Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Falke This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstr. 204, Altstadt, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

#34 of 66 hotels in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 892 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was by far the most perfect location for our stay. The hotel was lovely, and the staff was helpful (we had our aging mother with us and they ensured the room would suit a person with physical challenges). Simply stated, I highly recommend this hotel. The food was outstanding, the room was pleasant and offered all the necessary amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Big Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not leave luggage in storage after official checkout time, which limited my final plans for sightseeing.

    Spacious room, overlooking market square which was full of cheerful activity. Hosts gave me a small jar of sweets on checkout which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were super comfy... but the floor was definitely tilted toward the interior of the building. We found it charming. The shower was small but really fantastic! We enjoyed breakfast of muesli, yougurt and fruit, but other options were also available. It’s perfectly located and quiet. Loved it and would definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ridiculously small! Don‘t think you‘re able to do a bargain! You won‘t! Be prepared to enter one of those corner-turned room that barely leave room to a narrow single bed you won‘t be able to fall out of. Unless you only plan to sleep there, get the upgrade.

    The breakfast is really good- a variety of cereals, extra ingredients like nuts and dried fruit, yoghurt, milk and juices and finally a big bowl of fruit. The service personnel is very friendly, too and the location is one of the best spots to start out exploring Heidelberg.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating inside my friend's room was not good, so he turned on the bathroom heating on full and let the door open to heat the room.

    The breakfast was the best part.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great location facing directly on to one of the main squares with the castle visible from the bathroom window. Extremely friendly staff Very comfortable bed, nice big deep bath and a lovely spacious room. Very nice traditional restaurant which was very good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Big Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower/bathroom was a little tight.

    The staff corrected a situation that arose when I booked via Booking.com... I saw a room with a double bed icon (119 euro) and I thought it was priced for two people... evidently it was priced for one person. The hotel assessed an upcharge but not the full upcharge if I booked it via the website. I was going to stay at the Marriott but their website did the same thing... one price for one person and a higher price for two people. I am used to one price for one room whether it is for one person or two... for more than that their is a cot fee. Breakfast was awesome - one of best we've experienced in Europe. If you park at parking garage #12, you can pay 8 euro for the night with a hotel stamp versus 17 euro for the night at other garages. You must go the garage booth to pay the on-duty manager versus a machine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not easy to reach by car but this is normal in the Heidelberg old city since it´s a pedestrian zone. Once you are there you don´t need the car anymore. Good breakfast. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the Altstadt (Old City), with a great breakfast and warm comfy rooms. Perfect at Christmas time for the Christmas markets, which are just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front bedroom overlooking the square is a good size but was noisy at times overnight.

    Great location, staff very welcoming. We had one evening at the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions were a little off but it could be the map didn't take into account the Christmas market. Had to circle the square twice before finding the hotel on the opposite corner of the square according to the map

    The room was beautiful, hard wood floors ,view of city courtyard and hot shower!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Practically nothing, all was perfect

    An utterly great hotel, it met all my expectations and I am ever so grateful to the owners and all the stuff! Excellent location at the very old city centre, right at the Rathaus platz overlooking it, good breakfast with eggs, bacon, cheeses, breads, a variety of teas and coffee in the beautiful cosy restaurant downstairs, rooms clean and comfortable. All 5++++!!! Thanks,will come again!! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was slanted, pillows were way to soft, no Air Conditioning, We ask for a cup of Hot Water for Tea, and the Hotel Clerk actuality started screaming at use that Breakfast was over. Breakfast was very skimpy even has a continental breakfast goes,

    Nothing, Seriously

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was very unreliable and keeps disconnecting every hour. You need to re-login every hour to keep working.

    Excellent location for a short city visit and very good and efficient staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd floor bedrooms have a pronouncedly diagonally sloping floor, making sleeping most uncomfortable. Two v difficult nights. The mattress slipped off its base and i had to use the duvet rolled up as a barrier to stop me falling out of bed. Very low lighting - could not read. Absolutely no view from windows - looked out onto chimney. And drinks and foid had to be paid for when consumed and cost could not be added to room bill "because the machine does not allow it"! Staff not especially friendly. No cooked breakfast available. No fridge or tea/coffee/kettle in room - and the advertised lounge on 1st floor did not exist! Will not stay there again.

    Market square location. Restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place was in a great location and super cozy and comfortable. Great breakfast and easy to get to the train station by taxicab. Located right on a busy square, so good idea to bring earplugs as the drinking crowds in Heidelberg stay up into the wee hours. Overall, this was a great value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no blinds, so be ready to be up early in the morning.

    Spacious room, location is perfect, breakfast was good, service very friendly, and the help yourself fridge in the hallway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a beautiful old building in the centre of town, overlooking one of the many squares and the church. the room was very spacious and the wooden floor gave it a cosy feeling. the bathroom was functional, alas a bit dated with broken tiles. breakfast provided a nice choice, good coffee. very pleasant and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft although I didn't ask fir a harder one so they may have accommodated that

    The location and friendly helpful staff and the atmosphere created the breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't really know whether they are a hotel or a restaurant. Seemed a bit disorganized when I got there, but everything worked out in the end.

    Very nicely located close to the old town train station ,old town square and the major transport hubs. Nice selection of food for breakfast. Good menu also

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get the TV to work but we also didn't try very hard or ask for help to be fair.

    The room was adorable with so many thoughtful amenities. We loved the big comfy bed and the bathroom was complete with a large tub and complimentary bath soak. Overall lovely stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walk up the hill to park the car - might be difficult for elderly people but good for us.

    The location is excellent - right in the heart of the town and accessible (somewhat) by vehicle to drop off luggage. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Great place for couples or family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room was very cheap and ugly. The curtains were practically see through and so it was very bright in the morning. The room had great potential. The breakfast was average and nobody seemed to check when things were running low. The staff barely acknowledged you. But the location was excellent, right onto the square and near the restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is right in the town square. If you want to get as little sleep as possible do stay here. The noise outside the hotel is non-stop all night long due to shops, bars, and traffic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was our fault, but we missed breakfast on our first morning because we over-slept.

    Excellent location, history-filled building and area, nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't any air conditioning and the floors slanted at an angle. The noise from the square was deafening - very hard to go to sleep.

    The manager was incredibly friendly and polite. The restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy if staying Saturday as it is a University town, and the hotel is overlooking a lovely square that gets deliveries early morning, plus they sweep and collect rubbish before 7am. No air-conditioning, hot to sleep.

    Location good for exploring the old town and reaching the castle. Breakfast good and fresh continental type breakfast. All the staff were really nice especially the owner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For those that like peace and quiet, this is in a main square of Heidelberg and can be a little noisy in the evening.

    The staff made you feel very welcome and were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Keep in mind this is a 200 year old building. The floors sloped, a lot. Stairs were a little quirky to navigate. I would recommend using the elevator if you have any sort of trouble getting around. Personally, I thought it added to the charm. Rooms might be warm in the summer, as there is no a/c. It was 80+ degrees outside for part of my stay though, and my room on the airshaft stayed comfortable.

    Most comfortable bed ever in a hotel. Couldn't ask for a better location. Right on the Marktplatz. Steps away from the path to the castle. Restaurants, cafe's, ice cream shops all right there. The Hotel itself was just full of German charm. Room was well stocked and clean! Loved the "honor" fridge on the 1st floor with a selection of beverages and snacks and a piggy bank to leave payment.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning is weak and it was warm and humid so we were a little warm in the room. I think it would be fine if you are used to the climate but we are used to powerful AC.

    The hotel is a great location. Close to everything you want to do. Excellent breakfast included. Room was spacious and had a great view of Marketplaz and Castle. We watch the fireworks from our room wth a great view. Hotel staff is personable and very attentive. It has been updated and there is an elevator to the third floor. We were on the fourth but worth the view to walk up one flight of stairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In my particular room, the bed was some sort of two layered configuration, and the top layer kept sliding off the bottom layer. Had to get up a few times and push it back into position.

    Nice older building, but with an elevator installed so it is not essential to walk up and down stairs. The location simply could not be any better. Right on the Market Square in Heidelberg. Owners were excellent to deal with. Staff was good, though at times they had to double in the restaurant and at reception, so they could be a bit overwhelmed now and then.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It appeared that the hotel was an old historic building. As such, the floor in our room was not level and the mattress on the bed tended to slide to one side. Maybe some wedges under the bed to level the bed would fix the problem. This would not prevent me from staying here again, it's just a recommendation for improvement.

    The place was in a fabulous location just minutes away from the Heidelberg castle and right in the middle of the old town. Our room was on the third floor and had three large windows that opened into the square with the main Heidelberg Cathedral. The room was spacious and easily accommodated the three of us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Big Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had cancelled a room close to the date of arrival, I should have only paid a cancellation fee, but they said they didn't know about it.

    The staff in particular were excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was awful. Two single beds pushed together, but which kept separating during the night. Impossible to sleep properly

    Staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room in wonderful setting overlooking pedestrianised main square, the unavoidable downside being a walk to the car park which was an extra 8 euros

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooom was small and had funny odor.

    View from room was a peek of the castle. Location was in center square so it was close to all major sights. Close to fanicular to the castle. Nice to have restaurant right down stairs. Room was big for European standards. No frills hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was a bit ambivalent to our presence. We were a little surprised that the hotel had no lobby or area to relax other than the rooms and the restaurant. The floor on our level was uneven, tilting to one side so one felt always that one was slipping a bit. Parking was a chore for us with a car + topper at 2m. We had to park 1km away and Hoof it from there.

    Location was nice. Breakfast was good. Rooms clean and beds comfy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room slopes quite a lot and the person sleeping on the third bed had to put pillows up to stop rolling down and off the bed. I imagine the restaurant is usually open as that operates as the reception, however it was closed on Christmas Day when we arrived and there was a note saying to call the owner at his home. We didn't have roaming access on our phones and couldn't call. Luckily, after being in the cafe across the square we saw a light on and managed to get in when someone else had arrived and called the owner.

    It was warm and the breakfast was great. It is a nice location and parking underground is not too far away. We liked Heidelberg itself.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are quite dated, although still okay for a short stay. It's less of a hotel than a few rooms that are managed by a restaurant. My main complaint would be that the "double bed" in fact were two single beds pushed together, but that would move apart on the slippery floor. So I would not recommend this for a romantic stay.

    Very good location in the city centre, nice breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay in three different hotels in three nights during our time in Germany. One in Heidelberg, one in Munich, and one in Frankfurt....this was the one we were looking forward to the most. Great hotel in a great area. You cannot go wrong here!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay at the Hotel Goldener Falke in Heidelberg (Germany) was the most unnerving travel experience we ever had. When our party of 6 persons (3 rooms) arrived after a long voyage from abroad, I went to my room to freshen up for the evening meal, which we had reserved at the restaurant in the same establishment. I immediately felt an acute strong allergic reaction: sneezing without end, my face and eyes red and puffy, and aching considerably. I recognized the culprits: down quilts and pillows. I used to being allergic to those but for the past 20 years I had encountered no problem anymore and had come to believe that I had altogether grown out of it. In fact I had forgotten about the whole allergy. I didn't understand why I suddenly responded that heavily to those particular quilts and pillows (perhaps because people around me had stopped using them altogether). I remembered the procedure every hotel (or any stay accommodation for that matter) follows in those cases: a simple call and the staff would exchange the bedding with non-allergenic ones. So, confidently, I went down to the dining room for dinner and told the owner who was standing behind the counter I would need all pillows and blankets removed from our double bed and replaced by non-allergenic items. But instead of helping me, the owner became instantly very mad, reproaching me for not having mentioned allergy while booking the rooms. I apologized and explained the above reason. He became ever more angry, and stated that it was 6:15 p.m., that the staff had gone and that I would have to wait till morning. I showed him my swollen and aching face and begged him to find a solution. Quite unnerved, I proceeded to the table where my fellow travelers were already wondering why it took me so long. I was studying the menu when suddenly I found the owner of the establishment standing next to me, asking in a rough manner why I carried my own pillow while traveling.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cosy hotel in an old house in the centre of the city. Perfect access to all city attractions. Excellent breakfast in the hotels restaurant, located in the ground floor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Big Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tea and coffee in rooms

    the hotel was simple yet catered for most things ... no coffee or tea facilities in room, but that doesn't bother me. The German wheat beer and the food I had was very good and breakfast also excellent. I would stay there again without doubt as staff were friendly and a great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel but there is no air conditioning. Due to the hot weather we had to leave the windows open and there was a fair bit of street noise during the night

    Great central location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my 2nd time here. I found the breakfast a bit lower quality this time. My room was nice but did show some wear.

    The staff is always very friendly and the food is always good. The specialty pizzas are fantastic! And the location is right in the middle of all the action. It's nice to sit and watch all the activity in the square. Yet this can only happen when the weather is nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom was very small, but this reflected the very reasonable room cost.

    Excellent breakfast, clean room and friendly helpful staff. Amazing central position in beautiful old Heidelberg.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a criticism but as you are on the Square the rooms are noisy at night

    The location is superb in the middle of the old town. The Family who run this are very friendly and extremely helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit expensive. In such a place, you spend a short time in the hotel...

    Comfortable room, great breakfast, just in the main center of the old city, very close to the funicular and the car park

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish, atmospheric, spotlessly clean, welcoming and friendly staff. Great views from lovely large room. We enjoyed the buffet breakfasts with copious amounts of lovely fresh fruit salad, cereals, cheese (and meats for those who want them), delicious breads, rolls, pastries etc. etc. Great idea to put a thermos of fresh coffee on the table so you can have easy access to hot coffee. Good variety of teas available too. We had evening meal there one night and it was very good. Service excellent. We asked for fruit salad (not on menu) and a delicious multi-fruit salad was prepared for us. The only possible negative: the noise from the bells of nearby church and activity in market square. Ask for back-facing room if you are a very light sleeper. Best to keep windows closed at night. We closed Windows and curtains during the day to keep room cool and then opened them in the evening to cool room down and closed them before retiring. The double glazing kept out noise.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The recommended nearby parking lot P13 had very low clearance - so don't try and park there if you have a larger vehicle.

    Definitely a friendly, thoughtful and helpful staff. Beautiful location with outside dining and great views and excellent food. I see that recent ratings by others are low - due mostly to the hot weather and the place not having air conditioning. But most of Europe does not have air conditioning. The staff provided us with a fan which kept the room cooler. Most enjoyable was the short walk to all locations. For the money, this was well worth it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Big Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * for this price, provide air condition will be more better, or that is too expensive * even living in the old castle street, the decorate should level up * breakfast is good, if provide will be better

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise at night. Outside noise is to be expected at this location, but probably due to the age of the hotel, you could hear all the comings and goings of other guests. Compact shower- larger people beware.

    The location was superb, for tourists. Even the side street view from our room was "gemutlich". Everything was within a comfortable walking distance. Cleaning staff was very responsive to needs. The breakfast was well worth it!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location Parking is only a short distance away in an underground car park. There are lots of shops cafes restaurants to choose from. Well worth a trip up on the cable car to the very top, where you see breathtaking views and sometimes paragliding. We also saw the falconry/eagle display. Which unfortunately was only in German, but still well worth while going too. The Castle is lovely This was our 2nd & probably not our last.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We always had the same cereal choices, same deli meat and always yogurt choice was the same. So for someone there for 7 breakfasts you got tired of the same.

    Great location, great food choices.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advance directions to the car park would be useful to avoid searching for the hotel entrance, which is located in a pedestrian area.

    Great central location for touring the town

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room / shower were rather small. disappointing is a price discount agreement of the hotel owner with a Parking place a bit further away from the Hotel, whilst the parking building nearer to the Hotel will charge you almost double the price.

    There was a nice atmosphere in Heidelberg, overall we had a very pleasant stay, the Hotel location is excellent in the town center. Breakfast was served in a pleased and relaxed way, evening meals could be served out site - terrace @ the square.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning, noise level of late night revelers (although it was the night Germany bested Italy in football championship, so it was expected!)

    Being in the center of town, lovely and active piazza to explore.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little limited in selection and the buffet presentation could be more attractive. Also no black forest ham and the quality of cold cuts and cheese was just ok! The room 42 faces some kitchen exhaust pipe thus could not open the window due to bad smell. Bath towels in the room are too small and too thin and too hard...almost like sandpaper. It would be a nice touch for the business class rooms (which we occupied) to get one bottle of free water every day! This type of room should also have a safety deposit box.

    Top Location in the heart of Heidelberg Market Place and the beginning of the famous 1.8 km shopping street, super comfortable bed, beautiful room and nice touch of free water for the first night as well as free Haribo Yelly on the pillow. Very clean room with fresh/crisp linen and the air condition was a nice amenity as the room is under the roof. We had lunch on the outdoor street-level restaurant and the food was very good with very friendly service and was served swiftly. We had Heidelberger Bratwurst, Jaegerschnitzel and Flammkuchen and all was of excellent taste and nice presentation. Also nice the minibar in the room with very reasonable prices plus the self-service fridge on the guest hall way where every drink costs 2.50€. Overall the staff were very efficient and attentive to any inquiries we had. They also advised us of the special parking arrangements the hotel has with park house #12 which is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It is also good to know that we could drive the car to the hotel to unload our luggage before parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kitchen smell would sometimes come in through the windows. But then again the facing the backyard was of advantage as it was quiet at night.

    Breakfast was very good. Location in the heart of the old town is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there is no reception desk or lobby - the ground floor is a restaurant and the staff are mainly busy with it and not very atttentive to hotel guests. there was a problem with the wifi and although we complained several times nobody did anything to solve the problem.

    room was quite big and nice. bed very comfortable. breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm. Noisy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the heart of Alstadt. Beautiful view of the square from our windows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location for bars and restaurants. Easy access to funicular to the castle and boats for river trips.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot small and very tight.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dark in the room, more light can be helpful

    Great location and beautiful view from windows and good shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Big Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff friendly and welcoming. Food good also, location perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and breakfast was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night.

    Great location with parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a brilliant hotel, the atmosphere is perfect and if you are looking to stay in Heidelberg there is no other choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night from the bars below. Hard to sleep with window open.

    Location was awesome. Loved the quaintness of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning platz views and amazing location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location Beautiful room Great staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea facilities in the room would make a difference

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Schlesinger luggage to parking garage

    Restaurant on sight a real plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in the Altstadt

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: