Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof zur Post Oberwirt This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Laimgruber Strasse 5, 83339 Chieming, Germany

#3 of 3 hotels in Chieming

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 421 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Size of rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning would be good in Summer Time. A safe in the rooms is missing. Also for my parents who are a little older, the way up to the hotel in summer heat was a little struggle. But there is nothing the hotel can change.

    Size of rooms. Breakfast Restaurant Beer garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Bike-friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet didn't work in Suite A. There's quite some noise from the street.

    Breakfast was nice. We were also welcomed with a refreshment on that hot summer day. Bikes were stored safely. Beds were comfortable. The rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The space was big and comfortable, and the breakfast had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not access the internet from our room which was on the top floor.

    The space was big and comfortable, and the breakfast had a great range of food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Traditional hotel near Chiemsee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather dated. Noisy, right by main road with noise at night. Staff were ok but not particularly welcoming.

    Large room, good shower, 10 mins walk from the lake. Pretty good breakfast. Locked garage for our bikes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    OK, if you just want to have a bed for the night, nothing more to expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The was no personal contact with the Hotel. When we arrived the keys where left at the desk for us. Nobody there to talk to and answer questions/ give orientation. Breakfast was a total nightmare as there were no eggs and quality of food was poor. In general very few personel at the Hotel. In the morning one lady managerd check-outs and breakfast and was very stressed.

    Location was good when you want to spend one or two nights in Chieming and want to spend some time at the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Spacious rooms for family with 3 kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parts of the property (backside, parking area) could do with a bit of a clean-up.

    Spacious rooms for family with 3 kids. Great location close to motorway (A8) and Chiemsee. We ate one evening in the restaurant, good food and service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Okay place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really don't have any complaints. It was an okay place to stay; I just thought it was a little too expensive for what I got. I did notice the photos of the bathroom are different than what was actually in my room. Doesn't matter to me, but someone should update the info.

    I thought the breakfast was great. Typical German breakfast, but it seemed to better than most places. Other than that, there was nothing noteworthy about this hotel. I even had to go back and look at the photos of the room, because I couldn't recall staying here... even though it was only 3 nights ago. Everything about this place was average for me, but it was a little too expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic hotel, just ask for a room away from the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had faced the street, which we thought was a local road likely to be quiet from 9pm onwards. We were wrong. There were trucks, buses and cars using the road all night.. Being a warm night, we needed air and due to no air conditioning, we opened the windows, which made the vehicle noises louder, so we closed the windows and got hot (vicious cycle).

    Room was generous, well equipped and clean. The breakfast buffet was amazing; again generous and always topped up

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    close to the lake without a view and noisy place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's an hotel with opening hours, no permanent service t reception, no view to the lake and close to main road (Noisy)

    it's an hotel located at 2 minutes by car from the lake, breakfast ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    Everything fine however, bad internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the internet did not work in our room what is a must nowadays.

    Nice room and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good location to visit Chiemsee area and their islands, including Herreninsel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of elevator - our apartment was at the second floor.

    Very large, comfortable family room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and charming old-fashioned hotel in a delightful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and charming old-fashioned hotel in a delightful little village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Some of the motivated people working there, walking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the motivated people working there, walking the extra mile to satisfy the costumer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Sehr grosses Appartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sehr grosses Appartment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    We missed a fridge in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed a fridge in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Convenient and pleasant place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation on busy road, but the area is generally afflicted with too much traffic.

    Very comfortable rooms, pleasant restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    perfect for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice breakfast , nice location less than 10 min to the lake, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    friendliness & catering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillows!

    friendliness & catering

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    - large room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - breakfast - no fridge in room

    - large room - very clean - bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed and it was not announced on web page.

    Nice rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.2
    Close to the lake, but not on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I remember the kitchen closes at around 9 pm, if you’re planning to arrive late.

    Close to the lake, but not on it. (a few minutes walking/jogging) Renovated modern interior, but keeping true to a Bavarian feel. Found the bathroom arrangement exceptional among hotels. If you don’t find a parking space, there are a lot more behind the next building (all free).

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    I very foolishly booked for the wrong day, and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I very foolishly booked for the wrong day, and the staff were lovely, managed to change the booking even though it was very late at night and they had to put me in a 3 person set of rooms. The rooms were also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.6
    Excellent family room with great bathroom and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Reception is somewhat unwelcoming being round the back of the car park and was closed when we arrived around 3 pm. Although they had left the keys and we had ready access to the room. A kettle would be good.

    Excellent family room with great bathroom and shower. Good and popular restaurant which is just as well because there is little or nothing else in Chieming itself. Quality of the food was amongst the best we had in a fortnight in Bavaria and the owners were very helpful indeed. Accommodation was the best we had Bavaria.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.3
    Lovely clean room
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Could not have windows open at night, very noisy road, Meals are a bit of a joke unless you can read German. No English version so you have no idea whats on offer. Breakfast is worse, was the second day before another couple informed us there was hot food available on request, but of course when I asked, the waitress just looked at me as I was talking in a language she had never heard.

    Lovely clean room

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    We were delighted with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We never managed to connect to the internet anywhere throughout the building. It wasn't urgent but would have been helpful.

    We were delighted with our stay. Our suite was spacious, well appointed and scrupulously clean. The staff, especially Thomas, were always friendly and helpful. The food was delicious! We would have no hesitation in staying there again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    Nice location to stay at the Chiemsee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice location to stay at the Chiemsee. Room was big and excellent, nicely decorated. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    4.6
    I stayed only 1 night)).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Totally overpriced, breakfast unimpressive.

    I stayed only 1 night)). Wifi worked well. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.3
    Family room was an apartment with 2 rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room faced on to road so there was vehicle noise.

    Family room was an apartment with 2 rooms. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Bedrooms like suites so big .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing!!!!!

    Bedrooms like suites so big . Very good restaurant with good food very reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.2
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very warm room. On a main road so very noisy with windows open

    Very clean Bright Lighting Great wifi Nice beds Lovely food Helpful Staff

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: