Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Berlin East This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Landsberger Allee 203, Lichtenberg, 13055 Berlin, Germany

#525 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3957 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.3
    Pris is ok
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom Shower Problem! cold water only, no Hot Water to Mix with very unstable water system in my bathroom. My room Was in 4. Th floor.very noisy nights, It is a non-stop shouting in the 2 corridors in the night. If you are staying at the hotel, forget your sleep.

    Pris is ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was the holding charge on the 2 rooms. €60 is a lot of money when you need every penny. Location was out of the centre but very close to tram connections

    The hotel was nice and clean. Very attentive welcome even at 1:30am. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Staff were polite and it was good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Not a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ****This is not a 4 stat hotel**** No air con or fan- window opened a fraction and let in the noise from the cafe downstairs. Very stuffy and woke up at least 4 times each night I stayed there because it was SO hot. Left absolutely exhausted due to lack of sleep. No kettle No tea or coffee No iron No coat hangers TV was so old, probably from the 1980s, you could have rewired the remote control into a time machine. Advertised as having 24 hour room service on booking.com and hotel website, was not the case. A vending machine is available downstairs which apparently constitutes '24 hour room service'. Food is available until 11pm €5 for someone to bring food to your room, not advertised on website or room service menu. Booked as City Hotel Berlin East, sinage on bulding says Grand City Hotel. Lobby has signs as Holiday Inn. Very confusing at 11pm trying to find the place. Average breakfast that was overcharged at checkout. Was told it was €9.90 but was charged €13.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff are really nice and funny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con cant be turned on but the weather is cool so it’s fine. Nevertheless, the eletricity suddenly got cut off in the midnight, though recovered very soon.

    Staff are really nice and funny.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Useful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a/c wasn't working and so room was very hot. Had windows open but was quite a lot of road noise.

    Useful location next to tram lines. 24 hour check in. Room is fine with comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    not sure its worth 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the TV wasnt the TV in the images, it was a big backed Nokia that made alot of static noise. we had to unplug it. our aircon also didnt work but we held the window open with a lamp.

    good transport links, nice sized room and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay at the hotel and in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small fridge in the room to keep drinks cool in the hot weather.

    The hotel was clean safe in close proximity to the trams which took you straight into Alexander Platz which was about 10 mins away. Breakfast was good, a mix buffet of hot, cold ,foods ,fruits pancakes etc. Beds were comfortable, the shower was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Good for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it took us about 1 hour to find the hotel, because the name on the booking was different. We didn't realise it was holiday inn hotel until we went to ask at the reception and was told city hotel Berlin operate in the same building.

    Good for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    City break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was superb, the range of hot and cold meals was extensive. The hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel itself was situated a tram ride from Alexander Platz. Tram ride was quite enjoyable. The rooms in the hotel were large and the furnishings very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    The airconditioning didn’t work and it was very very hot and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning didn’t work and it was very very hot and receptionist told us that we can open the window 😳 what a surprise at least they gave us some small cooler but it was the same . At night there were some insects on light and i couldn’t sleep calm. From city centre its not close

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    I like the size of the room,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was really bad, the staff who serving the breakfast were not professional, the dishes were smelling eggs, the A/C didn't work, the toilet were smelling really bad.

    I like the size of the room,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.6
    Staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First, on booking.com should be right name of the hotel. So you dont wonder around looking for city hotel instead of holiday inn. Room was "clean", dust on floors. Tv was from stoneage, didnt watch it but does not betoni to a 4 star hotel room. Mattresses was old and dirty, comfort thou but not sign of a quality. This hotel should be max 3 stars.

    Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Thw girl at the disk at the day we Arrived was amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we called to get a scale and the first one whom take the phone said thy will send one to the room then we waited and called one more time and got a different answer that thy don’t have a scale !!

    Thw girl at the disk at the day we Arrived was amazing and helpful. The guy when we wanted to leave and check out was kind of rude .. didn’t even look at us when he talked to oss!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    3 Star Hotel Fitness Center & Breakfast need Work. Helpful Staff, Good Location & Bistro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FITNESS CENTRE: This hotel is a 3 star hotel. In order to make it a 4 star hotel, they should totally redo the fitness center. The equipment there is from 1970s. They have 4 treadmills one very old bike and some other non-useful equipment. They should put a weight rack in at least and clear one mirror and put some mats in for stretching. They need to at least have soft ropes and loops for the functional cable machine so you can use it for more. BREAKFAST: Breakfast was not good - all they offer is lunchmeat and bread... scrambled eggs and sausage. No bacon, croissants and the coffee is yucky. You pay extra for espresso.

    AC: Good AC on the 14th floor. I slept well bc I couldn't hear city traffic blaring below. TEA: They did have a full tea cart and fruit which was good So this hotel needs some work but the location is good and the staff were friendly. BISTRO: The attached Berliner Bistro & Bar, (not where breakfast is served) was also decent. I enjoyed the herbed chicken salad, soup and dessert.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    nice and comfortable place for a fair amount of money
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a problem with the card to access the room, after three times asking for help the staff gave me the regular key.

    a good place for the price... people in reception was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    would love to have a more restrictive use of rating... may a 4* be a 4 start
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some sort of a mix up between 2 hotels operating with a limited staff on both, with too long of waiting at the desk for whatever, and really fatigue likes facilities ... jump back to the 90s

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    Nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't comfy. The lift was broken. The air con was broken and you couldn't open the window because of the noisy road outside. It's not an easy location to get to. I didn't really enjoy it. It was OK, but there was nothing great about. My favourite thing was the bar downstairs. Staff were nice and good service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Leaky Shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower hose was broken at the bottom so I was losing half of my water. So I decided to take a bath but the bath plug was also letting water through so I ended up using much more than I wanted

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    A weekend getaway to Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's overdated. The rooms were not comfortable and the AC was not working (it was 30 degrees outside). Most of the sinks were rust. The toilets in the lobby and the restaurant are not maintained well.

    The staff was friendly and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    We are family with 3 little children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was nothing like on the photos. We had 2 rooms in Building No.2. 4th floor, last two room on the left side. Both rooms had old thick CRT TV. (not the thin TV you see on the photo when you book the room. TV in last room didn't work. TV's in both room where making noise when screen not ON but cable was plugged in the plug. No wonder the cable was out of the plug. Unplugged from the plug is the only solution to stop the noise. Last room on the left had super bad smell in the bathroom. I recommend to the management to be more transparent to what they are offering. If you show rooms with certain things inside - give that room. Not a room with a CRT TV. ALSO more transparency regarding overnight parking (not free) , just write clearly in the that it costs 13 euro.

    We are family with 3 little children. We stayed there for 1 night. Ok for 1 night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Initial crisis of bad IT integration & over-booking admitted by hotel. Empowered staff resolved well
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor IT co-ordination with www.Booking.com meant that this hotel had no record of my booking when I arrived. Their reception staff accepted the www.Booking.com confirmation from 4 days previously which I provided. The room to which I was directed had not been cleaned. When I showed photos, the hotel deducted the cost of 1 night's stay, gave complementary nuts, and 2 free breakfasts. They handled their own over-booking as well as they could.

    Poor IT co-ordination with www.Booking.com meant that this hotel had no record of my booking when I arrived. Their reception staff accepted the www.Booking.com confirmation from 4 days previously which I provided. The room to which I was directed had not been cleaned. When I showed photos, the hotel deducted the cost of 1 night's stay, gave complementary nuts, and 2 free breakfasts. They handled their own over-booking as well as they could.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Good size room!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon arrival to the Hotel according to GPS we didn't found City Hotel, only Holliday Inn. No reference whatsoever to City Hotel. Only when went to the lobby asking for info we receive a cool answer saying it was there! When requesting for stairs location, cold answer again mentioning "we have only elevator available stairs are closed" and demanding stairs I was informed that the access available was emergency stairs outside the Hotel and I would need to wait 10 minutes because the door was closed! Each time a needed to go to my room I would need to go to reception to ask someone to open the door! Unacceptable!

    Good size room! Good breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel was fine for our requirements
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was close to hotel bar and road where coaches picked up from. Noise early in morning and through the night prevented a good sleeo. Noise meant awake very early.

    Hotel was fine for our requirements

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Building in good standard with specious rooms and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of kettle in the room, air conditioning didn’t work, no smile policy amongst staff, housekeeping at first forgot to leave towels in the room and later mistakenly took our magnetic card away after cleaning

    Building in good standard with specious rooms and nice bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    2.5
    Reception was inattentive and abrupt and keycard to room failed to unlock door. Room was dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy, no aircon, not allowed access to room earlier despite travelling through the night, bathroom was filthy and stank of drains, no direction of how to get into city centre, no indication of how to use the gym or where to use it, not told about what time I could check out. Very very poor

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Was not bad, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the building was not quite beautiful and a little like a labirinth but as a refurbishment i know there is not much one can do about it.

    The room was big! Most hotel rooms are extra tiny these days but this one was just fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Very basic hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not having any manual for telephone, very old tv or any other amenities. The room was not having any basic toiletries , iron box , basic tea / coffee set, TV was old and not functioning well.

    It was a clean big room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    The room is spacious enough, cleaning every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had no fridge in our room at all and that was a problem thus we couldn't buy any breakfast at a shop for the morning. And there was a lot of dust. We were accommodated in a very dusty room especially if you turn A/C on, dust flies over there.

    The room is spacious enough, cleaning every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little far from city centre (25 minutes by tram), the old TV from the room gave a east Berlin feeling (communist era TV)

    It was clean, decent room service, good price for what they offered

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel, which fulfilled our expectations for a weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no mini fridge inside the room - I think it is a disadvantage, because you can't have any cold drink or a quick snack of your own. I was also a little bit dissappointed, when in the morning while taking a shower cold water started to flow..got a bit shoked, but in overall managed to wake up quicker :D

    We've enjoyed staying at this hotel. Stuff was very helpful and informative, with the smile on their face. We got a room in the top floor as requested while booking, so they fulfilled our desire for having the city view underneath our feet :) that was very nice of them. The room was clean and tidy. Bathroom facilities was ok, we've been supplied with clean towels, toiletries and a hair dryer. To sum up - a very good hotel, close to tram station and located not so far a way from Alexanderplatz. Recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant experience. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was slight problems with their new internet because the hotel was full to capacity. We had to go to reception once a day to get a new wi-fi password and it was often a big line of people, but the staff were very competent and helpful.

    Everything exceeded expectations. Great value for money. Very easily accessible by public transport, a short tram ride from the city center. The staff were nice and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    With that discounted price I could complain less
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in, the front desk employee was very inefficient and unpolite

    The breakfast is at good quality and fair price. We had a discount 9.9 per person

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Altogether we were really satisfied, and I recommend the hotel! Best price/value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was smelling a little bit of smoking - maybe someone before was smoking there.

    The room was really comfortable - what I really appreciated was the bathtub (oh yes!) and the water boiler in the room - these were not listed in the ad, so it was a nice surprise when we arrived!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service very slow at restaurant/ bar. Put off by being over charged for drink. I was given a double without requesting it. Bill was more than should have been.

    Room very well decorated. Close to tram links.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    The cleanness and the fee was fair enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The strong smoke smell of room was terrible and in spite of talking to the hotel reception team several times, they did not do anything for me. Their only suggestion was opening the window in cold weather.

    The cleanness and the fee was fair enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.6
    The room was big enough and was nice looking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For three days our room wasn't cleaned although we were asked once and we told them to come after 10 minutes.

    The room was big enough and was nice looking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    We stayed on 11st floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well,we wanted double bed,but there was two beds together and it was hard to sleep when the matraces seperated all the time. At the end we slept without them... And there was no music tv channel :(

    We stayed on 11st floor. The view there was amazing. It's easy to get to the city centre by the public transport. The room was very clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    The room is spacy and the design - authentic East Berlin DDR...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were charged 3.5 Euros for a bottle of still water at the checkout. It was not obvious the water was not free (because it normally is in most hotels), and how can it cost like a beer at a night club? It's just a bottle of water, come on! There is a vending machine on the 1st floor, better use it.

    The room is spacy and the design - authentic East Berlin DDR nostagic. It's not downtown, but the train makes it easy reachable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.6
    - Service in the bar;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Dust in the old TV set; - Bed mattresses; - Just twins beds, no double bed; - two names of the hotel make guests confused.

    - Service in the bar; - Room was warm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The hotel, incl rooms, smell like cigarettes - The pillows can hardly be called a pillow - Backache from the poor mattress - 5€ fee for WiFi is a bit uncommon - we paid 13€ for a parking space but there is no way they check your car, you can just park there and no one Will notice

    Friendly staff Situated near tram stop to city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Good for a base to visit Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged 3.5 for a small bottle of water in the room.

    Then hotel was ingoing renovation this not hinder our stay. Room clean and quiet. Ideal for our short stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    Value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free internet! It is unbelievable that in 2018 there is no free internet in a hotel! There was internet at a cost what I find nonsense. Internet must be free, even at a moderated speed . We don’t watch a lot of TV. But the TV did not work...

    The price/value relationship was good. The room was clean and the stuff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    Liked the pillows, nice view from the 9th floor, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very welcoming reception, wires everywhere, long waiting for check in, the lady from reception not very friendly.

    Liked the pillows, nice view from the 9th floor, very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff. No wi-fy untill I pay for it. There was a table tennise table and when I asked to use it, they gave me a kit with broken table tennise ball. They didn't have a good one. Felt like I was in a hotel they show it in horror movie. Lights flickering and no sound proofing. You can here the person shouting in other room. I didn't like the experience much.

    Breakfast was good. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing, NEVER going back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't speak english, there were no stores or shops near the hotel, two uncomfortable separate beds instead of one bed and thin pillows, very thin walls and the door didn't open correctly with closet doors closed. The day of the checkout we had to leave from our floor through the emergency exit (14 floors in total) because there was also a group leaving before us and one of the lifts was not working. Overall VERY poor experience.

    The space was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.2
    Think double before choosing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people from the reception were very unprofessional and rude. In the room there was a bottle of water on the table and we tought and it was free but in the end we had to pay for it.

    The rooms were very clean and also the amenities were quite nice. The bathroom had everything that you wanted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Charming Place for Two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minus, to my mind, is non-free WiFi. The rest was great.

    My experience of being in City Hotel Berlin East was rather good. There's a comfortable and spacious room with everything you need, the service was excellent, the staff were polite and hospitable. The location of the hotel is convenient for tourist, not far from the centre. I enjoyed my time there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Cleanliness was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe adding a mini fridge to the room would be nice. We would also appriciate and extra pillow since there was just one for each person.(the pictures shown more decorated room than reality.Including pillows). The breakfast price is quite high.

    Cleanliness was very good. There is not much in the neighbourhood of the hotel, but there are many tram stops near so its super easy to get in the center or sights in around 20mins.The accomodation is a good value for the price. We enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    This is a holiday Inn. Don’t understand why this isn’t made clear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were checked in to had an old television that let out an excruciating whine whenever it was on. The bathroom door didn’t close and despite the fact it was a double room it was two mattresses pushed together that were completely different in height. The pictures listed on booking.com told a completely false story. The reception was completely gutted and just had a table and computer for a desk. They said they were renovating but I couldn’t understand why absolutely everything would be ripped out of receipts on and nothing replaced. Very decepting.

    The room was very spacious, clean and quiet. The first room was not like this and there were many problems. We were kindly upgraded to a much better room and had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.3
    Hotel is nice but needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baggage was left for us to collect by ourselves, we could have picked up any baggage. The woman who checked us in didn’t say thank you, was left to find our way through the building to our room (which was confusing). Limited facilities in our room, no kettle, fridge or ironing board etc. And this is supposed to be four star?? AC wasn’t working.

    Easy access to center and decent gym facility

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    Room is more spacious than in other hotels, I liked it.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do something with the shower!!!!!!!!!!!! Water is once burning hot, then in a second it becomes ice cold, then turns to hot again. Cannot set normal temperature...

    Room is more spacious than in other hotels, I liked it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.2
    Sheets and bathroom were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the elevator was out of order. Since my room was at the 12th floor, i had waited 15 minutes to get down in rush hours. Location of the hotel is very much dependent on trams which is not a fast transportation option.

    Sheets and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    everything is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no free wi-fi but the price tolerated it late check-in (15 o'clock) there may be coffeeautomat in the entrance of the buildings

    quite big and extremely clean rooms. comfortable bed very good price 3 minutes walk to tram station and easy to access city center by tram (appx 20-25 min to alexanderplatz) silence of the rooms and environment

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room stank of stale cigarette smoke clearly hadn’t been aired. Holiday evidently is run by holiday inn now, couldn’t even find it to begin with as it’s not called what it is advertised as here. Avoid like the plague

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    After I booked the room I saw that many people gave the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are few thing we didn’t like: the waitress at the restaurant ( glasses and ginger hair ) wasn’t friendly at all and he made us feel uncomfortable eating there. Another thing was that the bed was not a regular bed for 2 person but 2 beds they put together and it was a bit uncomfortable .

    After I booked the room I saw that many people gave the hotel really bad reviews saying that the room was not clean or that the staff was mean etc. Well I stayed there with my boyfriend 1 week and I have really good things to say about the hotel. The staff was really nice and helpful anytime we needed.The room was better than we expected, really clean, big and the bathroom was as well nice and clean with a bathtub. They have gym in the hotel which you can use anytime you want. Near the hotel are 2 tram stations so you can go to the famous Alexanderplatz or another places you want to see.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Great room in a really affordable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great room in a really affordable price!The personel was able to help in everything needed! Very close to bus and tram stops, so the transportation towards center and back is really easy! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Very satisfied with the accommodation, but recommend to stay smwhr in West Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Privacy. We had someone knocking and unlocking our doors couple of times, and it wasnt a cleaning service. We didnt find out who it was, since the persons didnt introduce themselves, nor did we get a response from the reception where we had reported it. We didnt find anything missing though. No free WiFi in rooms (should be a default service today). East Berlin. Not a place where i want to be looking for accommodations again, nothing to do with the hotel, but i strongly suggest booking anywhere west from Alexanderplatz.

    Staff is professional, rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    To many disadvantages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.There was the door which leads to neighbour's room - that's why we`be heard every noise made by them. 2. No kettle in the room. 3. Water was too hot or too cold - was difficult to select comfort one. 4. Beds were just put together so sleeping in the middle was unreal because of big hole there. 5. No free Wi-Fi in the hotel - 1 day costs 5 Euro, it is too much. ( at least it might be trial 15 min wi-fi)

    Well made heating, warm room, cleaning every day, nice big room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Clean and spacious rooms are basic but good value for money. Easy location for getting into Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main issue with this hotel is that it is not very well signposted. You have to go into the Holiday Inn main entrance next door to check-in. This was very confusing, particularly as we arrived late in the evening. We did have a TV in our room, but it was a very old box TV that only had a few channels, unlike the modern looking TVs shown in many of the images so we didn't really use it. Fortunately this did not matter too much as we were usually too busy sightseeing! In the mornings however, we were disturbed everyday by housekeeping at about 10am and were informed that we needed a do not disturb sign to hang outside the door despite these not being provided in the room, you may need to ask at reception if you don't want a mid-morning guest. The only other thing missing from this stay was a kettle - there were no drinks making facilities in the room, which is not too much of an issue if you have booked breakfast, but is something to consider if you like your home comforts.

    The room was spacious and clean with toiletries provided. The staff at the reception were friendly and very helpful! This is great value for money if you are looking for a cheap, basic but reliable place to stay in Berlin. The location was good to use as a hub for travelling around and sightseeing. It's really easy to get to by public transport and although there were not many restaurants or shops surrounding the hotel, this was not a problem as you can easily use public transport to get to the nearest shopping/eating areas.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think there is no option to select one double bed when you book, so it would be really nice to have it. No kettle in the room

    Room is spacious. Located ~25-30 minutes tram ride from the Alexanderplatz

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.8
    Perfectly adequate for my purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not easy to find hotel after dark--not obvious from the main road. Air-conditioning system not easy to understand. Rather dreary entrance / reception areas. Quite a walk to the trams M5 / M6.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went out into town. My wife and I placed the do not disturb sign on the door and our kids did not for their room. When we returned the kids room was cleaned but their body wash and body scrub was gone. I went to the reciepcion desk and spoke to a husky gentleman that gave me the look as you must be kidding. He took my name and number down and stated that he would call me back. No call was returned. What a shame.

    The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.4
    Decent night stay during a hopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was a tad grumpy despite the holiday season.

    The hotel is accessible by the S bahn within a minute walk. The hotel is very tidy and for a comfortable for a night halt.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Good stay, not so keen on the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we didn't like so much was the area. It just felt a bit isolated compared to other areas we stayed. But the trum connection works well to get where you want.

    The room was spacious and comfortable, very warm and clean. The internet was fast and the people in the reception polite and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Otherwise the accomodation is recommended ... but expect that you won't be able to sleep .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For 2 nights parties below us, for 1 night party right above us and for the whole stay a baby crying each morning and evening next to us. We accept that you can't really do anything with a baby ... BUT the party people are completely not accepted. Called the front desk about 4-5 times ... they did nothing. Finally I figured out that it is possible to call the room itself by its number so I started to call the partypeople to finish. Hotel staff was completely unable and for my great surprise unaware about doing something. (Except I was offered to move to another room during the NIGHT :D unbelivelable ... why they didn't offer another room for the partypeople?!?!) ... On the last day at check out ... they asked if everything was alright :D :D ... I sad yes .. except we couldn't sleep almost at all. He almost laughed and told me "...what can we do?! good bye" ... (????????????? WTF) ??????????) Otherwise the accomodation is recommended ... but expect that you won't be able to sleep if they put people around you.

    Clean, comfortable .. this part was alright.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    Ok but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got charged 30 euros a day just in case I used room service No staff member informed us of that Had to wait 5 days to get the money back No kettle or drinks in the room

    Quite easy to get into the centre of Berlin

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    Sub par
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sink was clogged the whole time. Two beds were pushed together to form a single bed, but the heights of beds were different. TV was old, no free Wi-Fi.

    gym in the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    I had a good time in City Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was not free, a extra rate should be paid to use it. Moreover, the identification of the hotel was not clear (it is easy to mistake this hotel with Holiday in hotel).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Reasonable option for a night stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A double bed arranged with twin single beds had wheels on them made it not very comfortable since they split up whenever we move a little closer to the middle. I fell once without acknowledging that there was a gap while i was sleeping. There was a fallen tile in the bathroom as well i wrote a note about it. I was also expecting a toothpaste or a shoehorn and neither could i find. Water heating was terrible since it was either extremely hot or extremely cold. Also i wouldn’t consider this location if it wasn’t my work since it was quite isolated from the center as the only public transportation nearby was trams and stores and restaurants were not very close to it.

    Very comfortable and clean room overall and friendly staffs with a helpful attitude. Price was reasonable for both the room and for breakfast. I liked the general services for the room-served breakfast and laundry services.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Lack of culture. Have lost their identity and this iss disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Local people not approachable. Restaurants in hotel had the same menu. No German or local foods/ recipes on menu which was rather disappointing. The menu was very basic and too costly. No soap in bathroom. And room lamps beside bed didn't work.And some guests were rather noisy - shouting. No evening entertainment and definitely no music unless you are at the main reception area. Which was strange!

    Staff are friendly, polite and approachable. Hotel is in a good location for transport, walking or taxis. Local shops are nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel , spacious room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv is old , also only one English Channel that only played the news. Basically tv was pointless for a english guest .

    Nice hotel , spacious room . Breakfast was awesome - bit pricey but it's a buffet with a wide range so worth it .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money, but a long way from city centre,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed that there were no hot drink making facilities in the room - the only option is to carry a drink from the bar into the lift and then up to the room. The room was too hot. Tv was dated.

    The breakfast is excellent value for money, and works out cheaper if you pay the hotel when you get there. Good sized rooms. The hotel is next to a convenient tram stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    We were recommended to the Berlin Card which included free public transport and lots of discounts to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our view was disappointing in that we were overlooked by an office and a smoking terrace (not good for the children) only a few metres away from us, the other side of the building would have given us amazing views. TV and hairdryer provided, but take a travel kettle. We had a great time.

    Lovely clean hotel in former East Germany. The tram stop outside was really convenient and it only cost E3.40 to travel in from Schofield Airport, the journey into Alexander Platz was 20 minutes and all central attractions were in walking distance from here - The Brandenburg Gate being a 30 minute walk from Alexander Platz. The Hotel was clean and staff were friendly and helpful (note you have to check in at the Holiday Inn building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.6
    Since the public transport in Berlin works really good, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a bad smell in the bathroom and quite some black fungus around the bath. The noise insulation wasn't good: we had a lot of noise from our neihbours. There was 1 good matress, the other 2 were of way less quality. There was no free WI-FI in the room. There was a ridiculously pricey bottle of water in the room (we only notices afterwards... €3.5 for half a liter)

    Since the public transport in Berlin works really good, the location is OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Terrific value and only 15 mins to central Berlin by tram. Would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was at peak times the shower could vary temperature.

    Good value hotel. Bed was so comfortable. Very close to tram stop. Hotel sells day tram ticket. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse City Hotel Berlin East traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: