Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goliath am Dom This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Goliathstrasse 10, 93047 Regensburg, Germany

#11 of 111 hotels in Regensburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    We like the location and the feeling of the hotel and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In this ocassion (we are the regular guest in this hotel for years) we had a small room on the 4th level not with so many space in the room. The bath-room had only a litte window to the room.

    We like the location and the feeling of the hotel and the good and well presented breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Wanted to stay longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not particularly comfortable: its two twins pushed together, hard and just not the best. Everything else in this hotel outweighs this one inconvenience.

    The room we've stayed in awoke a feeling of a charming European flat: two large windows that fully open, with window sills that you can sit on and observe the street, which is equally charming. But unlike typical flat in Europe, the room is spacious! Everything was immaculately clean, well designed and useful. Word of caution to the bashful kinds: the shower, while spacious and clean, has a window opened to the living room, the size of standard human torso. No curtain or blinds :). The separate room for the toilet is convenient. I cannot praise this hotel enough for having strong air conditioning! The breakfast was plentiful and sets you right for the day. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is brilliant: easy walk to Danube river, old bridge, Cathedral is right around the corner. Plenty of restaurants, shops, ice cream parlors, lovely squires and streets. The parking is a bit of a walk away from the hotel and costs 13 euro a night, but its kind of expected in a small historic town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a historic city centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is a walk from the hotel and the hotel has no restaurant, so you have to eat out but its no real problem.

    Very convenient for an overnight stop on our way to Austria. The hotel is modern and comfortable with good room facilities, and, as its in the heart of Regensburg, there are plenty of shops and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Great city hotel with a nice cafe
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The omelett made on order was wonderful and they even had gluten free bread. However the buffet is rather poor. The fruit salad is the most dull variant with apples and oranges, not other fresh fruits available. No fresh juices, nothing special. I guess they had more on demand. I would recommend to rethink and not to increase the offer.

    Great bed, nice spacious bathroom. I recommend the higher category rooms facing the street. Bang in the middle of the city, lovely location. The staff was really friendly and helpful. They even have a discount on the parking! The sauna and the fittness is rather small, but you have enough space to do some exercises if you don´t feel like using one of the three cardio machines.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    Location, Cafe restaurant, friendly staff, clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not very comfortable, not very good pillows. Breakfast was nothing special. The pictures for the room I booked in bookings.com did not match the room I got.

    Location, Cafe restaurant, friendly staff, clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.9
    the building, the room's design, the hotel's café
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast's quality was not the same as it had been before. The outsider /not hotel guest/ has had more atractive breakfast /as in the quality and as in the services/ that the hotel guest received.

    the building, the room's design, the hotel's café

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful personnel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fitness club is almost not existent. Three old machines at a very small place without windows ... The hotel did not have my booking.com reservation upon arrival. I was lucky they had rooms available at the check in time.

    Very friendly and helpful personnel. Wonderful location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Great but be aware of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult and confusing as the hotel is located in a heavily walked street area. Eventually figured out there is a garage nearby or reasonable valet option from front desk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no restaurant at the hotel, but there is an excellent Italian restaurant only steps from the front entrance. The hotel does however provide a full breakfast with hot options cooked to order.

    Very nice central hotel with excellent facilities. Helpful staff, easy off street parking, comfy beds and a great shower. Many, probably most of the areas of interest in Regensburg are easily walkable from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wished parking was easier to find. We ended up parking on the side of the road, which happened to be free parking on Sunday so it worked for us to keep the car there instead of parking at the hotel. It was only a short three minute walk-so no biggie.

    The room was big for European standards. Very nicely decorated and a comfortable bed. The hotel was at a great location with lots of resturants to choose from and lots of site seeing within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel and go back to it again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom: the shower was over the narrow end of the bath and had a clear window to the bedroom: not very convenient or private.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Regensburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little difficult to park in front of the hotel due to the number of people who were around.

    Lovely hotel and well located. The breakfast was great and the rooms were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Delightful stay at Hotel Goliath am Dom
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a master switch for all of the lights in the room - maybe this is common in German hotels, maybe not, but it took us a few minutes trying every switch to figure that out! No big deal but it was something we didn't know immediately. The city center of Regensburg has many cobblestone/brick-paved alleys that don't really look like streets yet you need to drive down them to find the hotel. It was felt like we were doing something wrong yet we continued to follow our GPS to successfully find hotel. Knowing that in advance would have eased my mind slightly when we turned down the first or several narrow alleys. But now that we've found it, it would be no issue to get back to it.

    Modern, cozy hotel in the heart of Regensburg. Room was spacious and comfortable with windows that actually open! Free wifi that was fast and reliable. Cafe/bar staff was friendly and came to know us quite quickly. They made us feel very welcome in a foreign city and even introduced us to some local cocktails and pastries. Once we found the hotel, we inquired at the front desk regarding parking and there is a public area nearby or they also offer valet. We would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Great Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Location. Excellent value. Very professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    Rooms clean and beds comfortable. Poor check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in receptionist NOT welcoming at all. Expected better service upon check in.

    Breakfast server efficient and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in an ideal location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing....everything was perfect.

    Fantastic central location; spacious and clean room with working A/C; friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very clean and great in-room air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds pushed together to make an uncomfortable double

    Great location, very clean and great in-room air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    The location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was ideal. The hotel was new and quite attractive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Glad we came to Regensburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the middle of this charming town. Regensburg is worth a visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel, very well located in the centre. Good sized room. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    The location and the cleaning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location and the cleaning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Top floor room with great rooftop views.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Top floor room with great rooftop views. Excellent continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Position is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass window in bathroom?! Visible from bedroom!

    Position is the best!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent. Beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    There was no drinking water at Sauna area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no drinking water at Sauna area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet.

    Everything else.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    the nice building, the tasty designe and the excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the nice building, the tasty designe and the excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Great stay. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicer room for price.

    Breakfast in bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very comfortable and exclusive room with balcony on the roof and nice view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic Service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant service from start to finish and a receipt sent to me on departure Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    very clean hotel with phenominal service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the service and the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its difficult to reach the hotel by car. The room was small. Expensive for what it offers

    Location, staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Convenient and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking

    The position is excellent and the service great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect location... right in the center comfortable valet service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know it was a holiday 🙁

    Breakfast was perfect and the ambiance is very nice and elegant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.6
    The rooms pictured were not the same as what you received.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms pictured were not the same as what you received. Our families all received older rooms, not decorated recently.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.1
    Lovely locations and front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A second cup of coffee seemed a big deal to one of the waiters

    Needed better pillows

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.2
    Great staff - very helpful (and most spoke impeccable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked thicker (or additional) pillows on the bed

    Great staff - very helpful (and most spoke impeccable English), excellent breakfasts, relatively modern facility in an ideal location in the old town's center

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.6
    Great location in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only issue was the street noise in the mornings. Very loud.......the only downside of the great location.

    Great location in the old city. We were visiting as part of my daughter's start to her semester abroad in Regensburg Uni.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.9
    + Good breakfast,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Bland German-style interior design, - Thin pillows/blankets, - "Combined" shampoo/conditioner/shower gel instead of individual products

    + Good breakfast, + Spacious room, + Good location

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location in center of historic district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One suggestion would be for the hotel to more clearly explain parking options. Only after I had found parking in a somewhat distant public garage did I learn from the front desk that there was a hotel parking facility very close to the hotel.

    Excellent location in center of historic district. Personnel were friendly. Good breakfast and nice café for afternoon coffee and cake.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    Very close to the cathedral and the 'worlds first fast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The key to get into the door stuck a few times... that's my only complaint!

    Very close to the cathedral and the 'worlds first fast food restaurant' aka the best sausage and sauerkraut I've had in my life. Hotel is decorated very nicely and staff is warm and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.2
    my girl friend and I had two nights in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    my girl friend and I had two nights in the hotel. We found an offer and took the train from munich. the hotel was within walking distance (we took at taxi though as it rained). personel was friendly, room quiet and the very positive surprise was the breakfast buffet - nice !!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was great, location even better and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed over Valentine's weekend and on Saturday morning we were woken up by hammering and banging (euphemisms aside). We later saw that the gym area was being renovated so can only assume that was the cause but even so, it was very early.

    Breakfast was great, location even better and the room was lovely, only one thing I could complain about...see below.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    I can not fault this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can not fault this hotel. It is beyond excellent.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Deluxe double was nice for two photographers with gear spending 4 nights.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    Perfect small old town hotel with excellent staff, breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect small old town hotel with excellent staff, breakfast and very close by parking

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great staff. Good breakfast. Rooms are very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    Location, breakfast, fast WiFi, room comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nonee

    Location, breakfast, fast WiFi, room comfort

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.5
    Pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Badly laid out room, very ordinary breakfast, difficult to work out how the lights and power switches worked

    Pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.6
    Location was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was fabulous!!! Cathedral less than a block away, town hall a block and old stone bridge a block. Loved the air-conditioning!!!

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast, location of hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air conditioning not adequate to maintain 20C in room.

    Breakfast, location of hotel.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    We have enjoyed the roof terrasse in the
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There could have been 2 armchairs in the room so that we had not to sit on the bed

    We have enjoyed the roof terrasse in the evening

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    walk to elevator

    Breakfast, location

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    9.2
    Modern rooms, motivated staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Modern rooms, motivated staff. Hotel is in pedestrian zone within walking distence from the beautiful historic inner city.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    The List continues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking but thats everywhere in germany lol

    The List continues

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast was fantastic and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was too small.

    Breakfast was fantastic and very friendly staff. Excellent location.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Hotel Goliath am Dom traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: