Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glockenhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Grimmelgasse 4, 99817 Eisenach, Germany

#10 of 19 hotels in Eisenach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 431 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable one-night stay in Hotel Glockenhof
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Permanent lighting in the corridors would save poking about in the dark until the lights come on automatically It wasn't a problem but we wouldn't class our Standard Double Room as 'modern'. Also according to Booking.com we were expecting a bath-tub but having a good shower instead, we managed without it

    Extremely quiet room - good breakfast with plenty of choice and space to eat it - clean comfortable beds - within walking distance (uphill through the woods) to Wartburg - close to Bachhaus, etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, good location, tasty breakfast, comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed is just two single beds pushed together. This seems very common at German hotels in general.

    Friendly staff, good location, tasty breakfast, comfy mattresses.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Clean, good bed, nice breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle in standard room, scary underground parking. Site said there would be a bath, but there wasn't

    Clean, good bed, nice breakfast buffet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value, safe choice close to all sights
    • Solo traveller
    • Einzelzimmer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please note that it is not really suitable for those with disabilities. While the hotel has an elevator, there are some steep chairs leading from the street to the lobby-- difficult with heavy luggage, impossible with a walker or wheelchair.

    It is a good find, especially if you are driving as it has parking and it's hard to find parking in this small medieval city. The hotel was perfectly fine. It's not really four stars--for example, there is no refrigerator in the room, no tea/coffee making facilities and no one to help with your luggage (no luggage carts either). However it is a solid 3 star, with air conditioning, multilingual cable TV, excellent bed and the usual comforts. Very clean. The hotel has a restaurant attached which seems pleasant, but I haven't eaten there. This can be useful too because many restaurants in town close early. Staff was friendly particularly the lady at the reception at my check-in around 14:00 on July 27. Location is also convenient, just behind the Bach museum, walking distance to the main square & all attractions in town and around the corner from the bus going to Wartburg castle (note there is usually only one bus per hour). Taxi from the train station to hotel takes about 10 mins.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    try the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel garage was full when we arrived and we had to park in a public lot that was in a construction area.

    We generally don't think highly of hotel restaurants, but this place was an exception. Our dinner was excellent and well priced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location - where th action is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was far smaller than we had expected. There were no amenities.

    The location is great. The staff in th cafe/bistro were most helpful with taxi transport, even offering to drive us if the taxi did not show up.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    A nice, comfortable hotel, very good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the receptionists did not speak any English, only German, which might cause some difficulties.

    This is a nice, clean, comfortable hotel, very good choice to stay if you are visiting the castle nearby. The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Location on busy, loud street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location on busy, loud street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Location, breakfast, service, price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rock concert two nights very close by. Not their fault, but very frustrating.

    Location, breakfast, service, price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel with good restaurant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs from street to lobby. High tub wall. Hard for a short person to climb over. No handrail.

    Bed and bedding. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room faced noisy street Parking difficult Bathroom could use an update

    Room was clean and breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Eisenach town centre and Wartburg Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charged 102.10 Eur instead of 98.10 as stated on Booking.com

    Comfy bed and good location for town centre and Wartburg Castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    6.7
    Connexion IMPOSSIBLE depuis les chambres.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Connexion IMPOSSIBLE depuis les chambres. C'est dommage. Impossible to connect us to the wifi spot from the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strassenlärm

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    10
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast plentiful. But no croissants. Friendly staff and hotel in great location. Parking for motorbike which was fab.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    8.8
    When we checked in (and it was just at noon) we were given a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we went to check out - the credit card machine wasn't working and we had to go to an atmosphere for money. No options were given.

    When we checked in (and it was just at noon) we were given a great introduction to what was around the area to see!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.5
    Check in was excellent-dark haired girl was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The girl behind the bar in the evening needs some training...ramazotti with a mouldy slice of orange (not lemon!)topped with an ice cube wasn't to my liking.also the beer my partner had was flat as a pancake.when we left we were given the wrong change.

    Check in was excellent-dark haired girl was extremely friendly and energetic.room was spacious.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    7.5
    Food good although a somewhat limited menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit understaffed on the Friday night with the receptionist having to double as a barmaid/waitress so service was a little slow.

    Food good although a somewhat limited menu. Reasonably convenient for the station. God large room with comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    8.8
    Very spacy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi connection was the worst feature of the hotel (it was good while working but I was loosing it very often).

    Very spacy and comfortable. Very good location.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    Right next to Bach house, also on the way to wurtburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Right next to Bach house, also on the way to wurtburg. These are the top two sights of the town. Walk to train station takes about 10 minutes, not far at all. There is a restaurant on the property. Looks classy. Overall I think this is not Marriott but has more character.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.3
    Location ,friendliness of staff and a very good restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No english or French channels on TV.Parking is not free as advertised.Would need a bigger lobby for guest to relax.

    Location ,friendliness of staff and a very good restaurant. Breakfast was excellent also.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an older hotel that has not been updated. We found it was satisfactory and would sta there again if in town.

    Nice location! Easy to find too! Clean! Nice breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very close to town centre yet eaaily accessible by car (from railway staton - ab. 10 mins walk). Free parking on hotel grounds but space not always available.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    9.2
    The authentic Thuringian fittings in the Publiic areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was a bit dated - but fully functional

    The authentic Thuringian fittings in the Publiic areas. The bar. The parking The access to the city centre

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff went well above and beyond to keep the customers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The parking situation was less than ideal. Their small lot was full so I had to park on the street.

    The staff went well above and beyond to keep the customers happy.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful owners who spoke excellent English, though we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a private underground car park which holds about a dozen vehicles. However this was obviously designed for very small cars. Anything bigger has to be parked around the hotel and the ground level parking and taxi access needs to be completely redesigned. Having said that, the owners were very helpful in finding a space for our quite large car.

    Very helpful owners who spoke excellent English, though we were prepared to speak German. Hotel is about five minutes walk from the city centre and has been completely refurbished.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    Very welcoming and helpful receptionist our first evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very welcoming and helpful receptionist our first evening. Central location. Free parking. Room and en suite a little dated but comfortable. Everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.1
    Well located for central Eisenach and the Bachhaus, with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our sleep was disturbed by the loud music on the stage opposite the hotel. This only occurs twice a year we were assured, just our bad luck. It stopped by 1 a.m. although there was noise beyond that as people drifted away. To be fair to the hotel they did offer us free tickets to the event.

    Well located for central Eisenach and the Bachhaus, with the Wartburg just up the road. We had a lovely room with a round window and large (non-chiming) bell outside.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    Warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room 109 rather noisy from road in morning and cramped for 2 single travellers who had booked a 'comfort' room.

    Warm welcome. Good breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking; although booking form advised this was available on site and reservation was not required, the reality was different. No availability on site and staff advised the hotel did not guarantee this. We were directed to a car park across the road, but this was full and were then advised to park on the street. Only when we explained this was unacceptable,were we found a space in the garage.

    Location Outside terrace Food and drink

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.8
    Friendliness of staff and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to have a lounge area downstairs and tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Friendliness of staff and convenient location

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.6
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A ramp at the entrance

    Friendly helpful staff. Great restaurant and good meals.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.2
    Very good service, good food and located in an easily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very good service, good food and located in an easily accessible place, and a wonderful breakfast included.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.1
    good restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room was very small

    good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    7.1
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not all staff speaks english quite far away from train station

    value for money breakfast is good

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    9.2
    near the center of town, good access by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing to complain.

    near the center of town, good access by car. many public parking space.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.3
    Very nice breakfast and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice breakfast and clean!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.6
    Loved the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved the breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.6
    Eisenach was delightful and this hotel in very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somewhat intermittent internet service.

    Eisenach was delightful and this hotel in very good location. Neat Bach House and near Wartburg castle.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    6.7
    The restaurant was closed when we arrived, on a Sunday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The restaurant was closed when we arrived, on a Sunday. The receptionist barely spoke English. The breakast was scarce for a 4 stars hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.8
    Super friendly owners, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy street.

    Super friendly owners, very helpful. Let us park our car in the garage after checkout so we could visit Eisenach.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff, nice breakfast, near the Bach House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no air conditioner, no mini bar.

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast, near the Bach House.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    Location, friendly staff and free parking 50 metres away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location, friendly staff and free parking 50 metres away.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    4.2
    Dirty carpet, too much light in our room, noisy traffic, no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty carpet, too much light in our room, noisy traffic, no airco.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    7.5
    Close to the Wartburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Close to the Wartburg

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.8
    +clear room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -personaly I didn't enjoy the breakfast, hams were not refilled and there was almost no vegetables

    +clear room +big bathroom

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    Staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff and location

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.6
    Close to the city center, breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    free parking space is limited. (we could find the space since the other car just left)

    Close to the city center, breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    7.5
    Low key and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi needs some serious improvement.

    Low key and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    8.8
    Very nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the most comfortable bed.

    Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Location, staff,comfortable room
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location, staff,comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.2
    Great location, spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would have been nice to have shampoo in the bathroom

    Great location, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    9.2
    Lighting could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lighting could have been better. No minibar.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: