Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof zur Schweiz

Quergasse 15, 07743 Jena, Germany

#31 of 39 hotels in Jena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 625 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    It is located in the center of the city and one can easily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (1-4 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connection was really bad in the room and we basically can't use it at all.

    It is located in the center of the city and one can easily get around.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    3.3
    No friendly welcome, host seemed to be annoyed - and frankly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No friendly welcome, host seemed to be annoyed - and frankly, there was no reception - it was the counter-top at the bar in a dark restaurant room where no restaurant operation/ service was available at any time. I had to enter the hotel mainly at a side door with an extra key where again, no lighting was available inside and outside. In the evening I felt uneasy and unsafe. The bathroom was old and dirty, the shower calcified and unhygienic. The towels were worn out, ragged and smelly. No WLAN available - only with deposit and upon request. I guess the price I paid was mainly because of the location of the hotel and absolutely not the accommodation/service itself. I would definitely NOT choose the hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.0
    Calm and tidy place to relax in the evening and rise in the morning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge, no kettle - these simple things would make it much better. Wi-fi access codes, one per device - not really convenient.

    Really friendly host, without a feigned smile. I felt welcome every morning at the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Good guesthouse in Jena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and associated toiletries could be improved i.e. better toiletries and supplies and a makeovrr maybe. A bit noisey in our room as we had to keep the windows open due to no A/C.

    Don't let the negatives put you off... This is a great guesthouse with large tidy rooms. A great breakfast is supplied and the place is 2 mins from a load of good restaurants. Yes it could be modernised but overall a good place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    It had a very clean room, I an excellent spot next to...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the internet connection was extremely slow, even the youtube videos lug. The shampoos were few, not enough even for my body, I can't speak for my very long hair...I didn't ask for more so I don't know if you are able to have.

    It had a very clean room, I an excellent spot next to everything in the town. The breakfast was pleasant and available for long time. The staff were helpful and keep my luggage for hours because I arrived to the town very early in the morning,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Cozy place in an excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms seem not to be soundproofed very well. My neighbour was coughing rather severely, and on the first evening a gentleman in some other floor attempted singing opera arias - while this is certainly not the responsibility of the hotel, everything could be heard quite well in my room, unfortunately. My bathroom was quite cold (solved it by leaving its door open during the day). WiFi access is a bit annoying - had to type in the username and password every time I opened my iPad.

    Excellent location (a few minutes of walk from the city center). Very good buffet breakfast, served from 6:30 on. Room was nice and comfortable, a joy to stay in. Photos provided by the owners do not do the place justice, so I added my own to this review :-) Despite not beeing a classical hotel with a 24h reception, everything was running smootlhly and mostly by a single employee. WiFi in my room worked well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.0
    It was okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Apartment (1-4 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite shabby, could really do with a refurbishment. It was apparent it last got a makeover in the 1990s. There was a broken chair, the taps were full of limescale, the matresses could be replaced. The was no mirror in the room apart from the tiny thing over the sink and the bathroom was really cold in the morning.

    Location was close to the uni and city centre. Room was quite spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice room but cold for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quadruple room under roof was very cold. Bathroom facilities were very good but not well maintained, shower sink was clogged and ventilation was not working. Too many stairs might be an issue for some. People were doing their job right but lacking smiling, perhaps something cultural.

    Room was spacious and beautiful. Breakfast was relatively good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    2.5
    I was very disappointed with this stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of things was disappointing: both receptionists were rude, unfriendly and not helpful - the female receptionist told me to take the taxi because she cannot speak English to help direct me to the hotel (my internet was so slow/not connecting). Confusing reception office (nearly look for another place to stay when no one answered the door, I have to call them on the phone while in front of the door); the duvet smelled like a man has just used it; there was a hairdryer but no outlet in the bathroom to connect it with (good I found 2x1.5m extension cords - connected them both just barely reaching the cord for hairdryer). I didn’t take the breakfast that was included with the stay because the same receptionists were looking after the breakfast - with the same demeanor, grumpy.

    The only likable thing is the location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.0
    never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    help with internet very very bad internet and no solution was sold including breakfast still had to pay extra very bad communication on what to do once you found your key to the room in a dark ugly place behind industrial iron gates lettertype on pass word etc for internet was very small (5?) I could not read it

    quiet place nearby city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Good location, walking distance to restaurants, but must speak some German.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great pick of you don’t speak some German. Not many people on the staff could speak much English and it was hard to communicate about parking instructions. The woman I spoke to on the phone was audibly annoyed with me for not understanding her.

    Breakfast was nice. Great variety of food and everything was delicious. Hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to restaurants and pubs in town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and Central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was large and comfortable with a large bathroom (shower - no tub). I was surprised that the bed was only a twin, not a double, but it was comfortable none the less. The Wifi connection was good, the only hassle is that you need to log back onto the network every time it's inactive. Also, you need to request a second code if you want to connect more than one device. Breakfast was tasty, with a spread of cheeses, meats, breads, fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals to choose from. Also teas, cold milk and drip coffee. Great location close to the University.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is in Ebnet, right by a bus stop (#18) and is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom fixtures were old and the room's carpet was covered in stains and could do with being replaced.

    The hotel is in Ebnet, right by a bus stop (#18) and is about a 20 minute walk from the Bahnhof Freiburg-Littenweiler. There is great jogging/biking path along the river, about 5 minutes from the hotel. I was pleased with the early check-in and late check-out times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Charming place in the centre of Jena
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi is free (somewhere I read it wouldn't be), but you have to sign a waiver before accessing it. It is also not very fast, playing youtube videos was a drag, not to mention other services I needed for work (I switched to mobile connection at one point).

    The location is excellent, you hardly can be closer to the city. The place has charm although it might seem dated for some people. The people running the place were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Right in the middle of the old town restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff had weak English skills so it was not a warm welcome by any means. No public transport directions to the guest house made finding it a little tricky at first.

    Right in the middle of the old town restaurants and bars. A reasonable 15 walk from the railway station. The breakfast was really comprehensive and of a high quality!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Not a good experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the first hotel where I stayed that had dark sheets and dark pillow cases! The place felt uncomfortably dingy! I am usually a flexible person and can deal with different situations, I found this hotel to be the worst hotel experience of my years of traveling.

    Nothing good about this place, has to be avoided like the plague!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was, as usual in Germany, quite good and and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air conditioning would have been nice during those hot days.

    The breakfast was, as usual in Germany, quite good and and we would most certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Family/ business trip
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (1-4 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    complicated check-in when arriving late - difficult parking the restaurant on property actually closed in the evening so had to go out - but that was a great experience free wifi didn't really work lady at the reception was a bit abrupt, but that might just be a different style compare to UK where everybody is over polite

    great location - close to centre, restaurants and pubs excellent local breakfast good communication

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.0
    The wifi was of poor quality and the rooms were cold
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was of poor quality and the rooms were cold

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi... common guys its 2018

    Easy back door entry

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.8
    I liked the place close to the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff might be more pleasant. I missed jug kettle.

    I liked the place close to the center. Also the furniture and old style was quite nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.5
    If you are looking for a standard business hotel, then this is not it.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairways are not brightly lit.

    NA

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was pretty good very near to the city centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.8
    We had so much better hotels all other the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    unfriendly staff while coming in

    Near to the inner town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    beds where comfy
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels smelled like they have been washed ages ago and stored for a long time.

    beds where comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    very nice breakfast spread
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very nice breakfast spread

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Very slow internet, sometimes WiFi simply does not work
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very slow internet, sometimes WiFi simply does not work

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    My Parent's First Visit to Jena
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed the stay.

    The staff were very friendly and happy to help during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.2
    Poor wi-fi speed/range
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wi-fi speed/range

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.2
    bad wi-fi on the upper floors
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (1-4 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad wi-fi on the upper floors

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather outdated interior

    Great central location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    6.3
    Old fashioned but large room, Quite good breakfast :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned but large room, Quite good breakfast :-)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    6.3
    Location, room was large and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi had to be paid for, would have liked parking as l had to keep feeding a greedy parking meter, a permit would be useful. Wifi was not the best at €5

    Location, room was large and clean

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    7.9
    Traditional German hotel/guest house.
    • Family with older children

    No lift! Not suitable for anyone with mobility issues

    Traditional German hotel/guest house. Very comfy apartment style room on the top floor (no lift) convenient location and very good continental breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.2
    It was close to the university and the general CBD.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There were no ironing facilities or kettle to boil water or make hot beverages with.

    It was close to the university and the general CBD. Was in close proximity to all major amenities without the need for public transport. Very spacious room that I got!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    I really liked the room which was large enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If they can open the reception desk a bit more (e.g. 20:00), it is more convenient.

    I really liked the room which was large enough. Also, they served a variety of food for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Excellent value for money, very hard to beat on price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to pay for WiFi but didn't use it as it was the same price as a europass for data on phone and could use it anywhere. Parking is limited, beware times of on street parking, we got a ticket early on Monday morning as we were preparing to leave. For those used to the German parking system or speak German it wouldn't be a problem.

    Excellent value for money, very hard to beat on price. Perfect location for town centre only a 2 minute walk from Jena Tower.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Close to University.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to University. Excellent breakfast. No need to talk with any staff (my key was in mailbox, room was large and clean). Good value for the price (it is not 4 star but a solid B&B)

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    7.1
    Staff friendly, clean, central to Jena no need for buses,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dont do beer in the bar! Pillows need replacing, Some free shower gel would be useful.

    Staff friendly, clean, central to Jena no need for buses, large room. We were a group playing football in the town- staff not phased.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    9.2
    The room was very quiet and warm, with clean bathroom with a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is rather bare, to be honest, and it could do with a bit of cheering up. The table was very low (a coffee table actually), thus working on my laptop was very uncomfortable. The reception is unmanned after 18:00, which means one has to arrive earlier than 18:00, or else let the hotel know so that they can arrange your entry (I arrived by an earlier train, so I'm not sure how well this late check-in works).

    The room was very quiet and warm, with clean bathroom with a nice shower. The bed was comfy, although only twin-size. The paid wifi was strong and stable, and for 5 EUR one can have unlimited use. The location is great, directly by the center in a quieter side street. The actual center was a 5 min walk, the main train station 10 min. The staff was professional. The breakfast was included in the price and was fresh with good selection.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    great room, great breakfasts, and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great room, great breakfasts, and perfect location

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    Great location and well worth the price for a small family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No elevator to get up to the top floor.

    Great location and well worth the price for a small family of four.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    atmosphere, the staff and others
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    atmosphere, the staff and others

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.9
    large clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    noisy bathroom fan

    large clean room

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    7.9
    Location near to restaurants, city life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise - road, revellers, train, glass recycling

    Location near to restaurants, city life

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast, great value, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast, great value, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    Location, breakfast, staff, cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    toilet paper was more like sandpaper, but it seems to be the standard in Germany

    Location, breakfast, staff, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    5.4
    Location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Curt, unhelpful staff; (paid) wifi did not work; miniscule parking spaces

    Location; good breakfast

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: