Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goethe This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Goethestrasse 18, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#303 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2199 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.3
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious, the area was safe and easy to get to, and there were plenty of places open late. There was always someone at the front desk and all were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.8
    the staff are so helpful, the breakfast is fantastic and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi does not work at all in room 502 so spent a lot of time in the stairwell.

    the staff are so helpful, the breakfast is fantastic and the location to the central station is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay at the Hotel, we felt at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Everything was set for us to have a wonderful stay at the Hotel, the staff were helpful and very cooperative, the service excellent, and the facilities were a good surprise, all exceeded our expectation. The desk was above all we expected. Aniff Abdulla. Late check in was possible and the hotel kept our luggage after our check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    4.6
    Good for people travelling for leasure with good proximity to the main train station. Expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking close to the hotel. I was advised to park 300m away from the hotel and to pay that parking. Not easy even to park temporarily to unload the baggage.The hotel was noisy during the night as stairwell is made of metal and very noisy when people walk and drag their suitcases over it. The are no ironing facilities in the room. The iron must be collected from the reception but there is no ironing board. Not recommended for business travellers and travellers with a vehicle.

    The bedding was very clean. The whole room was clean. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    4.2
    The staff was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dirty and whole hotel facilities were in poor conditions (such as a 1 star hotel or less). The bed was quite uncomfortable. Room curtains were so bad, indeed at 6 am sunshine enters in room and I could not sleep properly.

    The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    4.6
    Location is close to Munich station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Value for money is very poor Poor quality soaps kept Water was not good as well Breakfast was very average one No air conditioner will not recommend as below people smoke & if you leave windows open rooms fill in with smoke. You can barely stand in shower place

    Location is close to Munich station People were helping

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel Goethe - handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was quite hot because the rooms are not air conditioned. The bathroom was very small and there was a small double bed and 2 single beds in our room when there was only my husband and I staying.

    The reception were helpful and the breakfast was good. It is located within walking distance to Munich Hofbahnhaus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    6.3
    The staff is friendly and the breakfast is okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from the street. There's no air-con in the room, one has to keep the window opened as it is quite warm in May,. People stay on the street chatting loudly until mid-night.

    The staff is friendly and the breakfast is okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.2
    Fine location (5 mins' walk from main raliway station; 10 mins to city centre) and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Several of the wall fittings (plug socket; bathroom fittings) were loose, though not dangerously so. Wrong type of wall-fastening used? A kettle in the room would have been good (there was a fridge). The top-floor room was rather warm and faced the street; if the window was open it was a bit noisy.

    Breakfast - as expected, a wide choice of hot and cold dishes. Reception service always attentive. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel Goethe is not at all expensive for Münich and it feels familiar and warm
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A girl friend told me that she had a room at the front side of the street some time ago. Of course this is noisy, but nevertheless she was pleased.

    the kind of hotel. It is Turkish and the man of the reception was perfect concerning his personality and in the exercise of his duty. The main room where you are coming in, is a surprise. I was so astonished seeing all kind of paintings at each floor, for example Goethe and the Ata Turk, 17th century Dutch genre paintings from an amateur, but also pictures of happenings with Erdogan. Totally different from our opinion because he is a dictator. I felt like I was in an other world, but pleasant. Everybody was very kind and I felt comfortable. So it is as if you have been invited by your best friend in a cosy environment. At the opposite of the hotel is a Turkish (Kebab) restaurant and this experience too is an adventure because the Turkish people are very friendly and ready to help. So I felt very happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    5.8
    Brrakfast was really good and good location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping comming when they want, and even if u are in a room. In the night- something around the rooms works and it loud. Difficult to sleep.

    Brrakfasts are very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    6.7
    Not Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door of the shower cabinet was not completely closing and the whole bathroom was getting wet after shower. The siphon tank was constantly draining and making noise.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    6.7
    Standard hotel with excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at the hotel after midnight and left the next morning, so my stay was very minimal. While the location is convenient for a stopover, I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay. The area is very noisy late at night and early in the morning. It is a bit too far from the attractive parts of the city to give a good feel. The room is pretty standard for hotels of this type and price range. The shower/bathroom is pretty small. Barely enough room to take your clothes off. At the time I arrived there was no hot water

    The location is convenient for a quick stopover, since it is a very short walking distance from the train station. The breakfast is varied and generous and is an excellent way to start off the next day of travel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.1
    The price was very attractive but you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is close to the center but in a very dirty and dubious street, never felt unsafe but it wasn't comfortable either. The wifi had bad signal and it is limited to 2 devices logged in the system (even if not connected to the network). The parking is quite expensive.

    The price was very attractive but you get what you pay for. It is a decent hotel but don't expect nothing fancy. A good budget solution.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.5
    Useful place to stay when visiting Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Area slightly seedy as is often the case when close to transport hubs.

    Well positioned for Hbf, property slightly faded Breakfast excellent available from 0630 until 1000 every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.2
    A well located and quiet budget hotel, close to Munich main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The streets around this hotel are not the best ambience.

    A good budget hotel, very close to the Munich Hauptbahnhof. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms are at the back, so very quiet: unusual in a big City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly,comfortable hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A.

    Great little hotel in a convenient location around 700m from the main railway station. Room small but adequate for single occupancy. Large comfortable bed. Bathroom OK. Typical buffet breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.8
    Good job Hotel Goethe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Signing in wasn't so great but the next shift of staff was pretty good.

    Property is in the city. Very near to central station. Also 24 hr reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.1
    This place is like a mini Istanbul!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms have tiny showers with loose showerheads Checking in was slow and VERY confussing. Rooms, names and keys where mixed and made chaos during our stay. Some rooms are close to the street where there are some traffic noices during the night. In the summer there are turkish meeting in the garden by a large group of men that talks loud and keep the guest awaken. The elevator stop in the middle of the floors. Luggage must be carried. Only halalmeat at the breakfast Some rooms are tiny! Double rooms only get one key

    haufbahnhof is nearby!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.3
    Staff was very cooperative and friendly and excellent good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The mattress was very hard and the room was very crowded with 4 beds on the triple room. No telephone. The breakfast was same every day.

    Staff was very cooperative and friendly and excellent good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.1
    Good beds and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are new but they need the finally atttention points. Especially in the bathroom already some details what will be big problems if not solved.

    Good beds and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    6.3
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heat in the room was extreme and we couldn’t turn off the radiator. Shower was broke. Limited choice for breakfast.

    Location was very good. Right next to central station and only a short walk to the city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    6.3
    Wide breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much furniture in the small room I was allocated made it hard to move around. It made the room feel a lot smaller than it already was. Some of the staff didn't speak English which made it difficult to communicate at times, even though the hotel description states 'we speak your language'.

    Wide breakfast selection. Some of the staff were very friendly. Close to Munich train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient hotel in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One side of the double bed is located against the wall, which is not a big deal but is not very comfort.

    Great breakfast included and 2 min from the Hauptbahnhof. Room has minibar :). Good price per value. Very good falafel shop rigth on front of it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    8.1
    The staff are nice,friendly and helpful.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it would be better if the wifi connection works well in the night like in the day . Cant browse anything in the night

    The staff are nice,friendly and helpful. The breakfast ist okay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    7.5
    For the price, more than expected.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not recommended if you want to spend more time in the hotel than necessary. This hotel definitely needs some refurbishing, with walls dirty and so on (but the bedbugs stories from other reviews are doubtful). Room rather small. Wifi spotty at times.

    For the price, more than expected. Centrally located, the hotel is 200 meters from U-Bahn/S-Bahn. Many all-night (?) convenience stores around. Breakfast with many options (even if monotonous after a couple of days). Good coffee (which is unusual at this hotel price). Room regularly cleaned. It was quiet at day at night (but I visited in February).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast good, staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection unreliable in room. Room was located outside of main building, requiring navigation of a slippery, snowy set of stairs to reach.

    Breakfast good, staff were nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    8.8
    Cheap, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The curtains weren't quite wide enough to block out the light which was the only issue with the room.

    Great location for exploring the City and for proximity to the Central Train Station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    3.8
    Breakfast and breakfast room was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mould in the roof of the shower. Complained twice without anything was done. As I have chronic problems in my lungs did I feel bad after two night´s and complained then. See attached photo. Electricity in wet bathroom was not reasonable for safety, see attached photo.

    Breakfast and breakfast room was fine. Beds were fine as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    9.2
    Good location. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location, really close to the Hauptbahnhof, so you could get anywhere in the city very quickly. Good breakfast. The hotel is a bit old, but the room was good for the price. The staff was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    5.0
    Goethe Hotel in centre of Arabia
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not have feeling of cleaness in Goethe hotel. Rooms are very small, furniture combined. Bathroom desperately needs to be fixed. Sheets and pillows could be better. I had to combine from other bed to make it usable. Breakfast is not Eurnpean, it is very Arabic as same as neiborhood which none could be read from name of the hotel which certainly is not Arabic. Strange is entrance and access to elevator. Very expensive hotel parking. More looks as older tipe hostel or exBrothel than hotel. Good only for one night stay.

    It was close to location where I needed to be. It was cheap.ď

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are quite small, but that was not an issue for me as I was mostly out. The mattress was also too soft.

    Great location, a few minutes from the Hauptbahnhof, in the middle of a lively Turkish, yet safe, area, full of restaurants. The staff is very kind and welcoming. The free breakfast is very nice, rooms are clean, while the price is unbeatable. Some very nice black cats who wander around the inner yard add to the cozy factor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    8.3
    Good location, pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not all the reception staff were as helpful as the morning lady, and it is important to have staff that speak English.

    I arrived at 7am after an overnight train journey suffering an annoying cold. The lovely morning receptionist went out of her way to look after me and organise a room to be ready much earlier than usual. Every time I asked her something she was incredibly helpful and I wish I had gotten her name so I could mention it here. Breakfast is included in the room rate and for a 'free' breakfast was quite good. The only hot foods were egg, but there was a good selection of breads, cheese and cold meats.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    9.6
    We got big room with 4 beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got big room with 4 beds. Good place near the railway station in Turkish style. Breakfasts are very tasty! Good variant for families with children.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.5
    All other reception staff was friendly;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception girl on Saturday night (evening of 30th of Dec 2017) was quite rude and not very helpful. We asked her to call a restaurant that was recommended to us by a friend, so she can help making a booking in German and when she looked up the restaurant, her reply was "I cannot call as it is too far". Too far to call?! In the end she told us to come back in 15 minutes as she was busy on the phone.. we ended up calling ourselves

    All other reception staff was friendly; we got free drinks in the lobby for NYE which was a nice bonus! Room was big enough and had all the basics; location is very close to central station, easy to go to/from the airport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    6.7
    The room has everything I needed, especially nice to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Interior looks very old and not very clean, some areas were quite dusty. Some floors (half-floors) have no elevator accessability and I had to bring my very heavy luggage up the stairs.

    The room has everything I needed, especially nice to have two tabels. The bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is very good - standard German, but with a big variety of cheese. Very close to the train station and in walking distance from the city center - great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    6.3
    Thelocation is good, 10 min walk from city center, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of the hotel is in Arabian streets close to main railway station. It's not quite nor clean outside.

    Thelocation is good, 10 min walk from city center, very close to metro and to the supermarket.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    7.5
    Nothing to complain about - did what we needed it to do and didn't break the bank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bathroom smelled a bit bad when we first arrived.

    Absolutely fine for what we paid. The breakfast was a very generous spread of a variety of food and the staff were all very friendly. Excellent location too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    Great week with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All the sockets are hard to reach (behind the bed, near the door, between the bed and the table near it), which is a bit inconvenient (we couldn't charge our phones at the same time). WiFi is stable but not very fast.

    The staff was extra helpful and nice, the location is great (it's close to the train station - which is very convenient because there are shops/pharmacies that are open all the time; the metro station, airport shuttles, supermarkets, etc.) There were three of us, but we got a five-bedroom room. The bathroom is spacious and always clean, too. Breakfast is very good. We also asked for tea in the evening and got the whole pot of water for it :) As an additional bonus - three black cats live on the premises and they're amazing and cute :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    8.3
    Great location, easy to walk to Central Munich (~15 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Elevator isn't speedy, and the melon was hard at breakfast.

    Great location, easy to walk to Central Munich (~15 minutes walk) and to the main Munich HBF (~3 minutes walk). Nice breakfast spread, very early in the morning (6:30am). Staff were very nice. Room was clean, shower was good, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike. A 3-star hotel that is typical for that rating. Great value for money. Will be staying there again.

    Fantastic location- mere minutes walk away from Hauptbahnhoff (main train station in Munich). Really good breakfast too. Fantastically friendly owner, who just made our stay really special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant experience at a great location in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds could be a bit more comfortable (too soft for our taste), but it's a small thing!

    Very nice location, easy accessible and animated also at night. All the main attractions were within walking distance! The room was clean, the staff was nice and polite, and breakfast was pretty awesome as well! Would recommend it and stay there again when visiting Munich!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    10
    Stay was marvellous due to its strategic location, friendly staff and the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lift level was in between floor. As I had big luggage to carry up or down to half floor for lift usage.

    Staff Mariam was superb in her role. customer service oriented and helpful. Room and food was awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    8.3
    Location to station and food outlets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location to station was perfect. Lots of food around as it seems to be in heart of Turkish area. Great restaurant opposite. Easy walk to main areas of Munich.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    7.9
    A very enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some building work was being done and the plaster dust etc was left temporarily to spoil the carpet leading to my room. But this is not an issue.

    The staff were efficient, friendly and very helpful. They made me welcome. The breakfast food was super!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    6.7
    A decent hotel for a short stay, representing very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance to the hotel is peculiar, to say the least. Two buildings put together. You have to go to the room through some kind of covered alley, which is both confusing and uninviting.

    Good bed, quiet room, even when it was on street-side. The windows did a good job keeping the noise out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    10
    great location, great price, great bed, great staff and great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    With the hotel being beside the haupbahnhof, we were able to get a train directly to the hotel, from the airport. It is located on a busy street with plenty shops bars and restaurants. The area surrounding the haupbahnhof is busseling with vibrance from many restaurants, bars and shops. The main square is only a couple stops away by tram, train or underground. Everything in Munich is very accessible from the hotel via the adjacent haupbahnhof. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and deceptively large. After walking through a cosy foyer, you walk out the back to find the hotel complex overlooks a garden-yard that is overlooked by the neighboring buildings. The hotel complex rises up with several tiers of balconies and fireescapes. Our room was on the fourth floor, with access to the fire escape. My friend's was accessed by the veranda off the main building, through the courtyard. The rooms were cosy, warm and well stocked with the usual hotel toiletries. The beds were beyond comfortable. The mattresses were HUGE, firm and yet soft. The duvet was thin but somehow very heavy. The heating was second to none. The shower was perfect. I cannot recommend this hotel any more. I only availed of the breakfast buffet on one day, but the selection was wide and varied. I would stay again if returning to Munich.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    7.9
    Convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff, facility is old, the hotel boss help to fix the problems in the room. Reserved the parking card for us on the second visit, it was much convenience and save money. Walking distance to Marienplatz, Viktualienmarkt

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    7.1
    Cost efficient stay in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen is close to breakfast hall therefore it's pretty loud First night we couldn't sleep in the type of room we actually booked

    Cost efficient Location close to train station and city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    9.2
    Location was perfect for Octoberfest and is close to railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds are a little small

    Location was perfect for Octoberfest and is close to railway stations and even the Munich bus station. Walking distance to Marionplatz and markets. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    9.2
    The location is very close to the main train station, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we had a kitchenette unit, there were no pots or utensils. But it is possible that the rate we paid did not include the use of the kitchenette.

    The location is very close to the main train station, easy walking distance. It is also easy to walk to Marienplatz and the center of old town. Breakfast buffer was large and varied.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    7.1
    Had asked for twin beds and surprised to find we had two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk was accommodating and cordial...but not overly friendly. Possibly language barrier.

    Had asked for twin beds and surprised to find we had two bedrooms which was great. Hotel quite old...lots of steps. Our room was outside access above the courtyard and steps outside. Room was good size, nice bathroom with small kitchenette. Beds comfortable. Breakfast was European with variety and tasty. Service was good. Location good to Oktoberfest, Glockenspiel, train station, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    7.5
    Affordable and acceptable room in good location close to Oktoberfest and downtownMunich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don't need a fancy room to have a good time, especially with friends on a trip to Oktoberfest. So my only real complaint were the sheets and pillow covers. They were not fitted and kept coming off which was really gross. Key cards would have been nice but not really a big deal either.

    Great location in between Oktoberfest and downtown Munich. For the price the rooms are totally acceptable but definitely not modern or updated. It's a place to sleep for cheap, there's some cool bars in the neighborhood and delicious doner places everywhere. Staff was great and so was the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for Oktoberfest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is located on a main street - thus for a light sleeper, it makes it challenging to sleep.

    This hotel is blocks from the Ocktoberfest and and the main train station - so the easy of getting anywhere in Munich and/or Germany is great. The staff was friendly and they served a very nice breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    6.3
    Hotel was in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 5th floor room was too hot. Unable to lower temperature. Street noise from people and continuous emt/ambulance sirens was very very loud and disturbing.

    The Included breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    6.7
    It's ok but it could be much better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast buffet is very poor! I've never seen a breakfast buffet without crossaints before! Staff in the breakfast restaurants is not efficient!

    Position is very good and friendly people at the reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.6
    It was an ideal location for my group, the rooms were clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have no complaints.

    It was an ideal location for my group, the rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The ladies in reception brill. It suited our needs perfectly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    8.8
    Great location, Good comfort and Excellent Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was good, nothing negative to add.

    We arrived there at 6:30 in the morning and the check in time was only at 12:30, it was quite cold outside and we had all of our bags with us. They let we leave all our bags there, and we went outside for a big. We returned at 8:30 and were extremely tired, because of the trip, so we decided to stay at the reception until our check in time. around 15 minutes later they said that they managed to get the room ready before, and allowed us to make an early check inn without any charge. That basically saved our trip, because it allowed us to rest before we went out to visit the Oktoberfest, which is very close to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    6.7
    The location close to Marianplatz, Oktoberfest, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location close to Marianplatz, Oktoberfest, and hauptbanhof, bed comfort, and breakfast meal were all very good. Negatives included a small room, the towel was thin, no washcloth, and the front room was a very noisy on Friday night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    7.5
    We paid more, because of the Goethe location, but it is where we chose to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was my choice to take the stairs every time we left or got back, there is an elevator. During Fest, you can here people on the street or in the hotel!

    The breakfasts were very good, staff was wonderful and helpful, the bathrooms were modern the bedroom was not. We were there at Oktoberfest and Goethe Hotel was very centralized to the fest and the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    7.5
    Close to everything, city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A friend & I were there for Oktoberfest, so we stayed out late & slept late into the morning, and of course all the noise with cleaning was made during the day. There were also some guests screaming & yelling at all hours of the day that echoes in the old building.

    The beds were comfortable, the rooms cleaned everyday, would have like an option to leave a "no service" or "do not disturb sign." Other then that, the staff were very pleasant & the breakfast was nice & light, appreciated the fresh fruit, cheese, hard boiled eggs, and coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    8.8
    Great value, great location, helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel and rooms are very small.

    Location is perfect! Close to train station and easy walk to Octoberfest and other attractions. The staff was great. Couldn't have asked for better service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.1
    Good location, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More coffee at breakfast would have been nice. Often didn't get enough clean towels and no daily bottled water. Room was very warm at night, even with the fan.

    Nice breakfast selection. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    7.1
    It was a nice stay in Hotel Goethe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy from streets. Around the hotel there are a lot of different Doner Kebabs and etc. So sometimes its even scary to walk around. But all the things considering personel and hotel are super. Expensive parking.

    It was a nice stay in Hotel Goethe. We have a long trip and finally came there. Hotel is situated really close to old town of Munchen but has 1 problem - the only parking they have located in closed parking which costs nearly 25 EUR/day. On brekfast they offer lot of different products, so everybody will be pleased. Staff are helpfull so we highly recomend this hotel to people who came to see the Munchen without a car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    4.6
    I wont stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the first room that I was given all beds was made with dirty bed sheets - lots of hair on them. Changed room at my request, the other room was ok. Hotel is quite smelly overall.

    Very good location. Close to main train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    5.0
    Good place to stay when arriving late from airport and leaving Munich next morning by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room could have been cleaner. There was a dirty comb on the floor which meant the floor couldn't have been swept.

    Comfy bed. Convenient location for train station. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con was still wrapped up and not connected to power, shower did not drain away, toilet was loose, no remote for tv, booked two rooms but only received key for one. Found out on check out and were charged for a room we never saw.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    7.9
    Great location, nice to have breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very noisy at night with children screaming and cats meowing. They don't have a luggage hold room. The wifi was unpredictably spotty.

    Great location, nice to have breakfast included. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.5
    It was very good overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit loud considering the location.

    It was worth it for the money we paid for. Central location about 1km to Marienplatz. The only thing, since it in the downtown, it's a bit loud.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.5
    Located in not quite good district, but in walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Walls and doors look like need some repair. Could not turn on TV. Very noisy in rooms which face the street.

    Located in not quite good district, but in walking distance from old city and HB. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    7.5
    OK hotel with great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could have been cleaner, especially the dust on the blow dryer and in the corners close to the shower.

    LOVED the breakfast! It was amazing, we could choose from a huge variety and the quality of the food was great! Coffee was nice too. Also, the beds were extremely comfy, though quite high. Very close to the main station of Munich.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money - would definitely return to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fab clean room, comfy beds, wonderful breakfast, great customer service 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻 5 mins walk from the central train station. Excellent Turkish restaurant right opposite 🤓

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    6.3
    Staff were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was a disaster. No air conditioning. situated on a very busy street that I would not like to walk down late at night. I would never stay here again!

    Staff were very nice. 2 min walk to train station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was better than expected, and the smiling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually the mattress is way too soft for me...

    The breakfast was better than expected, and the smiling personal is part of it! The location next to the central train station is a really good one, not in a shaby small and dark street. Less than 5 minutes walk to the train startion and some 10-15 minutes walk to the Old Twn - very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    5.0
    Not recommended in the heat of the summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no air conditioning in our room - only a very noisy fan. It was so hot and uncomfortable that neither of us were able to sleep. The room was small and the pillows were awful.

    The location is very convenient - a short walk from the central station. The breakfast is pretty good and the staff were mostly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Goethe Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: