Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Germania 3 stars

Moselpromenade 1, 56812 Cochem, Germany

#10 of 32 hotels in Cochem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no wifi signal in the room. Beds were fine but felt a bit sagged.

    The staff was one of the most friendly & helpfull I have ever experienced in a hotel. The buffet breakfast was of good quality and plenty of choice was available. The location of the hotel is good, right in front of the the Mosel river, and in the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    WIFI could have been better for Skype calls. Possible but some interference.

    A good buffet breakfast breakfast with boiled eggs or scrambled, and bacon, sausage both hot dog or patty form, yogurt - two styles, fruits, nuts, and other cereals, breads and brotchens and a can of coffee included. Great choice of many types of cake, ice cream, and other food, open to the public from 8:00pm to 6:00pm, with open seating on outside sunny patio. I was in an upper story room with view of Moselle River.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon arriving there was no parking close by. Cochem is a very, very busy town in the daytime. We parked and walked back about 1 mile. We were offered a garage parking spot about 1/4 mile away for 8 euros per night which worked out well. This is explained, although not clearly enough for us Americans who like to be spoon-fed information, on my Booking.com conformation page.

    Our room was on the 4th floor via an elevator and had lovely view of the Mosel River. Temperature easily acontrolled and street noise minimal at night. Staff in breakfast room was friendly and helpful. He recommended a lovely Italian restaurant for us as by our 10th day in Germany we needed a change of diet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sad we couldn't stay longer..

    We had always wanted to stay at Hotel Germania. This trip to Germany made it possible. A very cozy room and lovely atmosphere! Our room faced the river and a wonderful view of the castle. Breakfast was great! Hotel held our luggage so we could explore the city! We think you would like it too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff didn't communicate buffet breakfast included. Had to ask--and missed one morning. Also--not convenient to get in or out of building after 6 p.m.

    Great location! Comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - rooms to the back a bit dark - no super modern style and equipment - base hotel, no special features

    - location is at central as it gets in Cochem - nice and clean rooms - nice sun balcony for teatime - nice cafeteria and rich breakfast buffet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was great and had an excellent view. The breakfast buffet was very good. many options and they were all great. The entire staff was very nice. They made the stay even more enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and it was two single beds put together which I did not care for

    The staff was so very friendly and accommodating. We arrived late and a staff member greeted us and got us settled in. Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to dislike all was as advertised

    We were so thrilled to get free parking and a upgrade to a room with a balcony every staff member was delightful and helpful breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold dishes we really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The front desk and restaurant close at six. You can easily enter from another door but if you have ambulatory difficulties, it may pose a problem as you have to climb a short flight of stairs.

    Great location, friendly staff, parking within a short walk, and great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a updated room # 301 with a small balcony and a lovely view of the river, and castle We found it very charming and comfortable!! Herbert , the general manager was most accommodating and Katia the hostess at breakfast was very nice . PS. Everything closes ( front reception desk , and restaurant) at 6 pm. No problem getting in with your room key , but thinking if one has difficulty with stairs, there might be a issue. I would highly recommend !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many stairs to enter hotel - makes wheeled luggage awkward to use. Although there is a lift which stopped at each floor it still meant you had to climb stairs to get to your bedroom - again awkward with luggage Room 5 - the shower is very difficult to work in that it was difficult to regulate the hot and cold water flow. Quite often too hot or too cold.

    Good buffet breakfasts

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are on sight only until 6 pm.

    The location was excellent, with nice river and castle view if you select a front facing room. The weekend breakfast was included and had a great selection of hot and cold items. The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi was under repair the first day of our stay. The second day we received an account for only one device. Speed wasn't very fast but it worked. The kids weren't very enthusiastic but we didn't mind too much :-) This hotel is in the centre of the city and cleaning of the streets starts very early. If you have to leave the windows open on hot summer days like we did, then you will be awake early ;-)

    The breakfast was really extensive. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi at Germania is a disaster, it's impossible to get connected, the worst I've experienced at a hotel in 10 years. If you need to be able to connect to the internet, workwise or otherwise, stay somewhere else

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didnt like.

    Loved location on main street friendly staff unusual old building and the candlelit breakfast! The owner was really welcoming when we arrived like drowned rats from cycling in rain. There was a place to store our tandem no problem. Beautiful old place ran with a lot of love and attention to detail.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car parking was a considerable distance from hotel (described as nearby) although on the plus side it was kept in a locked garage!

    Well maintained and comfortable hotel, in a good location overlooking the Moselle in the centre of Cochem. Staff were friendly and helpful and there was a limitless supply of coffee with our very satisfactory breakfast. We liked it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pleasant and comfortable stay, friendly staff and a good place to explore the Mosel area from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was slow

    Loved how it was in the town center and had great views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not that clean. The towels were old.

    The breakfast was very good. The staff was helpful and the hotel is in the heart of Cochem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled like cigarette smoke in room, hallways, and lobby areas, was suppose to be non-smoking.

    Great view and location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very comfortable room with excellent facilities. Hotel was well located in central Cochem with good access to shops, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast was very good. Location is perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closed in the evening. Very small balcony

    Perfect location, great view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water

    Fantastic location friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy until early mornings.

    We had an amazing time. Staff was so pleasant and friendly. One of the best Breakfast served.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was limited and slower.

    Very clean, great room. The nicest one we stayed in on our whole trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant needs a little remodeling

    The room was very comfortable, they wer kind to allow me to check in early and checkout late.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was excellent - super helpful reception staff; very spacious room - would certainly book again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny shower. Otherwise all good.

    Great staff, great facility, wonderful location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff who helped make a Valentines card for my wife even before I arrived! Great service!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were always obliging from breakfast (served until 1pm on weekends) until our extended checkout on the day we were flying home at 9pm

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a tad too small

    Scenery and personnel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, beautiful views, and a great breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff! Terrific breakfast. Perfect location on the Mosel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niets

    Ligging is perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Airco or fans in the summer

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good lacation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rather noisy location in the centre of town

    comfortable beds; excellent buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smiling staff in the restaurant.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no one available after 6pm

    Nice to have a choice of cooked bacon, sausage and eggs for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather was not terrible...

    The room was very nice, beds perfect and the breakfast: just a dream. We likes especially the exhibition of paintings by a great painter and lover of the Eiffel region: Clemens Prüssen.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room on top floor was ackward with roof overhang taking away head room,. Was the worst room we have ever had. Still the stay was excellent/

    Ease of check in. Breakfast was outstanding. All aspects of our stay were excellent. Location was superb. Have been coming back to this hotel for over 30 years from USA. Will be back again.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise at night from the alley. Parking structure was about 1km walk away.

    Great breakfast buffet. Great staff. And you have a chance to go to a winery outside town.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    Breakfast was outstanding, lots of choice of food and drinks. attention to detail was second to none. Excellent location, with great views.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was really poor. To be fair, this is not unusual in older hotels in Europe. They were built without the infrastructure required for good WiFi so it is what it is... Also, Cochem in January to early March is not a very lively place. Most businesses are closed for the season so it was a very quiet walk through the city. There were still plenty of local places to eat and the scenery was still beautiful so no real complaints.

    Breakfast buffet was outstanding, the view from the room was beautiful, the staff very friendly and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    From the moment we arrived Herbert was warm welcoming and offered us an upgrade to balcony rooms which were picture perfect. He was informative and helpful with car parking etc and the breakfast was absolutely outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Superb small German Christmas market town for a wonderful traditional experience with the added attraction of the backdrop of a Castle above the Mosel.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast (warm&cold - lots of choices) with many local people as well Nice & Friendly staff Location (by the Moselle, close to the train station/centre-ville)

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    Room: We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and the hotel gave us a wonderful room with a balcony with a view of the castle. They called it the Location: It's a short walk from the train station. There are river tour boats across the street and everything you want to see in Cochem is close by. Staff: The gentleman was who checked us in and seemed to be the manager was an excellent host who spoke very good English.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fairly long walk to train station. Wifi was poor. They said they would fix it, but it never did work well during our stay.

    Close to bus. Right in center of tourist activities. Nice view of castle and river.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I were to make any suggestions, it would be to improve internet connection speeds - it was extremely slow, as everywhere in Europe. Also, maybe modernising the shower cubicle. Having said that, the bathroom was still at a good standard.

    There was a lot we liked about Hotel Germania - not least its fabulous location and super helpful manager. His suggestions re restaurants and his help in carrying luggage from the car was excellent. Nothing we asked for was too much. The room was spacious and very tastefully furnished. Superb cafe.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a room with a balcony that had a beautiful view of the castle. Our room was spacious but the furnishings appeared a little dated, especially the old portable box tv. Everyone complained about the WiFi but we had no issues. All in all we were quite pleased with our brief stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed at this location a number of times and each has been a very positive experience. The rooms are nice, without frills. The parking can be challenging if you are staying during the day, overnight parking is free from 19:00 to 8:00.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk staff fabulous! Herbert searched a route from Cochem to Bernkastel Kues and it was a great adventure, thank you Herbert! Lovely hotel convenient area of town. Our second visit and definitely will be back! Love your hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant closes early. I think it was 6:00. We had a reservation at the Hotel and our train was going to be later than 6:00. Call ahead if you are going to arrive after 6. We were glad we did.

    Great location, breakfast was awesome

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too soft Having to park car about 500 meters from the hotel

    The view of the Moselle and the castle! The size of the room and the lovely terrace for coffee and cake.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the beginning of July and I understand why the rooms do not have air conditioning (since average summer temps are usually in the 70's) but it would be nice if the hotel invested in portable fans. The room was uncomfortably warm even with the door and window open which made sleeping difficult. Also, this was the most expensive hotel of our entire trip which included Brussels, Bruges, and Amsterdam. It's a very nice hotel but a bit high in price.

    The location was excellent but Cochem is quite small so just about any of the hotels available are in an excellent location. The room was very clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. We had a small juliet balcony and a great view of the river. The included breakfast was delicious and offered a large variety.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast was quite average. often, replaced food was not made for some dishes. Noise from the alley below. very difficult to get to sleep many nights.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It can be noisy especially at the morning because of the traffic and street cleaning!

    Nice stay in Cochem. Definitely it is a good hotel. It is located just at the beginning of the promenade, next to the bridge and cruise boats. Rooms are good sized, with a very comfortable bed. Unfortunately without conditioning! Perfect breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Spotty wifi (had to re enter code after 30 minutes or so). Parking is off site (about 5 minute walk away). FYI, Although there is an elevator, you will have to carry your things up some stairs (maybe 8 in total) to get to elevator.

    The location is perfect! Easy to get around from hotel. Abundant breakfast with view of Mosel. Large room!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only sad thing was we checked in just after they closed their terrace cafe but we had breakfast out there in morning.

    Lovely river view with very narrow balcony but it gave us access to good views to side to see wonderful Reichsburg Castle. Comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were exceptional and so friendly. There were numerous outlets in convenient locations. There was a towel warmer in bathroom. Breakfast was at 8 am, but we were allowed to eat earlier so that we could catch an early train. Great selection of hot and cold items. Nice hot delicious decaf coffee. Comfortable bed with fluffy pillows.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The free wifi didn't work in the room.

    Perfect location. Friendly and efficient service, checked in within 5 mins. Room comfortable and clean. Fantastic breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Definitely stay on the river side. The "city view" is a view of a wall without any city. We traded up and glad we did

    The brunch on Sunday was out of this world. The room on the third floor was outstanding with a little balcony that had a view of the castle.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Service is OK. Staff is friendly enough but don't go above or beyond. We asked for directions and they told us to use google, they could have done that and printed us a map. Other examples where we were surprised for a hotel they didn't try to make our experience better. Facilities were clean, bed was comfy but door and shower were broken. Wifi is poor.

    Fabulous location and amazing breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Connection with the internet was only average, but we stayed on the top floor and who needs internet in a location like that?

    The breakfast was of royal quality, the bed was heavenly and the interior of the room was extremely welcoming

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Their internet was pretty slow.

    Hotel Germania is located in an ideal location in Cochom - right by shops, restaurants, boat rides and bike rental. Rooms were clean with the size and decor typical of small German hotels. The breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room #302 is a corner room, with balcony and a beautiful view of both the Mosel River and the castle Breakfast is excellent, as is bakery for afternoon coffee and cake

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good hotel in great location.Staff very friendly and help full.exellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, breakfast was excellent. Very attentive staff. Ideal hotel to explore Cochem.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    great breakfast, room is comfortable, I ve got the corner room which is perfect view.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit far from train station

    Excellent Breakfast. Nice Room. Good location.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: