Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Travel Charme Hotel Gothisches Haus This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Marktplatz 2, 38855 Wernigerode, Germany

#2 of 25 hotels in Wernigerode

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 922 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful little old town with a variety of dining options, a castle and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you go the last 30 minutes of the buffet breakfast, the offerings will be limited.

    Our room was comfortable with lots of space and well appointed. The staff was friendly and informative. The location was right in the center of old town which was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    8.3
    The food was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff in the restaurant was a little overwhelmed or not so worked in well. We’re used to good service, so that wasn’t so convincing.

    The food was delicious. The rooms are very comfy, especially the bed. We had massages in the spa area. That was absolutely perfect! Absolutely recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in the center of a delightful old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clear instructions for how to drive to the main entrance.

    Wonderful location and excellent design keeping the external and some of the traditional old building combined with excellent contemporary facilities. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful historic building comfortably modernised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is right in the centre of the old city, a great location. However, getting to it on this occasion was difficult as due to the heavy rainfall and floods, roads were blocked off. Eventually with help from the receptionist we found a way through. Our room had traditional decor and overlooked a roof garden. The bathroom was well equipped but it was disappointing that they didn’t provide tea and coffee making facilities. The Spa was very stylish and a delight to use. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and had a lovely view out onto the cobbled market square. The food and service were both good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    10
    Want to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The accommodations were extremely beautiful. Everything was great. The water pressure was super, the breakfast was the best we had yet in Germany, and the location was perfect on the town hall square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    First class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We dined in the hotel so I cannot comment on the restaurants in the area. One of the best breakfast buffets I can remember! The staff- everyone- were friendly, very courteous and discrete. Everything was perfect except that it was unfortunately only for one night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    9.2
    Best location ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain.

    The hotel is located in the center of the old town near the town hall. It is 10 minutes walk from mainline train station and also from steam train. Old town IS where you want to see in Wenigerode, so this hotel has a top location. We booked a breakfast included room. Breakfast was good, with a lot of varieties including olive, cheeses, meat products etc. They also had a good choice of fruits. Also breakfast time is from 6.30 to 11 so if you get up early or late, doesn't matter much. Wifi was free and was really working. Working Wifi is not something I saw much in hotels even they say they have. It was quite fast, and signal was good in the room and in breakfast saloon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay, right in the town square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent place to stay, right in the town square. Really good breakfasts plenty of choice. Friendly helpful staff. Very secure parking. Good location for touring the Harz area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    10
    Wernigerode - Gate to Harz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect Hotel in the city centre of Wernigerode, parking next to the hotel, very clean and nice room, superb breakfast a lot of delicious stuff, kind personell, a lot of materials for trip to Harz, great Saunas & Wellness & Fitness

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast excellent and sumptuous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay 12 Euros a day for parkimg as I thought this was included. No complimentary drinks or snacks in the room Small double bed for two people. I was almost falling off the edge of the bed

    Breakfast excellent and sumptuous. Furniture modern and room warm Location perfect for sightseeing in and around Wenigerode

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    8.3
    A good hotel to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only drawback - the room was cool.

    We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January 2017. The hotel's location is excellent(next to the Town Hall Square) for explore the city. Adjacent to the hotel - a large city parking. We had a spacious and clean room, good signal Wi - Fi. Breakfast is varied and rich. It is a good place for exploring Wernigerode

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2016

    5.4
    Inconvenient facility services and unprofessional waitstaff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant and spa hours are inconvenient. Dinner is only available from 6-9 pm. The waitstaff was not professional. We arrived at the restaurant at 8:30 pm and were rushed by the waiter because he said the kitchen closed in a half hour. We asked him a question while he was setting our silverware and he shushed us indicating that we had to wait to talk to him until he was done setting the table. Another server helped and she was a little better, but also had an attitude. When I stopped her to ask her for something "when she had a chance", she looked at the plates she was carrying to indicate that she couldn't get it because she was busy, I had to repeat "when you have a chance." I feel like the waitstaff did their best to let us know that we were imposing on their clean up routine. I don't understand how this hotel has a 4-star rating. At breakfast, the same waitstaff was there, so I imagine they were rushing us the evening before because they had to be back to work early in the morning. I actually felt bad for them and I think the hotel management should hire separate morning and evening staff to improve customer service. Additionally, the spa wasn't available to us in the morning. It opens at 10 am, which should really be much earlier. However, even when I arrived at 10:30 am, I could not use it because nothing was ready for hotel guests. The hot sauna rooms weren't heated and the doors were open as if someone had just cleaned them.

    The hotel is nice and the location is good. The breakfast is buffet style and it had very good offerings. I liked the slippers that were available for going to the sauna.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2016

    8.3
    Very good hotel & facilities, awful charging policies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - We were charged 5 euro upon arriving, for a leaflet of free bus tickets and coupons, despite we wouldn't be using any of these! 5 euro down the drain! - we "were welcomed" in our room with a bottle of water: 2,5 euro! Something has to be done there with all charging and prices...

    Excellent breakfast. Great location right at the center of the town. Polite staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2016

    10
    Good stay in the Harz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very central in pedestrian precinct. Comfortable rooms, helpful staff, , excellent breakfast. If driving check parking directions with hotel. Not simple because of one way streets. Last bit signed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For bottled mineral water in the room you had to pay extra. Expensive parking. The kitchen in the restaurant works only up to 9 p.m.

    Excellent breakfast. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    5.4
    bad hotel i have ever experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the staff was unfreindly especially one reciepnist her name is weber, she was very rude while talking to me for no reason, even i complaint to her manager the hotel was expensive for nothing, the services was bad especially in the reciption,

    i liked only the location and food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    9.6
    best location ,great breakfast and wonderful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price of the parking is definetly too dear .12 euros is a bit too much !

    extremely kind stuff it is easy to reach and very practical the parking as the town is almost all pedestrian. the room was spacious,unfortunately in the new part of the building with not a great view but it was the last available .great breakfast served in a beautiful setting .It is right in the centre so great for visiting and you are allowed to stay till the next day till 3 pm in tha parking paying 12 euros.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotell with a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good hotell with a superb location. Very good rooms. Plus for breakfast and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.9
    Seating arrangement for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Seating arrangement for dinner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.8
    Super helpful and knowledgeable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor styling / old fashion rooms.

    Super helpful and knowledgeable staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent base for visiting Christmas markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location adjacent to the market square

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    10
    the most satisfactory hotel in my whole trip in Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the design of the room, the toilet inside the room, the breakfast and the waitresses serving in the breakfast restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    10
    Really nice stay!I definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast with Gluten-free options, friendly staff, great spa and excellent cocktails at the bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing and comfortable stay in a great German town with lots to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Typically German traditional style. Quaint, comfortable and welcoming with a good selection of quality local breakfast fare.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel right in the middle of Wernigerode
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The location was superb, right on the town square. The room was spacious, very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.5
    Restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk.

    Restaurant. Bartender.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    4.6
    Horrible beds with plastic covers under the sheets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible beds with plastic covers under the sheets

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    10
    Wi Fi a little weak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi Fi a little weak

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    6.7
    Wellness area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free parking no cattle with tea /coffee in the room small rooms

    Wellness area breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2016

    9.6
    Great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing...

    Great room. Breakfast excellent. Staff was very helpful. Best location. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2016

    9.2
    Very good hotel, recomande to friends :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fitness room was not good, not nude in spa facility.

    Bed, staff, breakfast allmost everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in a fantastic town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are great and the location is fantastic. This is a great town to visit. We had planned on staying one night but stayed for two nights.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    9.6
    Shot stopover in the beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2016

    8.8
    The hotel is in a prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in a prime location. We particularly enjoyed the excellent restaurant in the evening that is part of the house. Quiet and relaxed; very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2016

    9.2
    Attractive hotel well run and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Dinner service was poor although the meals were great if not cheap! Need more staff to cope in the evenings. Up to 2.5 hours to complete one evening.

    Attractive hotel well run and very comfortable

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2016

    5.8
    The wellness area is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    definitely not worth the money!! A waste of money. Breakfast was with a long queue and not fancy at all (mensa style). Checkout queue took half an hour!!!! Everything was crowded and not comfortable.

    The wellness area is nice. 3 saunas and a jacuzzi.

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    10
    Well positioned on the market platz - we had a sunny room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well positioned on the market platz - we had a sunny room with a peek of the Rathaus bell tower. The restaurant is very interesting as it is set in a conservatory between two original buildings.

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    10
    Location and breakfast buffet was absolutely wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Until a staff member actually rode in the car with us we could not drive to the hotel with either gps or a map.

    Location and breakfast buffet was absolutely wonderful! The staff was very helpful and could not have been nicer.

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2015

    8.8
    Stunning location right on the town square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    "Double" beds are two pushed together. No bathtub in our room.

    Stunning location right on the town square. Very rare to find excellent service in Ossi Germany outside Berlin - management are doing something right here. One has to respect the designer for having thought of function and ensuring a good quality of finish, even if one does not share the taste. Individual (self-service) teapots for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2016

    8.3
    Excellent dinner in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff could be a little friendlier. Checkout was slow.

    Excellent dinner in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2015

    9.6
    Everything you've ever expected in a great hotel is here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything you've ever expected in a great hotel is here. Unable to fault it .

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    9.2
    Attractive historical building with stylish, well-kept and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    no complaints at all

    Attractive historical building with stylish, well-kept and comfortable rooms; good breakfast buffet; friendly staff

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic central location on market square, superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find, due to road closures and construction work. No kettle in room.

    Fantastic central location on market square, superb restaurant

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2015

    9.6
    service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    service

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect about our stay, could not of asked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything was perfect about our stay, could not of asked for more

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2015

    9.2
    Staff at reception very friendly and helpful, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all

    Staff at reception very friendly and helpful, breakfast superb, room was great, atrium impressive

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    9.6
    Great food, localization, and very friendly staff - Thank...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Lack of Polish TV channels.

    Great food, localization, and very friendly staff - Thank You!

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Travel Charme Hotel Gothisches Haus Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: