apparently surprised with our arrival (he had to make phone calls to arrange room for us). Not all staff can speak English. The restaurant was not serving anything after 9pm on Sunday (not even a beer). My receipt was miscalculated by several euros - the city tax was doubled (6 euros/night instead of 3) and the upgrade of room turned out to be more expensive than was promised during check-in (12 euros instead of 10 per night). Luckily it all was corrected after my complaint. The rooms had hardly any equipment (there was a tv set and a hair dryer, but no kettle for instance).

    Great location in the quiet center of Ga-Pa. Decent breakfast. Convenient underground parking nearby. The famous church bells were not really disturbing with the windows closed. Wifi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    2.5
    I can not reccomend this to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not like anything With this Place. I was asked if we want a 4 bed appartment With two additional beds instead of the 4 bed appartment + a 2 bed room. of course we assume that we dont need to pay for the 2 bed room that we dont use, but maybe have to pay a 15 euro each night each additonal bed. but Booking/Gasthof zum Rassen take the Money for this 2 bed room from my account even if we had canceled it when we arrived, and Gasthof zum Rassen could rent the 2 beds room to someone else and earn twice. I feel cheated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    3.8
    I never met such unpleasant managers/owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I never met such unpleasant managers/owners. We were asked to pay more than communicated by email. I booked by mistake a room without bathroom and I asked for a room with bathroom. Through the course of 4 months I received only 3 emails, although I sent kind reminders and I was asking for a reply, the owner didn't specify the total cost of the room with the bathroom. At the reception we were asked to pay more based on the fact that the room was actually an apartment and "we usually can put 5 people there, so you have to pay for at least 4 people, 12EUR per night per person". We paid, but this was not communicated by email what so ever. Very unpleasant attitude, no one smiles, food is very very salty and breakfast extremely poor. The bathroom door was not closing properly, the windows the same not closing properly, very old and the cold/wind was blowing through. For a 5 beds apartment there is one small table with 2 chairs. The towels have at least 10 years of usage, considering the aspect. Overall, we had the impression of " we want you out quicker". No one asked if we are fine, no one smiles, very ugly experience. Please save your money and don't go to this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    needs a little more closet space in the very spacious rooms ,which is not really a problem if you don't consider it one. Overall great stay !

    The staff were very friendly and informative, willing to help and put an effort to make you feel more comfortable.The location was exceptional, although facing a church with bells ringing almost non stop, which didn't really bother or desturb us(including the kids).Breakfast Buffet was tasty, eggs made fresh to order,cheeses ,Cold cuts ,Fruits and cereal.Parking was near by. Everything is within 5-10 minutes driving.Overall great experience, would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    Room had views of mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Male staff do not treat visitors in a pleasant manner. Not near train station. Room was cold. Not the best shower; shower head wouldn't stay in a position to shower body. You get charged extra fees when leaving called a city tax.

    Room had views of mountains. Rooms were big. Breakfast and dinner were good. Female staff (who work in the mornings) were nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.8
    Overpriced for underwhelming ammenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was pretty much non-functional and we basically were not able to get on the wifi the entire length of our stay. They also don't have real showers, basically just a bathtub and the slanted roof made it so that you couldn't even stand up straight. What's worse, we booked a room that was advertised as an "Apartment" with a stovetop, fridge, and other amenities, but turns out they didn't even put us in the right room. When we requested the room that we wanted, they switched us, but the stove and fridge didn't actually work.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful magical place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have things like a blow dryer and the towels are like dish towels. But they reminded me of times at Omas house!

    The Gasthof has easy close parking, great food and the room for three people was enormous!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Great value for the money in the heart of Partenkirchen
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should’ve read the fine print so be prepared for hotel charging your CC 10 days before arrival. Don’t forget when you leave you pay a Kurtax in cash and if have Pet its 10€/day also in cash. Only got one key to room. We stayed in apartment 1 which was towards the back and side. Be prepared for 6am musical church bells to wake you up (was fine with us as we needed to hit the slopes). Bells also ring throughout the day/night but it didn’t bother us.

    Location! We stayed between Xmas and New Years when town had 97% occupancy. Fest every night with booths and music, food and drink right out front. Center of Partenkirchen. Parking garage behind hotel always had parking and only 5€ a day and you could come and go as often as you want. Breakfast was great with fresh rolls, bread, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, hard boiled eggs and omelette/eggs to order with whatever ingredients you want, tomatoes/mozzarella, smoked salmon, juices, coffee/tea,etc. Hot water with good pressure, warm rooms and very clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Room was clean, bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was an apartment with a stovetop and a refrigerator. So we expected that they also provided the kitchenware as well, but they didn't. An electric kettle to make some warm tea was missing, would have been nice.

    Room was clean, bed was comfortable. The room we got has a balcon with a wonderful view to the Alpen. Breakfast was great, we enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Inexpensive but sparse lodging in excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sparce but clean, on the top floor with no elevator. The radiator did not work in my bedroom (but luckily did in the bathroom). The fridge in the kitchenette did not work either. Breakfast is served relatively late (starting at 7:30 am) making it impractical for business travelers. No receipt was available at checkout, and two emails to the hotel have failed to receive a response.

    The location in downtown GAP is extremely convenient. Underground (and very inexpensive) parking is available a block away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Pros outweigh cons. I would like to stay there again and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication about parking was difficult, no elevator made carrying luggage a bit of a problem for seniors. Renovations in progress but our room not done.

    Location is awesome, breakfast was fresh and delicious, full restaurant on site

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    A "historical" hotel with a restaurant which offers excellent Bavarian food.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was very good and the atmosphere was quiet. Location right in Partenkirchen - close to the city bus stop. If you have a car, the city parking garage is around the corner - 5 Euros for 24 hours including in/out privileges. Restaurant has a full menu lunch & dinner menu. We always eat dinner here at least once every stay! (We try to come to G-P at least once a year.) The location is quiet but be prepared for the church bells, which we like. In the summer, there are "Bavarian plays" which are worth a visit even if you don't speak German. And, if you do speak German, the plays are in "Bayrisch" which make them even more interesting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.4
    Very good location in the historic center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They seem to have some renovation going. The furniture is very basic and our rooms did not have carpets and electric kettle that the description promised. It took a while of sitting in a freezing room and a couple of trips downstairs before we finally caught someone's attention and had the heater fixed.

    Very good location in the historic center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Cute Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is pay parking in an underground park house behind the hotel and the room could use some upgrading.

    This was our second stay. We liked the location and on site restaurant. We also went to the famous ‘slap dancing’ restaurant a few building down. The staff were very nice as always. The breakfast was good and the restaurant was cute with Bavarian furniture. Last stay we attended the onsite Bavarian theatre which was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, good location and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Provision of shower body-wash and shampoo was a bit basic. No provision for making hot drinks in room (though, strangely, there was a tiny kitchenette in a cupboard).

    Good location. Easy walk from railway station. Room and bathroom mostly OK. Bed comfortable, though pillow too soft for me. Good breakfast. In-house restaurant satisfactory, but several other eating places nearby. Staff mostly very pleasant and helpful, but a couple were quite grumpy on occasions. Good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was wonderful and the beds were cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closer parking is needed

    Breakfast was wonderful and the beds were cozy The town is beautiful and we did a lot of shopping Loved hearing the church bells ringing and your staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Would stay there again. Great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non smoking Apartment was comfortable for the 4 people in our party, and restaurant had great food- especially the locally hunted deer and mushroom dishes, and a simple but very nice breakfast. There is a parking garage around the corner for about 5e a day. Staff is friendly, however if you are someone who likes to be waited on for every whim, you may want to go elsewhere. If you are more on the simple/self sufficient side, you’ll enjoy this little gem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay, would stay at this hotel again.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Wifi connection.

    Rooms were a little dated but clean, it was a plus to have our own bathroom (some rooms have shared bathrooms). Daily breakfast buffet was good. Nice location, near several outdoor activities and downtown. Staff was great. Parking located in parkhaus behind hotel; Parking Fee: 5€ daily (about $6.00 USD). Free Wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable. We will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi a little slow. Radiators were not turned on. It was a bit chilly outside the covers. It does not have an elevator, so reaching the third floor took some efforts with several bags. It was not a burden, but it was an effort.

    Location and views breathtaking from upper floor windows. Good central location for taking the Bavarian Castles tour, Zugspitz gondola, and Oberammergau. The breakfast was excellent, and it was included in the room rate. Eggs to order pleased our group. We had a double room which is great for families. Hosts were very accommodating and solicitous of all our needs. Parking is in an underground garage not associated with the Gasthof, but was close, very nice, and free between 20:00 and 8:00. Five Euro for an all day ticket is extremely reasonable, and very reasonable weekly and extended-stay prices are available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Everything perfect - staff, room, breakfast plus sensational walk to and through gorge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally happy

    Excellent hotel and location. Staff were so helpful and engaged in meaningful discussions. Room modern and very clean. Dinner of Rassenplat" for us two with German dark beer well priced. Walk up through gorge is a must. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Generally very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a very rude waiter Andre who threatened us with the police. When we said call them he backed off and got management involved. Matter was resolved in less than a minute after that. He was exceptionally offensive. Other staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.2
    the location was good , but its not a good room at all , the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i didnt like the price for what i was getting very poor room

    the location was good , but its not a good room at all , the worse i have paid money to stay in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money good location in old part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work. I stayed for 2 nights and got moved to a different room on my 2 nd night. The hotel is opposite a church and the bells rang every 15 minutes through the night making sleep impossible

    Good value for money good location in old part of Partenkirchen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Know what you're getting before you go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description stated a hairdryer would be available, wi-fi in public areas and a shared bathroom. I didn't notice the shared bathroom but saw there would be a hairdryer and thought there was a bathroom in the room. The bathroom was shared on the floor, one shower but 2 toilets, which was helpful. The floor of the shower was not stable and if you stepped in a particular spot it dipped down. The wi-fi did not work on the floor we were on, in the hallway as suggested by staff. The following day we were asked to up grade to a room with our own bathroom for 5€ each (there were 4 of us). We of course jumped on that opportunity and moved up a floor. The wi-fi worked in our room and there was a hair dryer. It seemed as if they try to trick people into paying more after putting them in a lesser quality room to begin with. Not all amenities stated were in the first room but they were in the second.

    The evening restaurant staff was very friendly. The breakfast was good and ready on time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed. Would not return or recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of Gast Hoeflichkeit - hospitality.... This is unusual for hoteliers in this area. No warm Bavarian smiles here...

    The building's exterior murals.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church right beside us rang it's bells every 15 minutes. Not the hotels fault. It was unnerving. My purpose for staying was to climb the Zugspitze. The bells woke me up regularly. Luckily I brought headphones.

    It was clean, comfortable, and the staff was amazing. Breakfast was a fantastic spread with everything you could Imagine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Hôtel just in front of Partenkirchen main church that rings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Hôtel just in front of Partenkirchen main church that rings bells every quarter of hours. The Baurétheater is located in the same building. Family appartement with 5 beds, kitchen facility and bathroom and balcony was very confortable. But on last 3rd floor without elevator. The choice for breakfast was really very good with great fruits and vegetables, boiled eggs, various meat and dairy products. Great selection of teas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.3
    We liked the area of the hotel, however, some staff members could treat guests with more respect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being requested not to use the front door to enter and leave, but to use the side door where the staff go to smoke. Not replenishing breakfast foods during the breakfast hour. I did not get a warm welcoming feeling from this hotel.

    The location and the proximity to attractions was nice. The room was a good size and the facility was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.3
    Worst stay ever..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. When we arrived the reception lady was talking on phone. Looking at us she might have though we do not understand what she was talking but she kept talking (it was not office related)..This is very bad behavior.. 2. Again when we asked for room with kitchen, the reception lady said, all rooms are same and without kitchen...I had already seen other room and where kitchen was available. 3. The reception lady did not even tell us about wifi etc. 4. The rooms did not have any utensils or crockery plates etc 5. The fridge was dirty and was stinking 6. At checkout the lady at reception said with credit card 3% extra..(i dnt know if its true) 7. Breakfast was so so..some items were over and they did not refill.. Should i say more...?

    nothing specific...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    very beautiful artistic drawing on the wall of the building ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy as the church bell rings very early and quite late at night ( just opposite) no refill for breakfast, staff is so busy and they tell us to email invoice /receipt but we never receive it.

    very beautiful artistic drawing on the wall of the building , big windows, nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay in a glorious location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No functional internet. This was difficult for us, but we finally used our phone to create a hotspot so we could use our computer.

    The staff were helpful in helping us with laundry and storage of our rental bicycles. We had an enjoyable stay here and would happily return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    4.6
    Research other hotels first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - beds were very uncomfortable - the price did not reflect the property. We had been in Europe for 23 days and this was our most expensive room for the value. It was overpriced. - No shower - had to sit in the bath tub and use the hand shower. - No top sheets. Just a duvet cover. carpet and decor is very very outdated. - LOUD! The church bells are right across the street. They ring every 15 min. They ring all morning on Sundays and Tuesdays. - They wanted us to pay by debit or cash, when it was stated the take Visa. We had to pay the fees since we used our credit card. -Towels were not hotel towels. They were worn and very rough. - They gave you soap and 3 packages of shower gel. No shampoo. - The room was large, but nowhere to set anything down, unless you placed things on the floor. - Because there was no reception desk, you were pretty much on your own if you needed anything. The hotel is above the restaurant / bar. This hotel needed updating in the worst way.

    The location was great. Our view was amazing from our balcony. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.8
    Read the fine print, crouded and not an apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ad states "bedrooms", so I reserved an apartment with three bedrooms and when we arrived all beds were in one large room, there was kitchen equipment but none worked. Also, in the initial ad Booking.com stated that I could cancel, but once I reserved the system stated I could not cancel.

    Customer service outstanding, location ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.6
    The room is quite spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet which is inconvenient The bed needs some upgrading. We ordered veal for supper and it stinks like nothing. The fee excludes an additional 10euro for service fee and 2euro for each of our family member for the tax. These are all on top of the hotel fee I paid on booking.com

    The room is quite spacious. The location is at the center of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.0
    AVOID!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not friendly. They don't honor the "free welcome drink upon arrival" as promised by booking.com for genius members (which is embarrassing when you ask). We had drinks in the dining room and they insisted we pay for them immediately, despite the fact that we were ordering dinner and wanted to pay for everything at the end. Dinner was just so-so. No elevator. Room was hot in July with no A/C and heavy duvets. Unfortunate "poop shelf" toilets (google if you must). The church bells right next door ring every quarter-hour, all through the night. Breakfasts were okay, but popular items were replenished slowly or not at all (and the cereal was stale). They also overcharged us when we checked out and I had to get my credit card company to dispute the difference. Very disappointed, because our stay wasn't cheap.

    It seemed clean. Location good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finishes are old and dated, but charged 4 star rates. Wifi not available in room, towels are tiny and paper thin, carpets old. Not good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    This one is excellent property I can say and I loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This one is excellent property I can say and I loved the staff over here, They were both courteous and caring. When I reached at the property and was ready to leave for Zugspitze, staff offered me a cup of coffee and bread (at no additional cost) and actually forced me to have it since I had along day ahead. No one will do that, and I personally liked this aspect of their hospitality. Location is bit far from central station, around 15 mins walk, but place is good. There is a museum next to this hotel and a church opposite this hotel. In the evening you can stroll around and have good scenic views in front of your eyes. Food here is excellent, including both breakfast and Ala-carte menu. I had dinner over here only and portion for sumptuous for one person. Breakfast spread was great and it had variety of fruits too. Interior of Hotel is noteworthy and worth exploring. Hotel has a small theater in the premises along with dining option and from what I can understand they regularly have shows there. I would definitely recommend this place to travelers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    2.5
    Midsummer Night’s Dream turns to Midsummer Night’s Nightmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ludwigstrasse is a pleasant street.

    Reasons for my recommendation to avoid the hotel at all costs are: 1) There is no working Wi-Fi, either in the rooms or the public areas – despite the claim that there is. 2) Room décor is tired 1980’s and beginning to look worse for wear 3) Carpets are dirty, worn and beyond rescue 4) The sink in our bathroom was cracked. 5) Breakfast is nominally served till 10.00am – coffee ran out one morning at 09.40 and that was that. No refill possible! 6) Bar service inexplicably closed at 10.00pm for the first two nights of our stay – and then on the third night they were serving meals and beer on the street terrace till 11.30pm. Since we had to keep the windows open as it was so hot, we could hear every word of every conversation. When I went downstairs and asked the head waiter if he could either invite the party inside or offer a me a discount on the room, his reaction was to threaten to keep my luggage in the morning if I did not pay full price at check out. (See Lukshmi S.’s review from August 12, 2015 – where it actually happened to him – must be the same guy they are still employing). When I asked what zum Rassen policy on customer service was he informed me that he wasn’t a slave….really strange. 7) …so basically customer service is nil and the staff are generally unmotivated and rude. There is stuff that the staff can do nothing about but which contribute to a bad night’s sleep in Zum Rassen. The hotel is located directly opposite a beautiful church – which marks the passing of each quarter hour with 1/2/3/4 rings of a bell – and full hours with the full set of “bongs”. At 06.00am there is an additional long, manic ringing of a bell, presumably inviting worshipers to prayer. Which is fine – but not if you are sleeping in a building 15 meters from the bell-tower. Oh – and the babble of a fountain just outside the church is clearly audible through a slightly opened window. Avoid the place – avoid the staff – and have a great time in Garmisch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    A hotel with good location on reasenable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extra fee for Mastercard usage wasn't mentioned in the offer and details, but it was only few percent.

    Nice place right in the city center, the room was furnished with everything needed. Surprise is the "kitchen" in the cupboard

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.4
    Nice view of mountains from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchenette and Refrigerator in the room were non-working. There were no Utensils to make own coffee. Some staff, especially a Lady in typical Bavarian coloured costume was very arrogant.

    Nice view of mountains from balcony. Parking was free Little away from Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    A relaxing and comfortable stay in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was the loudness of the church bells chiming early in the morning - but this was outweighed by the privilege of being in such a beautiful and historic location. If I had known beforehand though, I may have brought ear plugs.

    The property was located on a picturesque street in the old town, with several shops and a few very good restaurants nearby. There is an underground car park behind the Gasthof (just ask for directions). The staff were all welcoming and helpful and the service very good in the restaurant. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.8
    I will not go to this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gentleman welcoming us had a bit of an aptitude( it made me feel not completely welcome). He was not helpful or welcoming and set the tone for the stay. We had a 'very basic room'. not a mirror available (except the small one in the bathroom) and a crapy closet for our clothes with a hole for a faucet in the inside. The bathroom had broken tiles, plastic toilet seat, the water in the shower was hard to regulate (hot/cold), bad ventilation with a poorly working fan...

    the location is great. the breakfast is not bad but not near a WOW. The hotel is very pretty in the outside. Sheets were clean, bed was not uncomfortable, pillows were ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    You'll love this historic downtown location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic downtown location was fantastic! Free breakfast offered large variety and plentiful. Daytime staff were more friendly than evening staff. Close to all of major area attractions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.4
    Good location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "shower" did not allow you to stand up.... Should had to kneel or coach down in order to wash yourself. Bells chime every half hour and are rather loud.

    Good location and breakfast. Spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    5.8
    We were disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was freezing both nights. There was not Wi-Fi in the room. We were charged 5 euros for city tax which was mentioned nowhere in the reservation. It was a disappointing choice.

    The location was very good. It was a pretty buiding.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.3
    The location is good, walking district of Partenkirch side.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room carpet was very dirty... bathroom wasn't that clean. Just wasn't all that great for the price. Have stayed in better for less.

    The location is good, walking district of Partenkirch side. Breakfast was okay, coffee wasn't.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice locality in historical centre, good breakfast, parking place close to hotel. Poor wifi signal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not good wifi connection. Not possible to sit and talk in restaurant after 11.30 p.m.

    Great locality in historical centre of Partenkirchen. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Church's view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos of our room did not show that the shared bathroom is shared between 3 or more rooms on the floor. We thought it will be only for our room. Like in a hut, there was queue for the bathroom, but it was very clean.

    The location, local architecture, the building, restaurant's staff, food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.0
    Good location, great food, poor standards
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in the room did not work which was known by the staff yet nobody told us when checking in! There was only one bathroom between 5-6 rooms. Also no seperate toilet so we had to wait over 40 minutes in the morning while someone had a shower before we could go for a wee!

    Good location and staff were friendly. The food in the restaurant is really good and tasty.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.4
    Garmisch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the lady staff behaviour was not good.( No proper answer for our questions.)and internet facility not available for that day.(but internet fecility also included for our package)

    Breakfast and walkable distance to the railway station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    4.2
    High hopes, but very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no shower, unless you SIT in the bathtub. There internet was non existent. The room was very basic with beds that were soft as rocks.

    The location was good, but not on the main part of Garmish. The continental breakfast was pleasant enough.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay there again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff while not overtly rude were very indifferent to the guests. It seemed like they did not like working there. There was not one pleasant interaction with any of them. It felt like you were bothering them, even to check in! The facilities are old and the rooms while adequate are very basic. You can hear the bells from the church and they start at 0600.

    The room was clean. The shower was good. Good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    5.4
    The breakfast was a good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin: you will hear everything inside and outside the hotel. The internet was on and off; mostly off. Staff were apathetic.

    The breakfast was a good value. The room was big.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    5.4
    Pretty, but would not recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is directly across from a church, that rings its bells every hour...even throughout the night, not to mention the street noise you hear at all hours as well. Additionally when checking in I mentioned I had two small dogs and there was no mention of a pet fee. When I left I was told there was a 9€ per night fee per dog (18€ per night x 3 night stay). This is an atypical charge for Germany as they are typically very pet friendly or the fees are a one time charge. I would not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful Bavarian holiday stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 6a.m. church bells were rather loud for 5 minutes but we were expecting them so it wasn't a rude awakening. No soap in the bathroom.

    Great location at a beautiful guesthouse. We found the staff to be very welcoming and pleasant. Breakfast was good and dinner at the restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    5.4
    I do not recommend.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person who received us and was there for rest of the day seemed to be having a bad day. She was unfriendly and sometimes rude. The bell of the church directly in front has sounded every 15 minutes during the night we spent there. I would suggest anyone to request a room facing the back street instead of the main street. Our room didn't have a shower box or a shower over bath with a curtain. Showering crouched on the bath tub is not my favorite thing.

    Thankfully, we only spent one night. Try the "Drei Mohren" down the street. Might be a better choice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    5.8
    Great location, comfortable and plenty of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work, staff didn't care. It only needed a reboot of the modem but no one knew how or cared. We were very annoyed as we needed the wifi to book next part of our holiday. Staff not very friendly seemed disinterested which was funny as we seemed to be the only ones there, were surprised in the morning when four other people at breakfast

    Great location, comfortable and plenty of room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    5.4
    A little sad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Asked about WiFi and didn't receive it. No hair dryer, asked about the casino that was on the website and told us to go downtown in Garmish. No casino! The t.v. wouldn't work until I asked someone to look at it. He wasn't happy to help us,it seemed. Just a little upset with the way things worked out.

    The beds were great and the location was good too! The housekeeper was great, she was very friendly. The food was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    3.3
    No sleep for 133.20 euros
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right next to the main church which rings every 15 minutes. The street is extremely loud. The 6 a.m. marching band practicing for 30 minutes on the street. The restaurant staff being extremely slow even by German standard. Cold building, door to the room was forced in. The staff overcharged us by putting us in a room we did not book even though the room we had booked was available. No parking. Do not accept credit card.

    Breakfast was outstanding, the room was large and the bedding was good. Beautiful view and great city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Will be our first choice when returning to the beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was excellent! Very close to the activities we were looking for and parking was a breeze!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location, staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, staff are friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.6
    Very noisy the church bills next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy the church bills next door.. couldn’t sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    The church bells too often and too loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church bells too often and too loud.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    The church bells ringing out the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one key to our room.

    The church bells ringing out the hotel. I also liked the number of beds in our room/suite. It held 5 people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Location.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty room,dirty beds,

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean, cosy little hotel without any luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, cosy little hotel without any luxury.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Friendly intimate place to stay in Garmisch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far to walk with luggage from train station.

    Quiet, easy to find, restaurants & shops in walking distance. Family- friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Perfect Location in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The location, great staff, good breakfast, secure parking close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: