Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gräfrather Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

In der Freiheit 48, 42653 Solingen, Germany

#3 of 18 hotels in Solingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 390 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location for a short stay in Solingen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for money considering breakfast was extra and not cheap at Eur 17.90! Parking also additional at Eur 8 per night. The restaurant was also closed due to refurbishments (not advised prior to arrival) so, essentially Eur150 per night for a B&B!

    Clean room, comfortable bed, good location, good selection at breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    It looks like if you book your room using booking .com you will get the broom chamber. Furniture from the 80,s , small room. Curtain ripped. Breakfast 14,- Euros. There is a bakery around the corner were you can have a great breakfast for 5,- Euros.

    Reception staff very nice .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Seemed a nice hotel but would prefer to stay in the main building rather than across the street.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dinner was offered but there was a good Indian across the road. Irritated at check-out when the sole receptionist conversed on the phone while guests queued to pay.

    The hotel was full so we were billeted in annexes across the street. Head waitress Laura coped very well with a packed restaurant at beakfast-time. A charming area architecturally.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel. Good place if in town for a couple of nights on business.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can often be a problem. Hotel has its own car park a small walk away. It costs 3 Euros per night to park there (tokens available at the reception). The car park is, however, often full if you arrive for a late check in. Another public car park is available further up the road and, normally has spaces.

    Always a pleasant stay here. Located in a lovely, traditional Hamlet just outside Solingen and close to motorway links and Dusseldorf Airport (30-40 mins by car). Hotel is made up of 3-4 separate buildings. Rooms are usually spacious enough for one person. One of the buildings (zur Post) is very old with steep, narrow stairs. Breakfast always good though a little pricey. Food in restaurant is good. Couple of other nice restaurants to choose from within walking distance too. Spanish reastaurant a few doors up is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Picture Post Card Village
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish the hotel had a bar as sometimes I would rather not go out for a drink - but as everything we needed was so close by it would not stop us returning.

    Love this Hotel and always happy to return. Happy to pay a little extra for the better rooms as they are really luxurious. Beautiful area that is so peaceful and quite. Good parking near by. Staff are always so professional. Breakfast is often busy but very efficient. Great places within walking distance making this an interesting place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    A wonderful hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nothing to complain about!

    The location, the neatness of the room and the entire hotel, the excellent buffet breakfast and the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Great location in old town and nice personnel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wi-Fi is really slow. I am convinced, that this kind of a hotel, on this level should have much better Wi-Fi connection. Good fast Wi-Fi normally costs peanuts and would make the guests much happier. In the time from 6pm to midnight, when all the guests are probably using it, it gets really slow and loading a picture might take forever. Also the price for breakfast is exaggerated. A price of 17eur is just non-sense for breakfast.

    I like the location of the hotel, which is in the centre of marvelous old town. Also the personnel is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    10 out f 10 in fact more points if I could
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing hotel and lovely staff I loved everything about my stay and I am referring all my friends to it. The restaurant the atmosphere in fact everything is on point here You cant miss this place well worth a visit and yes I will be back

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.5
    As I was born In Grafrath it was extra special to stay right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think for the price, breakfast should have been included as breakfast was very expensive even though it was nice.

    As I was born In Grafrath it was extra special to stay right at the market place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice boutique hotel but way too expensive!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Too expensive!!! - I stayed at the 3rd floor but the elevator would go only to the 2nd so that I had to grab my heavy stuff and walk the rest.

    - Very nice boutique hotel. - Staff very friendly - Clean - Breakfast - Lucky enough to stay in the main building

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    6.3
    historic background but very expensive for what is provided
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was far too high. If you are a senior it is not easy to bring luggage up two flights of stairs that are narrow and steep

    The employees were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Perfect in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was beautiful, inside and out. All the staff members were very friendly, efficient and helpful in every way possible. We've stayed in dozens of hotels in Germany, and so far, this one is my absolute favorite! This is the best hotel in Solingen and we will surely be staying here again when passing through next year. :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    Romantic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the guest house was cute, leaving the building for breakfast or for going to the gym was not ideal. Sheets were 'noisy'

    Romantic location Great breakfast Late checkout

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    We can enjoy not only staying but lovely atmosphere!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good atmosphere inside of Hotel & its around

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Small room in a remote building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room in a remote building. No restaurant at the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As always, room is clean & staffs are friendly. Hotel is surrounded by some restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been less expensive.

    Comfortable hotel with very helpful staff. Located in a nice historical village. Wide range and fresh breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    The Window did not close cortectly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Window did not close cortectly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay in interesting area but rooms in the main building are preferred
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    one Sauna (90 °C, important one!) was not working, guesthouse rooms a bit old fashioned and noisy

    Location, wellness area,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Cozy and clean, great hotel for the German Blade Museum or just to absorb culture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved that it was a quaint little German town. The hotel fit in perfectly. It was like we were staying in a Christmas Card.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Everything the staff are amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location, great hotel
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable and staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Idyllic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly staff. Hotel is in a beautiful setting in the quiet town square in Solingen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    We liked the plce wery mutch it is beutiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and the sears

    Jes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    terrible wi-fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    terrible wi-fi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.9
    Great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy room in the new renovated building.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.5
    Church bells went off every morning at 8:00.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church bells went off every morning at 8:00.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    I would recommend that place to stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was too small.

    Very nice and helpful stuff. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.3
    The room is nicely decorated and the hotel is situated in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is nicely decorated and the hotel is situated in a nice old town of Solingen.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    Always great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel in beautiful location, and really friendly staff. Great breakfast, with lots of choice and delicious daytime snacks. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful corner with the cobbled streets and old houses.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parks near hotel were full and hotel can't reserve the spaces.

    Beautiful corner with the cobbled streets and old houses.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    they have a sauna and steam sauna, those are very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    they have a sauna and steam sauna, those are very good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    We always love to stay in this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel in fantastic location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Additional charge for breakfast

    Nice hotel in great village centre location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.2
    Hotel and restaurant staff was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room in Gästehaus Alte Schule was pretty old and lived down already, nevertheless the view was great!

    Hotel and restaurant staff was very nice. Breakfast and restaurant choices were very good. Area was great!

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    8.3
    Nice and big rooms, modern and clean looking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The service in the restaurant was absolutely horrible, I thought the lady was going to kill me.

    Nice and big rooms, modern and clean looking. Good service at the front door.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    The rooms was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Compared to the price for the room, the price for breakfast is quite high.

    The rooms was amazing. It must have been redecorated recently. So from the outside you get a nice, old building (well maintained) From the inside you get new, fresh and clean rooms. Relly nice!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    6.7
    We booked Hotel Gräfrather Hof, but we have been moved to...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked Hotel Gräfrather Hof, but we have been moved to Hotel Zur Post. In fact Zur Post is nicely refurbished historical building, but rather cosy 3star hotel than 4 star superior...

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Lovely location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very warm. Could have more options on the menu to cater for food allergies/intolerances.

    Lovely location Comfortable bed Very clean Friendly Staff

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.9
    Good sleep, friendly and professional reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stayed in second building across the street, have to help yourself there. Unlucky if rain or cold. Room bit pricey. Parking charge in their own backyard for hotel guests !!

    Good sleep, friendly and professional reception. Quiet, nice environment, good room facilities

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    10
    Everything about the place , it is stunning there .
    • Solo traveller

    The personal reason I have to travel there . And this hotel makes it a lot easier for me .

    Everything about the place , it is stunning there . Very friendly staff exceptional service . I have been to a few hotels in the same area , this is the best place by a long way .

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    5.4
    Location.
    • Family with young children

    The room. Annex. Was very outdated and needed refreshment.mold stained carpets, bathroom old, shower very small. Would not pay more than 70 eur for it...

    Location. Staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    8.8
    I'd like a lot the breakfast and the sauna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had room 601 and had quite some troubles with street noises and the streeet-lighting coming into my room.

    I'd like a lot the breakfast and the sauna

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    5.8
    Walking to an annex , then going into an unlit lobby not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walking to an annex , then going into an unlit lobby not knowing where to find the lightswitch . PIR fitted not working ?

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.8
    poor internet connection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor internet connection

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    10
    Everything it was fantastic great friendly staff hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything it was fantastic great friendly staff hotel was superb

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    10
    The staff was wonderful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, great location.
    • Couple

    Need extra blankets in the room.

    Friendly staff, great location.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    Bed was extremely comfortable, and it was very quiet at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was extremely comfortable, and it was very quiet at night.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff was excellent from beginning to end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was excellent from beginning to end.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Would highly recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would highly recommend!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff. High level of facilities. Lovely location

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Really pleasant 'touristic' location in the middle...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really pleasant 'touristic' location in the middle of a wonderful village.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    8.8
    Clean room, friendly staff, and good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Clean room, friendly staff, and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    8.3
    I stay here often and enjoy everything but the internet...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet works in only one half of the rooms.

    I stay here often and enjoy everything but the internet service.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    10
    Location, comfort, rooms, facilities, it was a surprise to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing, everything was fine

    Location, comfort, rooms, facilities, it was a surprise to find a place like this in Solingen.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel Gräfrather Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: