Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Steindamm 1, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#202 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2943 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice, big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not very strong in the room.

    Nice, big room. The bathroom was very spacious. Easy check-in and check-out. The breakfast buffet is nice and has everything needed. The hotel is located right next to the train station. Perfect for a good stay in Hamburg.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Hotel super, situated in an old building, room looks like a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be more comfortable, if there was electric kettle in the room.

    Hotel super, situated in an old building, room looks like a palace room and you feel like a queen :-) 2 minutes from main train station. Breakfast awersome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Good room for family close to the central station for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looks like there is no a/c in the room. It was not an issue for us since the weather was not hot, but in July-Aug it could be a problem.

    Good room for family close to the central station for reasonable money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    very good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    extra lift. and small problem is stairs at the entrance for those who travel with big bags. Lobby was too small,

    locations and room facities, it was good for working and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Price was good - staff and everything else not the way we've been hoping for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was really rude and not helpful at all!! Wouldn't come back - except for the price.

    The location of the hotel was pretty good but the area is not the best in town so stay safe!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    It's near train station and touristic places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel's price is expensive than its benefits. The street its located so bad,dirty, and disturbing.

    It's near train station and touristic places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    correct accommodation at a fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, including the bathroom, was rather small, but functional to just spend the nights in there. The noise from the street was rather heavy if the window was open. We like to sleep with open window. Apart from the breakfast room, there seems to be no other common or public space, apart from a tiny reception area. The hotel has some charm though as one can see the old style in the staircase and the corridors leading to the rooms.

    The central location of the hotel. Good to reach almost everywhere by foot. Good and varied choice of restaurants very close. The cleanliness of the room. The breakfast buffet was rich, but the same everyday (we stayed 5 nights). Maybe a little variety would do good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location for the train to get about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for the train to get about. Good value. Good continental breakfast. Has no problem as a family with small kids. They got hot chock for breakfast! We didn’t walk round the area with kids much, just between the hotel and the u-bahn which is so close it was brilliant!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Great value for money, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room and you could hear the street noise - but the location outweighs the drawbacks

    Great location, everything within walking distance - central train station just around the corner for easy airport connection. good value for money. Clean rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    Brill city, hotel was fine, did the job. Would definate ho again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actual street where the hotel is a bit dodgey (beggers, drinks, prostitutes etc). Also some staff were just miserable sods.

    Excellent location to either walk or communte by using the underground to explore the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    Excellent Location but hotel is a bit tired!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the bed, being charged 4 euros for a bottle of water. Decor needs updating as does the stair carpet (tripping hazard) The litter outside was awful. The receptionist when we arrived continued to speak very quickly in German when we indicated that we were struggling to understand. Other Receptionists were helpful.

    Location excellent, 2 minute walk from the hauptbahnhof. The Room was small but clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable, just too small for a tall person! Bathroom was clean and good shower. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    good price but not top choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    could not check in until like a quarter or half past 3 p.m. for a single room still somewhat small at 10 to 11 a.m. on the day of checkout staff just came in while I was still packing...... which is for me not quite acceptable

    good value, breakfast included great location, just across Hbf

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good location, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV wasn't working

    Very good location, very good breakfast. The room was small, but clean and warm, the bed was confortable. The bathroom was fine. It's perfect hotel for visiting Hamburg a few days.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Good great location Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small room really is very small!

    Beautiful old very impressive building. Good location near the Central Train Station and Underground. Plenty of restaurants and shops are around. City center in 10 minutes walking distance. Great breakfast. The room was very clean and the staff polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good price/quality ratio!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Key from the room can be better (electronic card instead of heavy mechanical key)

    Very good location, good breakfast, big room with balcony, clean, warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Very centrally located, just 2 minutes from the main train...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very centrally located, just 2 minutes from the main train station, close to all public transportation, not far walking to shopping/downtown area and city hall, breakfast adequately good. All-in-all, considering the good accommodations and the price charged: a good value for the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    It's really good value for money you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even description of the hotel says that there is parking available in the hotel, there is no. However there are plenty of public parking slots around as well as Train Station parking available in 5 minutes walk/1 minute drive for 10/15 EUR per day.

    It's really good value for money you pay. Good location right near the Central Train Station and Underground. Plenty of restaurants and shops are around. City center in 10 minutes walking distance. Breakfast is normal, not super, but you can find what to it. Hotel itself and rooms are not new, but clean and comfortable. So it's definitely good place to stay for the money they ask fo it(my stay was 50 EUR per night).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Good Value, Good location Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area could be a bit intimidating if alone, although I had no problems.

    Located near to the train station. A few minutes walk to the city centre shops. Set in the Turkish area plenty of bars and places to eat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location, next to main train station and plenty food...
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I got charged for breakfast both days which is 50 Euro even though I told them i request breakfast

    Great location, next to main train station and plenty food places

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Location helps make the most of your stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soy milk at breakfast.

    Brilliant convenient location close to main train station (we had to catch early flight next morning), loads of food choices at your doorstep, plus including art gallery across road & Rathaus square about 10 min walk. Clean rooms & comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.7
    Solid hotel with a good location next to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The neighbourhood was perhaps not the best but we managed. A bit chaotic on the street outside.

    Location close to station that made it easy to travel around in the city. Room clean and sizable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    The hotel served it's purpose as a place to sleep and rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first impression was not favorable as it did not look at all as in the photos posted on booking.com. It is an old fashioned typical German hotel

    Breakfast buffet had long hours and was very good for the type of property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bar would be nice.. but no way essential..

    lovely, adequate breakfast. Clean Room. Spotless bathroom, all comfort. 4 single male friends had a room each and used hotel as base to visit hamburg.. We were more than satisfied

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay very close to the center of Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small but comfortable. The breakfast room can be very crowded.

    The hotel was located next to the Hamburg main station, walking distance to the center and to quite a few nice restaurants. The room was very clean and the personel polite. The building itself is also very impressive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Located in the centre city, very close to the central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady staff who checked us out was quite unpleasant. The checkin time is too late (2 pm) and checkout time is too early (11 am).

    Located in the centre city, very close to the central station (Bus Tour point). The serving staff at the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Excellent trip to hamburg for six ladies. We loved the location of the hotel. So easy to get around
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe if the rooms had tea/coffee making facilities.

    Breakfast was excellent. The location was perfect, opposite main train station and the underground.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    The reception/staff, the shower, big room, cleaning,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didin´t have tea and coffee facilities, spoiled curtain, old keys (not key cards), a little strange neighborhood

    The reception/staff, the shower, big room, cleaning, daily cleaning, breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of people handling around. Beggars not kind at all. But nothing bad happened.

    Nice staff, very helpful. Good location,just few steps away from the central station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Very central hotel at a reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking outside only free between 00-08. At other times restricted to two hours. Limited garage is available.

    Beds were hard in a strange but not really uncomfortable way. Just next to the main train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    not impressed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very basic typical European(German) hotel. Very basic facilities. No reception area, no where to sit and relax with friends, no bar and worst of all NO kettle so you cant have a brew when you wake up in the morning. Why cant European hotels get into the 21st century!!!!

    Basic price and good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    Quite expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was too small, and there were not anything sweet. Room was very tiny, toilet was awful tiny. Outside of the hotel were a lot of strange loud and idle people.

    Breakfast was ok but too small room. Good connections eg. U bahn, bahn, bus...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    satisfactory breakfast but no croissants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    referring my room no.414 it was indeed too small for a twin room and should not be charged 562 Euros for 4 nights since nothing complimentary ( no water,tea &coffee) offered.

    satisfactory breakfast but no croissants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    Booked rooms not available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked some months in advance but at check-in we were told that our room was not ready - apparently due to a broken bed! (aka overbooking I guess). The staff relocated us to a another hotel nearby. We had 3 nights in Hamburg at two Novum hotels - during the first 24 hours we were relocated twice.

    Nice and very serviceminded staff. Have stayed there before and very nice hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast ok.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ok. the hotel location is very near Hamburg center train station just walk 2 minutes but on the night time the sound very very loudness and room very small.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Be very aware -
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was quite disturbing ' and with my young daughter ' was very intimidated ' by the migrants ' around the hotel 'unfortunately they had no respect for myself or daughter ' that is the main reason we will unfortunately not be going back to the area ' and will be advising others about our experience '

    The hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    Large rooms to sleep 5, and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being so close to the central station is good for convenience, but walking through the area between the station and the hotel felt a bit unsafe. There was no kettle in the room, and the coffee vending machine in the foyer was out of order.

    The hotel room was very spacious and very clean. They had a family size room to accommodate 5 very comfortably. Bathroom had separate shower and bath, and all looked brand new and very clean. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Lads Trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few vagrants hanging around nearby spoils the area a bit.

    A good basic breakfast included in the price and the location which had excellent transport links.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.2
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very basic, not value for money and the bed was uncomfortable. In need of a good update to justify the price for a nights stay.

    Location was easy next to train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    -location right next to central station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -location being in one of the more dangerous parts of the city (noise from people shouting outside at night) -decor was a bit dated

    -location right next to central station -friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location - it was in a bad part of town with a parking lot across the street with people selling drugs, people on drugs and hookers. Not a very safe environment for families with children. I did not feel safe.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    Nice staff a and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was not very nice, stuffed with people making business in the street and drinking. The room was super small, when we opened the suitcase we couldn't litterally get around the room anymore.

    Nice staff a and clean room. The breakfast was good and well supplied.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    location is conveninent but dirty around
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Close to central station - too dirty outside. Very small room for 2 persons. Not everything available in bathroom. Some staff is very helpful and freindly, others - not. Hot in the room, no air con and you can't open a window asit's noisy overnight.

    Very close to central train station, very easy and fast to get from/to airport and other locations. Quite clean inside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Definitely coming back here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist we met the first evening was not very friendly, but the other ones was really nice.

    Small rooms, but clean and nice. Fantastic breakfasts buffet and close to the centre of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice room, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area wasn't so nice, it was very central though, so walking distance to nicer areas but a lot of people sort of hanging around in the area around the hotel.

    Nice room, comfortable bed. Average breakfast. Good service on arrival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude young lady at the reception at 11.00 pm. My mobile charger was lost in transit, battery was completely gone. Just requested for help but she was too rude. I made a basic and simple request.

    Cheerful and friendly behaviour of young man at the reception. Helpful staff in breakfast room. Claealiness of room. Perfect location......

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    The bathroom in the room we were in at this hotel was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the location of this hotel is very convenient to the train station it also a part of the city that seems to attract all of the homeless population etc. This hotel does not have air conditioning which I missed when booking. Because of this we needed to keep the windows open for any type of air circulation. This area is constantly bustling all night long, so it made it difficult to sleep with all of the noise from below. We did have a five person room so it was a good size, but the beds were not comfortable and they could definitely use better pillows. Wi-Fi was only accessible in a small area by the bathroom we jokingly called it the Wi-Fi Cafe during our stay.

    The bathroom in the room we were in at this hotel was very spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.8
    Horrible experience, arogant people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionist was rude and very unhelpful. They speak English very poorly they prefer not to talk to us at all.

    Breakfast was reasonable. No any pastry, stuff not talking at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Conveniently located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel bordered an undesirable neighborhood if you exited left. They didn't provide any kleenex in the bathroom. The rooms were too small for a couple; the room was also too warm.

    Location near the train station was convenient as well as a buffet breakfast being included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    3.3
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was of the ridiculous Size. Not enough for two travelers at all. The photos presented while booking were other and very misleading. Poor breakfast.

    Close to old town and shopping streets

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Great Location and Excellent Value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect for us with restaurants, central train station and Hop On Hop Off Bus very close, within half a block. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of seating. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Good location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were supposed to have a bigger room but when we checked in only a smaller room(same price )is available despite booking the room 3 months ago. Slightly unhappy about this!

    The rooms were very clean ! The room we had have 2 sinks, I found this very useful in the morning .,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi stand~No curb in front of hotel to drop off luggages. Cop didn't even allow car to stop right in front of hotel to load our luggages.

    Fantastic bedroom balcony view, located in city center, overnight parking 5-10minute walk for €10. Wifi good, clean towels and beddings. Breakfast room crowded with guests but with good selection. Reception friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.8
    Not so good Hotel worth Novum Brand NAME
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs to Reception, difficult to carry luggage. Small and Slow - only ONE Lift Only tomato for sandwich in morning. Limited English by Staff at Breakfast. Same menu everyday. Check in at 2:00 PM. Old fashioned locks and HEAVY KEY and so on..

    Only Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.5
    Close to the train with a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was chilly street notice, but is a good place to stay if you have a morning train, or you arrive late,

    It had the very best breakfast, just wonderful, I had an early train the hotel is a 4 minute walk to the central station

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Room and breakfast was nice, staff was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not friendly or welcoming. Checking-in felt more like an interrogation process, not warm at all. I had a few questions when I arrived, and the man behaved as if answering them was an innocence to him. I had requested a room with a double bed and instead received a room with two singles pushed together. I did not appreciate this. A late checkout (leaving after 11 am) cost an extra 15 euros. The area is a little seedy after dark, but luckily it's not isolated, so that made me feel better. Room walls are very thin. Definetly not the hotel for you if you're a light sleeper, thankfully I am not.

    The room was nice and spacious enough for only me. The breakfast was fantastic. The bread tasted fresh and plenty of cheeses and spreads to choose from. Also, coffee was available in a personal pot for each table which was something I enjoyed. There is a luggage storage room in the lobby behind the front desk. So if you arrive early and your room is not ready (as I did), but don't want to drag your belongings around Hamburg, you can drop-off your things. The hotel is across the street from the underground public transport and the bus station. About two blocks away from the central train station. This was extremely convenient and saved me loads of time while getting to one place to another. Very convenient area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    6.7
    I don't like that I booked a Queen size bed and finally...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like that I booked a Queen size bed and finally there was a normal size bed and next to the wall, so for two people is not practical and the room was very small for going in a business travel...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money. Could improve though.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was slightly decadent: the door looked like it came out of a motel in an american road movie. The curtains and carpets are old fashioned and heavy. Also, the wi-fi was not so good. And that's not understandable.

    Excellent breakfast. Excellent location. Beautiful old building.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    6.0
    good location but bad experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we heard lot of sounds at the night in the room its difficult to sleep,even in the night there has some more lighting in the room from out side even we put the curtains. really bad stay

    good location, Near to central station just it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable neat hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No welcome bottle of water in room. We are used to complimentary bottle of water but I was paid 4 euros for water which I though was complimentary . Rest all good

    Location, service and hospitality of staff .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Great hotel for a group of friends looking to enjoy hamburg. No short-comings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't remember anything I did not like.

    Great large rooms, we fit in 5 into a room and it was still spacious and roomy and didn't feel squashed. The bathroom never ran out of hot water and the free breakfast was perfect. The service impeccable and no complaints at all about the location either. Close to some nice restaurants, the central tube to get to and from the airport and also a mile walk into the main town area. Also had a convenience store down the road which is great for picking up 29 euro cent beers or as we did - a box of mandarins!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.8
    the staff was unfriendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff was unfriendly. As i understand German language so when i came on reception for check In they asked my passport. And after seeing the Pakistan Passport the lady said the he is a stupid person he is a asylum seeker may be criminal dont check him. I cannot expect such a thing from the hotel here.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location, friendly staff..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't reach our room, the signal wasn't strong enough but when you stepped out into the hall you could access it. We were on the 4th floor so we were the furthest away we could be so it's understandable.

    The hotel is literally about a 1 minute walk from the central station. This means you can access transport to anywhere and within the station there are several shops and kiosks selling all kinds of foods. It is also where a lot of the tours start. Breakfast was included and the scrambled egg breakfast was so delicious! There is a nice breakfast area, very clean. The staff were friendly at all times. The room was big and clean and had a lovely view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.4
    4* building,3*service,2*breakfast, close to central station if this is your priority.
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    practically no lobby, cramped lift, average breakfast for the price with a very limited choice if you are a vegetarian. It is practically continental breakfast, except boiled eggs, slices of cheese for the vegetarians.

    Location, close to central station-if you this is your priority then may seems a reasonable choice,otherwise better to book close to city center. Grandeur of the building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    4.6
    Good shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very handy location close to Railway central station but on the other hand on the heart of the red district. Uncomfortable to walk at nighttime in the area. Personal was not nice, they did not facilitate things such as ordering a taxi as there were always issues with every request. Invoice had to be sent by mail rather than on departure. Good wifi but not when all guests were in.

    Good shower. Close to malls and central railway station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    4.6
    We will try harder?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your call centre in China, India was a right mess. I asked to cancel a room in another hotel as the original hotel was unavailable on day one of a 2 day stay. A few days later the original hotel had availability so I cancelled the hotel of day one and booked an additional night at the original hotel. Then I find out that you had cancelled the other hotel but also cancelled the room at the original hotel instead of booking it for another night. Called again to have error rectified but then found out on arrival that you had booked 2 rooms on day 2. Your call centre (by the sound of it in India is operated by staff with such a heavy Indian/English accent that is quite unacceptable. You need to ensure that a client who has a problem with his reservation gets a "case reference number" as present procedure with a booking reference number does not work.

    Location related to public transport, restaurants, airport, trains

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.1
    F
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not have any parking facilities per se. They guide you to a public parking nearby, that is 10 minutes on walk.

    The location is perfect for the people traveling by bus or train. Both terminals are just few meters away. Breakfast is also perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Very nice place for a family with small children to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there would be a bit more warm food ( for example sausages or beans ) for breakfast, it would be better.

    The room is big and tidy, very nice bathroom. It has enough room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.5
    Convenient location just across the road from the station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very busy area with lots of people hanging about and several sleeping rough. Would not want to be out late off the main road.

    Convenient location just across the road from the station and over the river from the main city centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    Excellent value and location in central Hamburg.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect for my business meeting and an excellent value for a downtown Hamburg hotel and I intend to stay there on my next trip to Hamburg.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.2
    Everything was very clean and the room in spite of the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the entrance desk could have been a little friendlier. I had to wait for the room and there was only a very small room with two chairs available.

    Everything was very clean and the room in spite of the construction work going on was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    6.7
    - many possibilities for eating around this place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the whole surrounding area around the train station gets crazy and I did not feel to be in Germany. However, nothing wrong happened. - lack of warm water in the late evening

    - many possibilities for eating around this place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    6.7
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was way high, very central but the area is not as nice as depicted. Plus workers working outside of the bathroom window with shades only on the lower part was not a great deal of privacy...

    Location was great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    7.5
    Great if you arrive by train,difficult by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Streets in neighbourhood need a good clean up.

    Great if you arrive by train,difficult by car. Excellent breakfast, close to shopping and easy walk to Miniatur Wunderland.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    Perfect position for travellers by train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window could not be closed compleatelly so the noise from the street was disturbing. Too high price for what you get.

    Really near the main station and to a lots of restaurants (to the right of the hotel, go toward the station) and right again). Some one can find the area infront of the hotel a lilltle bit anpleasant du to beggers, homless and other strange peoples, but nothing to worry about! Kind and professional staff at the reception. New furnitures and confortable bed, very clean room. little bathroom but very clean and modern. Breakfast was ok!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old and not very clean with funny smell

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: