Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Hirsch This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

An der Hasel 91, 98527 Suhl, Germany

#1 of 10 hotels in Suhl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 546 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travel a lot for work, and so I get to experience a lot of different hotels, and I must say that Hotel Goldener Hirsch is perhaps the best I've seen ! Very spacious and comfortable rooms, good heating in winter, very clean bathrooms. The staff were all extremely helpful. The restaurant/dinner was delicious and reasonably priced ! And the breakfast buffet was diverse and not lacking anything. Even the pineapple was perfectly ripe, in February !! Highly recommended. I want to plan another trip to Suhl just to stay at this hotel.. ^_^

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi - absolutely terrible. It was impossible to use it (absolutely no internet on both devices). Spent ton of money on roaming. The room small.

    Nice historical german style building with history. Friendly english speaking staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house across the street where we had a room was not as nice as the main building, It lacked the charm and get more like an office building. We had reserved a table for two for a romantic dinner and we were sat at a table with three strangers directly in front of the entrance and on the way to the kitchen. Not very romantic nor private, worst seats in the house. There was a fly problem and they kept drowning themselves in our bottle of wine that we had purchased. My food was brought out same time as my appetizer and needed to be put under the warmer.

    Staff was very nice and the main building had great charm and character, breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Phenomenal property. Exceeded our expectations in every way.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower unit. Mixer tap variety - went hot to cold and back. Need to install proper electric power showers

    Lovely old building with modern interior

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking a little bit limited

    nice amenities, very good restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ---

    It was a studio with a very nice bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small and overwehlming

    Dinner in the restaurant outside even if they dont speak one word of english

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day from a two days stay they forgot to clean up the room :-(

    Surrounding Reception

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet

    Excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost on their own parkinglot behind the house

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi or almost no in my room

    Nice breakfast good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderfull 400 year old Fachwerkbau, attentive staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were very helpful and informative nothing was too much trouble and were willing to show the whereabouts of rooms, Restaraunt and other facilities

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi connection could be better but it works fine for email.

    Friendly English speaking staff. Great breakfast. Very clean. Great value. Their resturaunt had the best German food I have ever had and I am not new to German food.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2nd visit. Loved it same. Rooms, Staff, Breakfast Buffet all fabulous.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: