Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Anker This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rosengasse 14, 96450 Coburg, Germany

#11 of 15 hotels in Coburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 352 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced, best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air Con in room No safe in room No 24 Hour Receptiion Price for room is too expensive Coffee Machine in common area not working entire stay

    Location is excellent Staff are good, nothing seemed to be a problem Car Parking is limited, but I always got a park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice location and pet friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite tired looking with poor lighting, only a third of the bulbs worked. Bed not very comfortable.

    Excellent location and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning- but they did provide a fan, which was our salvation. It was unseasonably warm when we were there.

    Great location right in the heart of the old city. Easy walking distance to city center and the palace. Large rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Worst hotel experience ever, and I travel the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible experience. First night the noise from the restaurant and tables at Hotel entrance went on till after 2:00 am, with at least one woman from the hotel involved. Yelling, laughing, loud talking. Second night all quiet until 11:00 pm. Suddenly the noise started and then a woman, again one of the hotel employees started screaming and tables were being knocked over. We looked out the window and right at the hotel entrance a man was beating the woman. Finally the police arrived and arrested the man as the beaten woman tried to stop them from taking the man away. Quiet for a while, then at 2:00 am the chaos started again and again the police came. The next morning the women who worked in the hotel pretended not to know what we were talking about when we protested about our stay. And no apology. We didn’t feel safe or comfortable there. A very strange place!

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    My favourite hotel anywhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No plug in the bath, and a cracked basin. (Shower fine!) Slightly annoying, but not too important to me.

    I've stayed there every time I've been to Coburg, at least 5 times. I can't describe the style - it's modern but quirky. I've never stayed in the same room twice, and can never figure out the layout! The buffet breakfasts are the best I've encountered anywhere. Close to the main square and handy for the railway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    BF, price and convenience would make me stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lightly staffed.

    Breakfast was superior, better than more expensive Hotels. It is worth upgrade to one of the superior rooms. Sports bar downstairs good if you want to watch the Champions League matches for example.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location with friendly staff, good breakfast and a decent room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing major wrong with the room, but there were a number of little things that may or may not bother someone else (and may not be representative of other rooms). The bed was okay, not great, as you could feel the springs. (Maybe this one was due for replacement?) There were a couple of burnt-out light bulbs in the room, and the automatic lighting in the stairwells needs further tweaking for better illumination and coming on as soon as you start up the stairs (not half-way up). For some techno reason, the WiFi was accessible by reception, but not on our floor. There was no kettle in the room, though a machine was available by reception. Again, these are all little things, some of which were specific to our room and likely to have been tended to by the time you read this.

    Great location, just a minute's walk from the Coburg town square (Marktplatz), with a range of cafés, restaurants and bakeries availble within a 5-minute or so walk. It is walkable from the train station. The staff were friendly and the large TV in the Sportsbar was great for watching the football. The breakfast was good, and in addition to the standard fruit, yoghurt, cereal and bread, also included scrambled eggs made to order with your choice of add ins. Room and bed was clean. The TV worked fine, and had the standard range of channels on German cable. The en-suite bathroom was clean. Even though it was cold outside, the room was always warm. It has a lift, though I did not use it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful town to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We parked at the Anger parking outside not far from the hotel. The parking was only 2.50 € per day. There really isn't good parking at the hotel. I recommend parking there. It is a short 8 min walk from the hotel. We rolled our suit case to the hotel easily.

    The hotel was close to center of town, an easy walk. We really enjoyed the breakfast. Lot of excellent food and juice as well as very good coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.0
    Coburg is worth a visit and this hotel is a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room safe.

    Excellent breakfast: eggs to order, good selection of bakery goods , meat, cheese, fish and freshly-pressed orange juice, newly decorated room, good double bed, convenient bath.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    A really comfortable hotel, well placed for the town centre and railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only the fact that the attached restaurant is Steak/Burger only! (I never eat red meat).

    Helpful staff, who recognise people they've seen before! Superb buffet breakfast. Free Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.5
    Bar is open in the evenings, nice breakfast, clean, great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar is open in the evenings, nice breakfast, clean, great location right in the old town. Bathroom was newly renovated. An older, family-run hotel with enough updates to make it nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    Erfurt is a gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower showed signs of wear. no price list for food and drink items in the room.

    good selection of food at breakfast. great location. good sized room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Good breakfast, good wifi and comfortable room, very close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good breakfast, good wifi and comfortable room, very close to the main square

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Very Good!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm very happy with my stay at Goldener Anker. I hope to go back next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior decor seemed outdated, like from the 1960's.

    Good breakfast buffet, very, very kind and extremely helpful hotel staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, wonderful breakfast bar, big spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    This hotel offers great value for money, Nothing was too much trouble, I would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and staff were most helpful .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly personal welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of drains

    Friendly personal welcome. Delicious breakfast. There was a wonderful machine to prepare fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Location and staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    close to old town and historic places to visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    close to old town and historic places to visit. it was a nice hotel having a classical atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom had a drain smell

    Left my Tablet Pad in the room and they have offered to ship it back to me.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Christmas market vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location near the Christmas market and several wonderful restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    8.3
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Coffee from machines in breakfast room rather poor. Shame the evening restaurant is steak based, with the emphasis on 'Dry and aged'. Sounds awful, especially to a vegetarian!

    Staff very friendly. I have been to this hotel several times before and they remember me. Breakfast room is large and attractive and the choice of food is amazing. A free bottle of water per day for each guest, plus free hot drinks machine available in reception. Central but quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Central location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a serious criticism, but parking space is limited in that parked cars block the exit for those parked earlier. Keys are left with the hotel staff who shuffle the cars around.

    Central location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Quiet atmosphere given its town centre position.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    3.8
    The receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar is now the owners' office. Don't know about the restaurant because all it serves is expensive steak and there is more to food. The owners are the rudest, most arrogant people I have ever dealt with at a hotel. They don't have a clue how to deal with clients and I hope they go broke and their good staff get to work for good bosses in a good hotel.

    The receptionist. The trainee apologising so hard for her awful boss.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    central coburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we ended up getting a parking fine because the receptionist said it was ok to park behind the hotel. the doors were locked and garage to park in very early (2200) Towels in bathroom were tired and worn

    central coburg. some free parking spaces

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.6
    It was in the centre of Coburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was in the centre of Coburg. Free coffee machine, sweets, fruit and fizzy water available in the foyer. The restaurant is a steak house, so not for us, but the breakfast was excellent, choice of cooked or full continental. very good willing staff. The TV was huge and could get some English spoken programmes. Good leather couch and chair, plenty of wardrobe space

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.5
    Location - easy walk to city attractions and restaurants.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location - easy walk to city attractions and restaurants. Pleasant staff. Clean and reasonably comfortable. Facility itself is a bit of a rabbit-warren, so be prepared to accept turns and jogs getting from one part of the hotel to another. I was able to park in a reserved area for the hotel, although this has limited space.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    7.1
    Central location close to the market place and restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking tricky but that's what is to be expected with the location

    Central location close to the market place and restaurants and sights

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    Large room, perfect bed, good lighting in bath, pissoir in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Zero

    Large room, perfect bed, good lighting in bath, pissoir in WC, excellent breakfast with eggs made to order, free parking in hotel garage.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    8.8
    Room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was a bit too firm and the pillows not too comfortable.

    Room was spacious. Breakfast was excellent.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: