Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gerberhaus This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Spitalgasse 25, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 492 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Setting, the garden, option of private parking and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception or bar available from fairly early evening onwards. We even had to assist some new guests in finding the rear entrance to the hotel in the dark. Breakfast was only fair and if late down choices were more limited.

    Setting, the garden, option of private parking and the character of this family run hotel in a beautiful town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Loved everything about this hotel and would come back again in an instant. I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only tiny little thing would be the mattress was a little firm for my soft Aussie body

    Quaint, lovely, and very clean. A gorgeous hotel with great breakfast and so close to everything. If we return to Rothenburg we would definitely stay here again. loved it! Did I mention the great breakfast...?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was confusing.

    Wonderful staff. The bed broke in our assigned room after 9pm. Proprietor was still on site and gave us a free upgrade. Excellent service, we were very pleased. Great location near shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Eventhough I preferred accommodation with easy access due to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eventhough I preferred accommodation with easy access due to my physical handicap (artificial hip and knee) we got a room on the third floor. In my opinion we booked well in advance (approximately 3 months) for the hotel to able to arrange this. The hotel charged full price for accommodation on my card, eventhough based on the information on booking.com they may charge upto 50% deposit only. When I asked, I got no explanation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Good Stay Spoilt by Parking Cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit surprised by the 10 EUR per day car park charge by the hotel- didn’t see this mentioned on the Booking.com site. After we left the hotel I rechecked and in fact it says parking free of charge!!! Feel a bit ripped off now.

    Great location inside the old city wall. Not a bad breakfast. Very clean room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed this spacious apartment located in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to watch something on TV but found that it is not connected to any TV service. The wifi is unsecured and the signal is not very strong.

    We enjoyed this spacious apartment located in the heart of this charming walled city. The staff are very friendly, if a bit disorganized.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Great Base for Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, No. 6, was directly over a seating area and overlooked a courtyard, neither was a problem unless in use by loud groups. While we were there it was hot so shutting windows was not an option. One night was noisy - the next perfect peace. The other issue with this room is that people walking down the corridor cause the bed to shake - disturbing if you are trying to sleep.

    The location of the hotel is perfect. It is within the a old town walls, within easy walking distance of the centre but away from the coach tour hot spots. When quiet the room was idyllic with views of the old wall and about enclosed courtyard. The staff were helpful and friendly. It should be noted that the most direct approach by car is through one of the old defensive gates to the town. A bit narrow and daunting if not expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    A real gem, we’ll never forget it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in a Fairytale village. We only had one night, we could easily have spent two nights there. We didn’t have time to walk all the fortress wall. We ate a good meal in rear beer garden just up the road. The German wheat beer was good at a pub overlooking the old cathedral. We where really glad we got to experience Rothenburg

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    This hotel is really a part of the old town of Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking at the hotel is a bit involved because cars from different customers block one another. I recommend parking at lot P1 which is quite close by.

    An amazing choice of breakfast items in a very small space. Lots of paintings and antiques in the property. The location inside the Old Town Center of Rothenburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Location is beside the Plönlein so it is very convenience to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't have laundry machine as shown in the website.

    Location is beside the Plönlein so it is very convenience to survey the attractive place. Apartment is very large with 3 bedrooms and also has kitchen, microwave, kettle and other for cooking. In-front off the apartment has parking area (with fee). WiFi still o.k.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Breakfast was delicious and bountiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room that i shared with my daughter and bed was a bit small, so for my future notes, i need to figure that out ahead of time.

    Breakfast was delicious and bountiful. Location was perfect. Staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    If you are looking for a place to stay in Rothenberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    I spent 6 days traveling from Lisbon to Warsaw and this was by far the best hotel I've been. In fact it was one of the best hotels I ever been, because the city is amazing, the location inside the walls was perfect, the hotel was very unique and charming, the staff... Everything was perfect. The only problem was that I stayed just one night...I wish I had more time...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Super cozy and cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super cozy and cute. Excellent location within the old walled city. Great breakfast. Very nice staff. Room had a great view of the wall and the garden below (even in winter, it was beautiful).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place in a fairy tail land!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can even think of is we had more stairs but that was our choice by changing rooms.

    Loved the location and old world charm of the building. Best breakfast we have had in Germany!! Lots of choices and all so good! Staff was so very kind helping us carry luggage and letting us change rooms. Wanted twin beds apart so we chose one higher up that worked perfect for us. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Quaint hotel in a fairy-tale town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe it was just the location of our room, but we did not have WiFi access in our room at all (we could access from breakfast room). The lack of WiFi was frustrating. Limited TV channels in English.

    Rothenburg is an amazing town! Gerberhaus is inside the walls, to the bottom end of town, but walking distance to everything. The room was tiny, but good bed and shower; good if you don't hang out in the room a lot (and you shouldn't!) Nicely decorated. The whole place is very quaint; decorations in all the nooks and crannies. Nice garden (but too cold to use!) Good breakfast spread. Staff was helpful and friendly. Fairy-tale hotel in a fairy-tale town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful three night stay, great staff, quaint, comfortable room, delicious food. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was at the bottom of the hill, a little further down the road than what we expected from the main plaza. Anyone with walking problems, will be challenged as no shuttle or bus service is offered within the medieval walls. Taxi option would be available.

    Everyone very accommodating and spoke English. Quaint, clean, lovely cafe facilities and lots of variety offered for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Very spacious with good WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After hours the door is hard to find. The bed was super hard But that’s typical for Germany hotels.

    The room was large and location was close to downtown center but not too close. Good WiFi and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    The location is very good, just 5 minutes walk to the town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is limit of their own parking, and costs. From 20 h they will lock the front door, you have to go through the dark lane behind the hotel, felt uncomfortable, but ok, Middle-age town. After that you must go through their garden, the illumination could be way better, too dark. We had to carry our suitcases to the 3rd floor, but the girl of the front desk was helpful.

    The location is very good, just 5 minutes walk to the town hall square, through the main street, very easy to find, if your are arring by car, it's very close to the entrance of the old town by the main street. got lucky to get one parking on the other side of the hotel, from 18 to 8 free of charge, but you have to leave your car in the line, because there were Ordnungskontrolle all around and till midnight. The Night Watch Tour both in english and german was interessting, free of charge. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived on a weekend. Had to wait while young staff finished their smokes out the back. Not the welcome we were expecting.

    Perfect location in old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    This is a really nice, old-fashioned guest house with very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little noisy because it is in an antique building (sounds from hallway, pipes, etc.) so light sleepers might want to request a room not on the stairwell. Also, the arrival orientation and check in were confusing, especially regarding parking on the street.

    Beautiful breakfast buffet served by friendly staff. Great location for walking around the inner city. Very prompt response to a broken shower head.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs, but we did know this beforehand.

    Very well located. Quaint little hotel with a lot of nice personal touches. The garden/ living area at back was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Gorgeous, quaint, very comfortable accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast can get a little crowded/hectic, and dishes are emptied rather quickly. Some staff seems a bit flustered at times, but were still very friendly.

    Rooms were gorgeous, lovely garden in the back, view of the wall and tower from our window, staff very friendly, very short walk to the main square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Adequate, accommodating staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed including the pillows are horrible! It is the hardest bed and the pillows are none existence at all - FLAT. Four flight of stairs with no elevators. Travelers should be informed about this. There are not toiletries except for toilet paper.

    The location, primary staff and the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in Medieval Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a spacious apartment in the annex, right near the ancient town wall which was really comfortable. Lots of natural light. Big garden with plenty of tables and chairs and couches under a covered area great for relaxing. Lovely breakfast served in cozy rooms. Very friendly owner who is involved in all aspects of the business, we felt very well taken care of. Definitely would return and recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Location inside the walls is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had been given to someone else when we arrived. Then my wife couldn't find the way upstairs and was treated like an idiot by the owner. Bot a great start.

    Location is great. The garden is lovely. Breakfast was good. Shower also good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    We very much enjoyed the property's location, comfort, and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only item we were a bit disappointed with was that we weren't provided sheets/blankets/pillows for the pull-out sofa which we needed for our children. By the time we realized, staff had already retired for the evening.

    The staff were extremely courteous and helpful! The location of the property was ideal as it wasn't in the main part of the city, but close enough to walk to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will not hesitate to recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything except that the bathroom door had no lock. No problem for me and my husband, but our daughters would have preferred it for their room.

    The outdoor garden had ample seating and was delightful! Breakfast was pleasant with a good selection. The staff was especially accommodating beginning with Joshua, who greeted us and took us to our rooms. Debra cheerfully helped us exchange our room to one on a lower floor as it was hot when we arrived and the rooms have no air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent little hotel on the walls of this fantastically pretty town !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The covered parking is first come first served , so we parked on the street . However the cost was about the same and I found it was easier to access the car that way - so this isn't really a complaint !

    Located on the main street this is a comfortable hotel next to the walls of the city. easy walking distance to everything , friendly staff , and with a pleasant garden to sit in . Breakfast was very good . The hotel has no restaurant but there are many nearby , especially recommended is the Alter Keller - superb food & beer !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Charming hotel and room decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming hotel and room decor. Spacious for Europe with large modern bath. Garden sitting area is much nicer than appears online. Loved the location right in the city, but a little away from the crowds at the square. Host was gracious and recommended wonderful local restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Perfect location and wonderful accomodations in beautiful Rothenberg ob der Tauber
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beds were comfortable, bathroom very nice--especially tub, and the breakfast the next morning sumptuous! The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Very quaint hotel with nice staff and homey atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just when we arrived, there seem to be a slight problem assigning us a room. But, after the staff contacted the owner, they were able to sort the problem out.

    The owner was very helpful and accommodating. Also the room was cute and the breakfast was quite good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Romantic place on the Romantic Road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was spasmodic and unusable.

    The staff were very helpful. The property was beautiful as was the room. The location was amazing. The garden out the back was lovely. The breakfast was outstanding!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Traditional Germany B&B down really well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an old world charm historic house that has been renovated, is in the historic part of the city, and just a very very friendly place to stay. i really liked the hosts who were most accommodating and helpful. I will stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offsite parking. Hotel garage was too crowded to park in. And cost was not included in reservation as we thought...as it was last time we stayed there.

    Breakfast. Closeness in city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Very nice if you are not handicapped or if you book the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not suitable for the handicapped, except for the apartment. Normal rooms are a hot jumble, on many levels with many steps. Eating outside was nice, but required walking up/down steps for the food. Parking was limited. Best advice: Find a parking place and don't move the car.

    Conveniant to town center. Stayed in nearby apartment because normal rooms are not on ground level. Breakfast food was very good. Eating in the outside breakfast area is very nice. Easy access to walking the city wall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Close to town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not for the handicapped, except for the the apartment. Normal rooms were a jumble, at multiple levels with many steps to climb.

    Close to town center. Ended up in a nice separate apartment because they had no rooms at arrival time at ground level. Breakfast was good. We chose to eat in outdoor area, which was nice, but required a walk up/down stairs for the food. Close to access for walking the town wall. Parking was "find a good spot and don't move the car".

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    very special hotel great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing.

    situated 150 metre from main gate into old town, parking in secure garage. bedroom even had 4 poster bed , buffet breakfast ,friendly staff. spotlessly clean. beautiful garden to enjoy while eating cake and drinking beer !! Will even do your washing for you

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apt.was cramped and there was no soap for the shower or any other toiletries. One of the double beds was a very uncomfortable futon and there was barely any room to walk around it. No place to sit other than on the beds.

    Staff was friendly. Gardens lovely. Outdoor seating very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience. Loved this little Bed and Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a problem. We thought we were in a free space for the night, but we still got a ticket. The staff could have been a little more specific as to where to park and we could have been a little more observant as to where the signs said to park.

    The rooms were charming and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. The staff were very helpful and nice. I would stay there again if I ever get back to Rothenburg.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    A great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great family run hotel in fantastic location within the city walls. Great bedrooms, great bathrooms, very good breakfast. It was a good base for a cycling holiday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Fairy tale hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved everything.

    The staff was truly warm and welcoming. There is an AMAZING bakery inside the hotel so you can enjoy coffee and cakes on their lovely terrace. The breakfast, wich was included, was outstanding and the feeling all together was really homey. I will definitely be back! Did I mention that my room was extra cute and you could enjoy great views from both sides?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Staying in an old historical town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is available (costs extra) but because we had to leave early the next day and didn't want to be parked in, we opted to park outside the city in a public carpark where the buses park. This also cost, but cheaper. Luckily there was a back way into the property through the garden which was not too far from the pedestrian entrance to the city from this carpark.

    Accommodation is in this beautiful historic town. Lovely room. Good facilities. Friendly and helpful hostess who speaks perfect English. Nice bath in big bathroom. View onto garden. Outdoor area looked like it would be fun in summer for drinks and socialising.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.5
    Our room had plenty of room and a view of the pretty garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet wasn't as nice or well run as others we had on the trip. Each morning they ran out of key foods such as scrambled eggs or fresh fruit, and juice. We were there both at the beginning of the breakfast and the middle of the breakfast and it didn't seem to matter. But they did serve sparkling wine so you could make mimosas if desired and they did serve some nice sweets with breakfast.

    Our room had plenty of room and a view of the pretty garden. Nice hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of managers rude on last day. One person told us we could leave the car parked for the afternoon we were leaving and the next person told us no only for an extra hour. Which was fine because we could move the car out to street parking easily, but they should not have told us we could the night before. When I told the morning manager her employee had told us we could leave it there for the afternoon, she was not nice about it.

    nice breakfast and excellent hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    Great location, could use some hospitality training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interacted with several staff members and none seemed to care much about hospitality and customer service. I had many problems with internet and basically was told that it usually worked and no one had complained. Guy was doing something with our heating unit but couldn't explain what. Shower had clanging (air in pipes) and again no one seemed to believe this or care. Equally bad service in cafe.

    Fantastic location inside city walls but just beyond the area that is truly overrun with tourists. Nice little cafe area. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing experience in the end as the staff wanted to charge us extra at check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel would have received top marks, had it not been for the fact that AFTER our stay the receptionists asked for 20% more than the booking confirmation stated. We were then told we had gotten a family room instead of a double room so that the child didn't have to sleep in our bed. An extra bed costs 20 Euro, they said. I pointed out that we had a confirmation for three persons for 99 Euro. So it went back and forth with the receptionist stating that children always cost extra than what the confirmation states and the confirmed price would only have been valid had the child slept in our bed. As a travel agent, I know this isn't true. Extra charges or chargeable room upgrades need to be pointed out beforehand. Likewise misleading was the claim that parking was for free up until you actually have booked and hold the booking confirmation in your hands, which then states in very small print that parking actually costs 10 Euro per day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    At last we made it to Rothenburg ob der Tauber..a dream come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing wrong with the hotel. But Rothenburg needs to organise more cultural activities..even in collaboration with restaurants and shopping outlets in general.. not just on some days during a couple of months. Involve the tourists!

    A very spacious room with an excellent view in a very cute hotel. The breakfast was fantastic with a vast choice of all sorts of everything from fruit to nuts, from yoghurt to scrambled egg...but that coffee was surely Italian. Well done Inga and staff..and regards also to Anuk, the docile dog (hope the bruises resulting from an erotic chase have healed). Any way thanks for the excellent hospitality provided to us for a whole week. And the weather was really favourable!! Josephine and Joseph Mangani from Malta

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Great location for our family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outstanding location inside the city walls, allowing us easy access before and after all the other tourists arrive/depart. The 2br apartment was great for our family and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.3
    Loved the location and the breakfast every morning was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not very comfortable.

    Loved the location and the breakfast every morning was excellent. The option for parking was nice to have when we arrived. And the staff was always very friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was one of the loveliest hotels I stayed at.The breakfast area was lovely decorated.The breakfast was great. My daughter felt a little bit chilly in her room,immediately we were provided with a heater. If I come one time more to Rothenburg this is the place to stay. Thank you for your hospitality

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Fairytale Christmas village. Wonderful hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All wonderful

    Very central location- we had an apartment - very comfortable and spacious. Gorgeous quintessential Christmas village. Close to train - no need for car. Wonderful hostess - thank you for a fantastic restful stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    Great one nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is on one of the main road entrances to the old city, yet not much road noise occurred - and there was an event on in town that night ! The hotel is very comfortable, and the staff were very easy to deal with when the first room we were put into had an unfortunate toilet (didn't flush properly) which can happen at any time and to any properly. Fortunately, they weren't fully booked and we could move rooms, which was no problem. The bedroom and bed were both very comfortable for two people. The breakfast choice was outstanding. Happy to recommend this property.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.5
    Great location, but needs some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The available staff did not speak English. When checking in, the first person we saw tried to give us a menu for ordering dessert. Luckily my husband speaks German, but traveling alone with kids would have been difficult. We were charged 15 euros for laundry when it was put in with the regular hotel wash. When we booked, washer and dryer were items listed in hotel amenities. So we assumed they would be available for us to use 24/7. These are factors for a family traveling with kids. The bed mattresses were not very comfortable; they were more like spongy pads. The sofa was also uncomfortable. No bathroom products were provided - NONE! The shower head and handle would not stay on the wall attachment. Also, this was attached in the middle of the bathtub and not at the end, so it was difficult to manoeuvre under it.

    The location is wonderful. The upstairs 2 bed apartment we had was spacious with a small kitchenette. Our unit was up the road from the main hotel in what felt like a communal hostel. The bathroom was clean and spacious, but NO body products were provided. Hotel tea room looked nice, but being in the opposite direction to the city from our unit, we didn't try it. The wifi worked well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.5
    We had a great time. Gerberhaus was really conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People may have difficulty climbing in and out of the tub. (It did have a hand shower.)

    Rothenberg ob der Tauber has free wifi in the old city so it supplemented that provided by Gerberhaus. And I loved the breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.5
    Average and OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit lacking compared to the other 5 places we stayed on our trip

    Very average in all ways.. Can't really give too many very goods or very bad comments. Very middle of the road.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Confusing back alley entrance after 10pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusing back alley entrance after 10pm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast, garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed.

    Breakfast, garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air condition

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Great guesthouse, with wonderful ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast and owner was very accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and owner was very accommodating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooked a lovely courtyard, but some people were loud in it late at night.

    Great location and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    The breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing! Our room was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was warm

    Great staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Location fantastic and the facilities was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location was very nice! Near Christmas market. Breakfast lovely and the hotel and beds was also very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nummy breakfast, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    we weren't told the door is locked at 10 PM and had to walk around to the back in the dark

    The breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small but we only stayed one night.

    Charming room, good location, staff nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Gerberhaus was the perfect beginning and ending to our fairytale days in R ob d T, highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxurious breakfast, quaint ambiance, comfortable beds, modern bathroom, excellent staff, location in the midst of old city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    Very good location lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath room

    Breakfast,room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast included.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast included. Rooms small but extremely clean and comfortable. Lovely garden area. Right in old town close to everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing! I would stay there again in a heartbeat :-) Also best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel 💗

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful garden;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Wonderful garden; very helpful staff; breakfast buffet was very complete-- almost matching a good cruise-line.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: