Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Graf Zeppelin

St. Stephansplatz 15, 78462 Konstanz, Germany

#30 of 33 hotels in Konstanz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 930 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in till 10.30 pm. Curtains stained with blood. Also we booked through booking.com for 2 adults and 1 son aged 15 breakfast included. However on checking-out we were asked to pay extra for our son's breakfast as the receptionist said that he is over 7 years old! We paid the extra requested however we were disappointed as when we booked through booking.com we did not have this extra cost shown.

    Hotel situated close to the city centre and coach station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    It would have benefitted from air-conditioning as the room was very hot. The safe in our room didn't work and despite the staff trying to resolve it they couldn't so was without a safe for the 10 days.

    The hotel is in a great location with lots of shops, bars and restaurants near by. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the lake or station. The rooms were clean with very comfy beds. All the staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed a hanger in the bathroom. There is no hanger or a chair for clothes

    It is a marvellous building modernized and updated, excellent heating and breakfast. Special thanks to the Reception staff for their helpfulness and cheerful manners

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was a bit noisy as it was the week of the carnival. Noisy outside and noisy guests. But not really the hotels fault.

    The hotel was in a great location. Warm and clean with friendly staff Great choice of breakfast and catered for vegans.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is truly awful. It looks beautiful from the outside, and it is in a great location, but it is like the Fawlty Towers of Germany and should be avoided at all costs. Let me tell you why: 1. On check in, we were shown to our tiny room which had four individual beds shoved together to make two large beds. There was no room for our luggage, or a baby cot for our infant. 2. On asking to have a bigger room, I was taken on a long, drawn out tour of all the rooms that weren’t available (!!) - including an apartment loft that was literally in the middle of being painted. This is while the receptionist was asking me uncomfortable things like “does your husband mind you walking around a hotel with a man that’s not him...?’ foul!! 3. We ended up negotiating to pay more for a second tiny room, because the five of us could not fit. 4. The showers barely worked, and easily flooded because the plumbing was awful. 5. The wifi didn’t work at all in our rooms (it may have worked in lobby) - and when we asked staff about it - they just said “yes, we know” - errrm, ok... 6. At breakfast when I saw a staff member making coffee from a machine I asked for an espresso, and he told me that I could have the filtered coffee only (as he sipped his from said machine...!!) 7. The TVs in the room didn’t work at all and may as well have not been there. 8. The staff were rude and indifferent to any complaints we made, so we ended up shutting up for our second day because we felt stuck. 9. The staff didn’t tell us anything about their beautiful town - no maps, no guidance, no advice, nothing! They just didn’t care. 10. The dust in the room was prolific - an inch thick under our beds! Disgusting!! There’s probably more - but hopefully that’s enough to turn you off staying here. Konstanz is a wonderful town, and we enjoyed every minute that we weren’t in this derelict building , please stay elsewhere!!

    The small packet of gummi bears left on our beds was nice. The breakfast had a great selection of meats, but they are not good reasons to pick a hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. It was a small dark room. The cleaning service did not clean even once underneath the bed. Very dusty, and we could hear everything from other rooms. But the worse part was the bed. We had two independent small mattresses on the top of a bed base frame. The Problem was that the mattresses were too soft and the slatted frame somehow elastic. So if someone moves, the other companion also moves. We ended moving one mattress to the floor, so one of us had to sleep on the floor to get some rest. ( that's why I noticed the floor was so dusty!!) Nightmare

    breakfast at the hotel was very very good. Very complete. The building and the lobby were very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture just ok, “Ibis” standard. Does not match charmy building and reception.

    Exceptional reception personnel, very good localization; paid public parking very close to the hotel. Breakfast also better than average.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pancakes and maple syrup were cold.

    The Location is super for Konstanz, which is a lovely, waterside City with enjoyable strolling and shopping. The Hotel is charming, convenient, and comfortable. The breakfast was very good - they even had pancakes and maple syrup! They are pet-friendly (we have a dog).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit bland and the beds were a bit hard.

    The employees were extremely helpful. I requested a bath which they sorted out for me. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was very good plenty of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower/water tub was defect, there was no tv connection [but these are probably temporary issues]

    friendly staff, good location, very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had some dusty spots that were obviously & the plates were running out fast on breakfast. Bad parking area if you arrive by car. We had a streetside room on the 3rd floor, which was really noisy in the night time (cars, drunk people...)

    Nice historical building, well located in the center. Very good to see the town by feet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No views (window to inner yard) and a bit dark, the room seemed smaller than it really was. The breakfast was nothing special. A bit expensive considering it was just a normal room with no extras

    Good location in the city centre, near the cathedral and the historic district. Room was clean and large enough

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    This is the most amazing hotel; full of history, it's also modern and comfortable in the rooms. The building is beautiful, in the best location. Buffet breakfast, which comes with the room, was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is WAY overpriced for what you get. The room and bathroom was OK, but the staff seems very demotivated to work here, and the breakfast service was poor. It's a beautiful building with a lot of potential so it's sad to see that they're not doing more with it. It could turn in to a great hotel.

    The location of this hotel is great, very close to shopping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi was not good, it did not work in the room. There is no air conditioning and the weather was pretty hot so it was a hot night since you cant leave the windows open because of the noise outside.

    I liked the breakfast, bedroom and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the day, the room was very sunny and hot and there is no air conditioning. But we spent a few hours during the day in the room, of course we went to the Bodensee. :)

    Great position and friendly staff. They were very helpful. It was a rainy day and we haven't got the umbrellas. They helped us and lent some umbrellas :) Unfortunately in Konstanz there is no parking for the Hotels and they are very expensive!! The breakfast was very ample and for every taste. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot weather made the one window room into a sauna. Times like this require A/C or more fans Opportunity for in-house laundry was great. Staff was very accomodating - actually they are super.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Minor points - dust all over windowsills in the room, it has not had a deep clean for a while. No reliable WLAN signal in our room (309). Unfortunately we were staying in the hotel when the 5 day wine festival was on at a square just a short distance from the hotel and so it was impossible to open any windows at night because of the noise. Also, opposite the hotel is a large bottle recycling container which was a little noisy on a regular morning but VERY noisy during the wine festival when stall owners decided to deposit hundreds of wine bottles into the container at 7am every morning!!

    As mentioned in other reviews, the breakfast is very good and the young man managing the breakfast area very friendly and professional. Overall we had a pleasant experience although the hotel is a little overpriced. I think it likes to think of itself as a higher end hotel which it just fails to be.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was just not good - 204 I think, possibly 203. Although it seemed large, the bathroom and toilet were tiny. The bed was horrible. It's window opened onto the lift shaft. The furniture and decor left a lot to be desired. Every noise from the kitchen and preparation for breakfasts came directly up. The noise of people on the stairs was amplified by the bare floors and walls. All told a disappointing experience.

    The reception/bar/diningroom of the hotel is lovely. There's a dedicated lock up area for bicycles. It's very central to town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There had been a misunderstanding with our booking and a large group came at the same time as us, but even so the woman at reception was very helpful and manage to solve everything to everyone's satisfaction. Very good breakfast with lots of nice fresh fruit. And also good service. Great building to stay in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even allowing for it being a very old building, lighting in our room was inadequate for ordinary purposes. The single window looked out onto the back of metal fire escape stairs only some 1/2 metre away and enclosed on 3 sides so that there was no natural light entering the room even in the middle of the day. The shower room was tiny.

    Very central location. Interesting old building much admired even by those passing by for its painted walls etc. Very helpful staff member at checkin and with our enquiry about where to park our car - public multi-story 10 minutes walk from hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not recommend this hotel during the summer. The weather was very close when I stayed, and the lack of air conditioning in the bedroom made for a rather uncomfortable night. I would also not recommend this hotel for the partially sighted. The lift does not have traditional buttons with raised numbers for those with poor vision. Rather, it has a rather difficult to read touch screen that seems to have been installed for aesthetic rather than functional reasons.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small and furniture is nothing special.

    Perfect central location. Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Room was small, but comfortable with everything necessary. Specifically was impressed by designer work in bathroom - ability to fix modern bathroom in a small space with wooden beam of historical building. I also enjoyed that sleeping mattress was hard - perfect for problem spine. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi was intermittent.

    The breakfast was great, lots of choice and a pleasant dining room. The room was huge with high ceilings and a sofa to sit and watch TV from.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning, fan not working in ahower room and lack of wall sockets and not a sungle Enlish tv channel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staf. Was exceptional, especially Almedin Brkic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Authentic building with period decor. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size could have been better

    Top location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No on-site parking.

    Friendly staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things broken in the room, and dust under bed.

    Breakfast! Although one day (sunday) minimal compared to other days. Liked the view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oonly German channels on tv

    Breakfest

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff excellent esp God Love Breakfast outstanding

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast,and great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficulties for parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet in our room was a bit shaky but the staff told us that they are working on it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and facilities were excellent. Great location near the Bahnhof and Marketplatz.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room kinda small but for a one night stay it was well worth it.

    The location and value/money was pretty good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle in our room but I think that is a British thing.

    A lovely characterful hotel with friendly staff in the middle of konstanz.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Verry central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, no air conditioner (it was really hot)

    Great location, staff, and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi didn't work.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast and location. Thank you so much to the staffs who helped make the bus reservation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chargeable parking

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You need to get a new code for the internet every 24 hours.

    Breakfast was really good, nice selection of various things.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room and not comfortable air conditioning.

    Beautiful city!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View out of window not best, very noisy.

    Location is great. Hotel hall very impressive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit expensive

    nice old hotel and good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    discount for outside parking should be nice!

    we are thankful for upgrading us to the apartment with additional bedding! breakfast was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights on the stair at foot level, the gorgeous 1850 windows , the breakfast and the double glazing which kept noise down.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome breakfast buffet. Great location. Cool mix of modern and old.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ---

    Beautiful building, great atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: