Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldene Rose This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Marktplatz 4, 91550 Dinkelsbühl, Germany

#17 of 17 hotels in Dinkelsbühl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 518 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark and shabby room, no air conditioning, a bit worn off room and restaurant, smelled like cigarettes.. staff seemed busy and there was no one at reception when we arrived so I had to go searching for service. They messed up our order at the restaurant two times, we were at the breakfast at wrong time because the guy at reception just gave us keys and told really nothing..and they complained that we should have paid extra because we were travelling with a kid. So, our visit was a real fiasko..

    Exellent location! Parking at the back yard

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny, with poor ventilation and absolutely no view. I wouldn't stay in this style of room again. I can't say how much better the other rooms are, but this style left much to be desired.

    Staff was excellent. Hotel was located in the very best spot in town. Hotel room was very clean, beds were comfortable and breakfast was good. The hotel restaurant was equally good with staff that were first class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few additional expenses I hadn’t expected because the website must have reset my preferences during my booking and my reservation didn’t include our child.

    The hotel had several different choices for dinner restaurants offering a full range.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer a proper double bed when booking double bed, not two singles put together

    Lovely old hotel right in the centre. Bonus for us is that parking was on site. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the oldest and longest run hotels in Germany. Good atmosphere in the building, thick walls and lots of timber work. 350 year old, creaky and crooked spiral staircase. The receptionist meant that you had to drink a Schnaps to correct the balance. When you asked about things from te house and lets say bakery, the male receptionist (and part of the family that owned the premises?) showed a lot of knowledge. So asking questions is and has always been, the best way to enlarge your knowledge. For me this is a very important thing about life - and travelling

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lower notes we gave are due to the fact that we have the room for 6 persons on the rooftop (of course we knew that while booking), but in practice fur such a number of persons the apartment was at the end was only good but not very good. Windows were small (as typically on the rooftop studio), the temperature was rather high inside (again, as on the rooftop) what was problematic as we cannot use air conditioning for longer time as it blows on the beds. Everything was exactly as provided on the webpage - so there were not plates or mugs (only wine-glass), there is no elevator etc. But this everything is for note "sufficient/good" not very good, not so comfortable. But the personel was very helpful (thanks!) But enough for one night stay.

    The location of the hotel is great, the personel is also very helpful, the building itself and the city are great! The breakfest was good for such a price (it was 8€), although one may expect more hot food. Anyway, a positive note.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs. Our room was at the very top of the b building which had a spiral stair near the top. But it's a 500 year old building it's to be expected.

    The character of the building, the location, free wifi and free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best features of the hotel is that not only it feels like a real 19th century (or ealier) place, but also when you step out of the building, you are literally in the heart of the city, in front of the church. While this is nice, it could also be a problem (the church's bell ring really loud in the morning for quite long and as the building is really old, sometimes it feels too small). The breakfast is quite good too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and hotel are dark ... but it is because of old style - the welcome desk - no easy way to leave luggage

    Location - old house - room well furnished - the lady for breakfast was very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is basic and no tea/coffee facilities. Parking was supposed to be private garage but it wasn't. Breakfast was also very basic for the price. Dinner was badly cooked and expensive.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This is a great historical hotel is the center of Dinkelsbuhl. The staff was very supportive and kind to us during our stay. A great feature of our stay was the nights walk around the walled city with the Lamp Lighter whom we met up with at 9 PM at the Church adjacent to the hotel. The food in the hotel dining room was excellent as was the complimentary breakfast provided prior to our departure. Take advantage of the small market next door with a great beer selection, fruit, bottled water and other traveling needs. Shopping is also excellent in this great old town!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is split into two separate buildings not far from each other. Our room wasn't in the main hotel as I had thought when booking but in the annex.It was clean but dated ( 1970's decor) with a tiny bathroom. We had to climb forty stairs, up two flights to our room and there's no lift ( fine for us but perhaps not ideal if disabled / elderly etc). Breakfast was in the main hotel down the road ( approx. 25m). There was plenty to eat and average. Only issue we had was that there wasn't a table laid for a party of five and we were asked if two people could share our table, which I wasn't particularly impressed with. There were empty tables available and really think the waitress couldnt be bothered laying one. She did eventually but only when a table for 4 had vacated theirs and she dragged a chair across. Hotel is tired and probably trading on their fantastic position in this beautiful town.

    Location of the hotel was fantastic, right in the heart of the town. Looks wonderful from the outside. Car parking at the hotel was a bonus and very reasonable. Our room was a good size, it was clean and beds comfy. Free wifi, mini bar and tv. Ideal for one night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a few English speaking channels would be nice or possible some DVDs available but that really is looking to find complaint

    I loved everything from ambiance style and people and location. I would have to really search for complaint.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cycled into town and it was perfectly located meeting our needs. At the time the rates were low that we each booked our own rooms, gave each cyclist a night of privacy or freedom without waking the others due to jetlag. Staff was friendly, breakfast was good and the rooms/location are good in regards to the booking rates. Give the property a call before you book, you might receive a surprise.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having stayed here earlier in the year we were looking forward to our xmas trip...not as friendly or accomodating this time. Room allocated to us was not as enjoyable as before.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff carried our bags up the stairs to the first floor reception, but we had another two flights of stairs to our room and absolutely no offer of help.When we asked for a curtain to our window we were told we could only have one if we paid for an upgrade but were given a tablecloth instead. The hotel is right in the centre but the church bells across the road go nuts at 6 in the morning.The internet is poor for reception and intermittent.

    Breakfast was fine and the waitress pleasant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not told that the standard room we had booked was in another building.

    We were upgraded- for a fee!- to an extremely comfortable room in the main building. The breakfast was copious and excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Friendly staff.The owner welcoming and helpful.Managed to retain its olde world charm while at the same time offering 21st century facilities.Good wholesome breakfast.Ideal location for the Kinderzeche.A fan thoughtfully provided in our room which was a must as at the time of our stay the temperature was in the 30,s.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming hotel in what used to be a 560 year old house. No AC and with windows open for a hope of even the slightest breeze, the ever pealing church bells were an audio force to be reckoned with.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great building old time feel Little rough being on 3rd floor but was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable. Good breakfast. Great staff and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy personal great for 1 night rest

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely atmospheric. Good restaurant. Comfortable and good looking room. Nothing to fault really!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location across from church in center of town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleeping in the room that Queen Victoria had slept in, hearing the bells of the St. George Church outside, the view of the Altstadt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elavatore

    The breakfast was very good. There is no elavator and we were in second floor. It is a beautiful old building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    free parking

    friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real family-run property done with real passion. I guess that would describe it all 👌👌

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic old world charm, lovely location friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs! No lift. Parking very tight.

    Location and old world feel. Restaurant good . Stasff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and beautiful historic building. Upgrade was most appreciated

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly receptionist. No shades at the window; we had to use a blanket to prevent morning light coming in at 6 am.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great guesthouse with loads of medieval charm. Right in the Marktplatz! Owner was fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was nice Personal is helpful and friendly Hotel is historic hotel it is so nice, it has a soul

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold inside room

    Great location Awesome decorations inside hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the history of the old building, such a wonderful way to visit old Germany and get to stay in it as well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older facility but well kept and in a great location for walking to all the great stores and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing old property and good food in the restaurant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to age 2 flights of stairs to room.

    Location/history of building

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very charming place. I felt like I was teleported back two hundred years but still had WiFi, aircon and a minibar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly, room very small, had to climb 3 lots of stairs and no lift.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and unfriendly

    Location iş good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful location. The breakfast was fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked everything about this grand old house!

    Bernie and his staff were awesome! Very friendly and helpful. He gave us the history of the gasthof - it's 560 years old and incredible. We really enjoyed our stay and the location was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were welcoming and willing to help us figure out what sights to see. There is a lot of interesting history in the town and hotel itself. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a typical German style breakfast and was very good.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Helpful staff. 6 o'clock AM church bell rang louder and longer than i expected but it was also ok for me cause it remineded me i was in one of the most beautiful city in Europe.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were in an annex with a walk to hotel for meals and flights of stairs with no lift. We had explained when booking we had 2 very disabled people in group. Wheelchair could not be taken up the stairs. One person was double amputee of his legs

    Set on the market square

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff didn't give us the Wifi username and the password. I was sure if I asked he would give us but it was late at night already. It would be better if the Wifi username and password was placed somewhere in the room or handed it to us once we checked in.

    Located in the middle of the old town. Couldn't just stay in a bed but had to walk around the town.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Couple

    There is NO WIFI/airco in the rooms. The room was around 25° at night time. This as well in other rooms people told us. We only sleep around 2 hous!!!!!!!! It is a never come back hotel. All other staff was friendly. One of the owners is very nice but the other (brother) one fare from nice and/or smart.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff here were so friendly. They are fluent in German and English and were very kind to speak with my brother in German and then repeat for me in English, so I didn't feel left out. They found a fan for my fiance when he was feeling ill and made sure he was comfortable in the heat wave. The breakfast is also delicious and the decor is so beautiful. Perfect match with the beautiful little town.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    *The room is very hot, i recommend an A/C in the summer season...although they had a small fan it was a bit helpful * the extra bed (sofa bed) wasent comfortable

    *Location is perfect *Breakfast was awesome *the design is very nice (medieval touch) i loved it *the staff were very nice and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bells!! From 6.00 am don't expect any sleep as the church bells opposite start the day with a 5 minute wake-up call! Nothing to complain about really

    Location right on town square. Olde-worlde type hotel. Wonky main staircase added atmosphere. Very helpful chef who arranged covered parking for our motorbike Excellent food. We ate there both nights Not cheap but location will add Lovely town to stay in.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked hearing the church bells ring in the morning, and see the cathedral from the breakfast room window. The owners speak excellent English and are very kind and helpful. If you expect a Westin with an elevator, don't stay in Dinkelsbühl; this place was built before Columbus discovered The New World. It was Old World unique and delightful.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was wonderful

    The hosts were wonderful. The breakfasts delicious. loved the location and will return to this spot. The hotel includes the charm of it's age - it was built in 1475.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    I liked it all. The knowledgeable, helpful, courteous staff. amenities, cleanliness, location, and especially the food both at breakfast and public restaurant. Most of all we appreciated the retention of the 'old' character of the hotel. We shall return.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the restaurant was very good

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lovely central setting in this historic town. The hospitality and efficiency on the staff. The homely comfort of the whole hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking available behind the building!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    church bells at 6.00am.

    fab location very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fabulous location Friendly staff Very good food Beautiful, historic and charming building

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Complacent staff, very poor food in restaurant. this hotel has great location and thus does not feel need to make an effort.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful traditional hotel. Lovely restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, charming place, and a good breakfast. Elegant hotel with a great history.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location right in the centre of the old town.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The position was amazing. The hotel had a lot of character. Great stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Position on market square, very quirky decor great German food in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small doorways

    location staff and historic context

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Right in the middle of the beautiful Dinkelsbuhl this is a very old,quaint,historic hotel ideal for basing yourself for touring the area.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No shampoo or soap. I would imagine that is even more basic than Wi-Fi connection

    Free Wi-Fi, breakfast is included. Very friendly staff

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: