Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ringhotel Goldener Knopf This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Rathausplatz 9, 79713 Bad Säckingen, Germany

#5 of 9 hotels in Bad Säckingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 259 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does not have WiFi that works in many of the rooms, you need to leave your room and sit by stairs to get reliable WiFi. It was advertised as free WiFi included in room, so they are not honest. Junior staff and overnight staff nice but 2 senior staff I dealt with unfriendly and rude. The bed was old and needed replacing. The fitted sheet was old and pilled. Hard to find with car. A local resident said he often comes across people getting lost trying to find it. Better coordinates to put into car navigation systems are needed as putting street address in does not work for this location. Not value for money and dishonest about the free WiFi in rooms claim.

    It was in old town area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't expect to be charged additionally for indoor bicycle storage and waiting for it be retrieved in the morning was frustrating.

    Location was excellent though church bells were very close. Staff in all areas were extremely pleasant. Room was generously sized and very clean. Restaurant food was good quality, dinner was included in the room rate and I enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like a firm mattress but this one was much too hard and we could feel the springs. We got out of bed sore and stiff in the morning.

    The location along the Rhine River with an amazing view of the wooden bridge and close to the heart of Bad Säckingen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here several times and I really don’t sleep well. Their pillows are terrible. Thanks God I asked my relatives to borrow me a good pillow so i could finally sleep the second night. But I have to say that this time even the mattress of the single room didn’t convince me either. Therefore the one of the junior suit was a bit better ....but I recommend the management to invest money in their beds. I stay two to three times a year in this hotel for a min. Of two nights.

    The location is perfect and the fact that it is overlooking the river it makes it a very special spot to be in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi in the room was erratic and did not work most of the time No English speaking programmes on TV

    The view from the room balcony across the Rhine The food in the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The way that the Hotel Manager (Female) treats the customers is unbearable! As a guest I go there, pay my money and the minimum I should get is a courtesy communication as guest, this lady is the most arrogant unfriendly and not customer oriented person: laughing in my face when I ask a question, whenever I wanted to speak with a colleague she would not allow it, what kind of service to customers is this!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a very annoying disturbance from the noisy bathroom fan that just would not stop. This affected my rest during the night. Apparently its sensor was not working correctly: the problem was not fixed during my stay. (My colleague that had a room on the second floor did not have at all this issue). The internet connection was terrible. One day I tried to have a business conference call from the hotel and the line kept on being dropped off every 5 minutes. Impossible to work online. As last, I expected some foreign TV channels . Other than BBC2 or Euronews, nothing else seemed available.

    The staff is very kind: Thank you to the waiter that assisted me during the day I was sick!!!. Although the room was fairly small, it was quite new and very clean. it was possible to park for free just in front of the hotel. It was just odd that to reach the hotel we had to drive through a pedestrian area. Hotel restaurant was fairly ok. The hotel is also located in the middle of the town: other restaurants are at short walk distance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the service you receive at this hotel is like a 2/3 star hotel. the hotel is understaffed in the evenings. the WiFi quality in my room was terrible. no English TV channels. no tea in the room.

    the room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's on the pricey side in general - but where it gets absurd (and money grabbing) is when a 4* hotel charges 3€ per bicycle to put in a shelter. Seriously? In a hotel that practically sits on the Rhine cycling route??? And offers free parking for cars??? We travelled half of Europe by bike and that was the only time we were charged to put our cycles in a secure place.

    Nice location and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only hotel in the last 70 we have stayed at in in Europe that wanted to charge us for putting our bikes under shelter. Also put out various snacks and wine in the room that was overpriced. Moneygrabbing.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Their restaurant is a little on the expensive side although the food is of a high standard.

    The hotel is not only comfortable but its location is wonderful being in the "old town" is close proximity to the covered wooden bridge over the Rhine River which is the highlight of a visit to the town

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower bath available, very small rooms, breakfast for a 4star hotel quite poor only standard egg, sausage some fruits

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not stable

    Landscape in the Rein river side

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable

    Beautiful view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Excellent breakfast and welcoming staff Balcony overlooking the river was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only problem no AC, in summer may be too hot.

    Very good location. Luxurious. Nice Breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on Rhine

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single rooms are a little on the small side, but perfectly fine.

    Located in a nice part of town next to the river.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Allocated a room with no privacy, very adjacent to large communal balcony with view directly into room. Poor river view. Lukewarm oily breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was working in the reception area but not in my room. I informed the reception about that shortly after my arrival but it was still not fixed at my departure the day after. A working internet connection is crucial for business travelers.

    Very nice little town and beautifully located in the center and next to the river. I didn't trust the GPS because it showed the way thru a shopping street but when I called the hotel they guided me to the hotel and hotel guests are allowed to drive thru the shopping street. The staff was really friendly, bedroom and bathroom were clean and nothing was missing. The breakfast selection was very good which means that I will come back.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    apparently "understaffed"... one men/woman show for breakfast service, reception, phone, etc.

    the situation in the center of this nice little town.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on at a hotel. You could feel the mattress springs dig into you when you laid down.

    Great location - right next to covered bridge and historic plaza.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The mattress of the bed was extremely hard - could have been a door instead as well; I could not really sleep on this. Also a big, fat Spider was sitting in one of the Corners of the ceiling - sorry, but this must not happen.

    Positive is the friendly staff and they serve a good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The internet didn't work at all. When we complained, we were told there was nothing they could do because they were fully booked and there were too many users! Also it was very warm, and when we asked for a fan, we were told they didn't have any! Expensive, not good value for money!

    The location was lovely. Breakfast was nice. The room was nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel overlooks the river and an attractive covered bridge. View from my window was to the other side, with a quiet square and the impressive church. Decorative state of hotel excellent, even single rooms which sometimes get less attention. The restaurant and terrace are very attractive and dinner and breakfast of good quality

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was situated on the beautiful river side of the Rhein. There is hardly any traffic nearby. The breakfast was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price, tries to match swiss level, little recognition for longtime guests

    Location location location

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet connection is poor in the upper floors.

    Staff is very friendly and hotel location is closed to station. River side rooms are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No air conditioning. Bigger towels would be fantastic

    Very friendly staff, great location, very clean and comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice town, great location right on the shore of the river Rhine. We had a nice room, very modern and comfortable with a balcony facing the riverside.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location could not be better. Right in the middle of everything, with great views and nearby resteraunts. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no AC

    location, view, clean, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the rooms should have Air Conditioning or at least a fan

    great location, nice rooms, breakfast is the best

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some damage to furniture and no tea or coffee in room.

    Clean and breakfast good

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Our room was too small for two.

    The location is great! Located In middle of the town with an excellent view if the room faces the river.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms was not very large

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi could be a little stronger.

    Short walk to Stein. Terrific breakfast. Very friendly staff. Close to the train station.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Proactive front office staff assisted in all respects especially when our car had a problem. We would recommend this hotel

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: