Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wellnesshotel Germania This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Berliner Platz 2, 38667 Bad Harzburg, Germany

Review score

Based on 1172 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Breakfast was basic, but it was ok for us - Curtains in the room very thin, so people outside can see inside - Balcony was next to the parking lot and no view of any kind, not really worth the extra price - In the spa only cold water come from the shower and the floor was ice cold - Room had a lot of unused space, so a frigde/minibar and a safe would be have been a nice addition

    - Excellent location - Friendly staff - A good amount of space in the room - Beds were pretty comfortable - Hiking possibilities very close to the hotel - A lot of cafes and restaurants close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is perfect, its a few minutes away from the Therme, where you can spend time after a day exploring, in Therme you have sauna, heated swimming pools with salt outside, etc But it is also situated in the beginning of a walking main street with different cafes, restaurants, small shops and so on. The hotel is just few steps from the Bad Harzburg Seilbahn, which brings you to the top of the high hill with the cutest restaurant there)) The Hotel itself is just everything you need, its clean and personnel is amazing. We would like to thank all the Breakfast Staff, they were incredible, so helpful to our family with two small children

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travel a lot so I stopped to review hotels long time ago. However I was so disappointed with this hotel that I decided to comment: wifi was not working (technical problem), sauna was not working (technical problem), parking completely dark, hotel entrance completely dark, lift not working after 9 pm (very strange?), receptionist not speaking English, 7:30 am noisy repairs on corridor (including drilling), no one chair in superior double room, ....

    Location, large room plus terrace

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t any English tv channels or English sub-titled programmes.

    Very comfortable beds. Lovely breakfast with lots of different choices. The honey was extra specially delicious. Perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free WiFi did not always work properly. The car park is too small, so if you are late you might find it difficult to squeeze your car in.

    The hotel is quiet and located near the local park and pedestrian precinct. It is also close to local attractions. Breakfast was excellent, the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower and bathroom very small. Shower drain did not empty so always standing in water. Spa facilities woeful. No towels, no attendant, very basic. Safe half the size of a shoebox - better not to include as part of the facilities.

    Location great right in the old town, beautiful old hotel. Staff were attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the room in the corners and the cupboard was dust and hairs. We asked the cleaning lady to remove all dirt, but after cleaning the dirt in the corners still remained in the same place. On the balcony a table was very dirty, so that to use it we cleaned it ourselves.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At breakfast tinned fruit was a disappointment, though the occasional slice of melon and pineapple made an appearance, plus the odd kiwi and grape. You had to be quick before they disappeared. The paper napkins were on the tiny side, though they did have a sunny smile.

    The breakfast bread selection was hearty, with juice, muesli, oats and yoghurt, sliced tomatoes and peppers for those keen to eat healthily. For bigger stomachs, smoked salmon and trout, boiled eggs and a cheese, Wurst, Schinken and Salami slection was ample. There was even cake for those needing a fix at that time of morning. Nice coffee, or helbal tea. Our very quiet room had a large sliding door onto a balcony. The staff were extremeley helpful. The famed municipal thermal salty hot spring pool complex was a short stroll away through the manicured lawns of the tree shaded Kur Park with bright ornamental flower beds. The cable car station for views high up was was right there, and next to it a pedestrian bridge over the main road led into a walkers' paradise with well marked paths through uplifting woods. Great for fresh air and exercise. An elevated tree top walk was a popular - if artificial - family attraction. There's an entrance fee to get onto it. The tree lined streets from the hotel lead down to an area of grandiose buildings from former times with many cafes and restaurants and a parkland Palm Court restaurant with adjacent Trinkhalle where you can sample the healing thermal waters. These range from salty to less salty, good for stomach complaints, but watch out for the trots. I had the runs soon after, but was able to cope. There is a daily morning concert here - free - with music from yesteryear, beautifully performed by a piano, violin and cello trio. The restaurant serves excellent food at a very reasonable price. Super location in the small park with outdoor sun terrace and flower beds or elegant inside.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the Roms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and efficient staff. Pretty and quit location. Easy access to Bad Harzburg. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness not possible

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, goodbreakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All in the spa wasnt free. Only the saunas, the pool costed money, and also the bathrope costed 3 euro each.

    Very good staff. We had to ho early, before breakfeast was open. And they filled our thermous and made a package with sandwich, egg, orange and juice. Very good.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were too soft, wellness wasn`t really there, even though they class themselves as a wellness hotel

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, room was very clean

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Absence of bar or restaurant during evening hours. Very weak cold watter flow in wellness. It nearly goes drop by drop. Impossible to enjoy sauna as it normaly should be. Also, strange place to get undressed.

    enough space for parking kind receptionist nice rooms

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    sauna hours were limited from 17:00-21:00 and the jacuzzi spa had an additional charge- not too expensive, but still.

    helpful staff. close to public pool & other attractions

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff on check-in was talking to colleagues about a problem with the printer and didn't pay much attention to us. Showerhead in our room had a lot of chalk on it, which caused problems to the waterflow.

    Excellent breakfast and comforable beds

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hardly anything to complain about. However, although we like German TV, a few English language channels on the TV would have been nice. Limited wifi access in the night.

    Excellent and very helpful staff. Located near plenty of restaurants. Easy accessible with car. Many attractive sights within 30 minutes of driving. Good starting point for mountain hiking.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Informed reception staff that the mattress was the most uncomfortable I had slept upon in 'years'. They explained that some rooms were still to be renovated and that it was an ongoing process. When they were told that appeared unacceptable without them telling prospective guests beforehand they answered that it was being attended to! The scrambled egg at breakfast could be likened to a 'sponge' cake. Badly prepared and exceptionally dry!

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had paid in full 4 weeks in advance for 6 nights. I missed the first night, I turned up second night and they had sold on my room. Due to the nature of my trip, I had no method of contacting the hotel to advise them.

    Pleasant receptionist

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked a double room for single occupancy. The spare bedding was removed. The room also had a kettle and cups but the tea bags were not replenished after the first day.

    Breakfasts were good

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only niggle was I couldn't get wifi in the room had to go to reception otherwise nothing to complain about

    The hotel was right by the cable cars and a few minutes walk from the center the hotel was in a lovely setting and really quite,they have really friendly staff and the bedroom was a large room with patio would go there again if I return to bad harzburg

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice and clean room, very good breakfast, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. At the top of the town. Easy access to the lift up the hill and also to the town. LovEly area

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dust under bed, not a big problem but I am allergic.

    Location, staff, room, use of balcony, parking, honeycomb at breakfast a treat.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. Location was good.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - WLAN too slow - besides towel and dressing gown they should offer some footwear for the sauna as well

    - breakfast - overall quality

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location for us

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I expected a bit more than just a photo-wallpaper for the "themed" room...

    The location was great and the staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's location, just as we came into Bad Hasberg

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price,proximity to town, wellness suite, breakfast one of the best we had all trip

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms were very dull with no pictures or much colour.

    Friendly Staff and very clean. The breakfast was perfect!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inhospitable and poor service by the restaurant.

    Location and comfort of the room

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Wellnesshotel Germania traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: