Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Zum Stausee

Katzelweg 3, 51766 Engelskirchen, Germany

#2 of 3 hotels in Engelskirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 148 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Interesting Village Hotel with pub
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower gel in bathroom and the towels could be washed with softener, so they feel more fresh.

    A few different buildings belong to the hotel. Good beer and good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Yes! This is a place to return.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little too much of furniture in our room.

    Place is in reachable distance from Cologne. Care from the staff has been super good! For me restaurant seams a bit expensive but all my friends from Germany and Italy told that place is "Super Good" and prices low.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    A good value location with plenty of rustic charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the rustic charm of this guest house. The rooms are not located within the guest house, but are comfortable and clean. All you need for a one-nighter, but also good value for those on a walking holiday. The breakfast provided us with a good choice. All staff were very considerate and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    If I compare this to other hotels, I would say average.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stairs are very problematic, like you are climbing over the mountain. It is very hard to take your baggage up. Also, no dues showers and similar things at disposal. Internet was not always perfect.

    The hotel owner is a great man. He went out to buy mirror for my room, because there was not any inside. I was lucky to get comfortable room, although some of my colleges were not so happy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    Rural location, which is what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was basic but clean. Huge TV but only local TV stations available. We were at the top of the house and the WIFI reception was poor, but we did get free WIFI downstairs in the bar.

    Rural location, which is what we wanted. The owners were helpful and friendly. Good, home-cooked food with daily changing menu using local produce.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. They really made sure our children were satisfied with their food. A somewhat oddly shaped buildning but with lots of charm. Both stay and food were very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice breakfast - great fried eggs
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast - great fried eggs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    GOOD DINNER
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DOES NOT SPEAK ENGLISH, ROOMS MADE FOR SHORT PEOPLE

    GOOD DINNER

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the room was damp and musty dark uninviting the worst for along time

    Nice evening meal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice and friendly owners/staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and friendly owners/staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    great stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent friendliness by staff, homely atmosphere, good all round.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    9.2
    Good-mooded and friendly staff, nice old house with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mattress was a bit worn (in the center was a "valley"). No soap and such stuff in the bathroom.

    Good-mooded and friendly staff, nice old house with atmosphere, good working internet connection, home-like environment.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    7.9
    Very nice Owners.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice Owners. Gasthof is located in beautiful, quite place. It was clean and cozy. You can eat very good traditional German dishes and drink a local tap beer in the owners bar.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    We were travelling from england, it was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were travelling from england, it was just perfect. The hospitality, the people, the accomodation. We were only there for one night and fitted our needs.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.3
    We arrived early & the owner very kindly let us have our...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    absolutely nothing

    We arrived early & the owner very kindly let us have our room.We were very comfortable and everything was delightful.Space to park the van.lovely dinner and splendid breakfast.I would love to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    6.3
    No WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No WiFi

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.9
    We stayed overnight only.
    • Family with young children

    Problematic wifi, hard to connect.

    We stayed overnight only. Friendly and welcoming.staff, gasthaus located in countryside area with forests around.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.3
    great staff very senic lovely countrysidel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    not wheelchair friendly but our own mistake

    great staff very senic lovely countrysidel

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.8
    The owners were very friendly and helpful.
    • Couple

    No bad experience at all.

    The owners were very friendly and helpful. Very nice surrounding, woods close by.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: