Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Hirsch This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofstraße 13, 95444 Bayreuth, Germany

#14 of 25 hotels in Bayreuth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 396 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Compared to other historic German towns, I have been somewhat disappointed by Bayreuth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking facilities and payable

    Functional hotel a little "outdated" but in good location. Easily to walk to the city center or on the opposite direction to the main station or the "Festspielhaus" of the Wagner performances in July and August.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Outstanding experience; I’d do it again in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have used a heads-up that the hotel restaurant is popular enough that you need a reservation! 😀

    Very quiet room, as requested. Lots of room to move around. Excellent value for money German cold breakfast buffet. Good lighting (I’m a reader, and fussy). Spotlessly clean. Outstanding staff. Excellent location for city’s points of interest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    If I ever get lucky and score a festival ticket I will try to get in here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eggs fried or boiled to order at breakfast, a nice touch. Enjoyed the lush carpets and traditional feel of the place. On main station road but soundproofed rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel cancellation policy is unfair. Even many months in advance you apparently cannot cancel without losing 75% of the full cost. This is not consistent with normal booking.com arrangements.

    Location. Staff friendliness. Good restaurant. WIFI. Old world charm (but therefore don't expect all mod cons such as air conditioning, lifts etc).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient for us, and we would be happy to stay again if we get tickets for the Festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was exceptionally good value for money--with a delicious fresh fruit salad. Hotel is convenient for the Festpielhaus, just a ten minute walk, though the hotel will also arrange a taxi if you prefer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    What a Placw
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing!

    This hotel attracts highly educated people who KNOW Wagner Operas. We interact with each other over our common interests. And we see the same people from all over the World year after year there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a 100-year old hotel, so it doesn't have a/c in the room, but had fans. Still comfortable. If you crave artificial air, look elsewhere.

    The room was spacious. The bathroom was large and modern. The breakfast was wonderful. The staff was very attentive, and spoke English very well (although we knew German as well). Parking offered both spaces and garage protection. The location was close to everything! We were looking for special gifts - the hotel helped us find just the right thing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately no cooked breakfast. There is no bar in the hotel.

    The hotel is in close distance from the town center and has a short walk to the train station. From the inside, the hotel looks a little old, but is nice and clean. The rooms are very quiet and large. Wifi is good and free. We could park the car at the backside where they have a small parking (CCTV guarded at €5/day). The breakfast was good. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Very Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was ideal for my purpose, a quick overnight trip to Bayreuth. Room as small but accommodating, bathroom had been updated and very nice. Breakfast was substantial. Location was perfect, almost seen from the Hauptbahnhof but far enough away not to hear the trains.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.5
    Good, I recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little disadvantage was the lack of an electric kettle but a kind lady from the reception gave me a full jug of hot water after I asked for it.

    Staff was speaking English what was really important to me, because I don't speak German.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    6.7
    Sleep in but eat out
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alrhough they served a traditional European breakfast which we like this breakfast was lacking especially for the price

    Clean place to sleep for one one but probably won't stay again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Great accomodation in Bayreuth!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be noted

    Nice and very supportive staff. They helped me get back my luggage that was lost at the airport. Very comfortable accomodation, great breakfasts, perfect location. Also I enjoyed my dinner at the Italian restaurant inside the hotel building

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfy friendly atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connection was not so reliable, it tended to lost signal and was a bit weak. I don't know if it was my room's position or anything else, but I guess this could be upgraded. This is the only drawback, the rest was almost perfect.

    The room was clean and comfortable. I especially liked the bed and the bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the place was quiet and comfy. The breakfast was not bad, even if there were not so many different things so the choice was limited. Still, I appreciated the place and the services. Also the restaurant offers high quality Italian food at reasonable price, and I really liked it. The heaters' temperature in the room could be adjusted by each guest as they liked, so that was really comfortable too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    Good old hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parkingis charged extra and the parking place is not easy for large autos! Turning is hard! Breakfast not in the price!

    Location is great! Excellent service!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    7.1
    Good position for the Wagner Festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite warm when we were in Bayreuth and the rooms are not air conditioned. I thought it was quite expensive but obviously prices are high during the Wagner Festival.

    We chose this hotel for its position - it is 10-15 min walk to the opera house.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Excellent hotel very near to the station,town centre and Festspielhouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all staff speak English yet people from all over the world attend Wagner festival in August.

    I was stung by a bee in my neck and could not pull out the sting myself. The lady at the reception did not understand English. Luckily another guest translated and she searched high and low for tweezers and eventually found them and helped me.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    6.7
    Reasonable hotel, excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit noisy - on a Main Street which meant we had to close the windows at night so the room got very warm. We were provided with a fan but it was noisy.

    The location close the Wagners opera house which was the reason for our trip. The breakfast was lovely. Good parking and easy to find. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.8
    Unbeatable location for Wagner Festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift. Not cheap, but then it was peak Festspiele time. Some roadside rooms could get noisy if windows open.

    location location location - across from the train station, a short pleasant walk to Festspielhaus and town centre, near to buses and taxis & a selection of restaurants. comfy rooms with good bathroom. no air-con, but a fan is provided which I much prefer. good breakfast, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.3
    A warm Bavarian welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Yes, the hotel is on the corner of two busy roads, but this didn't worry me as I live on a main road, but it could be an issue for some, especially if temperatures rise. No lift, which again could cause some people problems, but the staff always insist on moving luggage, etc.

    Ideal location since within easy walking distance to station, town centre, and above all as a visitor to the Festival - the Festspielhaus. The staff always appeared welcoming and friendly with all guests, and good levels of English - very helpful when rudimentary German was exhausted! It is a family owned / run hotel and therefore every member of staff takes a pride in their work and their care for their guests.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a great location within a great city with lots of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff, location, breakfast, and comfortable room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Good rooms and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning!

    Good rooms and great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Overall acceptable for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking in was far more pleasant than checking out

    Room was clean and good size. Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Nicely located in the Centre of Bayreuth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Nicely located in the Centre of Bayreuth. Very comfortable. Polite, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Oldie but Goldie
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oldie but Goldie

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location to train station, helpful and nice staff. Clean and good breakfast variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and bed could be better - it was hard.

    Nice staff, properly, and breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Room too dark, needs more lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too dark, needs more lights

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    Wi-Fi into the room doesn't work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi into the room doesn't work

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    traditional hotel with good servoce
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bedroom hot-no a.c.

    Close to opera house. Food good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    The internet connection is quite stable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet connection is quite stable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stop during our tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sink in the bedroom but I don't mind

    Very nice breakfast, super comfy beds, near the autobahn.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    6.3
    Close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No shutters at the windows No air conditioning Parking for small vehicles only

    Close to city center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.6
    This was my second trip to Bayreuth;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This was my second trip to Bayreuth; I stayed in the Goldener Hirsch in 2008 and I would stay here again. The staff is friendly and helpful; everyone speaks English. The room and the bathroom were large, up to date, and clean. The breakfast (extra charge) is generous. The hotel is nearly across from the Hauptbahnhof, close to restaurants (there is one in the building), and a fifteen-minute walk from the Festspielhaus. Two warnings: there is no elevator and there is no air conditioning (the reason for the Facilities rating). I'm looking forward to another stay here.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.9
    Bayreuth is a very nice small town and this hotel is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms could have air conditioning

    Bayreuth is a very nice small town and this hotel is very conveniently located near the center. Old style but charming.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    The staff were super friendly and created marvellous warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor is a bit dated and there is no air con

    The staff were super friendly and created marvellous warm atmosphere Close to rail station and convenient to the Festspielhaus

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.3
    V friendly staff, location brilliant in terms of easy access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situation very noisy, being at junction two quite busy roads. Air inn would have been great as hit an exceptionally hot spell.

    V friendly staff, location brilliant in terms of easy access to station, festpielhus and central Bayreuth.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.3
    location, friendly staff, restaurant in the hotel, parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air condition would be good because of location on busy street and impossible to sleep with open window in a hot weather.

    location, friendly staff, restaurant in the hotel, parking...

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    10
    Nice rooms, good service, the short distance to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noice from the street is notisable in rooms with windows to the main street. In the summertime that is - if windows need to be open in the night

    Nice rooms, good service, the short distance to the city center

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    7.9
    The place was quiet and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no elevator, which I forgot to check for during time of booking. With a small baby this can be annoying, but the staff arranged a room on the first floor, so we managed fine. Just for future reference keep in mind that you won't find an elevator here.

    The place was quiet and welcoming. We got to see two rooms and choose our preference, which was nice. The bathroom seemed nice and clean. The location is good within walking distance to the inner city. Not too noisy (on a Sunday night) for a small baby. Private parking makes arrival / departure fairly easy.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    5.8
    Friendly pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds in our room were virtually a mattress on the floor. Could not sit up in bed comfortably to read and decor dark and depressing. This hotel has no obvious fire alarm, sprinklers or use of fire doors and would be a death trap if there was a fire.

    Friendly pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    staff very helpful and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Family with older children

    Sink in the room. Crisp duvets (disturbed a little bit while sleeping).

    Good breakfast. Clean, calm room. Good mute windows. Hotel with a soul :)

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing.....!!!

    everything...!!!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.8
    No smoking rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No smoking rooms.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    Friendly hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly hotel staff

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Room, staff, wifi connection, breakfast, facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room, staff, wifi connection, breakfast, facilities

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.4
    Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are very small and the furnishing looks like from the '70s.

    Staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    5.8
    very noisy street, very very tired decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very noisy street, very very tired decor

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.8
    Friendly athmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly athmosphere

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Room and breakfastB
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room and breakfastB

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In our room we had a lot of noise from traffic.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    The room was spacious, the linen was new and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was spacious, the linen was new and clean. The dinner was excellent.There was car parking on site.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    Nothing bad to say :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad to say :) Good for short stay

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.1
    Nice friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is tired. Needs work. No elevator.

    Nice friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    8.8
    Hotel was fine, staff incredibly helpful and very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are handicapped do not stay here. Simply no handicapped access

    Hotel was fine, staff incredibly helpful and very nice room.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    6.7
    The location ig great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was located right above the restaurant and it was VERY noisy around midnight.

    The location ig great!

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: