Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Hahn

Hohestraße 26 a, Dellviertel, 47051 Duisburg, Germany

#30 of 31 hotels in Duisburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 401 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, but Duisburg itself is a rather uninspiring and boring city. Actually this hotel was one of the finer elements in it.

    Very close to the Central Station. Bar underneath the hotel. Also: real keys and no paperwork.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking if parking found all paid ones and expensive, small room, bed not confortable, shower head bent could not stay in place, TV was not receiving the senders properly, therefore for the money too expensive

    Cleanness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel has excellent location for a visit to Dusseldorf, the staff were fantastic and in particular the lady who prepared and served the evening meals. This will be my location in future for visits to Medica

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a bit ugly for the German standards, but the price was lower than the neighbouring hotels, so all in all is kind of ok.

    Location and convenience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this hotel was perfect if you were arriving by train. Either from locally within Germany or from another country. It was an easy walk from the train stations. The bed was extra comfy and the rooms were spacious and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately when I was there, there were roadworks all around a real mess! But that isn't the fault of the hotel. They would have suffered from that more than I did.

    Breakfast was good - rolls warm, scrambled egg on request, as much coffee as I wanted. The evening meal was also good & reasonably priced. 3 art exhibitions were within 3 minutes walk - including the wonderful Lehmbruck Museum - that's a first for me!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is more like a dormitory, from the 70s, then a hotel. No elevator, no soap or shampoo at the bathroom, no space in the shower to take a shower without actually going out of it. Very small rooms, very basic, very very noisy. Everything happening around or in the other rooms felt like happening in your own room. When I did not like it and requested a reservation cancellation for the second night, they did not allow it.

    Nice location, it seemed clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall Facilities not good - low standard, entrance through the bar resturant, staff not very good, no soap/shampoo for the bathroom.

    Th efacility is clean and location is in the centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I chose this hotel because the ad mentioned airport shuttle. But later, I was told they do not give such service. Booking.com should delete this service from the ad. Very poor room quality of room/facility. No elevator. 3 shower rooms and 2 toilets were shared. It is OK, but no supply of shampoo or soap. I stayed 2 nights, but it seemed there was no room service for the second night.

    Very near to Duisburg main station. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for our bicycles to be accommodated and we were directed to local station which meant our luggage had to be carried quite a distance the next morning.

    Position to town was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was necessary 30min phone call with Booking Costumer Care, who did a great job, before to be able to go into the room, because they try to not accept early check in even if I have the right as Genius privilege.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One hour into arriving some other guest on our floor(must of been) knocking on our door and running off, obviously not the hotel's fault but that is the only bad point from the stay at the hotel.

    The bed was super comfy and no faults in the room, toilets and showers were clean and towels where provided in the hotel room. If I ever need to return to this part of Germany and can't get a decent price in Dusseldorf, I will definitely return to this place. No faults at all. Hosts very nice as well and approachable. Two minutes away from train station which is also a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not realise that the hotel is really operating as a hostel - it was not stated clearly on the website. They do have several individual rooms, and I was staying in one of them. But the overall state of the place is rather depressing.

    I chose this place because of the location. I needed to book smth urgently and pictures looked fine (though the place did not look anything like on the photos).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi password to find in the room/building on a paper as usual in hotels. Staff was busy serving people in the pub downstairs and I was on a busy schedule so couldn't check with them for the password.

    Hotel is literally a stonethrow away from the trainstation, very useful in those late night returns from other cities in the area. (concerts or sport events) I had a single room and it was really small, but it was clean, it had a TV and the bed was good enough. Quiet street + hotel. Shared toilets/showers but all were clean and no waiting. Staff spoke English, always a plus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound isolation was really poor! The first night i woke up at 6:00 am with the loud TV noise of the guest next room! When he was speaking it was just like he was in my room! So you have to be lucky to have quiet neighbors. Also 3rd floor, spooky dark wooden round stairways and no elevator was not the most pleasant thing with a luggage. And no fire exit! There was a sign pointing to another door, which i actually went hoping to find a second broader stairway, but it ended up in a small storage room!! The place did not give me any sence of safty and privacy. Im travelling to duisburg next week as well and defenitely will not go there again.

    Close to main station and bus stop.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have such a bad experience with people who are working there mainly the owner of the hotel he was rude. I wanted to leave after the check in. They refused to refund me.

    Nothing. I tried to booking.com but couldn't.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was very clean and met my expectations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the bathroom wash-hand basin not available.

    Everything was ok. The checking in was fast! Nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was clean and in a very good place, for the price it was not bad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad sound protection

    Location, clean rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toliets it was in communal area there is no private tolite

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Big rooms Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok for me, no issues,

    Hotel very central for train, shops, food, staff super helpful,second time at hotel, free wi-fi, will be back again,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My main problem was about lack of cleanness. Stairway was narrow for example if you have suitcase and want to go to second floor.

    Location, reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's har to find the words to describe the hotel. I could not imegine, that such hotels still exist in Europe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mirror in bathroom is too high.

    It isn't far away from Duisburg railway station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs

    Nice obliging staff. Good breakfast. Nice room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is smoking and it lingers in the hotel despite of being nonsmoking. Dark staircase.

    I have slept very well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom should be renowated

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for the money, I am extremely satisfied

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small, not clean, a bit smelly and musty

    Proximity to the Main Station and Town Centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room stank of smoke, despite being a no smoking hotel.

    Close to station, very convenient for quick stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, smell of mould in the stairs, the main door doesn´t close properly

    Rooms are good equiped

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Someone keep on knock the door and harrass us at 1 am and finally we had to call the police and leave the hotel did not even say sorry for that

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money, good location + free and fast wifi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All was OK

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs and entrance very dirty, the carpet in the room and the smell were terrible, very noisy, no air conditioning and I paid 109€ per night!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed in the room was quite low and narrow. There was no lift so it was not easy to carry a suitcase up and down winding narrow stairs. The breakfast was no more than adequate and the service was limited. On the last day of my stay the bar where breakfast was served was locked and there were no staff on the premises and no evidence even of other guests. I had to go to the station to find something to eat and returned just before 10 o'clock and waited for a friend. Although the correct amount of money was deducted from my card it was taken on the first day of my stay and not at the end which is the usual practice in hotels where I have stayed before so I wondered what had happened and whether they had gone bankrupt. I felt rather uneasy and not sure what to do. The hotel then opened ( at 10:am) and I was told that the proprietor's car had a problem so she was late but that did not explain the absence of other members of staff. The place needs decorating.

    The room was warm. There was a lovely friendly dog owned by the managers. There was a group of well-behaved teen aged boys who appeared to be refugees who obviously had German lessons there.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel threatened to charge my credit card although it was only given as security, and I did not give permission. A satisfactory resolution was found.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for 3 days, every day room was cleaned as we would be checked out. We visited fair in Essen so we took with us all our bags. Last day we left in room some small closing and it was taken away. Owner should tell maid which rooms are checked out. There is no free parking around hotel. Free parking on street is possible 20:00 - 9:00. Fee is 1.5 eur first hour and up to 3/3.5 eur for 3rd hour.

    Staff was friendly and helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wierd staff. We had to Wait outside for 20 min to check in because no one opened the door. He wasn't sorry and acted wierd. When we came he greeted us with "yyyuuuh!?"

    Clean and many bathrooms

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was clean and comfortable. I had a room with a shared bathroom. The toilets and shower room were always clean and I didn't have to wait for either. The staff were very helpful and flexible about arrival and check out times which I really appreciated. Thank you very much!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location , rooms are above a pub

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    lumpy pillows had trouble sleeping due to noisy guests

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location and warm welcome

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    NO

    NO

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no lift

    Very convenient location. Very good price. Pub in downstairs.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator. Hairs on the bad. Very dark and noisy all night.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room stank of smoke and there was only the bare minimum, not even a small bedside lamp.

    Close to the railwaystation

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner was friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to pay for WiFi

    Good WiFi

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no wash basin in my room, otherwise ok,

    near shops, station, town centre,

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse Hotel Goldener Hahn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: