Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brauereigasthof Goldener Löwe

Kulmbacher Straße 30, 95445 Bayreuth, Germany

#18 of 25 hotels in Bayreuth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 827 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very well situated for walking into the town centre. You can find plenty of resturants and cafes there. The receptonist was very helpful. The price was right

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall are not that thick, so it can be anoyed by the other guests coming in at night.

    The location is close by foot of all the comodities, the city center, there’s a huge pub behind the place. On some evening the hotel itself is a restaurant that serves german food for a good price. The breakfast buffet with 20 kinds of homemade marmelade is just awsome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be advised that the room is very small, but that is typical for a German pension.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Buffet breakfast reasonably priced, coffee is very good. Location is fine, a 20 Minute walk from the train station and about 5 minutes from the pedestrian area. 25minute walk to Wannfried for Wagner pilgrims.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stayed in a small, but very comfortable upstairs double room - the overall cleanliness was good, but edges on the walls collected dust.

    the location is perfect for visiting maisels brewery and their craft beer festival or bayreuth city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything about the place.

    Right around the corner from the main pedestrian walkway in Bayreuth, leading to both the house of Richard and Cosima Wagner as well as the Franz Liszt Museum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very nice. While the business room was very small and simple, it was perfectly comfortable for 1 night stay. I also received a nice gift after checking out. Very friendly and caring from the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was the size of an American broom closet. My suitcase did not fit under the desk. I was cozy. At 5’6” I fit nicely in the bed. There was a brewery next door with large flood lights that were on the entire night. The thin curtains in the room did nothing to block the light making it difficult to sleep. At reception, I was told I should have requested a different room. My question is why didn’t the hotel know about this oversight and correct it?

    Quiet yet central location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay was too short.

    The place is amazing, core of Bayreuth old town. Nearby an old brewery could offer you a taste of genuine Bavarian bier. Just ask for any.... Home made confiture will delight you with specific taste. People were dancing on central square....lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I looked outside my window I looked directly at another hotel room''s window. When you arrive at night there is no one to give you the free parking ticket that is usually available for hotel guests.

    Nice furniture. Self-made marmelades tasted good. The hotel had everything you need.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately no aircondition

    Great beergarden with nice food nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having to pay for parking

    close to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk clerks were very nice and friendly. They helped me carrying heavy luggages and gave me marmelade jam which was very touching me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The personal...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The illumination of the rooms were not so good. Kind of old installation.

    Great place on the city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Breakfast good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff spoke or understood practically no english. That was a problem.

    Overall it was a very pleaseant stay. Room and bathroom were very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very small room TV didnt work For 30 Euro Par Night fair bur not 40 Euro like i payed!

    shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room good parking facilities, close to city, very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is on a very noisy street, the interior is very tired.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think breakfast is expensive. I didn't take it.

    Very good place. Comfortable, clean. I really appreciate the little gift as goodbye.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive. Difficult to connect to WiFi for some reason.

    Very nice room, clean and properly equipped.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place

    Price for such comfort must be less double

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The slim pillow.

    Location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great service! Great breakfast! I really like this gasthof/hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant people

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was too slow for doing any work. No towels (I guess they just forgot). Luckily I had my own.

    Liked the atmosphere and location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, room, food, place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good family run hotel within easy distance to the city center

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is conveniently located right at the heart of everything you need to do in Bayreuth. The room was clean, the wifi worked and the members of staff I met were efficient. I'll stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing that I can recall

    The room was small but cosy and comfortable. Very warm. Staff very polite and helpful, we could check-in early and leave our luggage after checking out, which we really appreciated. Shower with nice water pressure. Sometimes it's a let down that the shower trickles but not in this accommodation. Wi-Fi is strong in dining room, which is beautiful, with exposed beams. A bit weaker in the room but you can connect easily. The building is very interesting with a whole history behind it. The breakfast was amazing! Please try all the marmalades and conserves made by them!! Overall a little gem, not far from the centre, a 5 minute walk tops.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi was working terribly at any moment of the day, for 3 days out of the 4 I spent there.

    The breakfast was indeed as good as the reviews say. I couldn't have asked for more! And the homemade marmalade was absolutely delish! (plus they offered a complimentary jar when I left) The room was large and very clean, plainly but tastefully decorated.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is located in a really old building. Hence the rooms are not super fancy, but the old charm of the hotel - especially the restaurant and the breakfast room more than compensate for this.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff there are very kind. Reasonable price with quality breakfast. It was one of the best accommodations during my bike tour along River Main.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nearly too plain for the amount of money paid and not even breakfast included or a cup of tea!

    The bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked everything located 15 mins from hbf on foot. The staff was humble and the room was clean. Good environment. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little noisy street location and Wi-Fi is very poor , needs to be updated .

    Location , breakfast , service & price .

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Road noise

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower in bathroom in bad position and unable to raise high enough to stand under comfortably.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WIFI-hotspot was very very bad.

    Everything , good value for money for a short stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Breakfast is one of the best in the world

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi-Fi didn't work very well at all

    Nice rooms, close to Altstadt, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi wasn't working properly.

    Clean, comfortable, pleasant staff, easy to find, walking distance from most of Bayreuth's sights.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Free Wifi.....System Fehler.

    Stadt Zentrum!!! Sauber und Leckere Frühstück.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Weak sound insulation.

    Helpfull personal, free parking, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was not working in our room and in the part of the hotel where we were staying.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very accommodating and always very friendly. The hotel was very clean and well organised.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The variety in the breakfast could be a little bit better

    One does not have to pay extra for parking!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: