Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goethe This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Goethestrasse 18, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#315 of 367 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2248 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    5.4
    This hotel reminds me of a cheap hotel which i stayed when i was a young student.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A broken support of a shower head. Many stains on the wall and a floor. The cleaning staff forgot to lock the door after cleaning when i was out. The wall is thin. A drunken guy who didn’t wear a trouser knocked my door and asked a strange favor but this interesting experience might be due to Oktoberfes.

    Breakfast is good. The location is very close to the cental station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, easy/quick access to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, easy/quick access to train station. 10\15 min walk to the Marianplatz and all the old town sites. Clean room, nice breakfast ...would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    A shot business trip with everything at your fingertip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the TV channels were in Deutsch . I wish there was few in English as CNN or BBC or some entertainment channels.

    Mostly everything , the staff was great and Mohamed in the front desk as well as his lady colleagues were cheerful and very helpful . The breakfast was extraordinary.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Lucky me
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soap and shampoo was not so good. It seems like soap wasn't cleaning enough.

    First of all, I was worried about the previous hotel was canceled but when I entered Goethe hotel... Uuuu mama how lucky I was. Food was very good, rooms I've been was very comfortable, big elevator, soo cleeeeeaaan that I wanted to say to cleaners "Pleas stop cleaning for a while". Very near to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel in a great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We arrived at 8am ,long before we our booked arrival and staff invited us to have a coffee , sit and relax and use hotel wifi . We were able to leave our cases with them and go and explore Munich before returning to get the keys to our room .Staff were welcoming and helpful , breakfast was excellent .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    We only had a very short stay in Munich but what we saw we enjoyed very much even in the rain 😉
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No decent restaurants nearby and as we arrived late at night we did not want to walk too far.

    Good location near city centre and train station. We only stayed one night and left the next afternoon by train. You can walk to the train station which only takes a few minutes. Breakfast was good with pleny of choice. Baggage storage available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV to have antenna and be able to use the heated towel rack

    Staff were super helpful and friendly upon our early arrival. Breakfast the next day was fresh and nice. Unfortunately we had no tv due to some problem with the antenna. But that's okay. Just there for the night. Please be mindful that there are a few steps to climb if you have a less mobile companion with you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    Would not stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were small insects in the bathroom. The towel hanger was broken. We paid 200€ for 2 nights and wanted to stay one extra night and they charged us 240€ for the one extra night.

    Location is good and coffee was fine

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Location is very close to the train station and easy to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ... pretty basic stuff.... good if you got a great deal on the rate....

    Location is very close to the train station and easy to get to the tourist sights as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good value for its price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are a bit worn, the bathroom is quite small.

    Very good value for its price, nice location: 5 min. walk ftom Hbf and 15 minutes to Marienplatz.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of hot water problem, they moved us to a nearby hotel. In the morning I discovered that this room didn’t have toilet paper...

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff, good breakfast, but that's all positive there is to say
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start: They put me in another hotel called Atlas Hotel, which is about a 5 minute walk, for a very obscure realsn. The room was tiny, like a prison cell, there was no Aircon, which was problematic given the hot weather. As I wanted to open the window, it was way too loud outside. The isolation was very bad: I was woken up by people slamming doors, screaming on the hallways and babies crying. I had very little sleep that night. It was not a pleasant stay.

    The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Goethe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location very central but noisy at night. Hot weather meant you had to have the windows open and our room was on the street side of the building.

    Although no air conditioning, there was a fan in the room. Beds comfortable. Reasonable choice at breakfast. Friendly staff. Outdoor area to sit and have a drink.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    The staff were smiling and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and almost a garret. It was also a flight of stairs up from where the elevator reached up to. The small table fan that was given after we asked for it was totally unable to cope with the heat.

    The staff were smiling and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, accommodating staff and wonderfully located
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would've liked to have air conditioning in the rooms, since it gets so hot in the summertime, especially in the rooms facing the inner court, which had windows opening out to a communal catwalk, and also for the suite on the fifth floor, which was very hot.

    The staff was extremely friendly and amazingly helpful in helping our group of six with little things like giving some of us directions to local shops, restaurants and other establishments. They also helped us with some logistics in returning a rental car and finding a place to withdrawal euros. The hotel is a five minute walk from the Munich main railway station (Hbf) and to the old city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    It was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel cleaning staff went through the room and she dropped the used soaps but did not put other soaps. As a result, I did not have soap for the next day. One night, other travelers strolled on the metal stairs in the inner courtyard and made a lot of noise.

    Close to the central station, quiet inner courtyard, with a few tables and chairs, friendly staff at the reception. Multicultural neighborhood where different nationalities live... as in all capitals near the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Perhaps, it is quiet in the rooms with windows at the inner patio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was too noisy (noise was from the street). There was no air conditioning, then it was too hot. The inner garden was occupied by smokers, so it was not possible to sit there. There was an excess bed.

    Breakfast is good. The hotel is close to the Central Railway station. There are some sits in the inner patio. Staff is helpful. There are city maps. Little bottle of water is free in the first day (in minibar).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Decent hotel in city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The towel rail/radiator was rusty and air conditioning would have been a big bonus but recent temperatures have been higher than norma,l so possibly it is normally more comfortable.

    Very handy for the railway station and within walking distance of the city centre. The breakfast buffet was ok with cereals, fruits, cold meats and cheeses. The beds were reasonablt comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.3
    Very hot in room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in room .no ac or fan. Construction at Street. To open the window made the room loud from Street and construction. Toilet flushing need 6 times to get clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite small. There’s no air con and it did get warm at night. The toilet didn’t seem to flush properly and needed to be flushed several times for it to work.

    A few minutes walk from the main station which was very convenient. Also not a far walk from Munich old town. The area looked a bit dodgy at first but soon realised it was perfectly fine and quite a lively street. The breakfast was great with plenty of choices. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff was super friendly and when we asked for a fan for...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no ac so the room is incredibly hot if you stay in the warmer season. I feel like it was over priced for the room.

    The staff was super friendly and when we asked for a fan for our room they helped out in about 10 minuets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small and noisy if facing the street, room wasn't cleaned up after check in (which was fixed quite quickly) and one of the lamps wasn't working (never fixed, asked staff to fix it multiple times few days in a row).

    The breakfast had a good variety and the hotel location is convenient. A small fridge in the room is a plus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Good, affordable option in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was bit small for 2 people (good thing we only had one suitcase each). The bathroom was tight. The shower head holder was not properly connected to the rod so the shower head would tilt over and we had to angle it a certain way to stay up. The controls for the water temperature were above the toilet outside the shower cabin, which was new for us. This meant having to reach outside of the shower to adjust the water temp.

    The bed was comfortable. The mini-fridge had free water. The breakfast buffet was good. There was free internet. The gentleman a the front desk as nice. The location (near the main station) was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious, the area was safe and easy to get to, and there were plenty of places open late. There was always someone at the front desk and all were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    the staff are so helpful, the breakfast is fantastic and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi does not work at all in room 502 so spent a lot of time in the stairwell.

    the staff are so helpful, the breakfast is fantastic and the location to the central station is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay at the Hotel, we felt at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Everything was set for us to have a wonderful stay at the Hotel, the staff were helpful and very cooperative, the service excellent, and the facilities were a good surprise, all exceeded our expectation. The desk was above all we expected. Aniff Abdulla. Late check in was possible and the hotel kept our luggage after our check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    Good for people travelling for leasure with good proximity to the main train station. Expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking close to the hotel. I was advised to park 300m away from the hotel and to pay that parking. Not easy even to park temporarily to unload the baggage.The hotel was noisy during the night as stairwell is made of metal and very noisy when people walk and drag their suitcases over it. The are no ironing facilities in the room. The iron must be collected from the reception but there is no ironing board. Not recommended for business travellers and travellers with a vehicle.

    The bedding was very clean. The whole room was clean. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    The staff was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dirty and whole hotel facilities were in poor conditions (such as a 1 star hotel or less). The bed was quite uncomfortable. Room curtains were so bad, indeed at 6 am sunshine enters in room and I could not sleep properly.

    The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    Location is close to Munich station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money is very poor Poor quality soaps kept Water was not good as well Breakfast was very average one No air conditioner will not recommend as below people smoke & if you leave windows open rooms fill in with smoke. You can barely stand in shower place

    Location is close to Munich station People were helping

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Hotel Goethe - handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite hot because the rooms are not air conditioned. The bathroom was very small and there was a small double bed and 2 single beds in our room when there was only my husband and I staying.

    The reception were helpful and the breakfast was good. It is located within walking distance to Munich Hofbahnhaus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    The staff is friendly and the breakfast is okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street. There's no air-con in the room, one has to keep the window opened as it is quite warm in May,. People stay on the street chatting loudly until mid-night.

    The staff is friendly and the breakfast is okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Fine location (5 mins' walk from main raliway station; 10 mins to city centre) and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Several of the wall fittings (plug socket; bathroom fittings) were loose, though not dangerously so. Wrong type of wall-fastening used? A kettle in the room would have been good (there was a fridge). The top-floor room was rather warm and faced the street; if the window was open it was a bit noisy.

    Breakfast - as expected, a wide choice of hot and cold dishes. Reception service always attentive. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Hotel Goethe is not at all expensive for Münich and it feels familiar and warm
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A girl friend told me that she had a room at the front side of the street some time ago. Of course this is noisy, but nevertheless she was pleased.

    the kind of hotel. It is Turkish and the man of the reception was perfect concerning his personality and in the exercise of his duty. The main room where you are coming in, is a surprise. I was so astonished seeing all kind of paintings at each floor, for example Goethe and the Ata Turk, 17th century Dutch genre paintings from an amateur, but also pictures of happenings with Erdogan. Totally different from our opinion because he is a dictator. I felt like I was in an other world, but pleasant. Everybody was very kind and I felt comfortable. So it is as if you have been invited by your best friend in a cosy environment. At the opposite of the hotel is a Turkish (Kebab) restaurant and this experience too is an adventure because the Turkish people are very friendly and ready to help. So I felt very happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Brrakfast was really good and good location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping comming when they want, and even if u are in a room. In the night- something around the rooms works and it loud. Difficult to sleep.

    Brrakfasts are very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Not Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door of the shower cabinet was not completely closing and the whole bathroom was getting wet after shower. The siphon tank was constantly draining and making noise.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Standard hotel with excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at the hotel after midnight and left the next morning, so my stay was very minimal. While the location is convenient for a stopover, I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay. The area is very noisy late at night and early in the morning. It is a bit too far from the attractive parts of the city to give a good feel. The room is pretty standard for hotels of this type and price range. The shower/bathroom is pretty small. Barely enough room to take your clothes off. At the time I arrived there was no hot water

    The location is convenient for a quick stopover, since it is a very short walking distance from the train station. The breakfast is varied and generous and is an excellent way to start off the next day of travel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    The price was very attractive but you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is close to the center but in a very dirty and dubious street, never felt unsafe but it wasn't comfortable either. The wifi had bad signal and it is limited to 2 devices logged in the system (even if not connected to the network). The parking is quite expensive.

    The price was very attractive but you get what you pay for. It is a decent hotel but don't expect nothing fancy. A good budget solution.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Useful place to stay when visiting Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area slightly seedy as is often the case when close to transport hubs.

    Well positioned for Hbf, property slightly faded Breakfast excellent available from 0630 until 1000 every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    A well located and quiet budget hotel, close to Munich main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The streets around this hotel are not the best ambience.

    A good budget hotel, very close to the Munich Hauptbahnhof. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms are at the back, so very quiet: unusual in a big City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly,comfortable hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A.

    Great little hotel in a convenient location around 700m from the main railway station. Room small but adequate for single occupancy. Large comfortable bed. Bathroom OK. Typical buffet breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Good job Hotel Goethe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signing in wasn't so great but the next shift of staff was pretty good.

    Property is in the city. Very near to central station. Also 24 hr reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    This place is like a mini Istanbul!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms have tiny showers with loose showerheads Checking in was slow and VERY confussing. Rooms, names and keys where mixed and made chaos during our stay. Some rooms are close to the street where there are some traffic noices during the night. In the summer there are turkish meeting in the garden by a large group of men that talks loud and keep the guest awaken. The elevator stop in the middle of the floors. Luggage must be carried. Only halalmeat at the breakfast Some rooms are tiny! Double rooms only get one key

    haufbahnhof is nearby!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff was very cooperative and friendly and excellent good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The mattress was very hard and the room was very crowded with 4 beds on the triple room. No telephone. The breakfast was same every day.

    Staff was very cooperative and friendly and excellent good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Good beds and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are new but they need the finally atttention points. Especially in the bathroom already some details what will be big problems if not solved.

    Good beds and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in the room was extreme and we couldn’t turn off the radiator. Shower was broke. Limited choice for breakfast.

    Location was very good. Right next to central station and only a short walk to the city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.3
    Wide breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much furniture in the small room I was allocated made it hard to move around. It made the room feel a lot smaller than it already was. Some of the staff didn't speak English which made it difficult to communicate at times, even though the hotel description states 'we speak your language'.

    Wide breakfast selection. Some of the staff were very friendly. Close to Munich train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient hotel in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One side of the double bed is located against the wall, which is not a big deal but is not very comfort.

    Great breakfast included and 2 min from the Hauptbahnhof. Room has minibar :). Good price per value. Very good falafel shop rigth on front of it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.1
    The staff are nice,friendly and helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it would be better if the wifi connection works well in the night like in the day . Cant browse anything in the night

    The staff are nice,friendly and helpful. The breakfast ist okay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    For the price, more than expected.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not recommended if you want to spend more time in the hotel than necessary. This hotel definitely needs some refurbishing, with walls dirty and so on (but the bedbugs stories from other reviews are doubtful). Room rather small. Wifi spotty at times.

    For the price, more than expected. Centrally located, the hotel is 200 meters from U-Bahn/S-Bahn. Many all-night (?) convenience stores around. Breakfast with many options (even if monotonous after a couple of days). Good coffee (which is unusual at this hotel price). Room regularly cleaned. It was quiet at day at night (but I visited in February).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast good, staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection unreliable in room. Room was located outside of main building, requiring navigation of a slippery, snowy set of stairs to reach.

    Breakfast good, staff were nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Cheap, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains weren't quite wide enough to block out the light which was the only issue with the room.

    Great location for exploring the City and for proximity to the Central Train Station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    3.8
    Breakfast and breakfast room was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mould in the roof of the shower. Complained twice without anything was done. As I have chronic problems in my lungs did I feel bad after two night´s and complained then. See attached photo. Electricity in wet bathroom was not reasonable for safety, see attached photo.

    Breakfast and breakfast room was fine. Beds were fine as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Good location. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, really close to the Hauptbahnhof, so you could get anywhere in the city very quickly. Good breakfast. The hotel is a bit old, but the room was good for the price. The staff was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.0
    Goethe Hotel in centre of Arabia
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not have feeling of cleaness in Goethe hotel. Rooms are very small, furniture combined. Bathroom desperately needs to be fixed. Sheets and pillows could be better. I had to combine from other bed to make it usable. Breakfast is not Eurnpean, it is very Arabic as same as neiborhood which none could be read from name of the hotel which certainly is not Arabic. Strange is entrance and access to elevator. Very expensive hotel parking. More looks as older tipe hostel or exBrothel than hotel. Good only for one night stay.

    It was close to location where I needed to be. It was cheap.ď

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are quite small, but that was not an issue for me as I was mostly out. The mattress was also too soft.

    Great location, a few minutes from the Hauptbahnhof, in the middle of a lively Turkish, yet safe, area, full of restaurants. The staff is very kind and welcoming. The free breakfast is very nice, rooms are clean, while the price is unbeatable. Some very nice black cats who wander around the inner yard add to the cozy factor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location, pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the reception staff were as helpful as the morning lady, and it is important to have staff that speak English.

    I arrived at 7am after an overnight train journey suffering an annoying cold. The lovely morning receptionist went out of her way to look after me and organise a room to be ready much earlier than usual. Every time I asked her something she was incredibly helpful and I wish I had gotten her name so I could mention it here. Breakfast is included in the room rate and for a 'free' breakfast was quite good. The only hot foods were egg, but there was a good selection of breads, cheese and cold meats.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    We got big room with 4 beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got big room with 4 beds. Good place near the railway station in Turkish style. Breakfasts are very tasty! Good variant for families with children.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    All other reception staff was friendly;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception girl on Saturday night (evening of 30th of Dec 2017) was quite rude and not very helpful. We asked her to call a restaurant that was recommended to us by a friend, so she can help making a booking in German and when she looked up the restaurant, her reply was "I cannot call as it is too far". Too far to call?! In the end she told us to come back in 15 minutes as she was busy on the phone.. we ended up calling ourselves

    All other reception staff was friendly; we got free drinks in the lobby for NYE which was a nice bonus! Room was big enough and had all the basics; location is very close to central station, easy to go to/from the airport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.7
    The room has everything I needed, especially nice to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior looks very old and not very clean, some areas were quite dusty. Some floors (half-floors) have no elevator accessability and I had to bring my very heavy luggage up the stairs.

    The room has everything I needed, especially nice to have two tabels. The bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is very good - standard German, but with a big variety of cheese. Very close to the train station and in walking distance from the city center - great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.3
    Thelocation is good, 10 min walk from city center, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is in Arabian streets close to main railway station. It's not quite nor clean outside.

    Thelocation is good, 10 min walk from city center, very close to metro and to the supermarket.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.5
    Nothing to complain about - did what we needed it to do and didn't break the bank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom smelled a bit bad when we first arrived.

    Absolutely fine for what we paid. The breakfast was a very generous spread of a variety of food and the staff were all very friendly. Excellent location too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Great week with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All the sockets are hard to reach (behind the bed, near the door, between the bed and the table near it), which is a bit inconvenient (we couldn't charge our phones at the same time). WiFi is stable but not very fast.

    The staff was extra helpful and nice, the location is great (it's close to the train station - which is very convenient because there are shops/pharmacies that are open all the time; the metro station, airport shuttles, supermarkets, etc.) There were three of us, but we got a five-bedroom room. The bathroom is spacious and always clean, too. Breakfast is very good. We also asked for tea in the evening and got the whole pot of water for it :) As an additional bonus - three black cats live on the premises and they're amazing and cute :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location, easy to walk to Central Munich (~15 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator isn't speedy, and the melon was hard at breakfast.

    Great location, easy to walk to Central Munich (~15 minutes walk) and to the main Munich HBF (~3 minutes walk). Nice breakfast spread, very early in the morning (6:30am). Staff were very nice. Room was clean, shower was good, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. A 3-star hotel that is typical for that rating. Great value for money. Will be staying there again.

    Fantastic location- mere minutes walk away from Hauptbahnhoff (main train station in Munich). Really good breakfast too. Fantastically friendly owner, who just made our stay really special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant experience at a great location in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could be a bit more comfortable (too soft for our taste), but it's a small thing!

    Very nice location, easy accessible and animated also at night. All the main attractions were within walking distance! The room was clean, the staff was nice and polite, and breakfast was pretty awesome as well! Would recommend it and stay there again when visiting Munich!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Stay was marvellous due to its strategic location, friendly staff and the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift level was in between floor. As I had big luggage to carry up or down to half floor for lift usage.

    Staff Mariam was superb in her role. customer service oriented and helpful. Room and food was awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Location to station and food outlets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location to station was perfect. Lots of food around as it seems to be in heart of Turkish area. Great restaurant opposite. Easy walk to main areas of Munich.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    A very enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some building work was being done and the plaster dust etc was left temporarily to spoil the carpet leading to my room. But this is not an issue.

    The staff were efficient, friendly and very helpful. They made me welcome. The breakfast food was super!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.7
    A decent hotel for a short stay, representing very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance to the hotel is peculiar, to say the least. Two buildings put together. You have to go to the room through some kind of covered alley, which is both confusing and uninviting.

    Good bed, quiet room, even when it was on street-side. The windows did a good job keeping the noise out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    great location, great price, great bed, great staff and great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the hotel being beside the haupbahnhof, we were able to get a train directly to the hotel, from the airport. It is located on a busy street with plenty shops bars and restaurants. The area surrounding the haupbahnhof is busseling with vibrance from many restaurants, bars and shops. The main square is only a couple stops away by tram, train or underground. Everything in Munich is very accessible from the hotel via the adjacent haupbahnhof. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and deceptively large. After walking through a cosy foyer, you walk out the back to find the hotel complex overlooks a garden-yard that is overlooked by the neighboring buildings. The hotel complex rises up with several tiers of balconies and fireescapes. Our room was on the fourth floor, with access to the fire escape. My friend's was accessed by the veranda off the main building, through the courtyard. The rooms were cosy, warm and well stocked with the usual hotel toiletries. The beds were beyond comfortable. The mattresses were HUGE, firm and yet soft. The duvet was thin but somehow very heavy. The heating was second to none. The shower was perfect. I cannot recommend this hotel any more. I only availed of the breakfast buffet on one day, but the selection was wide and varied. I would stay again if returning to Munich.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff, facility is old, the hotel boss help to fix the problems in the room. Reserved the parking card for us on the second visit, it was much convenience and save money. Walking distance to Marienplatz, Viktualienmarkt

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    Cost efficient stay in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen is close to breakfast hall therefore it's pretty loud First night we couldn't sleep in the type of room we actually booked

    Cost efficient Location close to train station and city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Location was perfect for Octoberfest and is close to railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds are a little small

    Location was perfect for Octoberfest and is close to railway stations and even the Munich bus station. Walking distance to Marionplatz and markets. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    The location is very close to the main train station, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we had a kitchenette unit, there were no pots or utensils. But it is possible that the rate we paid did not include the use of the kitchenette.

    The location is very close to the main train station, easy walking distance. It is also easy to walk to Marienplatz and the center of old town. Breakfast buffer was large and varied.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Had asked for twin beds and surprised to find we had two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk was accommodating and cordial...but not overly friendly. Possibly language barrier.

    Had asked for twin beds and surprised to find we had two bedrooms which was great. Hotel quite old...lots of steps. Our room was outside access above the courtyard and steps outside. Room was good size, nice bathroom with small kitchenette. Beds comfortable. Breakfast was European with variety and tasty. Service was good. Location good to Oktoberfest, Glockenspiel, train station, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Goethe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: