Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gelber Hof

Blücherstraße 26, 55422 Bacharach, Germany

#7 of 8 hotels in Bacharach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 31 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not very clean, very old and worn

    Free European breakfast, meat/cheese, breads, yogurt, boiled eggs. Location is very close to the train station, it had a lift! Great service by staff. Loved the location/town, felt safe, free luggage hold.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you're sensitive to noise, bring your ear plugs or ask for a room that's not facing the street.

    Very friendly owners who just took over the place. They went to buy oat milk for breakfast, since we're vegan. For non-vegans the breakfast was pretty extensive, typical hotel breakfast but with lots of choices. The hotel has a very special vibe. Some would say it's outdated, but I liked it. It's like travelling back in time. Location is very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not working in the room. The place could do with a bit of an upgrade.

    Set in a lovely small almost medieval town. Room basic but fairly comfortable. Basic breakfast. Safe place for my bicycle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water at the hotel. WiFi did not work, no electricity downstairs, therefore only cash payments possible. We had to clean our breakfast table by ourselves as there was no clean breakfast table ready for us. If you are a student looking for cheep and cheerful- book it! otherwise -look for a better option!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We absolutely loved this place. The desk clerk spoke very little English which made it even more fun. He was so sweet and helpful as can be. The little rooms are very basic but had very comfortable beds. We had five family members and needed 3 rooms. The cost was very economical and exactly what we needed. The little town of Bacharach was our little dream place as we explored the rest of the town after getting off of a Rhine cruise. We had a lovely dinner in the town and a beer in the quaint little bar along with a complimentary birthday vodka for one of our party. We LOVED this place!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    What a charming apartment. The location is quiet and woodsy and the apartment is very spacious with a beautiful view! It helps to know in advance that it is situated in quite a remote location...However the energy is really great. The owner and staff was also very nice and accommodating. I would return if I ever go to that area again

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were arriving after check-in hours and later than planned. We sent an email to make sure the staff was aware. When we arrived the gentleman berated me for not calling and was quite rude. No breakfast was offered, but I was instead asked when I would be leaving...

    Location was great and the price was right.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The reception closes at night and you may get in trouble for late check-in. If you have not booked an extra bed in advance, the owner will not allow a child over 3 years in the same room, not even if you pay for it and put him/her on an existing bed. The owner was extremely rude and did not speak any English, only German. Credit cards not accepted. An awful experience.

    The village of Bacharach is charming and there are many castles around, besides the fantastic view of the Rhine. There are many hotels and you certainly will find another place much better than Gelber Hof.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was fine. nothing was great though. Also, if it counts, I got short changed €5 euro. Just created one of those awkward situations.

    Was okay. Nothing special, good price, town is so small so it was easy to find. Large balcony - that was nice. Got to upgrade to a room with private bathroom for €4 extra.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Booking site clearly stated that credit cards were accepted but the proprietor became unfriendly and aggressive, demanding cash only (which we did not have) at the time of payment.

    Conveniently located right down town in charming Bacharach. They were happy to store and secure our luggage for the day after checkout while we went on a river excursion.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room. With our two suitcases we had a tight spaces getting around the bed.

    Location was good for what we wanted to see along the Rhine. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel had no charm or ambiance. Then at the desk was very rude. The lobby was dark and uncomfortable. While the rooms were clean, the felt institutional - like a sparse dormitory. To make it worse the town was delightful and there were charming inns on every corner.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi did not work. parking is a bit over 2 blocks away. not an issue unless weather is bad, or you have a lack of baggage or health issues. appeared to only have 1 shower for many rooms, worse ratio than other inns i have stayed at. it didn't appear to be busy while i was hear so this was not an issue. breakfast not included.

    very quiet place. charming outside.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I couldn't log onto the wifi, staff didn't have the best English, but my German isn't very good either.

    Good location, basic but done the job.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! Right in downtown, not too far from the train station, comfortable beds, a small bar at the ground level of the hotel, friendly staff, super clean!

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wi-Fi connection, which was available only in the reception area, did not allow connection with internet. The staff attempted unsuccessfully to remedy this. I went to a nearby café and used their Wi-Fi connection.

    Our tandem was kept in a safe place during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We did not have any bad experiences while staying here.

    The staff was very helpful in that they allowed us to store our bags on-site for free after we had already checked out. This was a big relief because we packed a bit too much. In addition, it was reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only problem was that it was very hot in the room (there is, of coruse, no a/c), but when we opened the windows, we found out that our room faced the road, which was if not extremely busy, but still quite loud at times, even at night.

    Very nice hotel, located in the heart of charming Bacharach, with very friendly staff. The room was spacious and clean, breakfast buffet - plentiful and very fresh.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cluttered interiors. This place seems way past its prime. There was a strange smell in the hallway. Everything seemed out of fashion. Like something from the 50s.

    The hotel was in a great location and seemed pretty cool. Breakfast was standard but good.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Getting locked out at night because they didn't give me a key. Not getting the room upgrade that was promised by Booking.com. Very uncomfortable bed.

    Nothing...

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The gentleman at the desk (I assume the proprietor) was not very friendly, and became visibly annoyed because I could not speak German when asking for directions as to where to park our car. My two sons actually attempted to ask some other questions about the area in German (they each had taken at least 5 years in high school/college), and he was even nastier to them. Sorry, but if you own a hotel in a town that caters to international tourists, you shouldn't be annoyed because they don't speak your language. Also, the hotel decor was older and run down (especially the bathroom, which did not have a hairdryer), but it was clean. I can't complain much for the price we paid, but we encountered much better value (and nicer staff) in other hotels during our trip.

    Location of the hotel on a main street near the center of town was great.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Manager was rude as we left and insisted on cash payment (or the German EC card which as foreigners we didn't have) instead of the credit card the site says is acceptable. The site should state if this hotel doesn't accept credit cards - people can then be prepared. Street noise may be an issue for some.

    Good location in the centre of picturesque Bacharach. Walking distance to cafes and restaurants. No steep roads but it is opp a church and on a main street that goes up into the hills. This may bother someone who wants a quiet stay. The room was spacious and clean with everything we needed. The only staff we saw was a male manager who, on arrival, greeted us warmly and spoke English. He took my bike to the locked garage next door and then took my paniers up to the room. I was impressed with this and thanked him profusely. We declined breakfast when asked (we normally brunch somewhere unless breakfast is included). Next morning we went to pay and my companions offered a credit card. The manager was extremely rude and dismissive telling them to go next door to the Volksbank and get cash. He then refused any further engagement of conversation. Sad that this was the same helpful person we encountered on arrival. No idea why, but it soured what would otherwise have been a glowing reference for this hotel. He may have been having a bad day but this is not something paying guests should have to share in. Despite that, I would not discount this hotel as the location and value-for-money makes it attractive. Just be prepared to pay in cash.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No credit card accepted even though not mentioning on the website.Parking is very far but website did not say that.A little misleading.

    Location,Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    There was a sign (sticker) on the frontdoor, that I can pay with masterCard but the owner said that I can pay only with German IC-card, It was noisy too.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I loved that there was an outdoor terrace attached to the room. Very cozy place. I would stay again (after I learn more German, the staff doesn't speak English, but they were very nice).

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Or room was adjacent to one of the main roads through town and was quite noisy into the night. The rooms were a bit dated, but this is an old place.

    Bacharach isn't very big, but the Hotel Gelber Hof is well-situated to get around town and access nearby hiking. One of our favorite things was the wonderful breakfast. Although we had some difficulty communicating with the staff (English to German), they were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How unfriendly the hotel manager is?! When we were going outside to take a walk after breakfast at about 9am, the manager ran to us and told that we had not paid the hotel fee!! You know, the check out time is at 12nn. After a walk, we checked out at 11am and paid the money. Since we had three baggage, my husband left first for his car. While I was waiting for his back, the management asked me to wait outside!!! I told him my husband would be coming back in two minutes (the parking slot we used was introduced by him, it was just 200 metres from the hotel!). The manager still asked me to wait outside because he was going out and to lock the door!!! Old fashion room with no facilities--- tv set in out-of-service mode, no hairdryer. Nothing extra they could offer!!!

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was great, but at 8 euros I thought it was a bit steep.

    Staff, location, price, cleanliness. The complimentary bottle of water was a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We tried to book for the next night and they were full....I should have booked for 2 nights..

    Very Friendly, clean rooms, the owner went out of his way to watch Fifa ladies soccer in the pub in on a larger TV and helped find bikes to rent.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Common bathroom in nasty - luckly I was able to use barthroom i co-trawellers room. Bed and door were making terrible noises when moving. Noone cared about washing sink in the room for 4 days of my stay. Manager hardly speaks English.

    Very good location. Stuff was helpful (however did not speak much English). Some rooms are redecorated and look fine (however when you get room with possibility to have extra bed, then this bad is old and changes overall rating of the room).

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints - the decor is arguably very dated, albeit spotlessly clean. In general everything was super. We really enjoyed our stay and it was amazing value for money.

    Alexander runs a fantastic hotel in the middle of beautiful Bacharach - well organised, centrally located and during the evening we enjoyed a fantastically welcoming and atmospheric bar. While we were there, our host even lit the fire which only added to the convivial, friendly atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was really friendly and helpful. Amenities were great too. It was our first night in Germany coming from the USA and it was perfect for that. The late check out at noon was really nice to allow us time to be slow in the first morning there as we adjusted. We didn't take advantage of breakfast because of this but we did use the free wifi. We would stay again in another visit.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The town is very cute and quaint. Hotel was in a great location and the staff was exceptionally accommodating. Fun and cute tavern bar downstairs. The excellent service made up for the outdated decor and facility.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Feels a little bit cold in the room

    It was the first night since we arrived at Germany. The place is in great location and is accomodating. The host is very friendly and helpful.The price was very reasonable. In general, it's a wonderful experience living here.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was perfect for our needs and the staff went above and beyond our expectations to make our stay a great experience. They even served us an early breakfast on the third day so we could get an early start to catch our flight home.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly Staff in the hotel Hotel Room was very clean Good Breakfast Good Location Reception staffs were very helpful all the time and were very kind, easy going, helpful to guests. Nice wine house nearby hotel Parking close to the hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is excellent. The city itself is small but beautiful, and it is very easy to travel around the valley from there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. In particular, they told us not to worry about the 1pm checkout deadline. The stay was very good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was large and clean. The breakfast included a variety of meats, cheeses, fruit, and bread, among other things. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is 5 minute walk from the parking lot and to restaurants. A great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit old and run down building, but OK for the price.

    Excellent location in the centre of Bacharach, nice personal, good breakfast, and excellent price quality ratio.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free parking

    It was a perfect location at a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner Alexander is very attentive and kind. The breakfast is great! I will return to staying in this hotel , surely.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower could've been hotter.

    Location is great. View from the balcony was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small but nice room with all facilities

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good locations,big room, friendly staffs and warm feeling in surrounding

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excella location, friendly staff and amazing breakfasts! Definitely would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hand-held showerhead fell off in my hands. Made for a difficult shower! Parking was a problem.

    Great location, good service, great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great staff and location Price was great and rooms were clean

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    perfect location, friendly management, good value, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the single room was newly renovated and the smell was not good rooms are too small

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work at all and staff could not really speak English to try and assist

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Owner was easily annoyed when I didn't understand him, though he was much nicer the following morning. Room wasn't the nicest.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very pleasant. Great nights sleep.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car parking

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location! Breakfast was delicious! Comfort!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely building in central location full of paintings, etc.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Old building with pokey rooms and tired sparse furniture.

    Best WiFi connection we experienced in Europe and free.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work well & the owner insisted we pay cash.

    The bed was comfy & the room was an ambient temperature.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no air-conditioning.

    location and the host

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owner was very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms were large, clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    relaxed and friendly with a lovely breakfast in bright friendly dining room; cheerful helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good location close to train station and boat stop. Very clean and comfortable room. Awesome breakfast and friendly/helpful stuff.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very good location, clean, close to hiking trails

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Easy walking to everything. Nice breakfast and rooms. A little outdated, yet you really felt you were in Germany. I'd stay again!

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Couple

    Small rooms

    Bacharach is wonderful and the hotel is a good way to live this.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cramped bathroom,

    excellent location, helpful host. Value for Money

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    not accepting credit cards. Coffee not available early in morning anywhere. 8:00am is too late.

    everything

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the rhine ferry cruise from Bacharach to St Goar and bike riding from Bacharach to Bingen. Absolutely beautiful german village.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big rooms, price, location in a beautiful village, friendly hosts

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good clean room; excellent breakfast; fantastic location.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is awful

    The location

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: