Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Karpfen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Löherstrasse 20, 63739 Aschaffenburg, Germany

#11 of 15 hotels in Aschaffenburg

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 416 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.1
    Conveniently located close to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place shows aging Hotel bar - but with space for only four guests

    Conveniently located close to downtown Breakfast is served in the more pricey place on the other side of the street - you get the same as them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    8.8
    Warm, noisy rooms but helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Early Booker
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy traffic from the street, however, our friends and us were able to obtain fans so that we could stay relatively cool with the windows shut to sleep.

    Lots of options to choose from for breakfast! Super clean rooms!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast and a good room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When entering the hotel it did not looked that welcoming, but as said the room was really fine.

    In my opinion they offer an excellent price-quality relation. It was pretty cheap so I did not know what to expect, but I found a clean room which offered all I needed. The breakfast was excellent. I had my room at the backside so it was quiet without the noise of the traffic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    7.9
    Perfect place to experience good old German hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed linen smells a bit like dog that woke me up a few times. It takes quite a bit of walk from Hbf including uphills & downhills, although you go through lovely sites. Seems buses are running nearby but no information found.

    Good typical German hotel. It is the "new" building in front of the classic old main one, but I see no inconvenience. They serve good old German breakfast buffet in their restaurant which I really enjoyed. I didn't get to try their restaurant but it looks very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    6.3
    Clean room, comfortable bed and pillow, breakfast was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of room, size of room, windows to the street, laud. Reception in other site of street.

    Clean room, comfortable bed and pillow, breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    6.7
    Good traditional style gasthof not too far from the motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were very disappointed that the hotel charged their own guests 6 euros to park in their own car park!! We were also disappointed that this was not made clear on the Booking.com website.

    Great breakfast. Extensive choice including a bean to cup coffee machine which was greatly appreciated. Rooms were fine and generally the staff were helpful and friendly. We should point out that we were booked into this hotel but were upgraded to the sister hotel over the road the Wilder Mann. Guests at the Goldener Karpfen use the facilities at the Wilder Mann. We enjoyed a nice meal in the evening. The food was good and our waiter was exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent service from caring and friendly staff (Tina) the food was excellent the staff great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no Wi-Fi. In this day and age that is not really acceptable.

    The room I stayed in was in another building across the road from the main hotel (Wilderman Hotel). There was a lift to access the upper floors but a long walk through the corridor to my room. The food in the hotel was first class as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    7.9
    Good room but where is air conditioner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room haven't an air conditioner. One room with one window and without air conditioner - the room is very dry. One window always was open, but it haven't mosquito net and you have many moskitos in the room. And on the wall is many died mosquito. Wi-Fi is free but it's very slow.

    It is very friendly personal here. Breakfast is tasty. Free bikes for guests - I rided everyday. It is many chargers (for bikes and for cars) in the garage. The restaurant is good for dinner. Free Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    9.2
    Quaint charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room - Early Booker
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are small for American standards but no big deal for me. Building is old And smoking terrace allows smoke to waft into rooms if window is open. Lots of people in Germany still smoke.

    Breakfast is great. Staff is extremely nice. Location of hotel within walking of theater, shopping, restaurants, museums and parks.great value for your money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2016

    7.5
    Good location, easy parking, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in was across the road, which was quite a busy one, and the pedestrian crossing was a bit out of the way. The room was very cold in the middle of November.

    Good location, easy parking, good breakfast. The city center is about 5 minute walk away.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2016

    5.8
    I would not recommend this unless it had air con put in. We killed two spiders and one was still the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spiders in the bedroom Very noisy because it was on the road. Had to leave the windows open because there was no air conditioner. This needs to be put in the fine print in bold letters.

    The town was nice to visit. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    9.2
    Perfect for cyclists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a pretty noisy street, but it's fine with windows closed; they also provide earplugs

    Hotel close to downtown, fabulous breakfast buffet with champagne, friendly staff, free admission to spa, bicycle parking, great price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    A charming place for a good visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Splendid breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    as the hotel is next to a road with a lot of trucks, it is noisy with the window open.

    Great breakfast and spacious room with good mattras

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    6.7
    Good Breakfast, big choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good Breakfast, big choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.5
    Fair location downtown Aschaffenburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy on the morning, only 1 poor quality pillow, old fashioned room set up (very functional)

    Price/value is good, central location to city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Room was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was huge. Great food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was excellent!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent!!! Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    6.7
    Very nice place - I enjoyed staying here with a good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was rather unfortunate that the rooms are on the other side of the street.

    Very nice place - I enjoyed staying here with a good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast at the Hotel Wilder Mann was a nice touch

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast in hotel across road
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Early Booker
    • Stayed 1 night

    additional charge for parking car on footway outside hotel

    Good breakfast in hotel across road

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    10
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast, comfy beds, great location, reasonable price + helpful staff. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2017

    10
    Staff could not have been any more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff could not have been any more helpful. Very service oriented.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    7.1
    Work well for our travels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location on a very busy street as a result very noisy.

    Excellent breakfast. Very good clean room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    10
    Friendly hotel with fantastic breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here twice. The first time we had a small stuffy room with no fan. (second time was better) Impossible to sleep as it was so warm and it's right beside a busy road.

    Breakfast. Its also close to the Main Cycle route.

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked this hotel last night the 11th August 15 we had room number 12 it was there sister hotel named the Goldener Karpfen Straight across the road from the Wilder Mann,when we arrived at the room on the first floor it was very stuffy and hot,on first inspection it looked clean although it was the first hotel we have ever stayed in that issued ear plugs later that night we understood why,the whole block we stayed in including the room looked very tired and for 80€ per night was disgraceful,there was no air con so we had to sleep with the windows open to our disappointment,the road below our window was very busy and incredibly noisy as a consequence of this we had no sleep what so ever,we complained to the hotel owner and she was very unsympathetic saying what do we expect,we had spent two Months traveling through Bavaria and we have always found the hotels good and priced very reasonably this was not the case here,so if you need a peaceful and good sleep we suggest not booking this hotel,you have been warned.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    10
    The breakfast is amazingly luxurious with a low price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi is limited and not for free, which is rare in this digital era.

    The breakfast is amazingly luxurious with a low price. The rooms are very clean and quiet. The personnel are friendly.

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast is available very eraly (6 am)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wifi connection did not work properly the second day of my stage. I got new bouchers but the problem was not solved. I stayed several times before in this hotel and never been asked to pay for the parking located on the same side as the goldener karpfen; this time I was asked to pay for it. I would understand to pay for a parking located into the hotel but not for parking on the street.

    Breakfast is available very eraly (6 am)

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2016

    8.3
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Reception and restaurant on the other side of the road.

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    9.2
    Very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wifi is available for additional money only

    Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast at the Wildman Hotel Opposite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Room was a little soul less

    Breakfast at the Wildman Hotel Opposite

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2015

    8.8
    location once you find it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    location once you find it. access to computer, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    9.6
    I arrived at 02.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I arrived at 02.00 and the staff couldn't of been more helpful. Comfy room. Good food and a nice location.

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2015

    6.7
    Hotel staff was great!
    • Couple

    The bed was too hard for us. For breakfast you had to go across the street.

    Hotel staff was great! Service was excellent.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Hotel Goldener Karpfen Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: