Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Historik Hotel Goldener Hirsch Rothenburg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Untere Schmiedgasse 16, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

#12 of 26 hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1301 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Book the valley view rooms. You won't regret it! Provided a unique angle to view the wall and valley. Breathtaking. The a.c. is also a pleasant bonus. Loved everything about this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful decoration of the hotel, stunning view from the breakfast room, an old piano on the first floor, the best location including the parking for the car ... just perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a reservation made many months before travel and still ended up in an ancillary building down the street from the main hotel. This facility was old, in need of renovation, and rather cramped. I would not recommend this hotel.

    The location was good and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was air conditioning but I understand in this part of Germany it is only required a short time of year ... but they definitely have heating .... no complaints there

    Location was great and staff helpful and breakfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room in front and with windows open you can hear people talking walk by or the cars has they drove by...a few but surprised how much you can hear them. I would stay again here.

    The history...500 years old hotel and the breakfast room and breakfast❤️❤️❤️❤️. I would love to come back. Parking around the corner...not far. The beds were comfortable. My parents loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it’s in the time limited acess area, car can not enter or get out of the old town between 9am and 6pm. That’s why you have to leave before 9am if you wanted to park in the hotel park house (which conveniently is nearby)

    The location is superb. It’s right in the middle of the most exciting areas. The view from the room’s window is so beautiful. Love everything with this hotel. The festival we had a chance to experience was fun, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying extra for parking ☹️, however, parking was secure, convenient, and accessible.

    Staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient. Views from breakfast area and our rooM (222) were spectacular. Breakfast buffet was well worth the money. Location in Rothenburg o.d. T is convenient to all sites in the old town. Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying extra for parking--but we really liked the parking!

    Charming, historic, and very comfortable hotel in the very heart of Rothenburg's old town. Views from the breakfast room and rooms on the back side of the property (like ours, 222) are simply spectacular. Staff is friendly and efficient. Breakfast buffet is worth the money. Great place. We will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is wonderful and the room was very nice. The breakfast was also quite nice with a wide variety of items in a lovely setting. The parking facility is excellent and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning nor TV remote worked.

    Location great in a picturesque town. View from breakfast room overlooking valley. Bathroom in room very spacious and shower nice and powerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room layout was a bit unusual... still a great experience overall.

    Great place for kids. Lovely view from the breakfast room. Stunning surroundings although quite tainted by mass tourism.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit small but nothing to complain about.

    Right in the heart of the old town. Staff was great and very welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room was amazing - with unbelievable views. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The style and atmosphere in the hotel and the rooms were beautifully rustic .We were able to have a drink at the wonderful foyer in the evening. There was a room with numerous games like air hockey and billiard where the kids spent the rainy morning hours. All in all, very satisfied and we're looking forward to coming back to this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The available check in time on the app said 2pm, but rooms really weren’t ready till 3 or 4 pm. Not a big deal because they stored our bags while we walked around.

    Great location! Parking is convenient (was an extra €7,95 per day) and easy access. The room was exactly as pictured, with nice size sitting area, good size bedrooms, and bunk beds were perfect for an 8 & 10 year old. Breakfast had every option you can imagine...and the view from the dining room is beautiful. Easy walk to all the things you’d want to see in Rothenburg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not a minus but Wi-Fi not was available for technical reason.

    Good position for visit Rothenberg. Room very spacious. Double room and each room had a bathroom. Good breakfast for each type of taste. Good surprise for gluten free breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely location and staff were really helpful!! Also breakfast was exceptional. If we to this part of the world again will definitely come back!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The eggs and sausage/bacon were cold. I ate my whole breakfast without a person offering to bring me coffee. Since there is no automatic coffee dispenser, I had to finally go find a person to ask for a cup of coffee.

    The hotel is in a great location, it has plenty of comforts and games in the lobby to keep a person just relaxing with wine, or children playing games busy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't received the room that was booked (we booked comfort family room) - instead of that we received 2 separate not connected double rooms nearby - that was big problem for us, as I was one adult with 3 children and at night I had to get up several times to go to the other room to my children. The hotel did not offer any discount and did not apologize for this mistake, just told us that all family rooms are booked (while we booked the room more than 3 months before arrival) . So, be careful with family rooms. Also in room 110 WC was very small and so cold as outside.

    Breakfast, the view from dining room and the place of hotel, also parking nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made a reservation for two nights of a double room confort. The pictures on Booking showed various beatiful and renewed rooms. When we arrived at hotel, the reception (unfriendly) gave us a room completely different of the Boking site. When we asked about the difference, she said both rooms belonged to the same categories, double room confort. So, we asked why the pictures of our room were not in the Booking site. She could not answer this question. Our room was unconfortable, with very old furniture, very small bathroom, dirty carpet, narrow bed. Compare the pictures of Booking with the pictures I attached. Besides that, the breakfast doesn't offer products of high quality. I'll never come back to this hotel, I don't wanna be a victim of this lie.

    Localization, parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is next to Das Plonlein. And registration member is really nice,thoughtful. We got a huge family room. The decoration is middle age style. Even if minimal guests stay, breakfast vary fresh and delicious. There's a nearly private parking garage.We had a very good time there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some Breakfast room waitstaff didn’t seem to want to be there. Hence we hesitated to request coffee refills, etc.

    Wonderful location with convenient parking. Large comfortable room and large, new bathroom. Welcoming parlor areas with honor bar ++ and activities room. Lovely breakfast room with exquisite views of the valley and bountiful breakfast. Beautifully decorated for Christmas. Good value for what you get.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a ‘comfort’ triple room and pretty certain we were given an economy or standard room. The room certainly did not match the photos of that room description on booking.com. The room had a bad smell which we reported to the staff working the morning shift. No apology was given and she was rude and far from accomodating in trying to rectify the issue. This same lady made a commotion when we asked for some laundry to be done - The Hotel states it provides a laundry service and the lady working the night prior confirmed this and asked us to drop it in the next morning. A combination of our poor room and the rude staff that we dealt with almost prompted us to change accomodation. In the end, our room could not be rectified and they ultimately moved us into a different room. Again, still no apology for the discomfort and hassle caused. Wifi was also intermittent and parking is approx 150m away - not on site.

    The location was excellent and the building itself had some nice character. The breakfast was excellent and the view from the dining room beautiful. The staff named Tina who was working the afternoon shift was very helpful and was the main reason we didn’t change accomodation following our experience with a separate staff member and poor room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Inside the city center, amazing views during breakfast, large and comfortable room, friendly staff that helped us check into the hotel after hours

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel, it has a very classic 1920’s feel to the decor and the best view from the breakfast rooms in the village. The rooms are very large and the beds are very nice. Great for a family, we will be back again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi connection is not stable sometimes. Full size bed will be more comfortable. A little distance about 20minites walk to the train station and the cobble stone road makes it a challenge to drag big luggages.

    The breakfast at the hotel was good with magnificent view! Facilities and the lobby was beautiful. Great location near to main area of rothenburg

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool table was on a lean. But it did make playing a laugh.

    The buffet breakfast was brilliant, the family room was excellent, the location was perfect and the service was what you hope for.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some aspects of the hotel could be freshened up but nothing that really makes your stay any less enjoyable.

    Great location and great breakfast. You have to drive into through the town walls to get through but once your there its simple and the parking is close by. The hotel could use an update in some areas, but its great where it counts; bathrooms are clean and shower is good. The beds are two separate ones pushed together but thats common in Europe. Would stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in desparate need of remodel. Room was across the street from actual hotel. Tiny barhroom for 4 people. Game room would be great for kids if most games weren’t broken or worn out. Could be a great hotel with a little investment.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Day desk clerk is rude!! No heat on first night of 3 night stay. was repaired but no offer for discount. Internet finally worked in room on last morning. Guest house is treated like a sub standard part of hotel and that is NOT clear on website.

    Location was excellent. Night time desk clerk (man) was very helpful. Breakfast waitress was very friendly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm friendly greeting upon check in. We had 3 rooms that were all very comfortable and easy to access. Dining room looked out across the countryside

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like smoke, even being labeled a non smoking room. We knew it was a busy weekend so we didn’t complain, knowing we most likely wouldn’t get a new room. Went down for breakfast 30 minutes before it ended and there was NO FOOD. Nothing except for toast. Nothing had been refilled. EVERY SINGLE TABLE was dirty. We had to eat a dirty table because after 10 minutes of waiting no one came to clean it. Staff was clearly overwhelmed and even though they were nice about it, there’s no excuse for 25 or more tables to be dirty. Literally every single one hadn’t been cleared.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine. One small point; Breakfast is from 07.30 to 10.30am. We went down for breakfast at 9.15am on Saturday morning and almost all of the food was gone. They were very slow to replenish it. I'm sure it would have been really nice, but we ended up eating out.

    We arrived just after midnight after a delayed flight from the UK and drive from Munich Airport. We're very happy that they waited up for us and that parking is so convenient across the street (about 100m away) - a rare commodity in Rothenburg. The hotel room was nice, quiet and we loved the styling in this traditional hotel which is full of character. The hotel is right in the middle of the town, an excellent location for sightseeing. Certainly the best place we have stayed here in the past few years.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed the same person was working the front desk and breakfast. We waited awhile for a second pot of coffee when the rest of our family joined us, but there was no one to be found. Would be great to serve your own coffee.

    Perfect location and convenient parking. Rooms are updated in a medieval downtown...perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow bathroom but it did have a tub, which is rare

    This hotel has a second location across the street from main hotel, which is where we stayed. Our room was right next to famous picture of two streets that split, within the wall. Two Konditorei two doors down. Main hotel had great breakfast with pretty view and a game room with pool table and other games. Very friendly staff, I was coughing on check in and someone brought me a water!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the check-in counter was pretty unfriendly and condescending. Although they greeted us each time we came back to the hotel, there was no warmth in their voices, and certainly no smiles. And when I asked if there's a possibility to check out one hour later, the answer was a gruff and annoyed no, which I found very rude, coming from someone in the hospitality business. I can understand the no late-checkout regulation, but not the poor attitude. The jacuzzi in the bathtub was not properly maintained. When we turned it on, out came black specks, which really turned us off, and needless to say, we got out of the tub real quick.

    It's a quiet and peaceful hotel just a few steps from the Plönlein. I would say the location is excellent! The 2-bedroom suite we were given was very spacious. I was pleasantly surprised that there was a bookshelf with many books and comics for the kids. The very old elevator within the hotel is also an interesting experience! The kids enjoyed the games room the most. There was a billiard table, table soccer, air hockey and a variety of board games. We had a really great time bonding as a family there. Breakfast was great, with friendly, thoughtful staff, and not to forget the mesmerizing view of the Taube Valley.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located right on the picturesque cross road in Rothenburg. Breakfast area is gorgeous! Try to get there early to reserve seating by the window. Food is yum! Staff is friendly. Oh and Wi-Fi is strong =)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing- everything was perfect.

    Loved the location and the hotel itself. Its soo charming and perfect for staying in Rothenberg. Rothenberg is an amazing small town and if you want location, comfort, good hotel/ rooms- this hotel ticked all the boxes. Thank you to the night porter for staying back for us as we checked in quite late.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are taking on very large bus tours of people which overwhelmed them so they cannot help average tourist. Long lines waiting to talk to reception. Receptionist seems over worked and very stressed. Lobby becomes overcrowded.

    Great location & parking. Wonderful view from breakfast room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing... it was perfect !

    Great location ... right in the center of Old Town ! A yummy full breakfast, friendly, helpful staff and our room had a back porch looking out over the Tauber Valley... gorgeous views ! Can't wait to go back ~

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices on booking.com and what the hotel attendant charged/mentioned did not match. We could have gotten kids in free based on their ages.

    Booking.com said free parking, but we were charged for parking at the hotel. Booking.com charged for our kids and hotel attendant said kids under 5 are free. the prices did not match per actual hotel and booking. So please call hotel directly first.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived this hotel very lately. but the man in the reception was so kind!!! i want to tell him again, thank you so much. breakfast was superb, and rooms were cozy. this hotel was perpect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power for the room can be switched off during the daytime intentionally.

    This is historical place and great place for shopping too. This hotel is VERY convenient going around ancient fort in Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a little difficult to locate as it is on a side street but once you park, your car should not have to move the entire stay. You pretty much walk everywhere in town. So it’s a minor and insignificant inconvenience.

    The hotel is surprisingly inexpensive for its location. The most popular location for photos in this town is just outside the front door. The staff is friendly. If I ever visit Rothenburg again, I will stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect. The view from breakfast was gorgeous. The room was comfortable. We discovered the game room only as we were leaving, but it was a big hit. The price was very reasonable considering.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been a little more friendly when they changed the arrangement of our room from 1 room for 4 to 2 rooms. Instead of forcing us to take it, could have explained the situation to us better.

    The pool table and air hockey table at the lobby was great. Location was great too. Breakfast consist of a good spread of food. We booked a room for 4 but was given 2 rooms in a corner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    view from our room (3bed on 1.floor),breakfast is poor.

    location,young man in breakfast room,view from breakfast room,size of a room,hotel is clean,parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems a bit chaotic with management, not enough people helping out, guests always have to wait at the front desk. Needs to be more organized. The hotel is old(historic), all the interior, carpet, curtains, sofa at the ground seemed outdated

    Great location, easy to get around, fantastic view of our room. Enough selection for breakfast, stayed for three days, love Rothenburg so much!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Take your ear plugs as the road side is very, very, very noisy. If you wish to sleep... book the garden view side rooms. Otherwise, noise is until well past midnight and starts again at 6am. No aircon so the room windows are open for summer periods, noisy is the only downside as the location trumps almost all.

    Great location for the city access... Vintage Germany with cobble stone streets... Absolutely picture perfect, post card.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful little town excellent base for walking and cycling or simply taking-in the magnificent views of the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast lots of variety and very tasty. Front of house staff spoke very good English. Hotel was very large and older styled but this fits with the town. Was a games room with activities for kids in evening rainy days. Hotel right in the middle of town but not noisy at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some extra pillows in the room would be nice since they are the traditional very very soft down squishy pillows that support nothing

    we had our suitcase lost by stugarrt airport hotel arranged for us to have it delivered helping us with German language on the telephone the breakfast was spectacular along with the view in the morning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Triple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were hot, a fan would have helped and the parking was expensive.

    The rooms were good, the breakfast was excellent and the location was perfect - right in the middle of the old village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have nothing negative to stay.

    We arrived late in the evening after a long day of tourism and travel, to the happy realization that the hotel is located in an iconic part of town - just a stones throw from the oft pictured tower! It's also just down the hill from the main square. In addition to the ideal location, the bright and airy hotel breakfast area offers a view of the lush and green hills outside the Rothenberg walls (Tauber Valley). It was a pleasure to linger there in the morning. The breakfast buffet itself, included with the stay, was quite good. We received a full pot of coffee on the table, which was welcome and seemed particularly civilized. Another delightful surprise was the fact that we were put into a large suite with a comfortable living room, bedroom and a separate bedroom for the kids. The beds were very comfortable, the room was quiet and we all slept well. The bathroom was spacious, clean and included a large jetted tub. There are several large common spaces in the hotel, including a game room. The style is a bit quirky, but in the best of ways: warm, open and very welcoming. For runners: because the town is somewhat small, cobbled and walled in, the best options for runners are the many paths and roads outside city. The hotel is quite close to a very easy pedestrian exit from the town onto the paths outside the wall! NB: Although Rothenberg tends to be a quick stop for many tourists, we stayed for two nights and lingered until late in the day on out last day there, a Sunday. The hotel was kindly accommodating, letting us keep our car in their lot even after we had checked out, so we could stay and listen to the music in the square, shop and watch a celebratory parade.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff really went the extra mile, they actually drew little faces on all the hard boiled eggs for breakfast, it was cute. It's a fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike at this property!

    The Hotel is in a perfect location! It is situated in the middle of the Old Town. The staff is very friendly, and helpful! The building, and rooms are very charming! The views from our room were amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly but short-staffed. Only one receptionist and had to wait a while to check-in. There was no one to help carry our luggage to the elevator, which had stairs to get to.

    The location is a 10. The breakfast room with the view was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought one day would be enough but I wish we had stayed three. I knew it was a little shopping/ eating village but I didn't know it would be the most charming little town on earth!

    Such a wonderful place to stay - location beyond excellent, rooms were big and comfortable, easy to park. Breakfast (with champagne) was included and I have been paying 20 Euro per person for this quality breakfast in my Germany travels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night

    Desk clerk was helpful, but a little brusque with us; perhaps the European culture.

    Such an adorable and historical hotel in a darling town! A bit of a maze finding our room, but it was lovely and comfortable. It had a classical feel, without being outdated. The breakfast was elaborate, and we ended up there at a busy time (tour bus) and were in a rush, so we didn't sample much - but what we did was yummy. Wish we could have stayed an additional night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the bathroom was spacious, there was no shower. There was a detachable shower rod but no curtain so we did not want to make a mess trying to shower. The tub was nice and the jets were a bonus.

    We loved the location and the large family room. There was plenty of space for our two children. We enjoyed the breakfast as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of.

    This was a beautiful small hotel that was convenient to all sites. The rooms were very elegantly decorated, the breakfast was very nice, and the view out the windows was amazing. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hairdryer in the room.

    Excellent location and excellent parking in the heart of the old town. A beautiful view from the breakfast room. A very good breakfast. A very modern washroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and staff were outstanding. The view from the dining room was like we were in the old city wall itself. We also got a restaurant recommendation that fit our request perfectly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect and the accommodations were comfortable-my husband's favorite hotel this trip. You have to do the Nightwatchman's tour!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had no air conditioning and I'm not sure any room does. The weather was cool but our room was still too warm. In hot weather it would have been unbearable.

    View from dining room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was very close to all attractions. Furnishings were exquisite. Breakfast was large with many choices of juices, teas and champagne. View from the dining room was lovely. There were additional things to occupy time provided in hotel such as billiards, air hockey, chess and board games.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk lady a little too cranky, but it's not a real parade-rainer.

    Breakfast was stellar. So much to choose from. There's a lovely library and also a game room. Best lobby of any place we stayed in our 15 day swing through mid-Europe.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the restaurants in this area do tend to close early. Therefore I would plan to eat early and enjoy the city during the day.

    The restaurant breakfast was very good. The room was very good sized with an amazing view of the city wall. I would highly recommend this hotel. The buffet area where you eat has very comfortable seating and the food is exquisitely presented including stuff to make mimosas in the morning. The atmosphere of the hotel is wonderful as is the location which is right at the famous intersection of the town. Parking is also extremely easy and well worth the seven dollars a night to park. Do not pass up staying at this amazing hotel you will not be disappointed at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside at all was breakfast. Not quite as good as all our other hotels, but standard for Germany. Hard to find. Our GPS had us going in circles for a long time. Finally called hotel and found out we were supposed to go through the old arched walled entrance to the city. It looked like it was too small for our car, but we made it through and quickly found the hotel

    Great staff especially Elida, she is such a hard worker! Lovely room, excellent location, just at bottom of hill up to the center, so it wasn't so noisy late at night like at the square. Parking was good, cheapest of all and just across the road in a garage. This building is of course very old and charming with lots of areas to sit and relax. Even a air hockey, pool table room. They kept all our luggage so we could stay longer after check out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel cellphone in our room. The front desk clerk warned us about it (the cellphone...it's the boss's idea). It rang (vibrated and lit up) probably 10-12 times throughout the night. Made for an awful night's sleep.

    The location was PERFECT! Private parking was easy to access and had plenty of spaces. Breakfast was delicious and had a great variety of choices. Easy to walk around the entire area...lots to do and see, shopping and eating all around. A 10 for everything...except the cellphone situation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great atmosphere, historical building with contemporary infrastructure, in a patriarchal row of houses. Heavy carpets and curtains, wooden interiors, worth a visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are in the middle of the old town when you step out of the hotel. Very clean rooms and a large breakfast buffet. The trip was a celebration of a birthday and staff made a really kind celebration during breakfast. Thank you very much for that. The staff was very friendly overall. Would go back another time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were arrived before check-in time, the lady at the reception has not smiley face. anyway, she allows us to keep our luggage at the room, then we left for sightseeing around old town.

    Nice view from the breakfast room Home made breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Japanese coach tours, but they tend to vacate the town in the afternoon.

    Lovely, friendly town in Bavaria. Beautiful views. Hotel location is excellent. Parking just outside city wall is 5 euros for 24 hours , or 7.50 euros to use the hotel car park inside the town. Enjoyed the Night Watchman tour. Train from Nuremburg involves two changes, but all connections work (3 mins between trains) on German railways.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The historic hotel is charming and its location in the city center is undeniably superb! Our two bedroom unit (with bunk beds in one room) was perfect for my family. The breakfast room has views you won't believe. It also had parking on site which was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room, it wasn't possible to take a bath in the bathtub because it wasn't possible to switch the tap from shower to bath position.

    I really enjoyed the breakfast room and especially the great view on the ballet from the breakfast room. We also really enjoyed the breakfast itself. Good choice of food (sweet or not sweet, cereals, fruits, ...) and of beverage. The hotel is in the main street of the old town, at a great spot for pictures. I highly recommend that hôtel for all these reasons.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Guest House Plönlein
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A larger bathroom would have been good but we booked an economy double. The wifi was a bit faffy - a code per person which only lasted for 24 hours before having to request further codes.

    The view from our room was excellent. Breakfast excellent. Characterful sitting rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: